15
Jan
10

Pam = HBIC

It’s Friday, and I’m bored at work and feeling snarky. It must be time for a LOL.

Not much happening on the news front at the moment – except for the casting call that came out yesterday for Debbie Pelt and about 15 million other new characters. Season 3 looks to be shaping up to be even more scattered and hectic than season 2. How are they going to fit all this in?

And what, Debbie Pelt wasn’t psycho enough for you Alan? Now she needs a drug problem to make her really, really “crazy”? Why do all these bad characters need to have an excuse to be bad on True Blood? Well all except Eric, who is the spawn of Satan and has no excuse at all. Debbie was a textbook psychopath – plain and simple. She didn’t need any other personality deficits to make us hate her. How are we supposed to hate someone with a drug addiction driving their behaviour?

Pam – HBIC of them all – is not amused.

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

21 Responses to “Pam = HBIC”


  1. 1 Kealeagh
    January 15, 2010 at 2:57 am

    Seriously. There are so many new characters this season I just can’t see how they can make it work. Plus, the Debbie Pelt casting call pissed me off. Like you said – did she REALLY have to be a v-addict? No, she did not. She could have just been a crazy psycho. Now it’s gonna make no sense why Alcide would go back to her. I don’t even know anymore, Alan Ball. I think you should make a new character on the show just for your ego.

  2. 2 walgigi
    January 15, 2010 at 3:27 am

    “I don’t even know anymore, Alan Ball. I think you should make a new character on the show just for your ego.”

    I’m sooo agree with you Kealeagh…

    And maybe he could also make Eric and Debbie a couple to fulfill his character assassination(*roll eyes*).

    • 3 walgigi
      January 15, 2010 at 3:35 am

      And WTF is this???

      JANICE HERVEAUX] 32 years old, a fit.. tough-as-nails woman in biker gear, she is is Alcide’s protective older sister. Somewhat New Age, Janice is into horoscopes and psychics…

      That bitch of AB just has shit on his mind? uff

      • 4 Kealeagh
        January 15, 2010 at 3:54 am

        Oh, how could I forget about Aclide’s biker sister? Will she predict how awful this is?

        I swear season 3 sounds worse and worse…

    • 5 walgigi
      January 15, 2010 at 4:09 am

      Ohhhh, and because we’ll never have enough gays on TB:
      [DONNY] A road crew member with Jason, he kisses up to Kitch, the new high school football star…
      hahhaa (sorry, but I have to lol because AB is soo obvious..)

      About Debbie, the bitch Ball must being making her a V addict instead of the psychopath she really is b/c that way she’ll going to be another victim of “EVIL Eric the Czar of V” at everyone eyes (especially at Sookie’s when Bill or Laf tell her he is selling V)…

      • 6 Stef
        January 15, 2010 at 5:19 am

        Yeah, I think AB is adding another notch to the “Eric is EVIL” post! Gimme a break!

        I love Pam…Kristin Bauer’s portrayal is dead on! (no pun intended):)

  3. 7 Pogonip
    January 15, 2010 at 3:49 am

    OK, I give. HBIC? Head Bitch in Charge? What? I do like Pam in the books, and so far, in TB. Though I’m not as taken with TB. I wonder sometimes why AB bothered to buy the rights if he just wants to write his own stories. He’s getting farther and farther away from the plots in the books, so why not just have Dixie Lee as a waitress in a small town in Georgia who meets a vampire, yadda yadda yadda. It would have saved a lot of money.

    • 8 locket
      January 15, 2010 at 4:41 pm

      Exactly! I don’t understand why he felt the need to buy the rights to the Sookie books to rip them to shreds? Just create an original program about a vampire and a human telepath b/c that is what he’s doing anyway. I think what upsets me the most is his continued statements about staying “true to the spirit of the books”. It’s a lie, and he needs to stop saying it, IMO.

    • 9 walgigi
      January 16, 2010 at 5:28 am

      Watching Pam pic here made me think that AB could be more creative and invert the roles in TB with a female vampire and a a male telepath as leads. Can you imagine Pam and Barry the bellboy as a romantic couple?? HAHHAHA OMG!

  4. 10 Dan
    January 15, 2010 at 8:52 am

    It’s like 3 a.m. Friday for me. What country are you in?

  5. 11 sunnynala
    January 16, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    I think AB might be combining Hallow and Debbie.

    • 12 walgigi
      January 16, 2010 at 8:47 pm

      I actually thought the same, but even if he’ll do, then there’s no point on making her Alcide’s girlfriend. Hallow, in addition to selling his blood, also wants to have sex with Eric and his amnesia was the result of that. She is supposed to have participation in Bill’s torture, too. Anyway, who knows? As far as I have seen until now, AB story is very incoherent…

      • 13 walgigi
        January 16, 2010 at 8:49 pm

        “She is supposed to have participation in Bill’s torture, too.”
        I meant Debbie.

      • 14 sunnynala
        January 16, 2010 at 9:15 pm

        I don’t see why Debbie can’t be and do all of these things. I’ve suspected for a while that Debbie may be a dramatic new regular cast addition. She could have connections with a lot of the other characters, including Alcide. I’ve theorized she might be in the mold of Maryann, possibly even a reincarnation of or possession by MA, who is a shifter or a were as well as a v-addicted practicing witch. They may even cast Michelle Forbes in the role. Yes, I know she’s older than book Debbie but there is nothing stopping AB from making all new hybrid characters who don’t necessarily correspond to any one specific book character but several.

        Another theory of mine is that I think QSA is selling v in order to track a v-addicted witch, probably Debbie/Hallow. I am almost 100% positive that QSA is using magic to aid Bill in the edict. D/H might have been working for her at one time and ran away from her.

        I think Sookie’s ring was bewitched with a “compelling” spell, which is why we saw her bizarre and dramatic change of heart the second she tried it on, and I think the spell was put there at QSA’s direction. Remember when Ludis accused her of using magic to win at Yahtzee? Well, she didn’t deny being able to use it, she just said “I do not cheat! What would be the point?” Well of course she does cheat, and lie, as we saw. And she wants what she wants. I foresee a dramatic showdown between her and Eric in the future.

        • January 16, 2010 at 11:39 pm

          Have you been reading my mind LOL.

          I think it was around ep 4 that I realised Sophie-Anne was behind the V and then I spent about another month before it was revealed on the show racking my brain for a motive that made sense. Eric’s involvement led me to conclude that the V selling was laying groundwork for Hallow and her curse, and that Sophie Anne is already aware of Hallow and her coven’s activities in the area and is selling V to keep track of her. In the books Hallow was a very powerful witch, a were and a user of V, so it’s probably fair to speculate that Hallow will cross swords with Eric at some point, the V being the catalyst, and the curse will come into play.

          The comment about the magic in the yahtzee game is interesting – SA was mightily pissed at the suggestion and there is probably something more to that.

          I have also speculated about that ring being bewitched – there really can be no other explanation for the complete brain transplant Sookie had the second it went on her finger. I rewatched this scene about a week ago, and it’s really quite remarkable. One minute she’s making complete sense, the next minute she’s acting like she’s in a fucking bad Cinderella remake. I think that ring is under a spell, and SA is behind it though I’m not sure she is actually creating the magic herself.

          Re combining Debbie and Hallow – I sincerely hope that is not his plan because I just don’t get how that can work. These two are separate elements of the same plotline and important in their own right (Debbie is heavily involved in the amnesia storyline, entirely separate to Hallow’s involvement). Though who knows what Ball will do. It appears that he is doing a hybrid character with Franklin Mott – on TB looking to be a combination of Franklin and Mickey, another book character – so no, there’s nothing to stop him doing that.

          My feeling at the moment is that Hallow and Debbie will be separate characters, with Debbie coming in via Alcide, and Hallow via Yvetta – who I’m thinking is going to end up being a member of her coven, sent to get under Eric’s skin and recon information about his business dealings.

          • 16 sunnynala
            January 17, 2010 at 12:43 am

            You are probably right about Yvetta, though I haven’t yet given up on my theory that she might be part of an Eric flashback. Remember when everyone was scoffing at the casting call because Chechoslavakia is no longer a country? The reference to her dancing in Fangtasia might be a red herring and she might be playing an Easter European ballerina who was Eric’s mistress many years ago.

            Yep, that ring has a spell on it or I’ll eat my hat collection. The color of her dress, probably sent by the queen since I can’t figure out when Bill would have had time to go out and buy it, ties in with the magic involved:

            Purple Magic spells are used to bring in personal success, draw in allies, receive a favourable verdict in court, magnify rulership, force others to behave as desired, enhance control, attract helpful spirits or demons, or increase will power. Purple magic spells can be gentle or strong, suggestive or coercive; what makes them all purple magic spells is that they have something to do with controlling, commanding, compelling, or bending others to one’s will.

            http://www.luckymojo.com/spells.html

            I don’t know for sure if they will combine the two characters, but I do know I’m looking forward to seeing a powerful witch character.

        • 18 walgigi
          January 17, 2010 at 8:34 pm

          Your theory about the ring sounds very reasonable, but I think Ball also used that as a publicity strategy to took advantadge of SM/AP public engagement announcement with the purpose to attract more viewers; and also did it as a way to imitate when Eric tries to protect Sookie from FDC (another instance where he transfers to Bill the actions that Eric made to build a stronger relationship with Sookie in the books). If so, it sucks… *roll eyes* because it will be the way to attenuate the shock when Sookie finds out that Bill has been lying to her, so she eventually will be able to forgive him. I don’t know, I’m not pessimistic, but the fact that Bill was kidnapped and didn’t went willingly to Lorena is just another proof of how much AB is protecting Bill character as the lead on his fanfic, and keeps me realistic about what to expect from him.

          About SA, she is already upset with the knowledge that Bill is in love with Sookie because it interferes with her original plans to gain control over her, and she knows that it can also cause problems with Bill’s loyalty. She showed it when she told Eric that one vampire in love was enough problem to her. Helping Bill to marry Sookie will only achieves that SA has less control over both of them because he, as Sookie’s husband, will have rights over her and could try to impose conditions in exchange for her services. I don’t think SA will allow herself that lack of control especially after she knew he is in love with Sookie. I also think that if Bill’s marriage proposition was a joint project with SA and not his own initiative, Sookie will NEVER EVER forgives Bill or talks to him again when she discovers it. Unless this TB “brainwashed Sookie” version will remains the same the moron with the same lack of self-steem through all the show. And knowing AB, he’s not going to “burnout” his lead vampire. I really doubt he’ll goes farther than making Bill guilt of hide his original intention with Sookie, because what they have now is trueeee love (yeah… right…) *roll eyes*.

          Just to mention Maryann’s name the next season will be TB suicide LOL. But I always thought the V selling has the purpose of tracking V addicts and Hallow’s gang, and that Yvetta could be sort of a scout for Hallow. Also think AB could combine Debbie and Hallow as one character, but if he’ll do so, it will be a shame to sacrifice and loose two of the best elements of the same plotline with the idea of exchanging them for more Tara’s shit and Sam’s family… At least, I couldn’t care less for their weak story lines. Especially after their last season disasters, and because AB made them lead characters only as plot devices in order to not give Eric character enough display so he can’t be (at least) a regular, and not another strong recurring character (as he still remains until now).

  6. 19 Kealeagh
    January 16, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Did they cast Calvin Norris yet?

  7. 21 VikingLover
    January 27, 2010 at 4:11 am

    I was looking at the casting call listings and I just can’t wrap my head around the new storylines. What’s with this Kitch Maynard – the 17 year old high school star “golden boy”. Apparently he’s supposed to get under Jason’s skin? How does that fit in with anything supernatural? Unless he’s from Hot Shot and will introduce Jason to Crystal?

    As to Alcide, the description is “He is a heroic type and he and Sookie get along really well, and it’s possible there’s even an attraction between the two”. How will they work in Sookie being possibly attracted to him if Bill has been kidnapped (against his will) and is possibly being tortured. How will they work in Eric then?

    I’m intrigued by the supposed WWII flashback.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,125 hits since October 2009

