15
Dec
09

True Blood – Meet Alcide

Well that was quick! The call went out on Friday, with an announcement already that One Tree Hill actor Joe Manganiello is to play Alcide.

What do you think?

I’m kind of meh. Alcide had a kind of earnestness about him and I don’t feel that with Joe. He looks shifty. I can’t recall seeing him act in anything though so I guess I’ll have a look on YouTube before I make up my mind. First impressions aren’t really enthusiastic though.

I do like that he’s 6″4. Just picturing Bill standing in between him and Eric makes me giggle, and that’s no easy feat today. I’m in a bad mood over the other big casting announcement – Massive Rant Pending so I’ll save my thoughts on that.

12 Responses to “True Blood – Meet Alcide”


  1. 1 pbsTMI
    December 16, 2009 at 12:22 am

    He could be good. He’s a big guy which I like. I wasn’t picturing so tall, but I know that the books do say he is quite tall. No green eyes…I know that was a must for you 🙂 I like the smile and dimples. He’s no Luca Calvani, but I’ll wait to see what happens on the screen. Whether or not AB casts according to the books, his picks seem to suit his ideas for the characters very well.

    What I find weird is the number of people out there who are rabid Alcide fans. Alcide is an ass. A rereading of books 3-5 (for the umpteenth time) only reinforces that impression. Why would anyone want a S/A HEA? I just don’t get it. I mean, if you went no further than the first trip to Josephine’s in Club Dead, maybe I could see it, but everything after that is icksville.

    • 2 VampirePamsGirl
      December 16, 2009 at 2:46 am

      “No green eyes…I know that was a must for you 🙂 ” Haha, that’s exactly what I thought when I saw this early while Googling True Blood news. I even Googled this guy and zoomed in on some pics to make sure of his eye color. And then I was like I know some people that are gonna be disappointed, lol. Maybe they’ll have contacts? Though I doubt it, since they don’t use contacts for the main character that has brown eyes that should be blue.

      I’m not sure what I think of this casting though. I saw some pics of him that looked okay, but I’ve never really seen or heard of him before so I guess it will just be a wait-and-see thing for me. I’m reserving judgment at this point.

      I’ve never been strongly opinioned on who was cast as Alcide either, mainly because I’ve never liked him either so I couldn’t get myself psyched out to care who got cast as him. Like you say, if you don’t read further than Club Dead he doesn’t seem so bad. But I was completely turned against him by the book (I have to get my books back so I can look this stuff up!) when his dad makes the bid for packmaster. He just really got on my bad side in that one. Plus it didn’t help that I was busy falling for a certain blond-haired, blue-eyed Sheriff through reading Club Dead, so it kinda stalled an emotional Alcide attachment for me. Yep, my Eric obsession started way before Book 4!

  2. 3 Navicita
    December 16, 2009 at 12:27 am

    I like him! I think he has potential, but I don’t remember seeing him act in anything either. I like the fact he’s so tall, but no green eyes is dissapointing! I can’t wait till the new season!

  3. 4 walgigi
    December 16, 2009 at 2:37 am

    WOW, another gorgeous casting pffff (in case anyone misunderstand it.. it’s an irony).

    So this is AB’s Alcide? Notice… same Askars height… to make the ladies forget about E/S and the original plot? Another eye candy to entertain the females starving for sex? (double mehhh!)

    Maybe AB turns him into gay when he finished traumatized by Debbie Pelt (you know, the gay theme is more important than the actual plot of the SMV series…)

    *(Sorry if I was harsh, I’m in a bad mood , too.)

  4. December 16, 2009 at 5:25 am

    I think I’m most upset with the eye colour. Alcide has big green eyes and CURLY hair. Dude has little brown eyes and dead straight hair.

    I don’t know…he looks like a footballer or a thug. He looks like he would be better suited to playing mafioso. I’m still not sold.

    I will continue to brood lol.

  5. 6 walgigi
    December 16, 2009 at 5:41 am

    “He looks like he would be better suited to playing mafioso.” HAHAHHAAH Your right about that! LOL!

  6. 7 pbsTMI
    December 16, 2009 at 5:47 am

    He looks a little more suitable in the pic that @KitchenBitch tweeted earlier: http://twitpic.com/tpk2c

    • 8 walgigi
      December 16, 2009 at 3:48 pm

      I saw that pic (when I was browsing pics of him two days ago after I read someone proposed him on a TB site) and found it nice, but still isn’t Alcide’s image for me. I mean, he is supposed to be an untamed hairy werewolf and he is completely body hairless (he doesn’t even has arms or chest hair…). Well, maybe it’s AB’s brand new hairless werewolf breed LOL.

  7. December 16, 2009 at 5:55 am

    Oh yeah definitely better there. I like him better with longer hair.

    But I’m still sulking 😛

  8. 11 Stef
    December 16, 2009 at 6:50 am

    Yeah, I’m not very happy that Henry Cavill got the brush-off on this one. I mean, AB did pick James Frain (who I believe will make a great Franklin Mott)–but geez…I’m still not seeing the connection with this “new blood.” And even though Alcide is a tall character, to cast someone the same height as our bloved Viking…I think they are trying to make us Eric fan’s angry! Although, it will be extremely funny to see Bill in between these two. HAHA…maybe a little scene of them playing “keep away” from Bill…that would be hilarious!

  9. 12 nskars
    December 16, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Well I like his ruggedness. He looks like he’s a worker and that’s what Alcide is. But I want the curls, too.

    I think I am just a little perplexed with the entire thing atm.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,389 hits since October 2009

