25
Nov
09

Who Took Bill? (And will I care if they don’t bring him back?)

Probably not.

Nonetheless I’m kicking this question around during the break. Ball cares enough about Bill to make his fate the season cliffhanger. I guess we’re supposed to care about finding Bill too. So here is me, mustering up some “care”. For Bill.

I’m trying hard.
OK.

So bring in the suspects.

Eric
Groan….hiss…spit….ugh.
The last two episodes of Season 2 certainly set Eric up to take the fall. Since TB Eric is responsible for everything from kittens stuck in trees to global warming, there are no surprises here. But I’m about 95% convinced that he won’t be the culprit with the set up being so obvious. “I will take care of Bill Compton?” OK Eric, just smack me over the head with a dried red herring while you’re at it. If it does turn out to be Eric I will flail and gag and swear, and quite possibly be done with Ball’s fanfic. I’ve forgiven and overlooked a lot, but Eric kidnapping a poor victim-of-circumstance Bill is a dealbreaker. The only thing worse would be Bill giving Sookie a new driveway and Eric raping Sookie in a trunk. And the way things are going with this character schizophrenia, I haven’t completely written off the possibility of those things happening in season 3 either.

At any rate, Eric just isn’t this stupid. He already let Lafayette go when he realised that Sookie actually cared what happened to him. Kidnapping Bill, especially after the Stupid Fucking Proposal (to be known hereafter as the SFP…and don’t even get me started on it. No, don’t), would be ten times worse and would put him in Sookie’s doghouse forever.

Lorena
Bill dumped her and told her he never wanted to see her again. EVER. Big words considering they’re both going to live forever. Lorena “wishes he never said that” and vamps off into the night. Ooooh. And we just know that crazy bitch will be back trying to drag Bill off to some bloodbath/orgy in the very near future.

So Lorena was responsible for Bill being “detained” in the books – but Book Bill also became “enthralled” with Lorena and conducted a brief affair with her prior to his being kidnapped. Hell will freeze over before TB Bill would behave like a sex crazed vampire… and we also have no database as a motive since TB Bill is a bum who doesn’t have a job or legitimate source of income. So I’m not feeling this will play out too closely to the books in terms of motive.

If it is Lorena, it’s going to come down to good old fashioned woman scorned stuff, probably tied in with a bit of….

Russell Edgington
Now here’s where things get interesting. In Club Dead we are left thinking that the King of Mississippi, Russell Edgington had no idea that Bill was being held at his mansion by Lorena, or that Sookie staked Lorena and stuffed her carcass under the pool blanket. It’s not until much later in the series when Russell reappears, that we get an inkling that he actually did know all along and there is a vague suggestion that he may have even been in on it.

With Ball’s tendency to mix up events from the books, I’m wondering if we are going to see that Russell is involved in the kidnapping from the start.

Russell Edgington has been cast for season three (it’s that guy up there ^), and a casting call a couple of weeks back for the part of Talbot (Russell’s boyfriend) mentions Bill being shown around a mansion after his kidnapping. So Bill is obviously going to be held at Russell’s.

In the books Russell was interested in a share of Bill’s database. Again, TB Bum!Bill has no database and nothing else of value worth kidnapping him for, that we know of. Maybe Russell wants his Wii…I don’t know.

I have my money on Lorena being responsible for taking Bill, under direction from Russell. I’m still tossing around motives. I just know that the SFP is tied to this in some way. And Bill’s big dirty secret. Today’s theory is that Bill has been kidnapped to get at Sophie Anne. I will most likely change my mind about that tomorrow but let’s run with it. Political takeover by Mississippi in the wind possibly? What does Bill know that could help bring her down? Ball has already hinted that her character won’t be around as long as she was in the books, is this how he plans to get rid of her? Bill and queenie were very cosy when he paid her a visit. Perhaps there is more going on here than Bill acting as her telepath recruitment agent. That may explain Sophie Anne’s little freak out over Bill – who is supposed to be her subordinate – finding out about her drug dealing.

Bill’s proposal was just so far out of left field, and reeked of desperation that I don’t feel had anything to do with Eric’s designs on Sookie. Something is spooking Bill, something even bigger than that great big viking.

12 Responses to “Who Took Bill? (And will I care if they don’t bring him back?)”


  1. 1 nbu
    November 25, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Hmmmmmm interesting!

    Something spooking Bill into proposing? You mean so he can “protect” her, by her being his? I agree it was out of left field and desperate, but I just figured that had been happening a lot on the show so I didn’t really even blink an eyelid. Well I mean I ranted at the TV, but it’s so typically AB fanfic (I love that term and am going to adopt it) that it makes sense, really.

    It has to have something to do with Sophie Anne because they were chummy and she had a fair amount of screen time (even though it was all horrible and non-canon) in the last 2 eps. And the connection with Bill knowing about the V trafficking or whatever the hell is going on there. I agree with the Russell Edgington/Lorena vibe, also.

    Bill Schmill, either way I’m just not looking forward to watching Eric wrapped around some Eastern European ho for any length of time.

    • November 25, 2009 at 11:35 pm

      *Something spooking Bill into proposing? You mean so he can “protect” her, by her being his?*

      I’m thinking it’s more about good old fashioned arse-covering. Like he knows something big is about to come out that Sookie isn’t going to like and the proposal is designed to make it more difficult for her to tell him to take a hike.

      And I’m sooo not looking forward to this Euro-Ho of Eric’s either.

  2. 3 Gigi
    November 25, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    Just remember AB fanfic is always inverting roles between Bill and Eric. I don’t doubt for a second that AB is trying to adapt Eric’s marriage “move” in order to protect Sookie from Felipe de Castro, to Bill trying to protect Sookie from Sophie Ann… (seems his fanfic lacks of creativity if he just keep inverting roles…).
    *rolleyes*

  3. 4 VampirePamsGirl
    November 25, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    I really don’t care who took Bill either, lol. As far as I’m concerned they can keep him. I feel like it SHOULD be Lorena or Edgington behind it, but I’m preparing myself for it to be Eric. Gonna have somebody else holding the remote to keep me from throwing it at the tv when/if it turns out that way.

  4. 5 Halcyon
    November 26, 2009 at 8:58 am

    I don’t think it’s Eric either. I think the V-dealing plot takes the place of the vamp database in the series, and like you said Lorena takes Bill under Edgington’s orders. It isn’t clear exactly why the queen is doing it aside from the lucrative benefits and why Russell is so interested, maybe he wants in on the action? Like humans involved in black market for organs.

    As much as I hated the proposal and still do, it showed that Bill was trying to trick Sookie before she found out about his connection with the queen and possibly to protect her. Sookie finding out his secret, everything else he kept from her and the fact that he didn’t bother to mention it before proposing, could be what breaks them up.

    • November 27, 2009 at 4:16 am

      This whole V thing has really got me stumped. Been racking my brains out trying to crack it ever since 2.04 *grrrr*

      To me it looked like a viable lead in for Hallow and season 4 but you’re right, it may well play out with Bill’s kidnapping.

      The reason I think maybe it’s a lead in for Hallow is because it gives SA a motive for what she’s doing – trying to track a powerful witch who is getting more powerful (and more dangerous) by ingesting vampire blood. And possibly draining old, powerful vampires as she was planning to do to Eric in the books. SA doesn’t look like she’s struggling in the financial department so I’m not really feeling a financial motive for her selling V. Eric is in on what SA is doing, so it’s not much of a stretch to think that he could end up in the middle of a battle between SA and Hallow, since Ball has said he’s going to do the amnesia storyline.

      I also thought it might explain why they’ve brought SA in so early?

      • 7 Gigi
        November 27, 2009 at 9:17 am

        It makes a lot of sense to me your logical thought about the SA motive… especially if Eric is going to have amnesia on Season 4 (because I can’t imagine another reason for his amnesia but Hallow’s curse).

        But with AB changing so much the core of the characters and the plot, who knows… At last Paley he describe her as “kind of crazy, kind of like Paris Hilton/Lindsay Lohan, with a very short attention span and very, very egomaniacal and very self-obsessed and doesn’t really think about her actions”. Also said “she was sort of behind this selling of ‘V’ as a recreational drug on the streets, pretty much”. That “recreational” word is what really makes me wonder if she’s doing it just for fun… or what.

        Trying to have logical thoughts about TB is very difficult for me especially after last season ludicrous presentation of that HUGE EGG on a bed nest with the sole purpose of licking it…

        By the way I’m thinking how proud Paris Hilton and Lindsay Lohan must feel about Ab used them as inspiration for his queen ahahaha (like they care so much… lol).

        • 8 Halcyon
          November 27, 2009 at 12:33 pm

          Using V to track Hallow sounds like a much better reason, maybe she is Lafayette’s unknown contact? Then Eric gets involved and ends up cursed. I don’t mind them bring SA in so early, but they should have also introduced Andre.

          “Trying to have logical thoughts about TB is very difficult for me especially after last season ludicrous presentation of that HUGE EGG on a bed nest with the sole purpose of licking it…”

          Lol! There was a very interesting mythological explanation of the whole tree/egg/maenad/bull thing in the TB wiki boards, but it wasn’t very clear to the audience. Sadly we were so over it by then, we just wanted it to end.

          • November 27, 2009 at 12:55 pm

            Ok that got me thinking.
            I went back and had a look through DTTW where Pam and Chow are explaining to Sookie, Jason and amnesia Eric what had happened with the witches and how Eric ended up getting cursed. There’s no mention of where Hallow and her coven came from…only that they came from outside Shreveport.

            I just looked at a map and Shreveport is only about 200 miles from Dallas?

            That is very interesting.

            It never even occurred to me that Lafayette’s pussylover9 might be Hallow…that is brilliant!

            • 10 Halcyon
              November 28, 2009 at 1:32 pm

              I can’t take credit, I read somewhere that the contact could be QSA and I just stretched that idea. Although it would be an appropriate name for her instead of Hallow, right?

              I am also sorry for spamming your comments. 🙂

          • 11 Gigi
            November 27, 2009 at 7:08 pm

            LOL I know a lil about different mythologies and I understood very well the manead/tree/bull connection. What really blowed my mind was the HUGE EGG, because I know you can find the egg on different ancient mythologies from Finland, Chaldea, Asyria, Egypt, India and some cultures from middle and far east. But in the greek culture, as on many other western cultures, you can’t find the egg as symbol of fertility and prosperity until after christianity. I swear I even thought Maryanne laid it ahahahahha (Oh my…). That’s why it really left me “???!!!” when they just used it for licking it.

            Anyway, I really find very interesting your theory about Hallow, Lafayette unknown contact and using V to track her. I always thought the V selling has something to do with tracking the buyers, but never related it to Hallow because we didn’t knew before Paley that Eric will have amnesia on Season 4. Your theory makes a lot of sense to me, and I HOPE, LOL, I swear I hope SA will have something more that time, evolution and yatzeeh existential speeches on her Paris and Lindsay’s type brain…

            • November 28, 2009 at 11:18 am

              Man, the WTF!Egg. Where to start. I got the symbolism – fertility symbol and all that – but sticking WTF!Egg inside Giant Meat Uterus = EPICFAIL. That was just ridiculous out there.

              I think maybe it would’ve worked better if the story arc had been shorter. I might have been more tolerant of Egg and Meat Uterus if we’d been introduced, say…FIVE episodes earlier.

              I HOPE, LOL, I swear I hope SA will have something more that time, evolution and yatzeeh existential speeches on her Paris and Lindsay’s type brain…

              I hope so too.
              Really not sure where they’re heading with Sophie Anne. I’m still very on the fence. She’s nothing like book Sophie Anne and I can’t work out whether this vacant teen thing is all there is to her or if it’s all an act.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,387 hits since October 2009

