28
Jan
10

The King of Mississippi speaks! (Remember him?)

So hands up if you’d actually forgotten that Denis O’Hare had been cast in this part?

I did.

The actor has been silent since just after he was cast last year, and the True Blood camp have been very quiet about his storyline.

In this interview he finally spills the beans on Russell Edgington, shows off the accent he will be using for his character, and drops a few juicy spoilers. Mostly Bill Compton related.

You can view the video here, transcript is below.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Have you started filming True Blood?

Denis O’Hare: “I have shot two episodes of True Blood. ”

Are you as evil as they say you’re going to be?

Denis O’Hare: “No! I’m charming. I’m not evil – I’m charming. I’m the Vampire King of Mississippi. And I actually got my fangs today.”

What did they feel like?

Denis O’Hare: “They do a mouth cast, you know what I mean, and then they make them. And then you get rubber fangs, and then you get hard fangs. Hard fangs hurt and rubber fangs feel great.”

Are we going to see you sucking on people?

Denis O’Hare: “Definitely. Yeah, definitely.”

Okay, but they say you’re the big villain…

Denis O’Hare: “No. I have a point of view. I’m for vampires and I want them to get their rights. I want them to be preeminent, and I’ll do what I have to do to make that happen.”

[What? I thought he was one third of a “triumvirate of evil”. Don’t tell me Alan has been making shit up again.]

And it doesn’t matter who you kill to do that?

Denis O’Hare: “It’s not about killing, it’s about persuading. I’m very charming.”

How easy is it to say, “Oh yeah, I’m playing a vampire”?

Denis O’Hare: “You know what? It’s a riot. It’s a total riot. But it’s great to say, ‘I’m the Vampire King of Mississippi.’ That’s much better.”

Is that the accent you use?

Denis O’Hare: “That’s the accent I’m going to use. It’s a good one. I have a great model, a guy down from Meridian, Mississippi – a good guy.”

Okay, everybody else in the cast gets naked. Are they going to make the King of Mississippi get naked?

Denis O’Hare: “I hope not. I mean, you know what? I’m not ashamed of my body but I am 48 and it’s kind of like I’ve managed to go this long without doing that, you know? I mean, my sisters will be really unhappy – they’d be grossed out. I just think it’s better for everyone.”

You’ve already filmed two of them… Have you been terrible in those or are these good scenes? [and no, I didn’t mean his acting but the actions taken by the King in those scenes] What are you doing?

Denis O’Hare: “They’re fantastic scenes. The writing is unbelievably good. You know what’s great about it is that even though you’re a vampire, you’re human. And so I had this great scene recently with Vampire Bill [played by Stephen Moyer] and it was a scene between two people talking about the people that they love, and what you do with that love. Because my boyfriend in the thing is 700 years old…I’m 2300 years old and we’ve been together for 700 years. And I have this great line where I say, ‘Spend eternity together – that’s commitment.’ But, you know, the script is deep. It’s not just frivolous, and I love that about it.”

Did you watch the other two seasons?

Denis O’Hare: “I did. I was a fan, I was a fan.”

Did you read the books?

Denis O’Hare: “I read a couple of the books, just to kind of get background. You know what? They’re a different thing. I think what Alan [Ball] does is incredibly unique, and what Charlaine [Harris] did was incredibly cool because she created this world. And then he takes that world and he changes it.”

It’s still the same basic world.

Denis O’Hare: “Same basic world, yeah.”

It’s almost an alternate universe, in some cases.

Denis O’Hare: “Yeah. But in the books, I’m like 22 and have brown eyes. I’m not 22 and I have green eyes, so…”

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

23 Responses to “The King of Mississippi speaks! (Remember him?)”


  1. 1 Stef
    January 28, 2010 at 11:40 am

    HAHA…I love the whole statement “same BASIC world. He takes that world and changes it.”–Oh, he changes it alright…into a clusterfuck.

  2. 2 nskars
    January 28, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Russell’s charming? Uhhhhhh…

  3. 3 stephernutter
    January 28, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Well this doesn’t make me too confident about season 3. So much for Alan Ball staying really close to the books in the beginning episodes. UGH!
    Although I did always get the impression that Russell was charming. Ruthless, but charming on the surface.

    (Also, I’ve been reading for a few weeks but this is my first time posting. I love your blog!)

  4. 4 Kealeagh
    January 28, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    I liked Russell in the books. Actually, he made me feel better about it.

    Oh and I liked the interviewer “It’s like an alternate universe.”

  5. 5 walgigi
    January 28, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    “[What? I thought he was one third of a “triumvirate of evil”. Don’t tell me Alan has been making shit up again.]”

    Don’t you remember AB interview describing him as “much more formidable than the queen because he was more mature, centered and wiser??? Of course… that, because as the big misogynist he is, AB has changed her into a crazy bitch mix of Lindsey Lohan and Paris Hilton…

    “And so I had this great scene recently with Vampire BEEL [played by Stephen Moyer] and it was a scene between two people talking about the people that they love, and what you do with that love.” AAAAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAA (OMG!!! I swear I´m having a fit of hysterics reading RE will be talking with Saint Beeelll about the people they LOOOOOVE instead of being torturing him!!! OMG! OMG! OMG! Please…….I need some xanax to stand this!!

    BOTTOM LINE:

    “I read a couple of the books, just to kind of get background. You know what? THEY’RE A DIFFERENT THING. I think what Alan [Ball] does is incredibly UNIQUE, and what Charlaine [Harris] did was incredibly COOL because she created this world. AND THEN HE TAKES THAT WORLD AND HE CHANGES IT.”

    (BTW, just don’t miss to notice his opinion of the difference between AB’ and CH’ work…)

    …PLEASE, give me another xanax…*ROLL EYES*

    • 6 vibrant1thing
      January 28, 2010 at 6:04 pm

      Yes, I’m becoming increasingly annoyed with most cast members not reading the books & not giving Charlaine Harris her creative due (i.e., when asked have you read the books & some haven’t got past book 1 *cough* Rutina Wesley)

      I come from a theater background and whenever I got a role I wanted as much source material I had possible to live, breathe, and be that character. It seems most of the cast is complacent with being spoon fed AB’s version/alternate universe & that irks me. Fine make changes but give credit where credit is due! CH has too much invested into her 9, almost 10 books to be shafted in such a way.

  6. 7 VikingLover
    January 29, 2010 at 3:18 am

    After I watched the roof scene in Season 2 and the dream sequences with Sookie, I felt really hopeful that AB had something up his sleeves when it came to Eric. I thought that perhaps he was screwing with all of us and he was going to eventually turn the tables and Eric would be redeemed – and elevated to his proper place. Then I read an article like this and hope begins to dwindle. Bill is just too damned perfect in AB’s world.

    So in TB Russell has been in a relationship with another vampire for 700 years. I guess this means he won’t be marrying the King of Indiana.

    • January 29, 2010 at 3:39 am

      The other “vampire” is Talbot – who was human in the books but he’s going to be a vampire on the show.

      I can handle minor characters who aren’t important to the big picture stories being messed with. I really don’t care what they do with Russell, since he really turned out to be a bit player, mostly. I care even less about whether Talbot is human or vampire or whatever else. I don’t want True Blood to be the books verbatim.

      But when major characters are being relegated to bit players? Or major characters are having their whole essence fucked with? That changes everything – especially their role in the story, and most of all where their character can eventually end up.

      Honestly I’m getting to be like a broken record on this but ….I don’t care what they do to the plot as long as we end up at the same place in the end. I really don’t, bring it. Change it up, that’s cool. I DO care that they have fucked with Sookie, Bill and Eric to the point where I don’t even know who they are any more.

      You don’t do this to established book characters. You just DON’T.

      (Hmmm..I think I’m feeling a bit ranty rant today. Sorry LOL)

      • 9 VikingLover
        January 29, 2010 at 4:13 am

        LOL Nah, not ranty at all. 🙂 You’re right to feel the way you do. He has changed the essence of the characters to the point that they are becoming unrecognizable. I’m not sure what the motivation or inspiration was for that. He didn’t have to do that (change their essence so drastically) in order to come up with a unique “take” on the story that would surprise both the book readers and the non-book readers.

        Clearly he didn’t get the idea that Bill was a “tragic hero” from the books because that just isn’t the essence of Bill (I read somewhere that AB described Bill as a “tragic hero”). That just isn’t Bill (other than possibly Book 9). AB must see this reality as well since Bill’s deeds and actions in the books were not enough to stand on their own – AB had to steal/borrow certain aspects of Eric and transfer them onto Bill to make it work. On a side note, how anyone could read the books and still see Bill as a hero is beyond me (and I truly mean this objectively w/o bias). I guess AB read the books and fell in-love with Bill. It boggles my mind but look how many rabid Bill fans there are out there – even with everything that has occurred in the books. Again, I mean this objectively. Even if Eric weren’t in the picture, how anyone can love Bill is beyond me.

        In regards to Russell, it bothers me that he changed the detail about Talbot. I see the change as having somewhat of a domino effect. No marriage to Indiana, no knife. No knife, no scene with Eric saving Sookie from Andre/Sophie Ann/some royal minion. This to me means one more possibility of a selfless sacrifice by Eric to save Sookie has been taken away. I don’t know – I guess there are other ways to show this without using that storyline but it makes me nervous. Already we are shown that Bill left against his will which makes me wonder what that means for Eric and Sookie in Season 4 (Book 4).

        • 10 Jess
          January 29, 2010 at 11:56 am

          The queen and Hadley have been introduced earlier in True Blood. From the couple of scenes with them I got the impression TB would go ahead with the “Bill was sent by the Queen to recrute/seduce Sookie” storyline. Maybe this will come out as early as season 3, to replace Bill’s betrayal with Lorena. Which would mean Sookie could be single at the end of season 3, and season 4 could go along as in Book 4. This is what I am hoping for anyway.
          As for Talbot, he could just be killed off, and the mariage to Indiana could still go ahead …

          • 11 Holby
            February 2, 2010 at 6:40 pm

            I guess I am thinking that just because Russell has been connected to Talbot for 700 years doesn’t mean he couldn’t have a marriage of alliance with Indiana, since the ceremony only states that he cannot marry another Vamp for 100 years. Are he and Talbot married? Has their nuptual contract expired? Talbot is supposed to be ruthless, too…perhaps more along the lines of the Andre character in the books (because he is damn scary)…shoot, maybe Sophie Anne marries Russell in TB, since they seem to be building up the idea that Russell is more sophisticated and maneuvering than SA. Then Talbot could take the place of Jade (you know AB would love to replace that tough chick with a dude, anyway).
            Is there interview evidence that AB read the whole series, BTW? He may have just read DUD and decided on the series.

            I am somewhat hopeful, though. ASkars got a huge raise and an extension on his contract…in spite of ABs disregard for the readers, the viewers have responded to Eric and I think he MUST acknowledge that.

      • 12 walgigi
        January 29, 2010 at 6:54 am

        “Hmmm..I think I’m feeling a bit ranty rant today. Sorry LOL”

        Oh dear LOL, you don’t have any idea HOW ranty rant I am feeling after last HBO/TB website post and after I read this hahhaa. OMG… I swear to you I’ve written (there and here) more than 5 comments, which I then deleted, only in order not to adversely affect the mood of people who want to enjoy the show and to keep my own sanity LOL. And I´m laughing not because it’s funny, but because I NEED to keep it “light” in order to mantain my control. Because I’m dying to say VERY serious things that people need to know about that man motives and objectives beyond the show, and I swear to you I’m controlling myself… I am… And it isn’t easy at all.

        “In regards to Russell, it bothers me that he changed the detail about Talbot. I see the change as having somewhat of a domino effect. No marriage to Indiana, no knife. No knife, no scene with Eric saving Sookie from Andre/Sophie Ann/some royal minion. This to me means one more possibility of a selfless sacrifice by Eric to save Sookie has been taken away.”

        I’m not sure if I should say I’m glad you’re understanding his way of keeping Eric out of Sookie’s life and from the main story line of his show… because that’s indeed the sad reality.

  7. 13 Pogonip
    January 29, 2010 at 8:33 am

    So, to be a success in television, you take a series of books written by one author, extract the location, some characters, some basic premises, dole those out to teams of script writers, brainstorm with them, and tell them to run with off-the-wall ideas. This gets you a couple of nominations for awards, and maybe even an award here and there, and more importantly, gets you a renewed contract for more of the same.

    No wonder so many of our television programs are bought from other countries and run on national networks.

  8. 15 Kealeagh
    January 29, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    I really do like Stephen Moyer and it upsets me that Alan is abusing the character like this because it’s kinda making me hate him. Maybe he thought Vampire Bill from the books would be awful on screen and people would cry abuse and he’d get criticized – I don’t know, but he could have switched that around come second season, instad he made Sookie and Bill insufferable. Was it because the two of them were dating? Was it because his ego took charge?

    I honestly thought season 2 storyline in Dallas was better than the one in the book (except the Lorena thing, that had my blood boil), but the Maenad felt like it was just something for the other characters who couldn’t pile all into a bus to Dallas. Which worries me about season 3, because all of them will be separated and frankly, I’ve seen shows where that just doesn’t work. Sookie, Eric, Alcide, Bill are in Mississippi. Sam is in Arkansas. Tara, Lafayette, Jason, the rest of the Bon Temps residents are in, well, Bon Temps. It’s just going to be too rushed because they’ll be trying to fit everyone’s story into an episode. What worries me even more is Alan saying that Bill would be out of captivity by episode 6 – what the fuck is going to happen for the remaining 6 episodes?

    Book 3 was my favourite book. It worked better than any of the others in the series. And I’m really pissed off that Alan is going to fuck it up. Even worse, is after this clusterfuck of a season that will soon be, there’s going to be season 4 which I absolutely do not want to see. I maybe the only Eric fan who wasn’t that taken with Dead to the World and I honestly don’t see the television audience sitting back and being able to take Eric with amnesia. I really don’t, and that worries me, especially since it will be drenched with Alan Ball’s creative “ideas”.

    I didn’t mean for this to turn into a rant. Ah, well.

    • January 29, 2010 at 1:10 pm

      Curious Kealeagh – and totally off topic lol – what didn’t you like about DTTW?

      • 17 Kealeagh
        January 29, 2010 at 9:03 pm

        Honestly, I didn’t like Eric being vulnerable. I had become so used to the confident Eric that I still can’t wrap my head around Amnesia Eric. I like a mixture of him and Sheriff Eric. I mean, that whole book was better than any Bill/Sookie, Quinn/Sookie scene, but it didn’t have any of my favourite Eric moments. I loved Club Dead the best.

        • 18 VampirePamsGirl
          January 30, 2010 at 1:55 am

          I can really understand what you are saying here, Kealeagh. While I did absolutely love DTTW, I have to admit that there were a few times during it when I just kinda cringed. I mean, I loved the softer side of Eric, but those times when he seemed like, I’m not sure what the right word is here, maybe child-like or dependent, just didn’t sit right with me. I know that those are effects of the amnesia and all, but it just seemed wrong Eric not being in charge. However, other than those few moments, I really loved the rest of it. But I do see where you’re coming from.

          And some of my favorite Eric moments definitely came from Club Dead as well. *sighs* It’s too bad we’ll probably never get to see them come to life on screen. *curse you, AB!* Do you think we could take up enough of a collection to pay ASkars to act out all our favorite scenes for us? Lol. Of course though, then we’d have to figure out who would get to play the role of Sookie and that might cause a bit of mayhem, lol.

          • 19 nskars
            January 31, 2010 at 12:27 am

            Hey VPG reading your and Kealeagh’s opinions on this matter leads me to admit that I do agree. DTTW was awesome for sexy times and for witnessing E/S together without Sookie’s armour ruining the moment. But Amnesia Eric’s innocence in some scenes was a little hard to take.

            Give me cocky, confident, cheeky Eric any day.

          • 20 Stef
            February 2, 2010 at 10:48 am

            I believe WE SHOULD take up a colletion for ASkars to act out our fave scenes:) That would be amazing! I bet if we all gave an extremely generous amount to his charities, maybe he would–(anyone got a million dollars?) LOL

    • 21 walgigi
      January 29, 2010 at 4:40 pm

      “I honestly don’t see the television audience sitting back and being able to take Eric with amnesia. I really don’t, and that worries me, especially since it will be drenched with Alan Ball’s creative “ideas”.”

      That is indeed my worst nightmare with TB and what I truly fear most… the thought about what AB’s creativity could make of Eric with amnesia.

      (…and never wanted to say it before because I did’t wanted to affect more our already so battered mood…) *sigh*

  9. 22 Pogonip
    January 29, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    After much thought (and sleeping on it), I have decided what I want AB to do with TB. I’ll concede he has the right to change characters and plotlines to make his series, but I want him to change the names of any characters that he decides to change. For example, if he wants to change Russell Edgington, which he clearly has decided to do, I would like him to change Russ’s name. Maybe Roger Edgington? The same for all the other characters that he has rewritten. That would satisfy me. Thanks in advance.

  10. 23 VikingLover
    January 30, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    I must be having a good day today because I am feeling very optimistic. Or it could just be the drugs the dr gave me for my chest congestion. 🙂 In any case, today I’m back to feeling that AB has something up his sleeve when it comes to Eric and Sookie. I was thinking about the scene in TB in which Godric asks Isabel if she loves Hugo. After he asks that question, the camera moves to Sookie, she looks over at Bill, then we see a shot of BOTH Bill AND Eric. It’s interesting because BOTH Eric and Bill are in that shot and in focus. I didn’t get the impression that it was just because Eric happened to be standing next to Bill. Eric was not in the foreground or out of focus. They are shown side by side, clear and in focus and when you look at that scene, your eye moves directly from Bill to Eric. I know that Eric and Bill had just had a discussion about Sookie and that’s why they were together but I think that shot was very intentional. They could have just had a close up of Bill looking back at Sookie or they could have placed Bill right in the center of that shot with Eric off to the side. Instead they are both centered in the shot. This is before Sookie has had Eric’s blood – before the bombing. I thought that was interesting.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,389 hits since October 2009

