15
Dec
09

True Blood – Franklin Mott Cast

More casting news for season three today, with the announcement of The Tudor’s actor James Frain as Tara’s next love interest, Franklin Mott.

The casting call describes the vampire as having an “immediate and torrid” connection to Tara. In Club Dead, Franklin played sugar-daddy to Tara for a while before becoming bored and “passing her on” to a far more dangerous and violent vampire named Mickey. Mickey roughed her up, cut her off from her friends and ultimately tried to kill both Tara and Sookie in a showdown at Sookie’s house.

I strongly suspect that they are planning to mix these two characters in True Blood, and Tara is in for another painful ride in season three. Get set to be tortured – Eggs style peeps.

I don’t know how much more whiny-victim, spineless Tara I can handle. Actually, I don’t know how much more Tara I can handle, period. She and Eggs had absolutely zero chemistry in season 2. By the end of the season I was scratching my head as to why she even gave a shit about him at all because I sure as hell didn’t. Such a pity, I loved her in season 1.

Sam’s mother, Melinda Mickens has also been cast. She’ll be played by L. Smith-Cameron.

18 Responses to “True Blood – Franklin Mott Cast”


  1. 1 nskars
    December 15, 2009 at 2:41 am

    Yeah Tara is feeling more and more like a space filler. I completely lost interest in her storyline arc in season 2. The whole maenad rubbish didn’t help, either.

    After re-reading Club Dead, I’ve realized that Russell Edgington is supposed to be a fairly young guy with red hair… that’s how he’s described in the book, anyway. Denis O’Hare doesn’t really fit that description. I do like James Frain as an actor, but as Franklin Mott? Franklin ends up being smarmy in the end, and James can do smarmy, but he’s also supposed to be older and debonair. It doesn’t make much sense. If James Frain was playing the King and Denis O’Hare playing Franklin, then I would kind of get that.

    All this random is making me dread seeing who will be cast as Alcide.

    • December 15, 2009 at 3:12 am

      Oh yeah.
      I am more than slightly nervous about that as well.

      The casting seems to be either absolutely perfect – ASkars, Nelsan Ellis, Sam Trammell – or absolutely bloody woeful.

      Like Anna Paquin. Two seasons and she still isn’t Sookie to me.

      They really, really need to get Alcide right.

      • 3 nskars
        December 15, 2009 at 3:25 am

        Oh god, she’s not Sookie to me either! She overacts, I don’t like her drawl and her lips annoy me. Not only that, but I think she either hasn’t read many SVM books or doesn’t understand the character. There’s something about her interpretation of Sookie that’s a little off to me.

        I have my own image of Sookie in my head but I can’t determine an actress that’s close to it.

  2. 4 walgigi
    December 15, 2009 at 6:47 am

    In fact, on the SMV Tara is just a space filler, a secondary character. I told it once at another blog. The biggest mistake of AB with TB was making Tara a lead charachter. In their effort to keep Eric out of the leads and don’t give the character enough screen time, they made Tara a lead… and we had the disaster of the manead-eggs (we had TWO eggs lol) arc and God knows what else we’ll have on the coming seasons (more whiny-victim as you said uff). I think it would be too premature to introduce the Tara-Mickey arch the next season, because who is going to save them? Beel??? E&S aren’t even friends… but who knows? These people destroy the books at their conveninece.

    Denis O’Hare is too old and James Frain is too young, Evan Rachel Woods is a disaster… and Anna Paquin… OMG! lol IMO, as good as she can be as an actress, Oscar and all, is the worst of all the casts. Don´t take me wrong, I love her acting. But in TB something´s isn´t working. She seems to be imitating Holly Hunter there, sometimes is like a mimic of her. As nbu said, she overacts a lot, her mouth grimaces are annoying and she can’t succed in portray Sookie’s trully personality (her ironic humor interpreting the situations, her zest for life and her independence). It’s like as if Sookie is in a bad mood all the time. She just has 3 modes: mad, whiny or clingy and completely dependant (She even need Bill to remind her to use her telepathy gift LOL!!). Obviously part of the fault has to do with the writers, but her image definitely don’t fit Sookie’s. The closest image I have of Sookie is someone like Heather Graham: http://s617.photobucket.com/albums/tt254/Wal-y/Blogs/ . Maybe she isn’t as young as AP, but definetely her image fits a lot with Sookie book’s description.

    But the biggest question of all is: WHERE is Alcide??? LOL

    • 5 nskars
      December 15, 2009 at 10:31 am

      I agree, making Tara a main character was just a waste of time really. I did like her in season 1 but there was no point in her role in season 2.

      About the Tara-Mickey arc… I could see the writers making it happen. But it probably wouldn’t make any sense. The reason that Eric helps Tara in that situation was for Sookie (and Sookie’s safety I imagine) and was also in return for Sookie telling him exactly what happened while he was under Hallow’s spell. I thought I read somewhere that AB said that Eric’s amnesia was going to happen in season 4. So if TB’s Franklin Mott is going to be some warped Franklin/Mickey type character, then it won’t make sense for a Tara/Mickey arc in season 3.

      Totally agree with you about Sookie, Gigi. I HATE her complete dependence on Bill and I think that’s one of the things that gets to me most of all about TB’s Sookie and Anna Paquin’s portrayal. Sookie has had to live the sort of life where her telepathy has made her an outcast – she’s had to rely on herself a hell of a lot. Of course, in DUD, she met Bill, had interest in him, was fascinated by the fact that she could be at peace in his presence and fell in love with him. But she was still strong, hardworking, independent Sookie. Throughout the books she has been with and without love interests but she has always stayed true to her character and that’s why TB’s Sookie irks me so much. Sookie’s swooning over Saint Bill who can do no wrong has become old and uninteresting. And it’s not canon Sookie.

      Another thing: even if Sookie didn’t sometimes like or agree with the vampires or their way of living, she always respected protocol. She gave her mind when it was appropriate and shut up when she knew that she should. I’ve been re-watching 2.03 and when Sookie flies off the handle at Eric about Lafayette I cringe. Yeah she would have been pissed off, but telling him he should be ashamed? Slapping him? Threatening to call the police? IMO I don’t think canon Sookie would have completely gone nuts without 1/ thinking about the reasoning behind Eric’s actions, 2/ thinking about the repercussions of her own actions and 3/ being a little smarter about the way to go about getting Lafayette released.

      Sorry! I’ve written a novel. But just a few things I wanted to get off my chest! 😀

  3. 6 ksr
    December 15, 2009 at 11:35 am

    “…Actually, I don’t know how much more Tara I can handle…” That’s it! The first season more or less I could handle it, but for the second I used F FWD at remote control every now and then cause I couldn’t stand this maenadtaraeggs mess anymore!)))

  4. 7 ksr
    December 15, 2009 at 11:36 am

    Anna Paquin looks really boring and dull with her “3 modes: mad, whiny or clingy and completely dependant” at any situation and also she looks pretty weird with her spread hands and bow-legged walk. She doesn’t draw my attention when she appears on the screen, like ASkars, Nelsan Ellis or Kristin Bauer but at least she doesn’t irritate me as Evan Rachel Woods does as a queen!
    To summarize it I can say that casting mostly is good, even when it doesn’t hit the mark and follows books descriptions. So I hope that in case of James Frain as Franklin Mott they made a good choice – he’s experienced, talented and many-sided actor which could surprise us with his own vision of this character. At least I hope he will as far as it already made decision! )))

    • 8 walgigi
      December 16, 2009 at 6:01 am

      Well, be prepared for more “spread hands” from AP, because from now on we are going to have the new and improved Sookie/Rouge hybrid with magic glowing hands… (maybe too much X-Men?)
      *roll eyes*

      OMG LOL!!!

      • 9 Mia
        December 17, 2009 at 10:59 am

        Thank you so much for mentioning the miracle glow hands! That is one of my biggest peeves of S2 and of all the spoilers I have read for S3. The writers couldn’t even use it effectively when they added it. Maryann just gets a buzz off of it and Sookie uses it to knock over the meat tree/uterus thing when vampire Bill with his vampire strength could have easily done it.

        They haven’t even been able to write Sookie’s telepathy in decently. It pops up only when the plot needs a telepath to hear something, and it is completely ignored when it is inconvenient – like hearing Luke with his bomb or hearing Lettie Mae want to free Tara. Or as someone else mentioned, when Beel reminds her that she’s a telepath. WTH?

        Now she’s going to be able to zap people? It’s not a good development. I’m really wishing that the writers would drop it; Sookie doesn’t need to be Buffy. She (book Sookie) was a strong enough character without the addition of super powers.

  5. 10 VampirePamsGirl
    December 15, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Yeah, not quite what I had in mind as I read Franklin Mott either, but maybe he can make it work.

    I have to jump on the Tara-hating train here as well. Just…ugh! I did really like her in Season 1, but yeah like ksr I got to the point that I would fast-forward through her scenes in Season 2. And with this news, like the rest of you, I’m seriously afraid that we’ll never see sassy, spunky Tara again. I understand that she’s going to be going through a grieving period for Eggs, but couldn’t they let her the stage of anger more than moping? Gigi also has a good point though that trying to make Tara anything more than a space-filler may not have been the best idea.

    And TB should never ever have eggs in any form or fashion on the show again. Never.

    I really hope that nskars/nbu is right about Franklin and Mickey not being combined into one character, but I suspect that it could happen. After all, when have they ever denied the chance for Saint Beeell to be the hero? I hope they keep it true to the way it should be, but I’m once again taking the “hope for the best, prepare for the worst” route.

    Anna Paquin- I’m really trying to like her. Okay I really tried. Nope, still nothing. I have too agree once again about her overacting and being too clingy/whiny/dependent/pick annoying characteristic and place here. Book Sookie is so much stronger than she is portrayed on that show.

    You know if I’m having this much fun on this site just discussing casting (and I am loving it here!) I really can’t wait until the new Season starts and we can all gripe and ogle ASkars every Sunday night! 😉

    • 11 ksr
      December 15, 2009 at 1:37 pm

      “…I really can’t wait until the new Season starts and we can all gripe and ogle ASkars every Sunday night! ;)…” Dear Santa Claus/Sinterklaas/Father Christmas/Joulupukki/Kerstman/Christkind/Ded Moroz/Papa Noel or whatever you are, please give us as much Eric Northman/Askars as possible and even more for the future year (at TB 3rd season and DTF book)!!!! We promise to be nice and kind and… ok whatever you like! Just “bring him to meeeee!!!!!!!!” )))))

      • 12 VampirePamsGirl
        December 16, 2009 at 2:31 am

        Amen. Wait. Is it wrong to use Amen in a letter to Santa? Oh well. Amen. I have to add to my wish list though that for TB Eric Northman not to be ruined by the writers. I hope they can keep him true to character. I know ASkars will do his part if they do theirs!

        • 13 ksr
          December 16, 2009 at 10:11 am

          “…I have to add to my wish list though that for TB Eric Northman not to be ruined by the writers…” I’m afraid that even Santa couldn’t handle it… Is there any creature in the world which could stop these messengers of evil?! (((( Well! NO!!! I’m not going to fall in to slump of depression!!! I’m full of optimism and belief in the reality of miracles!!!))))

  6. 14 pbsTMI
    December 16, 2009 at 12:14 am

    OK, I’m in the minority, but AP doesn’t bother me as Sookie. Partly, I think, because I don’t blame the actress for the direction that the director and writers have taken the character of Sookie. I think she gets that crazy Sookie grin nearly perfect, actually.

    I completely agree about annoying Tara. I love that AB did give Sookie a strong female friend other than Arlene. And I thought she was good, if a little self-indulgent, in season 1. But season 2 was off the charts annoying. But again, not the actress’s fault. I’d like to see a Tara that’s a little more grown-up. But I guess we don’t even see that in book Tara until she married to JB in book 9, so maybe AB is actually giving us a fairly accurate outside of Sookie portrayal. Book Tara is not very likable in early books.

    • 15 VampirePamsGirl
      December 16, 2009 at 2:36 am

      I think you’re probably really right that a lot of the stuff that annoys us about the characters are more due to the writers than the actors.

      On comparing book Tara to show Tara, I can see a few similarities. Tara was a bit annoying with JB and with Mickey relationship arc in the book. Even though she’s really not in the books much at all, maybe they did kinda get her true to character in the show. I dunno though. But what sucks is that they gave us Season 1 Tara who kicked ass and we all like her and then we get Season 2 Tara who sucked. But of those two Tara’s, S2 was probably closer to what we see in the books. And they say us “bookies” want everything to be just like the books! Psh. Keep her changed please! Just don’t mess with our Viking! 😀

    • 16 Mia
      December 17, 2009 at 10:45 am

      You’re not alone. AP doesn’t bother me; it’s how the Sookie character is written, which is such a pain. I really liked her in like the first 6 episodes of Season 1 until she started going bi-polar and mopey and woe is me. At the start of S2, she was back on track but then devolved back into this damsel in distress character or someone who slaps vampires or threatens them (Lorena, anyone?) I agree with another poster; book Sookie would never have done it. A) she was smarter than that i.e. vampires can kill you, and B) she was a credit to her upbringing. I think the writers confuse aggressive with strong when it comes to Sookie.

      S1 Tara had the same problem, but it was understandable considering her upbringing. I liked Tara’s sarcastic commentary. What I didn’t like was her constant screaming at everyone. Tara in the books managed to overcome her horrible childhood and start her own business so she was more mature than she is currently shown on the series and has more ambition than even Sookie.

      I always wondered how Tara met Franklin in the books. I thought it might have been through Bill since he owned the shopping mall that Tara’s store occupied although that was never covered.

      Hopefully S3 won’t be more victim, victim, victim for Tara, because I do think the actress is talented; they just don’t write her a decent storyline. I wish that they would put Tara and Lafayette together more too. Those two have so much chemistry together as family, and I was reminded of it in S2 when Tara visits Laf after he gets away from Eric.

  7. 17 Stef
    December 16, 2009 at 7:14 am

    I’m just glad SOMEONE from The Tudors is getting consideration…there’s a HUGE pool of awesome actors to pull from that show!

  8. 18 Seán
    May 17, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    I know I’m late writing on this post (just discovered this blog – it’s excellent by the way) but I really feel strongly that the characters in True Blood are perfectly cast. I would not change one actor or actress because they’re all perfect as you can get.

    About Anna Paquin, it would be impossible for the perfect Sookie to be cast because she is such a major major part of the book. Maybe she does overact sometimes but there are scenes that Paquin pulls of really well also. I thought the scenes at Gran’s funeral where she could hear everyone’s thoughts was extremely well acted as well as the pie-eating scene. As for Sookie being the damsel in distress, I understand, True Blood does tend to fall into the Hollywood cliché sometimes but Anna Paquin’s Sookie has showed plenty of spunk – she did kill René remember. Something that didn’t happen in the book. We also have to understand that Sookie has grown a lot over the course of the books – and that’s probably what we’ll see in the TV series too. Especially when she splits with Saint Beel.

    Speaking of growing over the series, I think True Blood Tara is so much angrier than the book version of Tara because Ball is taking TV Tara on a journey. In the books, Tara’s parents are long dead and Tara has made something of her life. But it could be possible that the book Tara was similarly angry and anti-social in her teenage years when her parents would still be alive and scared people off with her snarky personality before growing up after her parents die and setting up her clothes shop. Rutina Wesley is fantastic as Tara and while Tara was very annoying in Season 2, I have complete faith in the writers that all the storylines and characters will be developed to their full potential, even if it takes several seasons to do so.

    And I like Evan Rachel Wood as Queen Sophie Ann. Sophie Ann is so flat and underdeveloped in the books – we need to give ERW and the writers a chance for her to develop over the course of the show. We’ve only seen her in two episodes so far so I think people are unfairly judging.

    True Blood is consistently, for me anyways, the best show on TV and no TV show is without its flaws. I think it has many strong female characters too – lots more than you’re average TV show, an example being making Isobel the better vamp than Stan.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,642 hits since October 2009

