04
Dec
09

Eric & Godric – Permanent

I got very snarky initially about the liberties Alan Ball took with Eric and Godric on True Blood.

It still annoys me slightly that Eric’s real maker is about to be introduced in the next book – and if he turns out to be some kind of awesome Ball has already blown his load.

But meh.

In the end, I loved Vampire Jesus as much as everyone else. Allan Hyde was amazing as Godric, and I can’t wait to see him again in season 3.

Father. Brother. Son.
(but not gay lover LOL)

by LonesomeMovieAngel

12 Responses to “Eric & Godric – Permanent”


  1. 1 Gigi
    December 4, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    “Father. Brother. Son.
    (but not gay lover LOL)”

    I thought the same and felt relieved last season, but something tells me “Do not sing victory yet”. Those spoilers about Eric having sex with men and Godric’s flashbacks makes me think AB is going to make us cry again, and not precisely for the same reason we did with S2… ugh! I only hope to be wrong about this.

    • December 6, 2009 at 11:38 pm

      Oh Gigi I know you can’t stand the thought of E getting it on with a guy.
      But I am a dirty perv and if E is going to do the man thing on True Blood – it HAS to be with Godric.
      I’m ok with that. He had a sexual relationship with his maker in the books.
      But I think they might look a bit funny together since Allan Hyde only comes up to ASkars belly button LOL.

      I can’t see present day Eric ponying up with some guy for the hell of it. Unless we get the scene at Russell’s where he makes out with that guy to distract him…but I think that was better left implied as it was in the books. I hope AB think so too. Given that we know there’s going to be flashbacks w/Godric and we know Eric is going to be having man action I think it’s pretty much a given that this is where it’s going.

      Gigi you’d better put your remote in a safe place so you don’t break your TV! 😉

      • 3 Gigi
        December 7, 2009 at 5:57 pm

        HAHAHA, noooo, you’re not a pervert and I can stand the thought because in the books he tells Sookie about it. I just think is too prematurely (as you said) and more if AB makes it out of the SE book’s dialog context just to manipulate the viewers opinion about E, and make him a worse suitor for Sookie. Because we all know he (I mean AB) has been using the books just as his convenince, inverting “roles”, taking book Eric best actions and details for Sookie and giving them to Bill, etc. And I’m sure he will be use this out of context just to manipulate the audience again. Anyway, I’m going to hide the remote LOL!

  2. 4 tribalbellydonsah
    December 6, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    i totally agree that Ball has blown his load WAY too prematurely with Godrc being Eric’s TB maker, but like you said, meh…

    I do believe that it did make for this season’s most poignient moment. <> at the rooftop scene! but, im just waiting for it to come out on DVD to see the ENTIRE episode!

  3. 6 Dan
    December 12, 2009 at 4:36 am

    The Dallas episodes were Greatness in Television, I mean up there with the Best. Then the whole Marianne debacle was so weak, I darn near swore off AB. I am curios will E cotow to Appius in #10 or if he will be determined that nothing interfere with his CLAIM. He has become very sensitive to her needs. He makes vampires shutup when he suspects Sookie offended. She makes him human, but only when he is with her. He & Sookie are NOW. He will not have longer than a few decades. No time for immortals.

    • December 12, 2009 at 10:39 am

      This is why I feel Appius is going to be bad news for Eric – Harris has said that the child must do what the maker orders…they can resist (we saw that with Mickey/Salom in DAAD) but eventually they must obey. So seems that if Appius has murky intentions there isn’t much Eric is going to be able to do about it.

      Sookie, on the other hand….is very good at offing makers and ex-girlfriends so I have no doubt that if Appius gets out of line he is screwed lol.

      And you’re right Eric is getting more and more in tune with Sookie emotionally and becoming more human by his association with her.

      It’s great to see some male input here btw!

  4. 8 Isabela
    December 15, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    All vampires in the Sookie Stackhouse books are indifferent to sexual preferences, but the quote “Father, Brother, Son” leads me to think that Godric and Eric think of each other as exactly that.
    When Godric died i felt Eric losing that entire people at once.

    I’ve probably watched their scene 20 times and it never fail to break my heart. Such a beautiful and memorable scene.

    Eric: “I will keep you alive by force”.
    Godric: “Even if you could. Why would you be so cruel?”

    And because Eric can’t keep Godric alive by force he falls apart at the sight of losing Godric. He fell to his knees crying and begging to beg “Please. Please Godric, don’t do it….” in that moment Eric goes from stone cold killer to a weeping mess (so desperate to make Godric change his mind) and so helpless.

    In that moment we all saw that Eric real loves Godric. He real loves Godric enough to be willing to sacrifice his own life.
    Who cares if this is only acting? Everyone who lost LOVE in their lives can understand this kind of pain that Eric is felt.

    So if they gone show us Eric with a man, i want to be with Godric, because Eric real love him.

    I want to see Eric/Godric again.

  5. 9 VikingLover
    February 9, 2010 at 4:43 am

    I’ll be honest, I really do NOT want to see Eric having any type of sexual relationship with any man (Godric or otherwise) on TV. I’m not sure why it bothers me – I used to love the show Queer as Folk and watched every episode (that was such a great show) – but for some reason the idea of it here bothers the heck out of me. I can deal with it being implied in the books but I do want to see it live and in person. That being said, it won’t change my perception of Eric in any way (he’s still sexy as hell) but I’m worried about the audience. If I feel that way (and I’m the most left wing liberal you could ever meet) can you imagine those that are not so flexible? Maybe the female audience members can deal but I don’t think the straight dudes will be able to reconcile it. I don’t know, maybe it will just be implied on the show vs an actual love scene? Okay, maybe I can deal with a kiss but nothing more! 🙂

    Maybe it just bothers me because I feel it will serve to further alter the audience’s perception (in a negative) way about Eric. Not that there’s anything wrong with Gay Loving but you guys know what I mean. Maybe people will be able to deal if it’s as someone above said – it will be like it was in the books, a distraction at Russell’s while Sookie rescues Bill.

    By the way, why is it okay (in AB’s mind) for everyone on TB to be “bi” EXCEPT Bill? Can someone answer that for me? Do you remember when Sophie Ann forced Bill to drink that dude’s blood and Bill got all hot under the collar (not in a good way) over the guy offering himself for sex as well? Remeber that Bill’s supposed love scene with Sam will be in a dream sequence – which makes it NOT REAL. What’s up with that?? Ugh.

    • 10 walgigi
      February 9, 2010 at 5:25 am

      Obviously because he isn’t going to danage the “moral” image of his southern gentleman heroe lead role in front of the audience… (now you are beginning to understand my point about AB).

  6. 12 Hookah
    February 9, 2010 at 5:12 am

    Yeah-so don’t wanna see my Viking stud doin another dude. Same as you-got no probs with it-just not for Eric. Maybe everyone will just say “well-he is European..you know how they are” haha..maybe not. Bill was bothered I think, because he was feeling disloyal to Sookie-you have to remember a majority of the TB audience does not know what went down in the books..so they think Bill is a Knight in Shining Armor of impeccable morals *vampire-complete irony* which is where AB is still going in the storyline thus far..Implied mixed sex would be much more preferable..but Askars says he’ll be getting lots of sex this season men & women..*cringe* we’ll have to reserve judgment till we see how he skewers it.
    I’m hoping he’s paying some sort of attention, and sees what kind of fanbase Eric has built up & will do as much as possible to make the fans happy!! Bill/Sam..that actually makes me giggle lol..remember how awkward he was when Jason hugged him? That whole thing will actually be kinda interesting..if only for it’s ewww factor-considering they can’t stand each other.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,125 hits since October 2009

