29
Nov
09

True Blood – Season 3 Casting News

The Daily Telegraph is reporting that Australian actor, Grant Bowler has just landed a season 3 role in True Blood.

“Mate, it’s HBO and it’s the King … it’s the chance to work for an Oscar-winner [series creator Allan Ball] and alongside an Oscar-winner [Anna Paquin],” he said.

It’s a great break for the 41-year-old Bowler, who has struggled with bad luck in the US for the past four years, largely because of directorial whims and the writers’ strike.

The new role – he wouldn’t detail his character – has him becoming bi-coastal, given that he will maintain his commitments on Ugly Betty (seen here on 7Two).

So if we dig through the season 3 casting calls from a month or so back – I’m feeling this is Sam’s brother, Tommy Mickens.

He could also be Talbot. When Bowler was working in Australia, he was cast in alot of “sinister” and bad boy type roles.

Edit: No no no, I’ve had a rethink. Not feeling Tommy Mickens any more, I think it’s the way he looks that was giving me that vibe.
nbu_ suggests Franklin Mott. Thinking about the roles I’ve seen this guy in before, I’m running with that. Bowler plays a very, very good “bad guy” and Franklin is….very bad.

Thoughts?

Update 3/12/09: Confirmed – Grant Bowler will play Cooter, the leader of the bikie gang torturing Bill.

Source

6 Responses to “True Blood – Season 3 Casting News”


  1. 1 nbu
    November 29, 2009 at 6:41 am

    I also think he looks too old to be Tommy Mickens… what age is Sam’s brother supposed to be? I’m picturing someone younger even though he has the same sort of look about him as Sam.

    I choose Franklin Mott because Grant Bowler can look regal and I with his voiceover history, I believe he will have the perfect voice for Franklin. Smooth, dashing but with an underlying sense of evil at the same time. I always imagined Franklin to be someone who commanded others’ attention just with his very presence and I think Grant could do that well.

  2. 2 Gigi
    November 29, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    But we can denied he looks a LOT like Sam Trammel…

  3. November 30, 2009 at 5:01 am

    He does look alot like Sam Trammell in that pic gigi.

    But nbu I think you’ve nailed it – he definitely has the presence and the voice to play Franklin, totes on board with that pick. And you’re right, the casting for Sam’s brother was a twenty-something.

    I’ve seen a few people are saying Alcide – no way. He’s too old for starters and he looks nothing like him. I wish they’d cast Henry Cavill for Alcide…he looks just like I picture Alcide. Here’s a pic of him with….ERW, of all people LOL

    http://www.nypost.com/p/blogs/popwrap/item_u8mQjBZhzTeKgsJj8ZyUuM

    • 4 nbu
      November 30, 2009 at 10:27 am

      What’s weird is that I couldn’t ever picture Alcide in my head when I was reading him. Which is odd cos most of the time I have an image in my head for characters but with Alcide I always drew a blank.

      I’ve heard a lot of people say Henry Cavill for Alcide, and while he is gorgeous, I think Alcide has to have a bit more bulk and a more rogue-ish quality to him. Therefore I submit one of my fave Aussie actors – the ruggedly handsome Sam Worthington: http://ones2watch4.com/content/wp-content/gallery/sam-worthington/10yfaes.jpg

      People have been saying Jeffery Dean Morgan but the guy is like twice the age that Alcide is supposed to be! *eye roll*

  4. 5 Gigi
    November 30, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    When reading about him, I always “see” Alcide as the Rufus Sewell type of man, just a lil younger than he is right now.

  5. 6 Gigi
    December 4, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Grant Bowler

    Ugly Betty fans may know Grant Bowler as Wilhelmina’s (Vanessa Williams) squeeze and current fugitive Connor Owens but on True Blood he’ll be wreaking havoc as werewolf Coot, the menacing ringleader of a biker gang.

    http://www.buddytv.com/articles/true-blood/true-blood-season-3-casting-ro-33043.aspx


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,147 hits since October 2009

