08
Dec
09

Shameless Fangirling Ahead…

A newly translated interview with Alexander Skarsgard is doing the rounds at the moment. I’m completely fangirling in this post and I don’t care.

Skarsgard: Before I started shooting the first episodes of True Blood, I read the first five books of the Southern Vampire Mysteries…
I’ve had people come to me and tell me that Eric is the devil. I have always defended my character, because he is so much more than that. Having read the books, I know that he has deeper levels, and that he is not only Bill’s evil boss. Eric has a sensitive side, he can be very loyal, a good friend and be compassionate.

ASKARS, THIS IS WHY I LOVE YOU.

He has taken the time to completely understand this character. He sees the same things we see. He perceives a complexity to Eric that goes beyond the one dimensional “bad boy” and he plays this aspect of him so subtly that unless you’re watching for it, you’d never see it. Just like book Eric, you have to join the dots to get the whole picture. And just like in the books we aren’t meant to be seeing the whole picture – yet.

In over a year of hanging out on SVM/True Blood forums and blogs I don’t think I have ever seen a book fan complaining about Skarsgard’s casting as Eric. Considering the amount of (completely justified) complaining we bookies seem to do about Eric’s character assassination on True Blood, it’s a credit to Askars that he not only escapes unscathed but is universally praised for his interpretation of one of the SVM’s most beloved characters.

Skarsgard can still show us glimpses of an Eric we recognise, even when Alan Ball seems to be doing his level best to completely defile him. The bullet sucking scene, Eric’s reaction to Sookie slapping him in the face, and the first dream sequence were all pure Book Eric – even though the writing or in some cases the actual scenes themselves weren’t canon. It gives me some hope for True Blood Eric. Not alot – since Ball has given and taken away so many times now – but enough to keep me interested for season 3.

5 Responses to “Shameless Fangirling Ahead…”


  1. 1 pbsTMI
    December 8, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    You’ve said it perfectly, as usual. ASkars brings a subtle depth to AB’s mostly flat version of Eric. But–and of course I could be wrong because obviously I don’t know the man–from what I’ve read, ASkars himself seems to have some of that same joie de vivre as Eric. And he’s definitely very comfortable in his own skin, and seems to be a very sensual (and I don’t necessarily–or not only–mean sexual) person. All of that to say that, whatever he’s written for Eric, AB made an outstanding casting decision.

    “I’m glad you are feeling better. And may I add that color suits you very well.”

  2. 3 ksr
    December 8, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    “…Skarsgard can still show us glimpses of an Eric we recognise, even when Alan Ball seems to be doing his level best to completely defile him. The bullet sucking scene, Eric’s reaction to Sookie slapping him in the face, and the first dream sequence were all pure Book Eric…” Absolutely and unconditionally agree! This is exactly what I thought about his acting while I saw all this scenes. Hope he will continue in the same spirit and we wouldn’t suffer a lot of AB’s “artistic” disgrace.

  3. 4 VampirePamsGirl
    December 9, 2009 at 12:25 am

    Alan Ball might not get it and Raelle Tucker might not get it, but ASkars gets it! And that is why (well, at least one reason why) we love him!

    And I have to agree with pbsTMI that you said it perfectly, as usual!

    • 5 Gigi
      December 10, 2009 at 10:11 pm

      pbsTMI, I also agree with you, and this is a great interview where he discussed the personality similarities between Eric’s character and himself:

      “Alan Ball might not get it and Raelle Tucker might not get it, but ASkars gets it! And that is why (well, at least one reason why) we love him!”

      Ditto, VampirePamsGirl. And I may add that’s why no matter how much they are trying to change the core of his character and don’t make him a lead, AS is such a great actor that always keep Eric as the most popular character of the show. Good, or bad, people can’t stop takling about “Eric”… 😉


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,147 hits since October 2009

