10
Jan
10

Poll – Who’s your Second for Book Sookie?

Some discussion in the comments on an earlier post inspired me to make a new poll.

If Eric is not to be Sookie’s HEA in the books, who would be your second pick? And why?

Vote below, and don’t forget to leave your reasons/rants/tinfoil hat conspiracy theories in the comments!

31 Responses to “Poll – Who’s your Second for Book Sookie?”


  1. January 10, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    Some of you have already started discussing this on the other post – if you’d like your comments moved, copy and paste them over here and I’ll delete the other ones.

  2. 2 Stef
    January 10, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    You kinda saw my other post, but I wanted to give a little more explanation. I do believe Sookie belongs with Eric ultimately (of course). Alcide just seems like the second best choice. As I read on others’ posts, It seems she’d be settling regardless if she doesn’t end up with Eric. But beyond that, I do believe she could have some semblance of a future with Alcide. Children would be possible with him. Granted the whole infant mortality rate with having were children, but who knows? Yes, Alcide made mistakes as all of the characters do, but his are a tad bit more forgiveable than either Quinn or Bill for that matter IMO. But, the Viking still rules in my heart:)

  3. 6 Dan
    January 11, 2010 at 1:10 am

    I answered other = me. I am mortal and she can hear my thoughts but they are all good thoughts. I am rooting for Eric and I live vicariously through him. I have confidence that the relationship will work out. I am curios about how Sookie’s mortality will affect the relationship. It’s possible that a combination of her fae genetics, lots of Eric’s blood, and some process we have not heard about could lend to preserving Sookie at 26 for a long time.

  4. 7 Kealeagh
    January 11, 2010 at 3:34 am

    Please no Sam. I try to like him but there is nothing interesting about him. Even on the show, I really really try because I feel like Charlaine is gonna turn 180 and Sookie will end up with Sam but I just can’t like the guy, he is too boring. Because seriously folks, she won’t give up on Sam. Sookie always brings Sam up, he NEVER goes away as a love interest even when Sookie isn’t raelly interested.

    I am all for Eric being the HEA, but I sadly feel like it’s gonna be Sam and I hate that.

  5. 8 VampirePamsGirl
    January 11, 2010 at 4:45 am

    I voted “None of them-if it’s not Eric I’m not interested” and not just because I am (admittedly) totally obsessed with the Viking. I’m going feminist here for a minute and saying that if Sookie can’t have the best (and like Stef said if it’s not Eric, she’s just going to be settling for second best), it doesn’t mean she should have to settle for someone else. A woman is perfectly capable of having an HEA all by herself.

    If I absolutely had to choose another man though it would be Sam just cause he pisses me off the least. I just don’t like Alcide, not real big on Quinn or Calvin, and HELL-NO to Bill, Barry is eh, don’t know enough about Remy to care, but I might be willing to throw a vote in there for other and give Dan a shout-out. Lol.

    And on the choosing a shifter/were to be able to have children thing, that takes me back to one of SVB’s early posts on here when I first started getting addicted to this blog. The one under the Sam Merlotte category where she says:

    “Sookie is many things – but she is not recklessly irresponsible. Particularly when it comes to family. Sookie’s notoriety within the supernatural community means that she might as well paint a target on the kids forehead and sit them in the middle of Club Dead for some supe to come and claim. Her children will never be safe, and they will make her vulnerable as well. Does she really want children anyway? Or is it just that before her life took the turn it did, she thought children and marriage was the most she could aspire to as a small town barmaid? Much has changed since that Sookie was calling the shots, and in the later books she hasn’t been clucking like she used to. Sorry folks, there will be no itty bitty booties for our girl.”

    • January 13, 2010 at 2:03 am

      We are on the same wave length – here is what I posted on the subject after reading 1-8 before 9 came out – Sam – I would just be disappointed with this choice. Sweet, good for Sookie but it would feel contrived all this time waiting in the wings trying to stay out of the supe business and all of a sudden he is the hero. I just hope not (though I think this is where it may go) And I know Sookie really wants kids but does she really need to pass on her telepathy to her poor kids not to mention all of her supe problems.

  6. 10 nskars
    January 11, 2010 at 7:47 am

    Well of course, Eric will be Sookie’s HEA. But as I stated in the previous post – I vote Sam as the runner-up over Alcide. Alcide is too much of a snob. He blatantly used Sookie for her status in the supe world as a telepath. And he would never settle for a partner who wasn’t a Were. He has full-blooded Were parents and as Sookie understands it, her and Alcide could never have a future because he needs to keep the Were thing going.

    Sam is dependable, grounded, sensible. He has a business, is hardworking and well respected. Okay so he doesn’t really embody passion, but compared to the others he is my top choice after Eric as Sookie’s HEA.

  7. 11 nskars
    January 11, 2010 at 7:50 am

    And yeah he’s boring. But at least he’s never used her, betrayed her or put her in harm’s way.

  8. January 11, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Eric is THE choice, of course. But if some unforeseen plot twist should put him out of the running, I would hope Sookie would look around a bit wider area. There’s really something defeatist about going back to a previous man, isn’t there? It’s like digging a used Kleenex out of the waste basket. What about the gorgeous Felipe de Castro? Maybe take a closer look?

  9. 14 sunnynala
    January 11, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I don’t know about the books, but on the show it has to be Sam. Remember when they were in Sam’s truck, riding back from investigating Drew Marshall/Rene in Bunkie? Sookie told Sam that ‘one day when this is all over I’d like us to rent a convertible and drive down to the Gulf, bake in the sun…” This will probably be the last scene of the series, Sookie and Sam riding off into the sun.

    • 15 VampirePamsGirl
      January 11, 2010 at 8:43 pm

      I could see that, though I’m still cheering first and foremost for a Viking HEA all around. I do got to say though that one of the few characters that I like better on the show than in the books is Sam. I can’t quite put my finger on the reason. It may just be that cute little butt of his on the show. ;D

  10. 16 skadi
    January 11, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    It really has to be Eric. I mean, that’s what the books are leading us toward, however circuitous a route CH is taking us (which of course, is part of the attraction for me. It’s the longing for it to happen that’s so seductive in reading the books, wanting Sookie and Eric to be together) It wouldn’t be much fun if it were plain sailing though.

    I like Sam, but he’s always going to be one of those second choice kind of guys. He great in so many ways, but that spark, that indescribable “thing” is missing. He’d be the safe choice, I think, but not the one that makes your chest burst, it feels so good. That would be Eric, obviously.

    And I really liked Alcide when he was first introduced, all untamed hair and warmblooded. But I think he’s turned out to be something of a dick, using Sookie and making really poor decisions, one after the other.

    I’d choose Sam over Alcide anyday, but it has to be Eric.

  11. 17 Dan
    January 11, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    I can’t see her being happy with a second choice. Eric made the Soul connection with her in DTTW and she has spent books trying to protect herself from the potential pain of it not working out. Now this profession of Love in DITF.

    • January 11, 2010 at 11:52 pm

      Wow it’s almost a three way tie – No one and Alcide fairly equal, and Sam just a touch behind.

      @Dan – I completely agree with your assessment of Eric and Sookie above. DTTW was *all* about showing Sookie, and the reader that Eric is capable of giving her the relationship she wants to have. He truly did make a soul connection with her and it scared Sookie to death.

      Unless Eric does something really, really off the charts bad, I just can’t see that she would ever move on from him. I can’t see her ever not thinking about him and wondering what if? DTTW gave her a taste of what she could have and she can never pretend that she didn’t know that side of him.

      @VPG – I also feel that Sookie could make it on her own. I don’t know if I want her to, but if Bill and Quinn were the only ones left I think I could quickly make up my mind on that 😉

      I could never go for Alcide (though I’m intrigued so many of you have). Even though the chemistry is off the charts, he is too selfish, too shallow and I just don’t feel he is very loyal deep down. He did help Sookie get rid of a body under considerably risky circumstances, though. At least he’s prepared to stick his neck out for her.

      Depending on how much wilder the rest of Sookie’s journey is, I think that the spark could still be found with Sam. Often chemistry that is slow to build and is generated over time burns the longest. I wonder if Sookie’s experiences will eventually lead her to see him in a different light. I don’t feel the children are the biggest “pro” for these two – I don’t believe Sookie will have her own children and I really don’t tend to factor that in when I’m weighing up possible suitors for her. But I do feel a genuine connection between Sookie and Sam, even if it’s not an overtly sexual one.

      That doesn’t mean I’m not suspicious of him though. FDTW really set of alarm bells about Sam for me but I’m not sure whether what he’s hiding is bad…or not.

      TV Sam? Love him and again, if no viking I would see her with Sam over Bill any day of the week.

      • 19 Stef
        January 12, 2010 at 7:28 am

        TV Sam? I’d be all for him being the alternate HEA…I was for him from the beginning….much more than book Sam. Although I have yet to say completely for the tv characters…since I haven’t seen alcide on screen yet:) I’m not sure why but I have a semi-crush on Alcide…even though Eric’s the #1! Someone explain this weird phenomenan to me!

        • 20 Kristen
          January 12, 2010 at 3:21 pm

          Why is TV Sam SO much hotter than book Sam, btw? I have horrible time with CH’s description of Sam’s wiry, curly, poofy (?) red blonde hair and tend to think of him as some shapeshifting version of Carrot Top.

          TV Sam?? Thank you, Alan Ball (and I don’t say that often), ’cause yum-yum.

  12. 22 liz
    January 12, 2010 at 12:07 am

    the only things i can imagine breaking E/S apart would be so devastating to Sookie that i feel only Sam, her bff, could put aside his own ego to knowingly take 2nd place. This wouldnt be a hea imo though

  13. January 13, 2010 at 2:24 am

    I picked Barry lol I guess I am not all together serious but I could not pick “if not Eric no one” and where’s the fun in picking other (unless you are Dan :). ) So don’t throw stuff at me but before book 9 I liked Quinn. There was just something sexy about a man that could go toe to toe with Eric. The Babe thing did not bother me and he just seemed good for her. Then that all went down the toilet. Alcide was too brain washed by Debbie for me to ever trust with Sookie’s heart. Bill is just over he needs to seriously stop being a creep if he even wants to keep hanging around IMO. Sam is Sookie’s hot boss who sometimes sleeps on her floor. I do like Sam but as many of you have already said Sam being the HEA would just feel like a cop out. So maybe Barry can grow up a bit and be Sookie’s HEA. Is it voyeristic to wonder what would happen with the telepathy if they got it on?Anyway I really just want to see her with Eric.

    • 25 nskars
      January 13, 2010 at 10:05 am

      This comment is so made of win. And even I, Sookieverseblog’s #1 Quinn Hater, cannot begrudge you for liking him going toe to toe with Eric. That was kind of… stimulating I suppose. But everything else he did made me want to stake myself in the eye. 😀


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,646 hits since October 2009

