20
Jan
10

Sam and Bill – My Slashy Senses are Tingling

Ausiello is reporting today a confirmation from Alan Ball that Sam will face horrible consequences for drinking a gallon of Bill’s blood in the season 2 finale.

Sam shall be tormented and tortured in a hillbilly hotel room with Bill sex dreams!

Sucks to be you, Sam Merlotte.

Since my preferred slash coupling – Eric and Lafayette – don’t look like being realised on screen any time soon, this will just have to do for now.

I was utterly convinced that the consequences of Sam drinking from Bill would be completely ignored next season, with only Sookie and Laf enjoying the sleepy-time benefits of ingesting vampire blood. So I’m really pleased to see some attempt at continuity in this storyline.

But you know there’s a rant coming, and here it is.

After the finale (when I had calmed down enough to think rationally) I wondered if – and how – things would play out between Sam and Bill in the future. I’ve ripped this directly from my little notebook of conspiracy theories, written last September:

One of the following two scenarios must play out after Sam having Bill’s blood. Either:

Sam starts having sex dreams about Bill – since both Sookie and Lafayette are having them about Eric, while insisting that there is no sexual attraction at play. If it’s true there is no attraction (at least for Lafayette), Bill/Sam dreams must occur – since Sam definitely has no sexual attraction towards Bill whatsoever. This means the blood can cause attraction where there was none before.

OR

Sam has no sexy dreams about Bill. In this case, we should get a clearer indication that Lafayette does in fact have a boner for Eric, just as we all know Sookie does. Therefore the blood only intensifies feelings that already exist, either consciously or sub consciously.

So it appears we are getting the first scenario. In Ball’s world, the taking of blood can cause sexual attraction. This is a major departure from the books, where the blood can only intensify an attraction that already exists.

In Ball’s world, Eric (and Bill, for that matter) are manipulating thoughts and feelings, and by extension the actions, of others through their blood. This is so fucking stupid. It removes any genuine emotional conflict and complexity, and lays blame for what remains with the blood. The blood becomes a crutch. Feeling attraction for a vampire that isn’t your boyfriend? Oh don’t be stupid, it’s the blood. Feeling hot for a guy that locked you up in a basement for a few weeks? Nuh-uh silly, it’s just the blood. Suddenly having fantasies about the dude who is dating your crush? That damn blood again! This approach is significantly less interesting than forcing characters to face up to what may lie behind those feelings, and it treats the audience like idiots who need to be spoonfed. The issue of blood ties generally, and the blood bond between Sookie and Eric is sometimes frustrating for book readers. But it is also compelling and beautiful and filled with potential. It is complex, unpredictable and mysterious; we are never quite sure how it’s playing into the characters feelings and actions. This, on the other hand is Blood Ties For Dummies. Blood Bonds for the Masses. It’s insulting, actually.

I’m not really concerned about the implications for Sookie and Eric – her attraction to him was evident well before the bullet sucking in Dallas. And of course, Eric is still one up on Bill, having a genuine interest in Sookie without ever having tasted her. I think both of these factors support an argument for the tables being turned on Bill and Eric at some point down the line – the “evil” one genuinely loves her, the “noble” one turns out to have feet of clay.

You can be sure that as the first real clarification of how blood exchanges are going to work in True Blood, this will be jumped upon by certain sections of fandom to support the case that Eric is an evil, manipulative bastard. Nothing new there. Yet I would also point out that playing things this way has huge implications for Bill and Sookie too. While Sookie was interested in Bill before she had his blood, she went completely into overdrive immediately after the second night when he fed her after she was bashed. Masturbating on Bill’s porch? I don’t think she made a habit of self-pleasuring in public before that incident. Combined with Bill’s comments in Dallas about having “sexual feelings” for Eric after drinking his blood, surely Sookie is going to have to start joining the dots here?

Enjoy that pretty ring Sookie…I have a feeling it won’t be on your finger for long.

23 Responses to “Sam and Bill – My Slashy Senses are Tingling”


  1. 1 Kealeagh
    January 20, 2010 at 2:28 am

    Seriously. As much as True Blood needs guy-on-guy action all I have to say is, WTF. Sam and Bill, really? I swear Alan Ball has a huge boner for Stephen Moyer.

    • 2 Kealeagh
      January 20, 2010 at 2:30 am

      Oh and…

      • 3 Pogonip
        January 20, 2010 at 2:47 am

        Absofuckinlutely priceless.

      • 4 VampirePamsGirl
        January 20, 2010 at 3:11 am

        LMFAO! Kealeagh, Love the vid! I watched it twice and giggled through it both times.

        @SVB – I’m glad you were able to analyze this a bit b/c when I first read that article, all I could do was laugh. I don’t know why this pairing seems so humourous to me but it just does. It’s also funny because I remember a lot of speculation on various boards esp. EW ones (probably even some of your comments) just after that episode that this would happen with Bill and Sam. I guess I didn’t really think they would go there and now it seems that ARE going there, lol.

      • 5 Stef
        January 20, 2010 at 5:05 am

        HAHA…I saw this video a couple of months ago and laughed my ass off! Maybe there is a little bit od sexual tension between Sam and Bill…beneath all of the alpha-male posturing. I think it will be interesting to watch for entertainment value if nothing else. It is a completely stupid turn that AB is taking w/ this whole blood-bond thing.

  2. January 20, 2010 at 2:44 am

    OMFG Kealeagh. I think I just died.

  3. 7 VikingLover
    January 20, 2010 at 3:13 am

    OMG Kaeleagh, that video was hilarious!!! I laughed so hard that I had tears in my eyes!! “Goodbye Sookay” “Samay!” LMAO!!!!

  4. 8 walgigi
    January 20, 2010 at 5:24 am

    HHHHHHHAHAHAHAHAAAA Kealeagh!! I love that vid, the music is so funny and Bill’s giggling face is priceless!!!!! You just made cry laughinh so hard!! LMAO!!

    “In Ball’s world, Eric (and Bill, for that matter) are manipulating thoughts and feelings, and by extension the actions, of others through their blood. This is so fucking stupid. It removes any genuine emotional conflict and complexity, and lays blame for what remains with the blood. The blood becomes a crutch. … This, on the other hand is Blood Ties For Dummies. Blood Bonds for the Masses. It’s insulting, actually.”

    “As much as True Blood needs guy-on-guy action all I have to say is, WTF.”

    While I was watching the GG last sunday, I came to the conclusion that the greatest looser of the night was Allan Ball. IMO, his TB was probably nominated as a “favor” from someone who had a “gratitude” debt with him. Because in all honesty, when you watch all the amazing shows that were nominated, you can’t even dare to compare their superior quality with the shallow work of TB. And the reason of it, as you both said before, is the lack of complexity and layers of the characters, the erratic plot, and the constant pushing of his gay agenda. People who watch the show aren’t homophobics, and indeed there’s enough homosexual content in the SVM. But making the show a personal gay crusade isn’t what people are expecting from a quality tv show. And what about those absolute no sense weeks of orgies… wtf? Didn’t he learned anything with last season experience? No, it seems he doesn’t. Because the next season people will have Skars naked since the first epi sexing men and women, Pam in a lesbian relationship, Laff with a new gay lover, some Jason co-worker (that I don’t give a damn) kissing a 17 y/o high school teen, SA and Hadley, Russell Edgignton and Talbot, etc, etc… and now Bill and Sam… TOO? And to watch all this people making out (because I’m sure he’ll show it ALL) with a whole lot of shitty plot devices, when the SMV have so much fuck.. layers, undertones and DEEPNESS is so incredibly stupid that I can’t even find the words to describe how insulted I feel. I have to say that if he has planned to make some sort of “role” reversal between the good and the bad boy in the future, people will be so tired and bored of his manipulation and his shallow show that will not care at all… because they aren’t going to be watching it.

    • 9 Kealeagh
      January 20, 2010 at 5:47 am

      Season 3 is heading into the direction of a clusterfuck.

      • 10 caratstick
        January 20, 2010 at 6:14 am

        LMFAO re “clusterfuck”

        I completely agree about the orgy scenes from Season 2. In the immortal words of Ghost Busters: Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together… mass hysteria!

        One short scene would have gotten the point across that OMFG everyone has gone batshit crazy in Bon Temps. We did NOT need to see the ickiest people ever groping each other time after time. When I saw Mike Spencer and Jane Bodehouse (less talkin’ more dancin’) get physical I threw up a little in my mouth.

        I don’t have a problem with relationship sex, sex with motivation, with some sort of genuine feeling. I don’t necessarily mean love; just some kind of true feeling, interest, attraction, caring, love. We’ll see. I’m reserving judgment. A lot of sex/sexiness doesn’t have to necessarily be bad.

        (Also, I have to admit I LOVE both Hoyt and Jessica. I know, I know, I’m a complete weirdo.)

    • 11 walgigi
      January 21, 2010 at 6:45 am

      Oppss… I forgot to add Jason and his threesome in the clusterfuck hahaha.

      Of course sex/sexiness isn’t bad, Cara. As you well said, and I agree with you: “I don’t have a problem with relationship sex, sex with motivation, with some sort of genuine feeling. I don’t necessarily mean love; just some kind of true feeling, interest, attraction, caring, love. We’ll see.”

      But the problem with Ball is that he’s depending and leaning on sex scenes without strong plot lines and oversimplyfying the characters, that’s what weakening the show. I mean, for example, we all LOVE Vampire Pam character. We were asking for more Pam on the show. What were we asking for?? To see more Pam interacting with Eric, Sookie, Bill, etc and showing her kickass personality, or to see Pam having a lesbian relationship? That’s what I mean. No matter the fact that she’s indeed bisexual, this is just another shitty plot device and not a real development of the character inside the story… *roll eyes*.

  5. 12 Jess
    January 20, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    I hadn’t given any thought to the consequences of Sam drinking Bill’s blood. But Sam dreaming of Bill … I really don’t like what they are doing with the blood tie on TB.

    “In Ball’s world, the taking of blood can cause sexual attraction. This is a major departure from the books, where the blood can only intensify an attraction that already exists.”

    Exactly. It removes free will from the characters. That was my main problem with Maryann. In the book, the maenad was attracted by violence, sex, drunkenness, and looked for humans that indulged in those things. In TB, Maryann provokes these things. All the people she is involved with then become totally uninteresting, as they are acting under a sort of hypnosis and cannot remember anything. In the end she is the only one to blame for all the madness. Now the same thing is happening with the humans surrounding the vampires: everything can be blamed on the blood? I also found Jason and Amy under V so boring, and now there are more V addicts to come?

    @caratstick: I really like Hoyt and Jessica too. I’m looking forward to seeing where the Jessica storyline will go…

  6. 13 sunnynala
    January 20, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    Hmm, I look at it a little differently Sookieverseblog. I saw Sookie having ONLY a sexual attraction to Bill after having his blood. After having Eric’s blood however her dreams were of love, tenderness, emotional connection, humor–in short his blood brought out a deep seated attraction to him that was not only sexual but emotional. BIG difference between her Bill and Eric dreams.

    Also, this extraordinary spoiler is not only highly unusual to AB’s usual MO, it sounds sort of like damage control to me. Just the other day it was spoiled that we would see Sam in bed with someone who would confuse the audience. HOW would seeing Sam and Bill together in bed confuse the audience? The audience is well primed to expect sex dreams from humans who have ingested vampire blood.

    Methinks this is a red herring and we will see Sam dreaming of someone else entirely.

  7. 15 VikingLover
    January 21, 2010 at 1:51 am

    I agree with Walgigi 100%. Look, I really and truly do not mind the guy on guy/girl on girl thing. The problem I do have is the fact that AB/TB has never really bothered to explain that vampires don’t have the typical boundaries/taboos about sexual preferences. They are very sexual beings and bi-sexuality is common. In the books this is made clear. On the show it is not so because of that it just seems like gratuitous sex. There’s no real reason for it. It’s just pure shock value. Which leads me to Eric’s portrayal on the show. Everyone already thinks Eric is a villian. Now add him having multiple sex partners (men and women), sex with his maker (in flashbacks supposedly) and a new stripper girlfriend, and boom – now he’s gay AND a sleaze bucket unable to be faithful Sookie. This is the problem that I have with the whole thing! Tell me the truth, will the audience really be able to watch Eric engage in homosexual trysts and still see him as a viable option for Sookie? Since they have never shown Bill engaging in ANY untoward behavior, it just makes it seem like “bad vampires” are being really naughty while the “good” vampire is behaving himself. This wouldn’t be a problem at all if they had just protrayed Bill (from the beginning) as a “real character” with real flaws. There’s no shades of gray with Bill so it just makes all the other vampires seem black and white BAD.

    Also, we ended Season 2 with Eric pursuing Sookie. Now all of a sudden, in the first episode of Season 3, we’ll be met with Eric getting it on with multiple partners? Does that bother anyone else? That will just make his motives seem even more suspicious.

    Okay, that being said, I do still have hope (silly me). I really love TB but I’m getting really nervous with all of these plot points that are being leaked. I’m ready for Season 3 but I’m hoping that AB can really make this “vision” of his work without screwing up the characters. I guess we’ll see.

    • 16 Kealeagh
      January 21, 2010 at 4:44 am

      I agree with everything you said. Seriously. I want to be excited for season 3 but with each ‘spoiler’ and casting call put out, I get more and more upset about it and realize season 3 just very well might suck (no pun).

  8. January 21, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    It also doesn’t make sense! There are many people doing “V” in the books and TV show. In the books AND the TV show there are no wild dreams of hot vampire sex after taking a hit. This makes sense in the books because how likely is it that the druggie taking V actually knew the donating vampire AND was attracted to them? Not likely. But if vampire blood creates sexual attraction where none existed previously than wouldn’t all those V users be plagued by irresistible attraction and erotic dreams of some mystery vamp? Or will they explain that away by saying you have to drink from the vein? That would be lame. If Jason Stackhouse had started having erotic dreams of some vamp dude after taking V… he would have sworn it off from day one! Also he and Amy would have become sexually attracted to Eddie. Yes, Jason did dream that Eddie was in his bed once but it was a nightmare brought on by guilt over killing Eddie, it was not an erotic dream.

    • 18 ksr
      January 22, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      I also thought of that fact but I wrote it off as a weak influence of ‘young’ vampire’s blood.
      By the way in TB a lot of discrepancies related to BBs and drinking vampires blood in generally. For example we see like Jason lick a drop of rotten vampire blood mixed with aspirin and fly away to a hazy distance while Sookie wear Bill out and nothing happens! Or more of that Laff practically bite off Eric’s hand (if somebody forgot, 1000 years old vampire) and than just dancing and watching weird ‘cartoons’ with Eric as a police officer or Tara’s mum!

  9. 19 VikingLover
    January 21, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    @ Tiffany: That is such a great point! I never even thought of that!

    PS I’m new to this blog and I didn’t even introduce myself – I just started right in! LOL The blog is awesome! I’m totally obsessed with Sookie’s universe (and Eric of course!!) and I’m happy to meet others that have the same obsession! I love discussing this stuff! Thanks for having me!

  10. 20 VampirePamsGirl
    January 22, 2010 at 3:01 am

    Those are some great points Tiffany! I hadn’t really thought of that before either, but then again it’s not too surprising, I realized some time ago that consistency and True Blood are not synonymous.

    *waves “Hi!” to VikingLover* Love your screen name. It’s fits in great around here! 🙂

    • 21 VikingLover
      January 24, 2010 at 5:51 pm

      *waves hi back* Thanks VampirePamsGirl! I love your screen name too! I love Pam – one of my favorite characters! 🙂

  11. 22 ksr
    January 22, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    @ svb “Feeling hot for a guy that locked you up in a basement for a few weeks? Nuh-uh silly, it’s just the blood.” Or maybe it’s just Stockholm syndrome?! Really, these Swedish bad guys are so attractive even to their victims! ))))))))
    “Enjoy that pretty ring Sookie…I have a feeling it won’t be on your finger for long.” That’s for sure!!! If blood bond with Eric wouldn’t help to take it off, it just will be melted down by new extraordinaire ability of her constantly spread hands! ;)))

  12. 23 ksr
    January 22, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    @ gigi “…lack of complexity and layers of the characters, the erratic plot, and the constant pushing of his gay agenda… People who watch the show aren’t homophobics…but making the show a personal gay crusade isn’t what people are expecting from a quality tv show. And what about those absolute no sense weeks of orgies… wtf? …” You hit the nail on the head. When I saw all this shit at S2 I thought that AB has a spermotoxicosis and he needs just 15 minutes of privacy with his dick to relax and release a tension, maybe it will helps to bridle his sexual excitement and morbid imagination?!


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,646 hits since October 2009

