22
Nov
09

Wall of Shame – Quinn

It's hard finding pics for Quinn posts...so here's a pretty purple pansy and you can use your imagination

A lighthearted list of My Big Gripes with His Purple Pansyness. I’ve been re-reading book 6 and 7 which are rather “Quinn-centric”. Be warned – you can probably expect much ranting about Quinn this week! So how does Quinn annoy me?

Let us count the ways.

He dresses badly.
Single gold hoop earring. Black silk tshirts. Paisley ties. Hammer pants?!? Oh man.
In all fairness, everyone in the Sookieverse commits heinous crimes against fashion. Some of these crimes are nothing short of atrocities, so I really shouldn’t hold his fashion sense against him. But I will.

He has the emotional maturity of a 17 year old boy.
Who the hell disappears for months, without making so much as a phone call – and comes back with barely an apology, expecting to pick up a relationship as though nothing ever happened? My 13 year old nephew wouldn’t dare try get away with this shit with a woman – even he knows better. But not Quinn. Because Quinn is a tool.

He hates vampires and always wants to kill them.
It’s not like Quinn is Mr Perfect. The man has a list of issues as long as my arm. Yet he refers to vampires like they’re shit stuck to his shoe, and when the opportunity to kill one, or attempt to kill one comes along he is there with bells on. Ask Andre. Or Bill.
Though to tell you the truth, I really don’t care what he does to Bill.

He has mommy issues.
Don’t get me wrong, all boys should love their mothers. But Quinn just takes it to the extreme. His relationship with his nutjob of a mother is toxic and he will never put Sookie, or anyone else before her or his big mouth sister.

Sookie dresses up like J-Lo and he doesn’t even notice.
Further proof, as if I need any, that his interest in Sookie is as politically motivated as Bill’s and about as genuine. Who doesn’t notice when their date shows up looking like that? And then he has the hide to compliment her dress in a note, as an afterthought! Tool!

He calls women he doesn’t know “Babe”
He called Sookie this the first time he met her! WTF? If someone called me that on first meeting I’d be reaching into my handbag for my mace. Is this meant to be sexy or something? It is so NOT. It’s creepy and weird and it made me not like Quinn from the first time he opened his mouth.

He is impulsive, weak and easily manipulated.
Impulsive – check. He comes back to area 5 knowing that Eric may literally kill him for defying his orders.
Weak – check. He is a constant pawn for others more powerful. Sophie Anne and Felipe de Castro both own his ass, and so does his mother for that matter.
Easily manipulated – check. See above.
Let’s just check off all three and move on shall we?

He lashes out at Sookie when he’s cornered.
Remember Quinn telling Sookie that Bill valued his position and status in the hierarchy, and that Eric valued his little piece of Louisiana more than he would ever love her? That was such a horrible conversation. As Sookie observed, it was like he came there to tell her that no one else would love her so she might as well just shack up with him. Come to think of it, that whole conversation was very reminiscent of one she had with Bill. He also told Sookie that she would never be able to have a relationship with a human man when she threatened to dump him.
Tools! The pair of them.

And the number one offence on Quinn’s Wall of Shame….

He keeps talking about killing Eric
OK so Quinn obviously hates Eric and wants him out of the way. I can kind of understand that. After all, who wouldn’t be threatened by a charming, extroverted, tall, blonde immortal with – to quote Jason Stackhouse – “sex abilities”.
Yet even after Sookie all but has a heart attack at the very suggestion that he would kill Eric, Quinn still keeps going on about it. How Sookie feels about it isn’t going to stop him, it just means that he will make it look like an accident or self defence so she doesn’t blame him. For Quinn, the only thing that matters is that Eric is dead.
I know that he’s going to have a crack at taking Eric out sooner or later and I WISH HIM LUCK. I will dance on his grave right after Eric puts him in it.

So there you have it. Quinn’s transgressions in a nutshell.

I think I’ll do a list of these for everyone, Sookie and Eric included. Though I may need some help with the Eric list since I seem to be able to justify every remotely questionable action of his for some reason.

But I know I’m not the only one who has that problem.

36 Responses to “Wall of Shame – Quinn”


  1. 1 nbu
    November 22, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    “How Sookie feels about it isn’t going to stop him…”

    I think my whole basis of disliking the men in Sookie’s life (besides Eric, of course) is the fact that none of them really take her feelings into account at all. Hence my dismay when she continues her recycling of the usual suspects – Bill, Quinn, Alcide – and fights against Eric so much. I’ve said it before, but I swear if CH doesn’t just let E/S get on with it and stop all this “you only like me because of the fairy blood/blood bond” crap, I’ll poke a stake in my eye.

    PS I don’t have anything to contribute to your list of bad Eric stuff. He is perfection.

    • November 23, 2009 at 4:25 am

      You are so right. The other thing that really gets me, which is somewhat related, is how she is SO suspicious of *everything* Eric does for her – and he has never used her.

      Yet all of the usual suspects – who HAVE all used her at some point, some more than others – get let off the hook and she never holds them to account.

      And yes, I totally agree the blood bond has to go. I hate it. As if Sookie wasn’t bipolar enough when it came to Eric. Like she needed any more conflict! Makes you wonder when CH is going to give these two a break huh.

      • 3 nbu
        November 23, 2009 at 9:30 am

        I know! Like, why does she still feel for Alcide when all he did was use her, at least 3 times I can think of! It’s like, he only wanted to associate with her because the other supes would be envious of him or some crap. And yet Eric genuinely has feelings for her and she is not only suspicious of him, but gives him grief all the time! He really shouldn’t have to stand for it because he is the Sheriff of the area and it makes him look whipped by a human. She really needs to lose some of her attitude and just have a good think about what the hell is really going on. Besides that aspect and the fact that she gets beaten to a pulp every book, I do love her as a character.

      • 6 Tracey
        February 26, 2010 at 7:10 am

        i wldnt say never. before theres a connection between the two Eric does use her abilties like Alicde did.

        • 7 VikingLover
          February 26, 2010 at 1:17 pm

          That’s true Tracey except that Eric was honest about it. He never tried to sugar coat it or use subterfuge and it only happened once – when he was trying to find out who had stolen money from him. After that, he hired her. MS was the only exception because he was trying to save all of their lives (including Sookie’s).

  2. 8 halcyon
    November 23, 2009 at 9:18 am

    I just discovered your blog and love it already! I agree with everything you said about Quinn (I’ve never been more annoyed by the word ‘babe’ till he kept repeating it). When CH first described him, I honestly didn’t think Sookie would fall for him. Although not as toxic as her relationship with Bill, he made it more difficult for her to trust men. Strangely enough the one guy who hasn’t betrayed her or hurt her (besides Sam) is the one she won’t fully commit to. CH giving Eric and Sookie a break? That’s like AB trying to dislike Bill.

    And a purple pansy is perfect way to represent Quinn. Lol

    • November 23, 2009 at 11:32 am

      Thankyou! 🙂
      Quinn is dodgy. SOOO dodgy.
      And the worst part is that I don’t think we have even seen the full extent of how dodgy he is going turn out to be yet. It’s still coming.
      Dude does my head in. I’ve got tons of conspiracy theories about Quinn…and none of them do much to endear him!

    • 10 Tracey
      February 26, 2010 at 7:13 am

      Quinn makin it difficult for Sookie to trust men??? I disagree entirely!!! If anything that was Bill. Because of Bill, Sookie was very cautious with Quinn.

      • 11 Holby
        February 26, 2010 at 6:02 pm

        Actually, in my double digit re-read of the series, I will say that Quinn is so veeeerrrrry dodgy!

        How exactly is he different from Bill?
        Eric: “What have you been telling Sookie, Quinn?”
        Quinn: “I’ve been telling Sookie that the Queen requires Sookie’s presence at the conference as part of her party, and that the Queen’s summons supercedes yours.”
        Eric: “Since when has the Queen given orders through a shifter?”
        Quinn: “Since the shifter performed a valuable service for her in the line of business. Mr. Cataliades suggested to her Majesty that I might be helpful in a diplomatic capacity and my partners were glad to give me extra time to perform any duties she might give me.”

        Soooooo, let me summarize. Quinn has led a life of indebtedness to vampires. Quinn has a business relationship with the Queen. She engaged him in diplomatic endeavors and he was released from his EeE partnership to fulfill them…and those duties are??? Oh, right…the same effing assignment Bill had!!! Take some time off and hook up with/co-opt Sookie for the Queen. WTF??? What pisses me off the most, then, is Quinn’s outrage about Sookie’s relationship with the vamps (“My woman doesn’t take orders from vamps” -apparently only Quinn does! and “are you trying to be a martyr for these things?”)

        Oh, yeah, and I’ve already said this…but “your mouth is saying one thing, but your body is saying another,” Mother-effing date raping bastard…again, the parallel with Bill! Okay, yeah, he stopped, but to even say something so shitty to “persuade” someone to engage in sex. Gak!

        And let’s discuss honesty. The dry hump incident: “I haven’t done that since I was 17 in the back seat of my dad’s car” Oh, wait…he was already in the pits by that time (his mom’s incident occurred when he was 16) and his dad died when Quinn was a kid (of course these may just be CHs continuity issues)…and how the hell did he play high school basketball???? In the pits???? Or is he counting slam dunking his opponents’ heads????

        Okay, deep breaths. I WILL calm down. Breath in, breath out. Repeat.

        • 12 walgigi
          February 26, 2010 at 7:06 pm

          Thanks for this excellent assesment. You hit the nail in the head Holby, and I agree with you completely. He is just another pawn. And I told it once:

          Sookie is Quinn’s ticket to FREEDOM.
          She means freedom from the vampires that he hates so much because Sookie = POWER.

          [“My woman doesn’t take orders from vamps”]

          That sentence is only a proof of it. If he can have control over Sookie, he can CONTROL everyone who needs her telephaty gift because they would need to depend on him. And that definitely would change the POWER scale between him and the vampires with whom he continued indebted.

          FREEDOM, POWER and CONTROL -that’s what Sookie really means to him.

          And I also think it was very revealing and wasn’t chance that were Bill and Quinn the ones who engaged in a fight and hurt Sookie as a consecuence. CH knew very well what she wanted to show and reveal us with that instance in the story.

          • 13 ML
            February 26, 2010 at 7:34 pm

            Gigi, up until I read your post, I was really loving Quinn. Not so much for Sookie, but there is definatley something sexy about a big strong tiger. You have totally changed my opinion of Quinn. I am only on my second read through of the books and never really noticed all that about Quinn but you are so right!

        • 14 T.Rece
          February 26, 2010 at 9:39 pm

          Holby,

          I’m not particularly fond of Quinn but the “your mouth is saying one thing, but your body is saying another,” doesn’t translate into a date rape scenario–atleast IMO. Lame, yes…but it’s not overly offensive. Quinn and Eric (i.e.”yeild to me, Sookie”)have both flirted on the edge of perrsuasion. Though in neither case, even less in Quinn’s case, do they cross the line. Bill on the other hand is like the poster child for lack of self-control.

        • February 26, 2010 at 11:26 pm

          On Quinn and Sophie – Anne….totally. Post on that very subject:

          https://sookieverseblog.wordpress.com/2009/12/12/eric-quinn-a-is-for-alpha-round-2/

          Something I omitted in that post was Quinn showing up at Hadley’s apartment when SA’s bracelet was missing. Suddenly, Quinn just turns up ready to “help” pack up Hadley’s stuff?

          Nuh-uh. SA sent him there hoping HE would find her bracelet.

          Sookie even has a fleeting thought in that book that Q may have killed Hadley. To me that showed on an instinctual level, she knew that there was something about Quinn that was not to be trusted. Or to go even further, that his timing in all things was not coincidence.

      • 16 T.Rece
        February 26, 2010 at 9:26 pm

        I don’t think Quinn made it hard for Sookie to trust men…I agree that honor goes to Bill (and probably the fact that her uncle molested her, her brother is a whore and her father died at a young age). However, I think that Sookie might now be even more cautious with men bc of the situation with Quinn. I say that bc, while out of his control (his mother’s issues) he didn’t follow through with his intended month with her–after they became intimate–and essentially abandoned her. And, to some degree, Quinn wasn’t upfront with her…which she suspects was likely due to the circumstances of his mother.

        So in other words I don’t think Quinn intentionally deceived her, I don’t think he’s “doggy,” persay. I just think that he misjudged Sookie’s ability to handle his absence/allegiance to Nevada. He may have overlooked the “wounds” that Bill had inflicted, assuming she would be rational about the position he was forced into…but his actions were like the trigger that re-opened her wounds. In that respect, I think Sookie is far more delicate that she looks or acts, which confuses people and in turn we get a situation like her argument w/ Quinn in bk 9. And, let’s face it, most men lack in the emotional capacity.

        I think the difference between Bill and Quinn is premeditation. At this point we have no evidence to assume Quinn wasn’t just a victim–that he had prior knowledge of his misfortune. Bill, on the other hand, sought her out for that very purpose–to eventually betray her (his falling in love with her is irrelevent). And, he would have NEVER told her of it had the situation not panned out as it did in New Orleans.

        In Sookie’s defence, I think that alot of women (or people in general) w/ existing trust issues won’t differentiate between the two during the initial phase. The process in that way reminds me alot of the stages of grief (i.e. denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance). To me Sookie lives in a constant cycle going between the first 4 stages…but never hitting acceptance.

        Does Quinn get a worse rep bc he followed in Bill’s footsteps? Was Bill given a “get out of jail free” card because he managed to seduce her more effectively first? Would we assume the worst of Quinn had Bill not previously betrayed her? I think the answers are yes. I think it is human nature–to adapt. Therefore, until Sookie makes peace with her past she’ll continue to fall short of acceptance. She’ll continue to grieve for what she has lost and never allow herself true happiness. At the end of Bk 9 Sookie came face to face with that reality. It seemed book 10 picked up on that theme, and it is my hope that she will eventually find that resolution.

        Also, this is sort of OT, but I don’t think it was just coincidence that Sookie trusted Eric so brazenly in LDID, then relinquished her will to HIM in CD, etc. and now coming up in DITF, feels safe enough–despite the odds–to continue being intimate. I guess I’ve always felt that by voicing her confidence in him(at the orgy), she “willed” him into upholding it. I mean the concept isn’t new…rent “Dangerous Minds” or “Freedom Writers” or any of those movies based on the impact of “learned helplessness” and the irony of it being an outsider–with unpopular ideas such as tolerance and believing in oneself–who makes the difference. It’s cheesy, but maybe that is part of CH’s overall message? I think it would bode well with her other themes. I also think that if CH were to have Eric break that trust in any way at this point, Sookie would be inconsolable. That is atleast what I tell myself.lol

        • 17 Gigi
          February 28, 2010 at 10:41 am

          T Reece, Quinn is dodgy and fishy, and isn’t a victim when we talk about his intentions and relationship with Sookie. “Your mouth is saying one thing, but your body is saying another,” may not translate into a date rape scenario either, but I do think his interest and insistence in seducing her, besides attraction, also goes far beyond it.

          In DAAD, Quinn acted as he didn’t knew who was Sookie in the Packleader contest. Do you really think he didn’t knew who was her? As the EeE event coordinator he had to know every detail about the event and the “friends of the pack” that were invited. Moreso, he saw her at Col. Flood’s funeral with Alcide, and he also seems to be the one who coordinated it, because he entered the church before Sookie and Alcide, and when they were delayed arguing outside, he reapeared as if he were waiting for them to enter on that moment:

          [The tall man had reappeared. He was looking down at us without perceptible expression. But I knew we had his attention.
          Alcide glanced up, too. His face reddened. “We need to go in now. Will you go with me?”]

          Again, as the event coordinator, he must had access to knew she has the distinction of been “a friend of the pack”. If she was there accompanying Alcide, she must had some “weight” and respect between the Were community. She must had made something for them to earn that distinction. Do you really think he didn’t inquire who was Sookie then? For me it was logical to think he did. And in fact, he did it, because in DD, when he went to Sookie’s house for the first time he didn’t asked, he told her:

          [“You dated Alcide for a while,” he observed, in a neutral kind of voice.]

          But let’s return to the contest. When he asked Sookie how she knew Furnan was cheating, and Claude told him she was a telepath, he didn’t looked surprised at all. Well, I don’t know you, but at least I read that everyone who knows about Sookie’s gift for the first time is always suprised. At least the same Bill “sounded merely curious”. But not Quinn. He just looked exasperated with the fairies. Even Sookie herself, who never met another one until she went to Dallas and met Barry by chance, was euphoric to met another person with her same gift. But not Quinn. Because probably he meet telepaths every day… yeah, sure…

          And what about the cage incident where Sookie got hurt in the leg without knowing if it was a scratch made by the cage or by Furnan? This passage is very revealing:

          [“Listen, blondie, all you have to do is go in there and do your thing,” he said reassuringly.
          He couldn’t have had this idea while the wolves were outside the cage? What if he shut the door on me?
          I looked over my shoulder at Claudine, who was frantically shaking her head.
          “Why do I need to? What purpose will it serve?” I asked, not being a total idiot.
          “Is he gonna cheat again?” Quinn asked so softly that I knew no one else could hear him. “Does Furnan have some means of cheating that I can’t see?”
          “Do you guarantee my safety?”
          He met my eyes. “Yes,” he said without hesitation.]

          Did Sookie really needed to risk herself entering the cage to ckeck if Furnan would cheat again?? She, herself, and Claudine both answered this question in this same passage:

          [He couldn’t have had this idea while the wolves were outside the cage? ….. I looked over my shoulder at Claudine, who was frantically shaking her head.]

          IMO, this was a calculated risk he took to gain Sookie’s trust:

          [“Do you guarantee my safety?”
          He met my eyes. “Yes,” he said without hesitation.]

          And isn’t odd he licked Sookie’s scratch when tiny Dr. Doolittle (lol ok, I know she’s Dr. Ludwig) was there and in fact, trotted to see her and told she’d be fine when saw the scratch and notice it was from the cage? Quinn isn’t a vampire who “needed” to lick the blood, as is the vampires custom… And, as a matter of fact, he didn’t stop after the doc said Sookie was ok. So, IMO, he also did it because he saw the opportunity as a way to begin to seduce her. Because he knew very well who was Sookie. Oh yes, he knew.

          After the contest, when Sookie told Eric about it, he said:

          [“So the contest was today. I’d heard Quinn was in town. Usually, he keeps transgressions to a minimum.”]

          Eric didn’t knew when was the packleader contest because he doesn’t needs to know about Were affairs. If Quinn were in town ONLY for the contest, he didn’t have the need to know of his presence in town either. But he knew Quinn was in town. Why? Well, it seems he knew because Quinn must had been with Sophia Ann before (for “some reason”), and because he also went there to do vampires affairs, Eric had to be informed that Quinn would be in town. As simple as that. And as fishy as that.

          [I think the difference between Bill and Quinn is premeditation.]

          m… I can’t agree with you. As Bill, he lied to Sookie (“I haven’t done that since I was 17 in the back seat of my dad’s car” while his dad died when he was a kid), withheld relevant information from his family and his life, manipulated her, neglected her (which is also a type of abuse), placed his work over Sookie’s needs, has control issues, and even succeed where Bill failed in his assigment for Sophie Ann. I know this is going to surprise more than one, but I have to say that Quinn is worse and far more dangerous than Bill. Because, to be fair with Bill, he, as a vampire, didn’t have a choice about Sophie Ann’s order and he has learned to submit to the authority. But Quinn came from a VERY disfunctional family model, has very deep self-esteem issues (remember when he almost cry when he “proposed” to kill Eric and Sookie refuses while he was recovering from the arrow wound?), he doesn’t recognize authority and he doesn’t know the meaning of loyalty. He isn’t loyal to anyone, but to himself (and of course, “himself” includes his crazy mother and his mean sister Frannie). It’s possible he has feelings for her. It’s difficult to know Sookie and not care and develop feelings for her with her caring and unique personality. But as I said before, Sookie is his ticket to freedom, control and power.

          Eric as a vampire suspected about Quinn’s affairs with Sophie Ann, and as SVB said, he questioned him since when the Queen gave her orders through a “shifter”. In ATD, Eric and Sookie had a lil chat about Quinn that ended with this:

          [“You don’t know him any more than you really knew Bill.”
          That sliced down where it hurt.
          “At least I’m pretty damn sure he wasn’t ordered to get me in bed so I’d be a political asset!”]

          Well… No, he wasn’t ordered. But he made something worse. He negotioated it to his own benefit…

          • February 28, 2010 at 11:42 am

            Ugh! If you’re right gigi – that he was trying to get Sookie for SA as part of some deal – then that is SO MUCH worse than Bill.

            I have no doubt either that he knew who she was from the beginning – at the packmasters contest he even said to her – “Don’t you know who I am?” Um, hello. Way to put out the feelers there dude.

            • 19 Gigi
              March 1, 2010 at 3:58 am

              [Quinn: “I’ve been telling Sookie that the Queen requires Sookie’s presence at the conference as part of her party, and that the Queen’s summons supercedes yours.”
              Eric: “Since when has the Queen given orders through a shifter?”
              Quinn: “Since the shifter performed a valuable service for her in the line of business. Mr. Cataliades suggested to her Majesty that I might be helpful in a diplomatic capacity and my partners were glad to give me extra time to perform any duties she might give me.”]

              Holby just said it. Quinn has a BUSINESS relationship with the Queen (contrary to the one he had before with another vampires because of her mother’s debt, and the one he is actually having with FDC for the same reason). He wasn’t coerced or obligued. He just made a deal with her.

              [“Since the shifter performed a valuable service for her in the line of business’]

              What else, besides coordinate an event, could be such a “valuable service” to think he was helpful in a diplomatic affairs? Because the only diplomatic action he performed, as long as I remember, was telling Sookie she was summoned as part of the Queen’s party… Besides that, he only coordinated the events. I never saw him performing any kind of diplomatic action for SA after that.

              And the previous detail that shows that Eric didn’t knew about the packleader contest, but knew Quinn was in town is the key to know that Eric had to be informed that Quinn would be in town in some kind of vampire business. Eric has to be informed about vampires visiting his Area or new vampire affairs or business. There is no reason that Eric should have known a shifter was in town if wasn’t because he was in some vampire affair.

              • 20 Holby
                March 1, 2010 at 9:11 pm

                In addition to this, I really wanted to slap Sookie throughout this relationship. Amelia and her WITCH friends were impressed when Quinn showed up at Hadley’s apartment…they knew who he was. When Sookie gave Claude and Claudine the name Quinn from someone’s brain, they both got wide eyed. Sam became surprisingly subdued in Quinn’s presence and said everyone in his world knew Quinn. The Hotshot were-panthers, including Calvin, treated him as some kind of rock star. AND YET…Sookie never thought to ask one of those people why they regarded Quinn that way????? How obtuse can CH make Sookie while still convincing us that she is insightful and has good instincts? AND…who the heck calls their boyfriend by his LAST NAME for the entire duration of their relationship (and isn’t even completely sure of his first name when she introduces the Were couple in DD)?
                And while I am ranting (I have a BIG issue with Quinn, apparently, and didn’t even know it until I started posting on this page!!)…Sookie left Quinn a message that her cousing lived on
                Chloe street in NO, but he was able to find the apartment (a walled courtyard) without fail??? Tell me he didn’t already have Hadley’s address (since Jake was sent there) and KNEW that was Sookie’s cousin! There is no way Quinn didn’t have prior knowledge of Sookie. Hadley was obviously a big portion of what he had to handle diplomatically for the Queen, and his handling of her was probably what won him the next level assignment…Sookie.

                Gigi…You also brought up some new stuff…you’re right. Eric would only be notified about Quinn if he was sent specifically on Vampire business, since he didn’t know about he Pack Master event.

                Yeah, Quinn is totally premeditated.

                T.Rece: I get what you’re saying about the language. However, I guess I see “yield to me” as saying, “have sex with me.” Saying “your mouth is saying one thing, but your body is saying something else,” seems more in the line of trying to make her second guess herself and, at the very least is a manipulative approach to sex. Date rape was probably stronger language than I meant. Quinn is definitely manipulative and uses emotionally charged statements and reactions instead of logic to push Sookie in the direction that he wants her to go.

          • 21 T.Rece
            March 1, 2010 at 5:16 am

            Gigi, don’t get me wrong…I’m no fan of Quinn and deep down I have reservations. In fact, I would LOVE for SVB and your convictions to be true. I had an uncharacteristicly soft moment towards the tiger.lol

            Everything you mentioned I have “filed away for thought” like our dear ol Sookie. Actually most of them I do find “fishy” or “suspect” as I like to say. I never liked Quinn. I had a wierd feeling about him from the moment I read bald head-single gold hoop earring. Trust me…I’m the last person that wants Quinn to come out looking the part of “victim.”

            I think what really prompted my response (which didn’t reflect my suspicions) was all this nonsense with CH. Her synopsis was just the icing on the cake for me. It threw me into a fit. I honestly think I lost it briefly–my response may have been influenced by that. My fear–that everything you mentioned/all the reservations surrounding Quinn’s motivations won’t be revealed–got the best of me. I’m just so frustrated with CH and her loose ends! The majority of your suspicions regarding Quinn haven’t been revealed as fact. I totally read between the lines and questioned the same things you have but lately CH has given me the impression that my doing so is “reading too much into it.” Its the same thing w Eric-Sookie. There are so many things throughout the series that I find to be significant and then she just goes and blows it off. I guess what I’m trying to say is this: right now Quinn has not been found guilty. For my own sanity, I’m just trying to keep an open mind and not assume things.

            I still do not think that his “Your mouth is saying one thing, but your body is saying another,” was anything to be concerned with. And, I do feel like Sookie and the reader are on “high alert” for anything that COULD be construed as “fishy or dodgy” given Bills actions. Do I think Sookie is blind…yes, do I think CH underestimated the level of scrutiny/analysis her readers were capable of, again…yes. It all seems so clear to me–I’ve actually compared Quinn’s character with that of Austen’s dubious Wickham. Bottomline, after D&G and True Blood influence, I started to question CH. The temper tantrums she pulled after backlash from D&G, the back-pedelling they’ve been doing since Alan Ball obnoxiously revealed Bill’s death, her lack of outline and continuity errors…Im just not as confident in her word (on and off paper).

            So yea, I don’t know if I made any sense…

            • 22 Gigi
              March 1, 2010 at 7:31 pm

              [I’m just so frustrated with CH and her loose ends!]

              Most of us, in the excitement of the romance forget the real name of the series is “The Southern Vampire Mysteries” and are informally known as The Sookie Stackhouse Novels because she is the protagonist. That’s why the series are full of mysteries to find and instances that appears to be loose ends.

              All the clues are there hon, or will be written (and with 4 more books to come, who knows when…). It’s a matter of find and tie them together to discover the mysteries. But it’s indeed quite a job to search back and forth between so many books to find them and do it. That’s why, as SVB said, it’s so important to read the first time all the books in order. That’s the only way one can remember pertinent and related details from previous books to be able later to search through them. I don’t know, I don’t think CH understimates our level of analysis, but she could be challenging us to analyze deeper.

              And obviously, any issue she has with her series as a consecuence of her trust in AB, is just her own fault.

  3. 23 locketlove
    November 23, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Your list is spot on. There isn’t anything I don’t agree with. I think Quinn is shady, and I don’t know why (well, I do but that is for another time) Quinn is still around.

  4. 24 Kim
    February 23, 2010 at 12:46 am

    I really thought I was the only one who hated Quinn. All of my “friends” think he’s so hot, with his shiny bald head and purple eyes and “babe this, babe that”. Give me a freaking break!

    TBQH I hate Alcide. And a lot of E/S-ers like Alcide too. This is a travesty.

    You are great. You write everything that my brain thinks haha.

    • 25 walgigi
      February 23, 2010 at 1:17 am

      Well, I love Eric character, but also like Alcide. And it isn’t a travesty. I think is a matter of understand the characters through Sookie’s eyes and the importance that she gave to them in her life.

      • 26 Stefanie
        February 26, 2010 at 9:13 am

        I think we’ve agreed on liking Alcide in previous posts Gigi. 🙂 I think Alcide has redeemable qualities that may get overlooked at times. Although the whole “Debbie Pelt” ordeal was a travesty on Alcide’s part, I think he was just blinded by love. He was able to overcome this (although a tad to late from Sookie’s standpoint). I think the timing for the A/S relationship was completely off, and I think that is what has left a bad taste in a lot of peoples’ minds about Alcide. But I consider him to be a decent guy when all is said and done (until he proves otherwise–LOL).

        • 27 T.Rece
          February 26, 2010 at 10:00 pm

          I agree. All in all, Alcide seems like an okay guy. I personally like him better than Quinn…but that is for reasons that are not related to Sookie. I never paid too much attention to Alcide and I think he benefits from “going under the radar”. He never seemed to be a serious threat in the “Race for Sookie Stackhouse’s Heart” Contest. I think that is why there is more uproar between Quinn-Eric fans. I’d put Bill in the mix but as Quinn pointed out “he’s not even on the list.”hehehehehehe. That being said, and I can only speak for myself but, I’m sure part of my feelings on Quinn are the result of my loyalty to the viking. Plus, I think Alcide sounds hot and Quinn like butt (honestly, I know it’s wierd but I find him so unappealing that I don’t/can’t form a consistent image of him–he’s like a bald headed blob to me.) Wow…I never noticed that until right now.

    • 28 Tracey
      February 26, 2010 at 7:14 am

      ohhh when i have time I’ll be defending Quinn!!!

  5. 29 T.Rece
    February 23, 2010 at 1:29 am

    Oh Kim, you will never have to feel alone again. There are quite a few Quinn haters around. I don’t hate his personality (other than the “babe” chauvenistic pig business). He is more a like an inconvenience to me. The true travesty is how your friends find him remotely attractive (okay that’s not fair.lol) I’m being harsh on purpose–for dramatic affect. But seriously he couldn’t be farther from hot, IMO–unless you are referring to his body temp. In that case, yes…I’m sure he is steamy…I’m sure he has perpetual rings around his armpits, belly button and back…and lord only knows what kind of BO comes with that. Also, for some reason I always picture Quinn as being black. Probably the shiny bald head thing. I am from Chicago and we associate that with our pride and joy MJ!lol I think he would be WAY hotter if he were…might even be able to give Eric a run for his money.lol I know for sure he’d find something better than “babe” to call Sookie–and don’t lie you know whatever it was it would sound sexier. He could call her “poop” for all I care. Of course, I imagine that all black men talk as if they are performing “Back at One” by Brian McKnight.haha kidding!

    Instead, I just cringed everytime Sookie would get turned on by CH’s Quinn. That single gold hoop! He’s the worst!hahahahahhaha

    On the other hand, physically, I think Alcide was the most attractive. I like the messy dark hair (jew-fro-ish) look. And he dressed fairly normal. I always pictured a cross between a beefed up Adrien Grenier(from Entourage) and the typical Southern Miss frat guy. Did I like him for Sookie though, never. Crazy ass ex-gf issues are NOT my thing.

    • February 23, 2010 at 2:08 am

      Physically speaking, Alcide is definitely more my type. I usually like dark hair, and I like green eyes.

      I have never, ever EVER been attracted to blonde, blue eyed men – which makes my infatuation with Eric and Skars just downright weird.

      • February 27, 2010 at 6:01 pm

        omg SVB..exactly! Alcide sounds like the guy I’d be seducing..NEVER have I been into the whole Blonde/Blue Blonde/Green combination. I’ve always preferred some kind of ethnic mix. But Eric makes my blood boil & I have no idea why!!! Let me know if you figure it out huh? 😉

        • 32 T.Rece
          March 1, 2010 at 5:21 am

          I’m guessing because he’s awesome.lol And, we don’t actually have to be attracted to his physical characteristics to fall in love with Eric. AS on the other hand…he’s got some faery magic going on or something bc I swear I took everything bad I’d ever said about the Scandanavian look back the instant I laid eyes on him!

      • 33 jayetea
        June 17, 2010 at 1:59 am

        This is a really late comment on this subject, but Alcide’s physical type is right up my alley as well. In general I prefer dark haired men (Eric Bana, Clive Owen, for example), and am almost never excited over blonds, but ASkars/Eric are a definite exception! Glad I’m not the only one!!!

    • 34 Tracey
      February 26, 2010 at 7:52 am

      “Crazy ass ex-gf issues are NOT my thing.”

      Oh please. As if Sookie is any better.

      Sookie – “Oh theres toes”
      Quinn – “i can handle a few jealous exs”

      “There was a sound that was a distinct slap. Erics turned around, his expression was suprised”

      Bill – “he jus told this woman how great you are in bed”
      ^^ Something along those lines.

      Both Bill and Eric were not happy about that and both are very possesive over Sookie. No better/different than Debbie.

      okay Quinn first. Pet name such as “Babe” is a complete turn on! Not only that it’s an ice breaker, easy conversation starter; lightens the atmosphere. I admit “lover” is more original but it’s also more intimate. I’d take “Babe” over “Lover” any day.

      “More of an inconvenience.” If anything Quinn brought some excitement in Sookie’s life; she was very happy with him. She was beaming at the sight of him, including in Eric’s presents. Eric met his match Next to Quinn. She marveled at his fashionable gray suits, and eye matcing ties. The ear ring wasn’t a ridiculous non-classy, unfashionable, huge private loop. And it didn’t turn Sookie off in the slightest bit. I believe she found it interesting. Let’s face it, if Quinn had more than a single looped ear ring we’d all find that fishy and boarder line gay. Everything about Quinn turned to be yum and desirable. His body temp and heart beat was an added bonus for Sookie.

      Don’t forget Quinn ended up wit a broken jaw, cracked ribs, and an angry Eric (on more than one occasion) due to crazy ass exs.

      Debbie was jus a danger to her own health. Besides, Sookie put her in her place; done deal. I didn’t care much for Alcides rough appearance. For the sake of the book, appearance isn’t really important; it’s everything else that counts.

      • 35 T.Rece
        February 26, 2010 at 3:14 pm

        “Oh please. As if Sookie is any better.”

        True…it’s not MY thing.

        “More of an inconvenience.” If anything Quinn brought some excitement in Sookie’s life; she was very happy with him.

        Again, Quinn was a personal inconvenience. I wanted her to be with Eric so I couldn’t fully appreciate Quinn.

        Pet name such as “Babe” is a complete turn on! Not only that it’s an ice breaker, easy conversation starter; lightens the atmosphere. I admit “lover” is more original but it’s also more intimate. I’d take “Babe” over “Lover” any day.

        I would choose neither. I don’t think babe is a pet name…he used Blondie and Babe upon first meeting her. Therefore I just assumed he called everyone “Babe”. “Lover” on the other hand, while I might find lovely in the bedroom, is a little borderline for me. But the fact that he bestowed the name on her and only returns the honor when he regains his memory makes it seem more directed-more Pet Name like (to me). But I don’t like it…I also don’t like her calling him baby. But that’s a whole other beef.lol

        Okay…I don’t know how to say this without seeming rude but I don’t think Quinn is at all attractive in how he was described and I could care less how Sookie thinks (w/ her banana clips and tie up jeans).lol I was being overly dramatic above. Still, if he were to have ANY earring (which I am just not a fan of to begin w) I’d assume it to be a stud of some sort. The single hoop is dated IMO, reminds me of wesley snipes, and just makes me laugh. But, really…CH is not kind to her characters in terms of attire (NO ONE!) Sookie doesn’t care…some fans won’t…I do.

  6. 36 Meta
    April 22, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Don’t know where to post this as a first timer 😉 …….
    But all this about Quinn, isn’t it weird that the suspense was killing him… and not about the dress. About Sookie going to the bank with Mr.C. Why would that affect him? Don’t have my materials in front of me for book title (5) or specific quote. I use to like Quinn a lot until I read these posts. Now I am so Alcide as a 2nd!!!!


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,389 hits since October 2009

