08
Jan
10

Loved by a Vampire – The Act

In the first of three posts looking at Bill and Eric’s sexual behaviour and what it may reveal about their character and their vampiric nature, we took apart the MO used by each vampire to initiate sex and noted several stark differences in their approaches.

Today in the second post I’m getting down and dirty. It’s time to get these vampires between the sheets to see what they can do.

I would like to state for the record that writing these posts has given me the best excuse ever to pore all over the steamy bits of my books again…as if I really needed an excuse. I did, however, need to explain to my husband why my whole SVM series is sprawled around my desk with all the sex scenes dog eared and notes scrawled through them. Being a dirty perv in the name of research certainly sounds better than being…well, just a dirty perv.

And on that note, we shall begin. With an apology for the epic length.

THE ACT – BILL

Bill and Sookie have a number of sexual encounters during which the tone of Sookie’s narration is generally…well, harrowing.

Dead Until Dark (graveyard scene)

..I could feel the turmoil in him, I could taste his rage.
Directing that energy in another way might save me. I leaned that inch, put my mouth on his chest…
The next moment his teeth grazed my shoulder, and his body, hard and rigid and ready, shoved me so forcefully I was suddenly on my back in the mud. He slid directly into me as if he were trying to reach through me to the soil…
I had thought he might kill me without meaning to.

Living Dead in Dallas

His hands were under my sweater and my bra was in two pieces. He was relentless. I almost collapsed after the first time I came. “No” he growled when I was flagging, and he kept pounding. Then he increased the pace until I was almost sobbing, my sweater tore and his teeth found my shoulder. He made a deep, awful sound, and then, after long seconds, it was over.”

The first passage above from DUD is borderline rape. Sookie initiates sex with Bill sensing that he has completely lost control and that she is in immediate and serious danger. This scene is actually an interesting precursor to the trunk rape. In the trunk rape scenario, the defence centres around the fact that Bill had been tortured and starved and that he never would have done it in his right mind. I call bullshit. In this scene we see a well fed, untortured Bill in his right mind on the verge of raping Sookie or worse, because he cannot control his urges. Naturally a tortured and starved Bill can control them even less, however this scene demonstrates that the issue exists long before Sookie ends up locked in a trunk with him. Bill has self control issues and Harris deliberately points it out, over and over again.

In the second passage, Sookie almost sounds like she is relaying her grocery list rather than describing an intimate interaction with her boyfriend. Her voice is detached and I think that is meant to clue us into where she is mentally. What is noteworthy is not just the fact that this is rough sex – since there are other times that Sookie enjoys Bill’s “intensity” and what goes on between consenting adults is their business. But what I notice about some of these scenes is how at first Sookie is generally consenting and comfortable with what’s happening, as she is in this scene until she orgasms. Then Bill crosses a line, and Sookie often doesn’t speak up. I wonder whether this is a combination of her sexual inexperience in these earlier books, and her history of sexual abuse. Regardless, Bill crosses her line…and then he just keeps right on going.

A common coping mechanism adopted by victims of sexual abuse is to “leave their bodies” during the experience. As a victim of childhood sexual abuse, it’s reasonable to assume that as an adult, Sookie’s response to aggressive sexual behaviour is to just “mentally check out” – and this perhaps goes some way to explain her tone in these scenes, and also why she doesn’t put up more of a fight when Bill loses control. Her fear, or discomfort about what is happening is easily detected by the reader through her narration, even when she isn’t verbalising it to Bill.

The lack of dialogue noted between Sookie and Bill in the initiation stage continues through the act itself. Unless they’re communicating immediate physical needs, they use only their bodies to communicate during sex. The act is often brief, intense…and mostly silent. Kind of like Bill. Bill/Sookie sex involves very little eye contact, however Bill’s penchant for taking her from behind, bent over something or in darkened cars, porches and graveyards would seem to make eye contact a challenge.

Look behind you Sookie! He's BEHIND YOU! And what's with the arm grabbing? We CU Beel...

Screencap

Now I do realise that Sookie and Bill have a couple of sex scenes during which Bill manages to behave himself – they aren’t all as dark as the examples above. But even in their “lighter” scenes, I still feel a vibe from Bill that I just find unsettling. Witness his vengeful fit killing of Uncle Bartlett after Sookie shared something private with him in her post coital glow. Sookie is not very impressed with this and she dumps him. No sooner are the words out of her mouth and he’s trying to have sex with her. Again. Really, Bill?

It was at about this point I realised I was utterly and completely over Bill Compton.

Interestingly, there aren’t any dark sex scenes with Eric. Could it be that Harris doesn’t really want us to think he’s the bad guy, after all?

THE ACT – ERIC

Ladies, hold onto your panties. Gentlemen, you may wish to take notes.

Dead to the World

I was so on fire for him I was surprised that flames didn’t flicker out of my fingertips. I curled my fingers around him and stroked.
Suddenly Eric was on top of me, about to enter. I was exhilarated and very ready. I reached between us to put him at just the right spot, rubbing the tip of him over my nub as I did so.
“My lover,” he said hoarsely, and pushed.
Though I’d been sure I was prepared, and I ached with wanting him, I cried out with the shock of it.
After a moment, he said, “Don’t close your eyes. Look at me, lover.”
The way he said “lover” was like a caress, like he was calling me by a name no other man had ever used before or ever would after.
His fangs were completely extended and I stretched up to run my tongue over them.

Fangs....so pretty....sigh...what was I saying? Oh yes - I hold some hope for True Blood watching the two dream sequences. They captured the spirit of E/S perfectly.

Dead and Gone

His jeans were off, and his shirt, too, and my panties vanished. His long cool body pressed full length against my warm one. He kissed me over and over in a kind of frenzy. He made a hungry noise, and I echoed it. His fingers probed me, fluttering against the hard nub in a way that made me squirm.
“Eric,” I said, trying to position myself underneath him. “Now.”
He said, “Oh, yes.” He slid inside as if he’d never been gone, as if we’d made love every night for the past year.
“This is best,” he whispered, and his voice had that accent I caught occasionally, that hint of a time and place that were so far distant I could not imagine them.
“This is best ,” he said again. “This is right .”

I rose and fell faster and faster, and then I took his wrist, and I bit with all my strength, sucked on the wound. He yelled, an incoherent sound of release and relief. That was enough to finish me, and I collapsed on top of him. I licked his wrist lazily, though I didn’t have the coagulant in my saliva that he possessed.
“Perfect,” he said. “Perfect.”

Let us take a moment to collect ourselves before continuing.
Because I am very fucking distracted.
.
.
.
Okay then.

The first thing I notice about Eric and Sookie’s sex scenes is the complete change of tone in Sookie’s narration. She is very much present, physically and emotionally in every scene and there is not a hint of the mental detachment so often evident with Bill. The Eric scenes are quite long – the DTTW scene runs for 8 pages, and the scene in DAG for 15 pages. In contrast to the Bill/Sookie scenes, none of which are anywhere near as lengthy, Sookie describes the actual events, what is said, what she’s thinking, how Eric is reacting, and her feelings in great detail. You certainly don’t feel as though she’s rattling off her grocery list when she’s relating sex with Eric. Sookie (*ahem* Charlaine) makes sure we get every…single…juicy…detail. I wonder why she thinks we’d need to know all of that about Eric, but not about Bill? Or Quinn for that matter.

Just as we saw in the initiation post, as they move onto the act itself E/S remain physically on level with each other, they are always face to face, always in eye contact, and they are talking to each other throughout. No one partner is ever dominant – in both scenes, they make love twice. The first time is more intense and Eric takes the lead. The second time is always slower, with Eric noticeably stepping back and encouraging Sookie to take things where she wants to. Sookie tends to play a wait and see game a little in bed with Eric. She takes her cues from him – then she responds fully when she’s confident she’s not misreading him. I think this springs from her still not understanding what he might see in her beyond her telepathy and fae blood, and her intimidation by the extent of his experience over hers – something she comments on often. He seems to be aware of these feelings, and appears to be trying to encourage her.

In Dead to the World, Sookie reflects on her first time with Eric: “It wasn’t just the dynamic sex that had given me so much pleasure (though that had contained moments I’d remember till the day I died); it was the companionship. Actually, the intimacy”. In contrast to Bill, Eric actually initiates a lot of the more intimate aspects of their encounters – asking her to look him at him rather than close her eyes, asking her to bite him just because it feels good, asking her to tell him about their history when he lost his memory. These behaviours indicate to me that Eric understands women. Not only does he understand them, but he genuinely likes women. He chose to turn a woman as his companion in Pam, after all. While I’m under no illusions that he doesn’t rate himself in the sack, I think it’s clear from these scenes that sex for him is as much about making Sookie happy as it is about his own satisfaction. I don’t feel this is necessarily the norm for him anymore – vampire that he is – which makes it even more fascinating to see this side of him reawakened through her.

Far beyond two people having sex, Eric and Sookie are most certainly making love.

VERBS AND ADJECTIVES

Eric scenes: fire, stroked, exhilarated, ready, lover, pushed, ached, wanting, shock, caress, stretched, kissed, frenzy, hungry, probed, fluttering, squirm, made love, best, right, whispered, release, relief, bit, kissed, licked, lazily, perfect.

Bill scenes: relentless, collapsed, growled, came, no, flagging, pounded, sobbing, tore, awful, turmoil, rage, grazed, hard, rigid, shoved, forcefully, slid, kill.

So are we seeing a pattern here yet?

NEXT POST: Loved by a Vampire – The Afterglow

61 Responses to “Loved by a Vampire – The Act”


  1. 1 Pogonip
    January 8, 2010 at 6:34 am

    Yes, yes, yes. You’ve done it again. With Bill, it was always “mine.” With Eric, it’s always “my lover.”

  2. 2 caratstick
    January 8, 2010 at 6:37 am

    This is best…This is right.

    I’m referring to the post! Great job.

    I know that this is about the sex act, but I think some of the early physical scenes between Eric and Sookie (after FotS, at the orgy, tons of them in CD) demonstrate the intimacy and sense of trust that you are talking about. And I think it’s even more telling in those early moments because it shows how early on she begins trusting him and sensing the greater depths between them, even though unacknowledged and not consummated until later.

    You didn’t even mention the “I am too big for some” part, but to me that once again shows a concern for Sookie’s physical comfort and enjoyment that Bill rarely if ever displayed.

    • January 8, 2010 at 6:56 am

      On the “too big for some comment” carat.
      He actually asks her outright if he’s hurting her.

      Reading over these scenes, I reread the one in DUD where Sookie loses her virginity to Bill.
      She says “ow ow ow” and then tells him not to stop so she can just get past it.
      He says he “has no intention of stopping”.

      Interesting contrast.

      I love those early E/S scenes in LDID and CD. I especially love how she trusted him, even then when Bill was doing his damnedest to make her think he was the Devil.

      And that blood taking scene in CD is just hot. SO very hot lol.

      • 4 Kristen
        January 8, 2010 at 2:39 pm

        In LDID, he actually tells her she is crazy to trust him, but she admits she just does. Now, I’ve always questioned if it was possibly because of the bullet-sucking blood exchange (i.e. not natural), but after this comment and through future books she begins to trust him more and more. In CD, she basically puts her life in his hands with no questions.

        And do we notice how in LDID, both at the vampire party and at the orgy, she has no problem kissing Eric… meaning he kisses her but she doesn’t stop it, not right away. She blames it on his kissing technique or the fact that they are “acting” for the orgy, but making out with another guy doesn’t seem to jive with Sookie’s faithful relationship ideals. Seems like Sookie couldn’t resist our favorite viking from early on in the books!

        Charlaine said she picked Sookie’s HEA in the second book. If you re-read the second book, this is when Eric really starts to shine in the small ways… showing up in Dallas, going to the orgy, saving her from the bullet, taking care of her wounds in Dallas, etc etc. And then in Club Dead, he is off the charts. Hmmm, maybe Charlaine had a change of heart from DUD to LDID and CD? I think Bill/Sookie shippers might just be living in a state a deep denial at this point… =)

        • 5 walgigi
          January 8, 2010 at 8:49 pm

          “2161 luvndairwithEric<3 2008-12-03 08:29
          OK………IF you have known from the first book who Sookie will end up with AND Eric was a minor character who you eventually wrote more about because he was fun….Does that mean that Eric is out of the running for "The One?"

          2163 duckpond100 2008-12-03 09:08
          No, that doesn't mean Eric is out of the running. When I wrote DEAD UNTIL DARK, I didn't know there was going to be another Sookie book, so who Sookie would end up with wasn't an issue. When my editor asked me to sign for more books, the picture changed, and I began to map things out . . . as much as I ever do. Surprise! I answered. Sort of. – Charlaine Harris"

          When CH answered that fan question in her website forum, I understand that she said clarly who is her Sookie's HEA, and she has been consistent through all subsequent books with this answer. Unless she'll change her mind after DITF because she is stills afraid by AB's manipulative low blow at Paley's…

          • January 9, 2010 at 12:45 pm

            You know what though gigi, even IF (and IMHO it’s a big if – since if it’s not Eric she’s written herself into a corner) she were to change her mind, I still don’t think Bill is the automatic alternative.

            I just cannot see any way, any how that she can redeem Bill enough to make him a viable HEA. She basically had him nearly die for her in DAG…and many still loathe him and alot still just aren’t buying him. That ship has sailed, my friend 😉

            If it’s not Eric, it can only be Sam. He is the only other suitor who seems to have a genuine soul connection with her. But Sam will never man up and even if he did, the chemistry is somehow off. Maybe I feel that because I have a gut feeling that we’re not seeing everything there is to Sam. Not by a long shot. He’s the dark horse and that man has secrets. Whether or not they’re dark and malevolent, or just the result of a lifetime of hiding and denial remains to be seen.

            But nope, it’s Eric. As it is, was, and always shall be….Eric.

            You guys will all be carting me off to treatment in my straight jacket if it’s not.

            • 7 walgigi
              January 10, 2010 at 5:29 am

              Of course not, couldn’t be Beel because she already thought of kill him. I can’t buy Sam neither. I mean, I can’t think of a sudden lighting of “looove” falls upon them (meh!), especially when he is always so attracted to women that, in one way or another, are enemies or dangerous to Sookie. That really has to mean something. I really don’t know if he has something hidden, but certainly he also knew a lot about FDC without knowing him and without being a vampire.

              I don’t think CH would change Eric as HEA after all his character development, but IF she’ll ever think about such a felony (lol), I think she’ll go for Alcide (if you decide to ask me why, I’ll answer you later on the last Alcide’s post lol). But it would makes no sense to change Eric at this point, so there’s no need to straight jacket for you (anyway, don’t hide it too far, beacuse I KNOW I will need it in June HAHAHAH).

              • 8 Stef
                January 10, 2010 at 5:53 am

                “I don’t think CH would change Eric as HEA after all his character development, but IF she’ll ever think about such a felony (lol), I think she’ll go for Alcide”–I agree…IF there’s is to be such a debauchery on the page of overlooking Eric as the HEA, it would probably be Alcide. And frankly, he’d be my second choice (however meager and paling in comparison). Oh well…happy thoughts…happy thoughts only:).

              • January 10, 2010 at 6:09 am

                Two votes here for Alcide as the second huh.
                This has me intrigued.
                I’m going to make a poll.

                • 10 caratstick
                  January 10, 2010 at 3:00 pm

                  If it has to be one of those two, then I have to agree with nskars.

                  Physically, Alcide is much more my cup of tea than Sam, and I think Sookie feels the same way about that. But Alcide has used her multiple times and is way too involved in were politics and were society to want to settle for a non-were wife. Plus, I think some of the attraction might be gone for Sookie after that whole thing about him copulating with the young were-woman after becoming the head of the pack.

                  Sam is the safe choice of the two. He would take care of her. She almost always either talks to him–or wants to–about her problems. And there may be more chemistry there than we know. She did get into it and forget herself a little the couple of times they’ve kissed. He would love her. And I thought I remembered reading somewhere that she would be going on a trip with him (maybe to a family wedding). Maybe, if it needs to, something could begin to develop there.

                  But, as things stand now, I tend to think it has to be Eric (as it should be!!!!) or no one. She’ll take over the guardianship of Hunter and find some version of her own HEA.

                  • 11 VampirePamsGirl
                    January 11, 2010 at 5:42 am

                    Voted and commented on the poll , but I just have to say that yep, I’m with nskars and caratstick on this one!

              • 12 walgigi
                January 10, 2010 at 6:26 am

                Even with my blatant bias for Eric lol, I have to admit that Alcide’s was always “there”, and not too far from Eric heels in the race…

              • 13 Kealeagh
                January 10, 2010 at 6:37 am

                I always like Aclide after Eric. He was better than Sam, Bill or Quinn. I was always disappointed with the way Charlaine changed his character after the third book.

                Sam can’t be the HEA because he just doesn’t have any chemistry with Sookie. It’s always so drab when you read it, like blah blah blah, there goes Sam again being the same old guy who hates every decision Sookie makes. Besides she’s chosen every other guy over him and he would always know she’s just settling. There was never some kind of “I don’t care if you’re my boss, I NEED TO BE WITH YOU.” It was just like, “Oh you are mildly attractive and would be the only man in my life who I’d be okay with making babies with (and CAN make babies with), so maybe one day, someday, k?”

            • 14 Tracey
              February 25, 2010 at 10:08 pm

              “You guys will all be carting me off to treatment in my straight jacket if it’s not”

              lol – that wld be fun. (kiddin) 🙂

        • 15 VampirePamsGirl
          January 9, 2010 at 2:31 am

          Love, love, love, love, love that scene in LDID. I wish I had my books,dang it! I hate it when you loan books out and it takes people FOREVER to read them and get them back to you. (Though I did give my cousin a deadline of April because I HAVE to re-read all of them b4 May). But back on topic, it’s absolutely one of my favorite moments when E says something like “You trust me? That’s… crazy Sookie.” I’m all just gooey over that moment.

          I do agree that Eric really starts to shine in the second book. Another part of that one that I absolutely love is when she apologizes for crying on his suit in Dallas and he tells her that he doesn’t care about that, he’ll buy more suits, he just doesn’t want her to cry again. And of course the entire phone conversation when she asks him to accompany her to the orgy and how he seems exasperated but still does exactly as she asks him to. The really sad thing too is that I can vividly remember all of these details and I haven’t read any of the books for about 6 or 7 months now.

          • 16 Tracey
            February 25, 2010 at 10:15 pm

            “Eric understands women.”

            I think that is right on point!

            “he didnt grab me so i felt comfortable”

            Erics long life experiences have paid off!

            Sookie knew she would at least have to kiss Eric at the orgy. The fact that he was a great kisser is a bonus! Im sure Eric took advantage of the oppunority; they werent even in the house yet!

  3. 17 Demoemo
    January 8, 2010 at 9:02 am

    Just a little note,I think the arm grabbing in the first pix,was just Steven curing anna to move her hair. It’s just a cue.don’t read too much into it.

  4. 18 Demoemo
    January 8, 2010 at 9:03 am

    Cueing even,I hate this auto spell thing 😉

  5. 19 nskars
    January 8, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    If AB decides to take one line from the book and add it to the script I sincerely hope it is Eric saying, “This is best… this is right”, while they make whoopee. I adore that scene. I love the way he says it. The whole thing is just perfect.

    Let us take a moment to collect ourselves before continuing.
    Because I am very fucking distracted.
    .
    .
    .
    Okay then.

    I LOL’d for real. I was getting a little distracted, myself. Luckily my BF is in bed otherwise he would have wondered what I was blushing and giggling about. You know, I actually showed him the first E/S dream sequence from True Blood and basically told him, “I want THAT!”, pointing at the screen. Men just don’t get it.

    Awesome post as usual, SVB. Oh and I’m gonna use this space to also pimp you out a bit – attention fellow sookieverseblog fans, if you’re on Twitter head on over to this page: http://shortyawards.com/sookieverseblog to nominate our awesome blogger SVB for a Shorty Award. Cos she’s the best there is and we have to show our appreciation. The End.

    • 20 VampirePamsGirl
      January 9, 2010 at 2:40 am

      “Luckily my BF is in bed otherwise he would have wondered what I was blushing and giggling about. You know, I actually showed him the first E/S dream sequence from True Blood and basically told him, “I want THAT!”, ” – Maybe that’s why he’s forbidden reading on your honeymoon nskars, lol. It may help if you explain to him that you love him even if he’s not Eric Northman/Alexander Skarsgard and the books will only help the honeymoon, not hurt it, lol. 😉

      And I second the pimp for sookieverseblog for the Shorty Awards! I’ve been trying my best to figure out how to make my vote count more than once, lol. She absolutely deserves it and it’s really easy to vote if you Twitter!

      • 21 nskars
        January 9, 2010 at 1:53 pm

        Hee hee. Oh he knows I love him more, he’s just a big old tease! I will track down DITF on my honeymoon and he can’t do a thing about it! He says honeymoon sex is more important but hmmmmmmmmm I dunno.

        PS We’ve been watching TB season 2 and he has so got a bromance going with Godric, it’s ridiculous.

        • January 9, 2010 at 2:04 pm

          I’m blushing madly here…it so nice to be loved you guys *sniff*. Fanksyou x

          @nskars It’s really quite simple. No DITF? No honeymoon sex. Your fix will be in your hands faster than you can say “My lover”.

        • 23 VampirePamsGirl
          January 11, 2010 at 2:53 am

          A bromance with Godric? That’s so sweet. I love it, especially since Godric is up there in my top three favorite TB characters ever. I still have “Timebomb” and “I Will Rise Up” saved (and protected) on my DVR.

          I do quite like SVB’s idea of “No DITF? No honeymoon sex” but it might also be good to hint how…. stimulating the Eric/Sookie scenes in the book will be. 😉 Lol. If they are anything like the last book or book 4, I’m sure they will be quite stimulating.

    • 24 Tracey
      February 25, 2010 at 10:20 pm

      “I actually showed him the first E/S dream sequence from True Blood and basically told him, “I want THAT!”, pointing at the screen.”

      haha – thats funni. And a very entertaining imagine. and what did ur b/f say?

  6. 25 Kristen
    January 8, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    “Being a dirty perv in the name of research certainly sounds better than being…well, just a dirty perv.”

    Okay, so this line caused me to laugh so hard I snorted. A somewhat awkward situation as I am at work and do share an office…

    Love, love, love this post. Once again, I think you’ve empirically, and not emotionally, proven that Charlaine DOESN’T want us to think Eric is the ass that she has presented outside of the actual pages. Those adjectives just don’t jive.

    I did hear an interesting theory that we might want to consider before we celebrate an E/S HEA… One writer on fanfiction.net (who writes, btw, an AMAZINGLY in character and hilariously funny E & S in her story, Death Eatin’ a Cracker – you’ve been warned – it’s very addictive and possibly makes me want to email a link to CH to tell her to get a clue and have Sookie and Eric get over their bullsh*t ASAP!) believes that Charlaine actually does really love Bill’s character and has made a fatal flaw as a writer. She loves and understands Bill so much in her own head that she didn’t properly illustrate Bill to the reader. To her, he was such a developed character in her mind that she didn’t take the time to really, painstakingly portray his intentions on the page, like she did with Eric, initially a secondary character.

    Despite the aforementioned theory, I do still hold hope that CH always knew what an ass Bill was going to devolve into and therefore provided tons of clues. Let’s just continue to hope. Come on May!

    • 26 walgigi
      January 8, 2010 at 7:53 pm

      Your excellent analysis clearly confirms the difference that we noticed in the first part of your analysis about the sexual behaviors of both characters. While Bill only achieves that Sookie feels intimidated and disconnected from the sexual act by the incredible level of aggressiveness and selfishness that he displays, Eric manages to create a high level of intimacy that allows her to feel appreciated and valued so she can participate actively in the act and enjoy it.

      Brilliant remarks and observations, perfectly summed up in this conclusion:

      “Far beyond two people having sex, Eric and Sookie are most certainly making love.”

      My grade: 200/100 😉

      *Big Hug*

      • 27 walgigi
        January 8, 2010 at 7:57 pm

        whoaaaaa I’m lost here today…. This was the reply for sookieverse LOL!!!! Aaine please, forgive me hahaha.

        • 28 walgigi
          January 8, 2010 at 8:16 pm

          OMG…
          *** “Your excellent analysis clearly confirms the difference that we noticed in the first part of your analysis…”

          must read: “…in the first part of your TRILOGY about the sexual…”

          Definetely I must be under some ADDH crisis caused by my strong determination of not mention ANYTHING about TB and AB in this post LOL!!!

  7. January 8, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Spot on. Bill – rough, violent, uncontrolled. Almost like a 20 year old boy.
    Eric – loving, sharing, passionate. Like dare I say, a man.

    Would love to see some comparisons with Quinn here. Are there less pages than Bill? adverbs? Hot, melting, ….

  8. 30 VampirePamsGirl
    January 9, 2010 at 2:35 am

    Another excellent post sookieverseblog! Don’t worry about editing for length, I love the long posts!

    And I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again. I just don’t understand how you can read those books and not love Eric Northman. Hell, I love him just from reading this post. 😉

  9. January 9, 2010 at 8:15 am

    I will admit now that the Bill sex scenes always made me uncomfortable and you really highlighted exactly why they made me feel that way. Awesome article!

    ~simba_317

    • 33 Tracey
      February 26, 2010 at 12:40 am

      “Bill sex scenes always made me uncomfortable”

      Me too. I found the senes to be a turn off. I didnt understand why Sookie found sex with Bill to be so great/fulfilling.

      Sookie mentions something about Bill concentrating and being smooth during sex. In additon, she questions herself being no better than Hugo when it comes to vampire sex. I found that odd. I really like your comparison SVB. As usual right on point and very insightful!

  10. 34 sunnynala
    January 9, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    As a non-bookie, it’s quite clear to me that TB Bill is a thoughtless selfish lover who doesn’t know from foreplay or tenderness or emotional connection. He’s not even seductive anymore now that we know him better. You know how when you get to know an attractive person who turns out to be less than admirable they become LESS attractive in your eyes? This is what happened with Bill and this is what AB was intentionally portraying. Bill is headed for a serious, eartshattering fall and a lot of the Billbabes and what-have-yous aren’t going to like it one bit. I’m not sure I look forward to their reaction when they find out AB has deliberately played with their minds and set them up.

    Yep, I said that. LOL! Mark my words.

    aka Midnight_Charm

    • 35 caratstick
      January 10, 2010 at 2:20 am

      Interesting to hear this from a non-bookie. And I like your theory that AB has played up Bill intentionally to make his fall even more dramatic. That would be a departure from Charlaine’s books–but ultimately would stay in the spirit of them, which he always claims he wants to do. She never portrayed Bill as nearly-perfect (as Ball does), and she more slowly and steadily revealed the negative aspects of his character (except for the final dramatic revelation about his reason for going to Bon Temps). But for Ball to set up a more dramatic revelation of Bill’s betrayal, is perfectly in line with his penchant for melodrama.

      I like it, sunnynala! I hope for it!

    • 36 VampirePamsGirl
      January 11, 2010 at 3:00 am

      I definitely agree that it is really interesting to hear the opinion of a non-bookie about all of this and I really love your theory. It is one of the things that keeps me watching and hoping.

      • 37 Tracey
        February 26, 2010 at 1:03 am

        it would make sense. The more dramic it is the easier it will be for fans to expect Eric once TB heads in that direction.

        • 38 booksookie
          April 15, 2010 at 10:43 am

          Hey, guys, I’m new here, I don’t know if any of you ever pointed this out, but I have a theory that very much agrees with what you’re sayn’ here. First of all, I’m a book-addict, but I got hooked on the books AFTER whaching the first 2 seasons of TB and only because I already loved Eric and hoped there was more to him than met the eyes. I was so right!!! So I am a E-shipper al the way (SVM & TB). Of course, that is only due to AS personification of Eric, it was the best casting call along with Pam and Lafayette, I think, just as Godric and Jessica were the best add-ons of AB. But that’s another story…
          To return to my theory, don’t you think is weird if not deliberate that Bill has gotten to Sookie that second night just in time to be inevitable to feed her his blood? I always thought this was a pivotal moment and it is one of the main reasons that keep me thinking that AB is prepairing a fall from grace for Bill (along with the fact that it was ovious that he knew Hadley, whom was very surprised whrn she heard that he’s in love with Sookie, that the Queen knew about Sookie an so on). Even in TB, I never perceived him as the perfect gentlemen, far from it, he’s to conflicted, maybe in a different way than in the books, but the spirit is there, at least that’s how I see it…

          • 39 booksookie
            April 15, 2010 at 10:48 am

            By the way, sorry for the typos, I have to start correcting my posts before I hit ‘Submit’…

  11. January 10, 2010 at 1:11 am

    Great job on both articles, Aaine!! 🙂 What you wrote proves and also fully convinces me that Eric WILL end up as Sookie’s HEA. 😉 I have to admit that there was a part of me, who was either trying to not get my hopes up or trying to keep an open mind when it came to that. So, thank you very much!!

    Getting back to your blog…while I’ve reread the books numerous times, I remember noticing those examples you listed; but it never really hit me until I read your blog the reasons why I never really was fully into B/S as a couple. Your points hit the nail on the head. It was very well-written and researched. 😉

    Thanks so much for researching and writing it! *hugs*

  12. January 10, 2010 at 2:33 am

    Interesting theory. It would jive with the “misreading Eric” comment that CH made when I saw her in Gainesville. She also said that Bill was very hard to write because like her character Lilly Bard, and unlike Charlaine her self, Bill does not have much of a sence of humor. My blog is not awesome
    like this one but if you would like to see my notes from when I saw CH you can check it out here http://bluemariasdaydreams.blogspot.com/2009/07/my-notes-on-charlaine-harris-anhinga.html

    • 42 Kealeagh
      January 10, 2010 at 4:42 am

      I just read your meeting with Charlaine and I really don’t know how she wants people to feel about Eric. “You misread Eric” and then “oh but he’s mean”. I mean, sure, he’s a vampire but it sort of sounds like she’s forshadowing some major betrayal by Eric in the future. We haven’t witnessed ‘mean Eric’ because he’s never really been mean to Sookie. I don’t even know anymore.

  13. January 10, 2010 at 2:39 am

    The previous was supposed to be a re. to Kristen’s that said “I did hear an interesting theory that we might want to consider before we celebrate an E/S HEA… One writer on fanfiction.net”

    This was a great post, love the last too. Very good analysis. I hope very much that E/S end up together. He seems like what is best and right for her. They seem to enjoy eachother on many levels.

    Oh and don’t forget Eric goes down 😉 never saw Bill do that. lol

  14. 47 cathy
    January 17, 2010 at 9:21 am

    the love scenes on trueblood were all made bye stephen moyer and anna paquin.. They were giving all the rights to do the scenes as they wanted.. All directors told then is do a sex scene, they were very good at them and i loved them..Shows bills a real vampire .I found ERics scenes boring..If i want to watcha love story then i wouldnt watch trueblood lol.. vampires ppl not real human men.

  15. 49 tigereyes
    January 30, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Hi Cathy,

    Great to see a refreshing post. Honestly, i have no idea what people see in Alex/Eric. He nice to look at i guess. Stephen and Anna are so right for each other.

    Even in the books, you know Bill is Sookie’s one true love. DAG after Bill been poisoned and saved Sookie’s life, when the fairies are coming back to fight.

    “Sweetheart”, Bill said, very formally, “I have always loved you, and I will be proud to die in your service. W I’m gone, say a prayer for in a real church.”

    Sookie’s thoughts:

    As i watched Bill, waiting with apparent calm for death to come to him, I had a flash of him as I’d known him: the first vampire I’d ever met, the first man I’d ever gone to bed with, the first suitor I’d ever loved. Everything that followed had tainted those memories, but for one moment I saw him clearly, and I loved him again.

    “The vampire is not a bad man and he loves you,” Niall said.

    Then my great grandfather was gone before i could ask him which vampire he meant.

    • 50 Kealeagh
      January 30, 2010 at 10:41 pm

      I think your are the only Bill fan frequenting this blog…

    • 51 VampirePamsGirl
      January 30, 2010 at 11:50 pm

      Hi tigereyes,

      I want to start by saying that I understand and respect that you have a different viewpoint of this series than the majority of the people on this blog and you have the right to share that opinion. I’m not going to try to change your mind about anything; I realize that is a pointless endeavor because I’m sure just as you could never convince me to not love Eric that I’ll never convince you not to love Bill. Though I have to confess I’ll also never understand why you do, but oh well, different strokes for different folks, right? That being said, I just want to you to know that I’m not posting this to attack your different opinion, but just to throw my own opinion out there. After all, what’s life without a little debate? 😀

      In my honest opinion, that part of the book that you have quoted really doesn’t say to me that Bill is Sookie’s “true” love, but rather that he was her “first” love. I just feel like she was saying that even though she’d harbored such feelings of resentment and loathing against Bill for a while now because of his betrayals, she was able to see in that moment that she once had loved him and remembered why. To me it marked the beginning of a possible friendship between the two, letting go of the bad feelings, but not a new start for a romantic relationship. I’m sure that our different opinions come from us having different experiences and all because I know I can look back at my ‘first’ love now with fondness and remember the good times, but I did spend a long time resenting him and hating him before I got to that place. We’re not friends, but I feel like I could do that. However I would never, ever trust him with my heart again. I think it would take more than this for Sookie to be able to really trust Bill again as well.

      As to Niall’s final (and much debated words) I’m sure we’ve all heard the arguments before about why he was definitely speaking about Eric or why he was definitely speaking about Bill, so I’ll not go in depth on that. It would completely shock and confuse me to know that he wasn’t speaking of Eric, but that’s just my opinion.

      Now as for your statement that Anna and Stephen belong together, I am not disputing that they belong together or that they make a good couple. But I have no idea what the status of the actors’ relationships has to do with the characters Eric, Bill, and Sookie. That is one of the pro-Bill/Sookie arguements that bothers me the most. Just because Anna/Stephen belong together, it doesn’t mean that Sookie/Bill belong together. The logic that takes somebody to that conclusion is just baffling to me. It would be like saying since Alexander Skarsgard and Michael McMillian are friends in real life, Eric and Steve Newlin should toss aside their differences and become best buddies on the show. Eric will forget that Steve wanted to kill him and Godric and Steve will get over his hatred of vampires and they’ll go out for some drinks at the club. *emphatically rolls eyes* Though I guess it would be pretty funny to watch.

    • 52 nskars
      January 31, 2010 at 12:11 am

      Stephen Moyer and Anna Paquin aren’t characters in the Sookie book series or the True Blood TV series. Bill Compton and Sookie Stackhouse, however, are – and even if we are of differing opinions at least most of us here can keep fiction seperate from real life. I’m sure Stephen and Anna have a great relationship, they certainly are very cute together, but I don’t even think they would appreciate themselves or their relationship being mistaken for the characters they play.

      I understand that you have your opinions and we have ours, and I respect yours wholeheartedly. But as mentioned by Kealeagh after your comment in another post, I’m really curious as to what evidence you have to suggest that Bill is Sookie’s HEA.

      Is it when he is sent to Bon Temps to secure Sookie for Sophie-Anne’s bidding? Is it when he physically and sexually intimidates her? Is it when he leaves her to become involved again with his maker?

    • January 31, 2010 at 3:33 am

      Sookie’s inner dialogue in that passage is what is known as a “moment of clarity”.

      These are important milestones on the road to self healing. Those moments when it all clicks into place and you can see some purpose to all the pain you’ve been through. You can see that you have grown.

      I don’t for one second believe that Sookie was talking about romantic love at the end of DAG. There are different kinds of love, and that is part of what Sookie needed to learn. That idealistic, naive girl in DUD who was proclaiming I love you after only a few weeks of knowing Bill…that is such a textbook play by someone in their first relationship. The feelings of love she is having for Bill now – those are REAL. But they aren’t romantic feelings. She sees him now, she sees where he fits in. Until this point, she didn’t see Bill clearly and hence she couldn’t find a way to integrate her relationship with him into her life. I think they’ve found that now, and he and Sookie will have a friendship that will be strong and wonderful and there is hope in that. It fits with Bill’s story arc, too, the idea that he can be redeemed in her eyes.

      But Sookie will never trust him with her heart again. Realising your mistakes, being willing to die for someone, realising you do actually love them…that’s all great but it doesn’t negate the betrayal, and the lies, and the pain that he caused her before. You can’t erase that. Even Sookie acknowledges this: “Everything that followed had tainted those memories, but for one moment I saw him clearly, and I loved him again”.

      Sookie hasn’t forgotten, but she has forgiven. And that’s the biggest gift she can give. Not to Bill, but to herself.

      I was really, really proud of her when I read that. I thought “Finally. She GETS it”.

      • 54 Kealeagh
        January 31, 2010 at 4:17 am

        I’ve ALWAYS said that Sookie can forgive Bill but there is no way she can forget and that’s a big thing for her to ever fall in love with Bill again – she can’t, because that’s just something she’s going to have to live with for the rest of her life. Bill and her made mistakes in that relationship.

        And IF Bill and Sookie ever get back together, I will be severely disappointed in Charlaine – what a message to give girls. It would be completely unforgivable if she did that. I shudder at the thought. And I shudder at the thought of all the BL’s who think his actions are 100% redeemable.

        I’m gonna stop there.

        • 55 walgigi
          January 31, 2010 at 5:24 am

          “And IF Bill and Sookie ever get back together, I will be severely disappointed in Charlaine – what a message to give girls.”

          Ever heard the old saying: “There are women who are like flies, that fly and fly over the food to finish standing in shit”?

          IF Bill and Sookie ever get back together, THAT would be the message…

        • January 31, 2010 at 11:07 am

          And IF Bill and Sookie ever get back together, I will be severely disappointed in Charlaine – what a message to give girls. It would be completely unforgivable if she did that.

          Honestly, there is just no way. I’m about as confident of it as I am of the sun coming up in the morning.

          Even if she doesn’t end up with Eric, it still won’t be Bill.

          Charlaine Harris’ had some experiences in her twenties that very much reflect what Sookie has been through with Bill. She has gone on the record about her rape, and her first marriage which she entered into very young.

          There is just no way that she is going to put Sookie with Bill. It’s not going to happen.

          This is an interesting read – a blog post that CH wrote in 2007 about “forcible seduction in literature”. As you read it, bear in mind the furore that has gone on between fans about whether or not the trunk scene was a rape. Most especially the “this is just fiction, get over it” justification.

          http://www.charlaineharris.com/bb/bb97.html

          Not too long back, there was a regular poster on her forum who was claiming that Harris had actually come out and said that the trunk scene was not rape. CH posted this in response:

          duckpond100 2008-12-19 08:07

          I don’t know if I should step in here or not. Obviously, this passage in the books has sparked hot debates and strong emotions. I am going to say the reader has to make of it what she will; I don’t believe in interpreting and explaining my books, which must stand on their own.

          I don’t remember saying that episode wasn’t rape, and I would also be very interested in hearing what you’re basing that statement on, rclaurel.

          Charlaine Harris

          It caught my attention that she felt the need to publicly correct this poster herself.

          I just don’t see Harris, given her personal backstory, doing a “first love is true love” ending for Sookie….with Bill. No way, no how.

      • 57 Tracey
        February 26, 2010 at 1:22 am

        with that said SVB – i wonder if Bill will give up tryin to get back wit Sookie.

  16. 58 Diana Reilly
    February 12, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    After reading and re-reading all Sookie Stackhouse books,I am left with this impression: Sookie felt “loved”, “wanted” “possessed””pursued”, “antagonized”, ..and “obsessed”..not to mention…”BLOOD BOUND” to and by ERIC. not quite the same range of EMOTION can be applicable to relationship to Bill. He is “cold”,,calm,as opposed to Eric who always “gets under Sookies skin” one way or another. They argue fuss and fight..they protest too much !! they DO CARE…it’s sooo obvious, to all but SOOKIE & ERIC. Lets hope Alan Ball and the crew at TRUE BLOOD get it too !! The fans are waiting for this drama to “unfold”…and we’re not really happy to go through 2 or 3 seasons of maenads or warewolfs for that matter !!! Please , HBO…no more “overkill” with the storyline. Such good material (Harris books), and great actors, all: GO FOR THE PRIZE this season ! keep your eyes on the target. Best Luck !!!

  17. 60 silver
    April 14, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    One thing I noticed while watching TB season 2 rerun the other day, was that in one episode, Sookie very specifically mentions how much she and Bill talk post-coital. I had just read your post, so it got me thinking about how Ball is making Bill more and more into a Hero, while Eric (who is still getting more important) is becoming more villian like. Is Ball doing it on purpose?

    If Eric is the HEA in the books – and he will be – will Ball (seeing as Bill is absorbing some of Eric’s qualities) change the HEA back to Bill? Just remeber that just because the amenisiac plot is confirmed, the Eric/Sookie nookie is not.

    Bill is obviously a much stronger HEA condender in TB than in the books – and why?

    SILVER

    • April 15, 2010 at 12:46 pm

      Hi Silver and welcome! 🙂

      Alot of us here are coming around to the idea that Ball is setting Bill up for a big fall, and that fall will probably happen this season (just as it did in the books). The almost deifying of Bill is part of the set up – when Ball executes his big reveal, it will be all the more shocking. This isn’t wishful thinking, there is a fair amount of evidence in the show for anyone who is prepared to look beyond the superficial version of Bill that Ball is dishing up. If you’re interested in Ball’s treatment of Bill’s character, you really need to check out this blog, by a very insightful lady who posts here: http://sunnynala.wordpress.com/ . Prepare to have your mind blown 😉

      Like you, I’m 99% satisfied that the HEA is Eric in the books. But I don’t believe it will be Bill on the show. I am also not certain that Ball will make Eric the HEA on the show – and I am not past ruling out the possibility that he may do things that Charlaine Harris has said she will never do (ie. turning Sookie, killing Eric, or any number of other possibilities that book readers don’t tend to consider because they’re not plausible for the books). If you’re familiar with Ball’s previous work, you’ll know that he doesn’t ever go for the all ends tied up, happy ending.

      So what I can tell you from that is that an ending with Sookie and Bill in a white picket fence with their half vampire babies will not be happening. Beyond that, I have no idea.

      I try to view True Blood as glorified fanfic – that is essentially what it is afterall when someone takes characters invented by someone else and creates another story – but when key canon is decimated I do still tend to get upset. I am working on this but it is a long road to acceptance LOL.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,561 hits since October 2009

