30
Dec
09

New Interview with Joe Manganiello on Alcide

I have to admit – my first reaction to the casting of Joe Manganiello as Alcide Herveaux was a loud and resounding WTF?!

He doesn’t look much like Alcide to me – I still can’t get over the beady brown eyes that are supposed to be big and green. And a cursory search on YouTube to see him actually act didn’t do much to reassure me either…

However.

He’s just done an interview with Ausiello, and I have to admit…I’m warming to the warm blooded were. As well as sounding like a pretty good guy, he talks about his long-held fascination with werewolves and the supernatural:

When I was a little kid, the nun at my elementary school said if you pray for something hard enough, it’ll happen. And I would pray every day with all of my heart that God would turn me into a werewolf.

I guess he just got his wish.

I just loved Halloween. When I was 4, my mother dressed me up as a vampire and brought me to a haunted house. When I think about it now, bringing a 4-year-old kid to a haunted house is pretty intense. There was a vampire in the haunted house that jumped out of a coffin and I went up and tried to climb into the coffin with him. He wound up picking me up and putting me in the coffin with him and closing the lid. I [just] always liked monsters. There was something interesting about having this thing inside of you that you can’t control that comes out when you get angry. There’s something cathartic about the idea of having a beast inside you.

While he doesn’t mention that he’s read the books, he does hint that bookies will be pleased [at least until Ball decides to fuck him up]

Q: Will your Alcide be different from the Alcide in the books?
A: Alan Ball and I had a conversation about that at one of my auditions. I think it’s up in the air. I know that, at least initially, fans of the book will be pleased with my character.

It also sounds as though Alcide and Sookie’s first meeting will occur under the same circumstances as it did in Club Dead – with Alcide arriving on her doorstep, presumably sent by Eric, to help her find Bill:

When Sookie first meets him, she opens the door and looks up, and then has to look up some more. So there’s this giant presence standing in the doorway with dark hair and dark features. He’s strong and protective. He comes from a construction background; his father is in the construction business. He’s heroic and romantic. I don’t think it’s a secret that he has a broken heart when he shows up. He had a really rough go of this relationship with Debbie Pelt, so there’s a lot of friction there.

It sure sounds like he has done his homework and he identifies with the character, and none of that can hurt. Casting for True Blood has tended to either nail it perfectly (Eric, Pam, Lafayette, Sam, Gran) been a complete fail (Sookie…oh dear god, Sookie) or something in between (Bill – he’s too old for the part but Moyer can act). So it remains to be seen how well they’ve done this time. For now, I’m happy to give this guy a go and see what he can do.

But I still say it should have been Henry Cavill *sulks*

Source: Part 1 and Part 2

22 Responses to “New Interview with Joe Manganiello on Alcide”


  1. 1 walgigi
    December 30, 2009 at 1:45 am

    “(Sookie…oh dear god, Sookie)” HAHAHAHA OMG!!

    “He doesn’t look much like Alcide to me” He’s so hairless (and sooo green eyes “less” LOL!!!). Anyway, as you said, we have to give him a go, and time will tell what he can makes of Alcide.

  2. 2 Stef
    December 30, 2009 at 2:54 am

    I watched this YouTube clip for the first time when I heard he was to play Alcide. He’s definetely got the body for it (minus the hair and green eyes, of course). But I must concur–Henry Cavill would have been the best choice. I just got the Tudors Season 3 for Christmas and while I was watching Henry Cavill (in all of his hotness) I could COMPLETELY visualize him as Alcide!

    Also, if there is a chance Quinn will come up soon (probably not til season 4)–Ray Stevenson would be the perfect purple pansyness!:)

    • 3 ksr
      December 30, 2009 at 12:15 pm

      Stef!!!! Tell us the TRUTH!!! Are you Quinn’s veiled admirer?!! Cause Ray Stevenson is too good to be Quinn!!! To be honest, there’s no any actor looks bad enough to be Quinn!!! If I would be in charge of casting for TB4, I would find somebody crooked, blind in one eye, with one leg shorter then another and… ok he’ll be bald (that’s Ok with me)!!! And don’t tell me that it doesn’t match with Quinn’s description in CH’s books!!! ))))))

      • 4 Stef
        December 31, 2009 at 1:25 am

        No, I’m not a Quinn lover…haha. It would truly not be a good thing to have him be the alpha male on the show, but since he is a part of the story he needs his spot in the show too–and be at least a tiny bit of eye candy. Although it would be funny if he was blind in on eye and missing a leg, somehow the image of him being a “tiger” would be all wrong:) While I love you’re enthusiasm, let’s let the chips fall where they may on the addition of Quinn…let him get all angsty over Sookie and fall flat on his face when she dumps him (and Eric kicks his ass as God intended).

        • 5 ksr
          December 31, 2009 at 10:32 am

          ‘…let him get all angsty over Sookie and fall flat on his face when she dumps him (and Eric kicks his ass as God intended)…’ Well… and who is cruel here?!!! ))))))))))))))

      • 6 walgigi
        December 31, 2009 at 1:58 am

        Ohhh please ksr!!! You just forget TB needs now a superheroe to match super glowing hands Sookie/Rouge hybrid. How could you be so cruel about the casting of the purple pansy Thundercat??? LOL :p

        • 7 Stef
          December 31, 2009 at 2:01 am

          OMG! LOL…”Thundercat”! Love it!!

          • December 31, 2009 at 3:04 am

            There MUST be Quinn.
            Must must MUST!
            I know you all hate him but I’ll be so pissed if they leave him out.
            You know how I get about the tiger…I can’t wait to see him all up in Eric’s shiz making him jealous lol.

            • 9 nskars
              December 31, 2009 at 7:52 am

              Oh man, I’ll be pissed if they leave him out, too! As much as I can’t stand him, I will be squeeing like a schoolgirl when he and Eric start growling over Sookie.

              I’m just not looking forward to Sookie mooning over him like he’s a freakin rock star.

          • 10 walgigi
            December 31, 2009 at 1:10 pm

            Aaine, if they are casting for Calvin Norris, definetely there must be a casting for Quinn. I just hope they don’t make it for the next season to mess with Eric’s amnesia… If they do, I could turn psycho.

            nbu, did you really mean: “I’m just not looking forward to Sookie mooning over him like he’s a freakin GENIE rock star”??? HAHAHHAHA (OMG! I can’t forget his outfit, it’s like a nightmare to me LOL!!!)

  3. 12 nskars
    December 30, 2009 at 10:16 am

    @Stef: Dear god I don’t even wanna think about Quinn before I have to.

    I think old mate Joe sounds like a decent enough guy who, as you said, has done his homework, has enthusiasm for the character and respects the series. Ok, so I probably didn’t visualize him as Alcide when he was cast, but I can see myself almost warming to the guy.

    Confession: I don’t honestly know how I’m going to handle seeing Alcide and then Quinn (shudder) fighting for Sookie’s affections in the flesh on True Blood. It’s bad enough witnessing Eric having to deal with her childish antics now but when you add her flirting up (and sexing up, in Quinn’s case) a storm with those two in the mix, it’s gonna be downright dry-heaving-worthy. Sometimes I just want to smack her in the face /end rant.

    • 13 ksr
      December 30, 2009 at 12:20 pm

      ‘I don’t honestly know how I’m going to handle seeing Alcide and then Quinn (shudder) fighting for Sookie’s affections in the flesh on True Blood.’ I already thought that I have to install my TV to some durable cell, to protect it from my rage! LOL

  4. 14 ksr
    December 30, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    “It sure sounds like he has done his homework and he identifies with the character, and none of that can hurt.” Oh, yes! He apparently did it pretty well!
    “Casting for True Blood has tended to either nail it perfectly (Eric, Pam, Lafayette, Sam, Gran) been a complete fail (Sookie…oh dear god, Sookie) or something in between (Bill – he’s too old for the part but Moyer can act). So it remains to be seen how well they’ve done this time. For now, I’m happy to give this guy a go and see what he can do.” I’m so with you on that matter! And I really hope he’ll be on the list of casting success even if I don’t like Alcide character almost like I don’t like Quinne and sometimes even more! But I’m impressed of his excitement and frank willing to do his best and to put into action his point of view of this character. Though I still hope that he wouldn’t be too good to stand any comparison with our beloved Eric/ASkar! ))))

  5. 15 VampirePamsGirl
    December 30, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    @ksr – A durable cell…brilliant. I think I need to invest in that too because like you and nskars, it’s going to be quite difficult for me to stomach any Alcide/Sookie or even worse Quinn/Sookie stuff. I also don’t care for Alcide’s character (or Quinn’s) but I am glad that he seems to be putting the effort into making it believable, though I’m quite certain that he’ll never compare with Eric/ASkars, not for me anyway.

    @walgigi – “and sooo green eyes “less” LOL!!!” Just had to repeat the LOL on that one. ;D

    • 16 ksr
      December 31, 2009 at 10:34 am

      ‘…A durable cell… I think I need to invest in that too because like you and nskars, it’s going to be quite difficult for me to stomach any Alcide/Sookie or even worse Quinn/Sookie stuff…’ Let’s buy it all together, we’ll get a discount for wholesale order! LOL

  6. 17 ksr
    December 31, 2009 at 10:35 am

    @Walgigi ‘You just forget TB needs now a superheroe to match super glowing hands Sookie/Rouge hybrid.’ Ohh…shit! I forgot it! Maybe they can solve the problem just to put on gloves on her hands? No? What a pity! LOL
    ‘How could you be so cruel about the casting of the purple pansy Thundercat???’ Sorry, Doc! I just lost my temper!!! Ok. Quinn, Alcide, and who next is on a waiting list… I’m waiting for you with humbleness and patience. You are welcome! Eric waits for you too… just shield your asses!))))

    • 18 walgigi
      December 31, 2009 at 1:36 pm

      “Maybe they can solve the problem just to put on gloves on her hands?” They couldn’t do that because AB, in his pursue of ridiculous drama could be able to use off white gloves and then she will looks like a Sookie/Rouge/Michael-Jackson hybrid… LOL! (And between that, and Bubba, I definetely prefer Bubba…)

  7. 19 ksr
    December 31, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Dear all!!
    Let me wish you one more time Happy New Year!!!
    Though we are not fans of Quinn, we have to admit that tigers in generally are beautiful, powerful and graceful animals.
    So I hope that 2010 as the Year of the White Tiger will be kind and nice to all of us and will bring us all the best!
    And let dreams come true!!! ))))

    • 20 VampirePamsGirl
      December 31, 2009 at 3:45 pm

      Happy New Year to you to ksr and everyone else! I’m definitely looking forward to theorizing/joking/complaining/and drooling over ASkars/Eric with all of you in the coming year!

      It is such a shame that Quinn’s other form happens to be a tiger because I generally do love any tigers. They are (as you said) beautiful and powerful creatures. I think we should all vote for Quinn to just stay in tiger form forevermore and then we’ll all like him a lot better and (hopefully) won’t have to worry about him donning any more genie rock star pants! And he can visit the zoo or Africa or somewhere tigers live and find a nice female tiger and live happily ever after. See? I don’t hate Quinn; I’m wishing him a HEA! 🙂

  8. December 31, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Okay, I’ve gotta admit – I’ve always had a little, teeny, weensy soft spot for Alcide. OF COURSE said soft spot was established in Book 3, which most definitely pre-dated my reading of the blissed out Book 4. I think he’s a generally good guy with a bad habit for even worse women (reminds me of my husband’s younger days). He’s confused and pretty stupid, yeah, but he also helps Sookie dispose of a body in a swamp with no qualms – gotta love a guy that won’t turn stoolie on you. He has good intentions.

    (And the dude can always wear green contacts, right?)

    However, I’ve NEVER. EVER. NEVEREVEREVER. understood the Quinn thing. A big beefy bald dude with purple eyes? WTF? SERIOUSLY? At least Sookie comes to the realization that sleeping with him was a Mistake (with a capital “M”.) Idiot. I’m not particularly looking forward to HIM but I am looking forward to the Quinn/Eric “my wang is bigger than your wang” contest. Anything that gets Eric all steamed around the collar is a good thing for me.

  9. 22 Stef
    December 31, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    “I am looking forward to the Quinn/Eric “my wang is bigger than your wang” contest. Anything that gets Eric all steamed around the collar is a good thing for me.”–Amen sister!! LOL

    Happy New Year everyone!! May your year be filled w/ “Skargasms” and Eric dreams!!


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,147 hits since October 2009

