30
Jan
10

Ask Alan Ball…go on, you know you want to

Charlaine Harris has just posted the following message on her website.

As part of the huge project The Sookie Companion has become, we’re offering a two-week time period in which you can send your questions to producer/director/writer Alan Ball, who will answer them in the Companion. My assistant, Paula, will collect all your questions and send them to the editor at TeknoBooks who’s responsible for coordinating all the elements going into the Companion, which we hope will be out next year. Paula and the editor will weed out redundant questions. Of course, these questions should focus on the TV series “True Blood,” and they should be sent to: askalanb@yahoo.com. This address is ONLY for this special project.

Charlaine Harris

Probably best to keep the questions relevant, brief, emotionally neutral…and aimed squarely at his nuts.

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

71 Responses to “Ask Alan Ball…go on, you know you want to”


  1. 1 Kealeagh
    January 30, 2010 at 3:40 am

    “…and aimed squarely at his nuts.”

    LMFAO. Brilliant.

  2. 2 Belle
    January 30, 2010 at 4:23 am

    you go girl…. lol!

  3. 3 Belle
    January 30, 2010 at 4:39 am

    P.S What will be your question???

  4. January 30, 2010 at 4:52 am

    I’ll probably end up with a lengthy list which will then require some serious culling lol.

  5. 6 Belle
    January 30, 2010 at 5:17 am

    I agree… Post a list !! LOL

  6. 7 Maria
    January 30, 2010 at 5:25 am

    I would like to know why they took attributes of Eric’s character and gave them to Bill? Like the killing of Longshadow; that was an important moment in the books. AB says he did it to introduce Jessica. I just don’t think she’s that important to change a crucial aspect from the books like that.

    • 8 Tribalbellydonsah
      January 31, 2010 at 12:05 am

      Exactly!!!!!! im glad you brought that up! i think she could have jsut as easily been introduced as Eric’s child! grrrr! this drives me nuts! int he books it showed us that Eric had feelings early on.

      • 9 Maria
        January 31, 2010 at 12:33 am

        I know, it drives me crazy as well! In TB, Eric is just standing there watching as Longshadow is about to kill Sookie. I hate that scene and how it changes the E/S relationship that is established early on the books.

  7. 10 walgigi
    January 30, 2010 at 6:18 am

    [Probably best to keep the questions relevant, brief, emotionally neutral…and aimed squarely at his nuts.]

    You can be sure mine would be relevant and aimed squarely at his nuts… but brief and emotionally neutral… meh!

    God! I hate that man…

    • January 30, 2010 at 6:23 am

      Gigi one of my secret fantasies is to see you let loose on AB for 30 seconds.

      He would never be the same.
      😛

      • 12 walgigi
        January 30, 2010 at 7:16 am

        HAHAHAHAA I’ll need to borrow your straitjacket to do it!!! :p hahahah

      • 13 nskars
        January 30, 2010 at 8:38 am

        Oh I would pay to see that. 😀

      • 14 VampirePamsGirl
        January 31, 2010 at 3:33 am

        Me too! Me too! That was the first thing that I thought of when I read this on CH’s website: I can’t wait to see what Gigi has to say about that!

        The only thing that really sucks though is that you know most of our questions will probably get skipped over, even if we ask in a nice way. I wish they would post all the questions somewhere, so we would know what ones he answered and what ones he didn’t.

        • 15 Holby
          February 1, 2010 at 2:56 pm

          Gigi vs. AB…sooooo not a fair fight. He would def need backup!!!
          Could we do a pay-per-view? You know the “5%” of the TB audience that is made up of lousy bookreaders would sign up!

  8. 16 Dan
    January 30, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Is it true that you use one book per season as inspiration for writing the series?   Then later after that has been answered:  Do you agree or disagree that the slowly developing Romance between Sookie and Eric is a cornerstone, if not the primary plotline, in the Southern Vampire Mysteries?    He will dodge this.  But if he still claims to follow  “the spirit of the books,” then season #4 in 2011 does not give as much room for flexibility as season 1 to 3 

  9. 17 lkc
    January 30, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Great questions Dan, but you have to let him know it’s a male asking that question, otherwise he’ll just think it’s more rabid Eric female fans who only want to see them have sex and will be appeased by naked AS!

  10. 18 Dan
    January 31, 2010 at 1:37 am

    I preceded it with, BTW I am straight and care much more about the story than nudity. Hope that does not offend because I am not homophobic, either.

  11. 19 VampirePamsGirl
    January 31, 2010 at 7:52 am

    Okay, folks, I just sent my email off asking my question to Alan Ball, but since I figure it will never get addressed there, I’m also going to post it here for you guys. Mainly because I would love to know what questions you all are gonna ask (if you do ask anything) and I’m hoping this will be reciprocated, lol. I’m also looking for you to post your list, SVB! I pretty much had to do that myself to narrow down what I wanted to ask in a concise, emotionally neutral manner. I did keep it as brief as I could, but as you all know by now brief isn’t my strong point. 😉 This is an exact copy of the words in my email: —-

    Dear Alan Ball,

    In the show, it consistently seems as if you are trying to villanize Eric and sanctify Bill, even referring to Eric as the “bad boy” more than once in interviews. This certainly does NOT stay true to the “spirit of the books” as Eric is absolutely not a villain or even a ‘bad boy’ in the books, and likewise Bill is definitely not a saint, nor is he even a ‘good guy’ half the time. Is there a reason that you try to portray these characters in this manner, and if so what is it? Thank you.

    Sincerely,
    Lisa, aka VampirePamsGirl

    —-

    I thought I did okay considering the several others I wanted to post such as:

    In almost every interview I read from you or a True Blood writer, why does it seem that you all hold a very disparaging view of Eric and his fans?

    Why is it that for every slightly good moment we get with Eric, there follows an equally disgusting moment with Saint Beeeelll and spineless Suuukeh?

    Why is that that Bill gets to play the hero again and again? I know it’s not the books, I appreciate that it’s not the books, but staying true to the spirit of the books, you cannot completely skip over the rough patches for Bill and Sookie and the beginnings of Eric and Sookie’s friendship. I think their friendship is one of the things that makes their later relationship so strong. Why do we not get any of that witty, humourous relationship that we love?

    How the hell can you say (over and over) that you are staying true to the spirit of the books when it’s clear that you are not? In fan fiction (which is what you write, btw) there is canon and there is AU (alternate universe), you clearly aren’t doing canon writing!

    You’ve said that you cannot understand the appeal of Eric. It quite frankly scares the hell out of me that you are in charge of this show; you’ve read these books; and you don’t get the appeal of Eric. (Okay, this one isn’t really a question, but I’m venting here. Lol)

  12. 20 KC
    January 31, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    I mourn the sacrifice of the maenad apology. Could we have a moment of silence please? TB’s take on the maenad was bizarre and much too long to the point of complete boredom. If we hadn’t had Dallas and Jason’s hijinks, this season, I’d have quit watching altogether.

    • January 31, 2010 at 11:23 pm

      I really thought they would have got the message with the almost universal dissing of the maenad storyline.

      I have to reserve judgement until we start seeing some S3 episodes, but looking at casting calls I am not hopeful they did.

  13. 22 lkc
    January 31, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    KC I totally agree with you. After the lack of the maenard apology I knew I was in for a disappointing season. I no longer think ANY of the great Eric scenes will be portrayed and if they are not to my satisfaction. Bullet sucking anyone!

    I sent a question basically asking why are there no strong, positive female role models on TB. i gave examples of Sookie to dependant on a man/vamp to save her, Tara as totally dysfunctional, Maxine H. and Sarah Newlin -crazy, even the Queen and Maryann delusional,weak and yes, again, crazy! I then went on to say that as a 50 y/o female with 2 college degrees I would rejoice in seeing a positive female character and that I think I could handle it!

    • January 31, 2010 at 11:21 pm

      That’s a great question lkc, and one that would definitely be on my list.

      The bullet sucking scene…sigh. Everything about that scene that showed the beginnings of their attraction…gone. No first kiss, no Sookie keeping the bullet, no “little bulletsucker” conversation afterwards. All we were left with was Eric being a manipulative sneak and Sookie simpering all over Bill. Again.

      I cannot begin to tell you how much I hate what he did to that scene.

      • 24 Kealeagh
        February 1, 2010 at 12:04 am

        ASkars tried to save that scene. I give him credit, but I, too, am disappointed with how that played out.

        • February 1, 2010 at 5:23 am

          He did. The whole melodramatic “I’m dying” act and the big grin while she was sucking away…that was sooo book Eric, just perfect.

          At least Skars gets Eric…even if no one actually writing that show does….

          • 26 Holby
            February 1, 2010 at 3:02 pm

            Even the humorous, “You’re right, Bill, I think I can sense what she is feeling.” Good bookEric.
            Ruined for me because Bill checked on Sookie BEFORE chasing FoTS…and then “showed mercy.” Not the real Bill!

            • 27 walgigi
              February 1, 2010 at 5:09 pm

              HAHAHAAHA That way of Eric mocking at Bill was so funny, especially after all the melodrama they used with the echo/stereo sound effect when Bill said: “You’re connected, he’ll be able to sense your emotions”… hahahaha

    • 28 walgigi
      February 1, 2010 at 11:49 am

      “Hello Misogyny!” (I have to thank morrisa for using this expresion on a last week post and for calling it by its truly name.)

      lkc, that’s the best question anyone could ask him, because it summarizes all the issues with TB. But also because I’m completely sure no one, least he, will answer it, I’m going to do it. I swear I had tried to be diplomatic, be shallow and avoid to talk about this because actually it´s kind of difficult for some people to face this kind of theme, especially when a tv show should be something entertaining. But television is indeed a very powerful media, and I can´t avoid anymore the urge to say this because as a woman I´m actually angry, but most of all very, VERY worried with the message behind the pattern Allan Ball is showing in all his works, especially in TB. There are a lot of normal and well adjusted gay man that are gay by preference and not because they have issues with the female figure. But that’s not Allan Ball’s case.

      The tormented, lost man struggling to find his path as a fixed masculine figure through all his work is very revealing of his gay preference. But in True Blood he doesn’t even care to make equal a gay and a lesbian, because a lesbian still has a female image and he’s not even using CH’s books to promotes the homosexual agenda. He is using them to promotes HIS personal agenda, his own personal crusade against the female image. Because the truth is that Allan Ball is a gay misogynist who shows to have a very deeply need to degrade the female image on ALL his works with the purpose to feel fine with himself, to achieve satisfaction. And with True Blood he is achieving a new higher level: to frustrate and punish the thousands of women (that he knew) had been reading the Sookie Stackhouse series for years because they love the character of Eric. Yes, that’s why he chose Bill (not Sookie) to be the protagonist adjusting him in his “fixed male model”. And yes, he is enjoying it. Does this sounds twisted and wicked to you? Well, IT IS… because HE IS. The fact that this is a consistent pattern through all his works confirms it. And if anyone has any doubt about what I’m saying here, please, just watch carefully all his previous works and navigate a little more through the net to read all the complaints that thousands of frustrated women make every day about his TB… just in case all the frustration in our own comments and complaints here isn’t enough proof of it. But punishing us isn’t the worst. The same CH wrote on her blog once:

      [My protagonists all have something about them to admire, or at least I think so. Aurora Teagarden is thoughtful, kind, and dutiful. Lily Bard is ferociously loyal (and ferocious). Sookie Stackhouse is hard-working, optimistic, and determinedly cheerful. Harper Connelly has a clear view of her life and has succeeded in that life despite overwhelming odds.
      On the Femmes Fatales website, my colleague and fellow Femme Mary Saums has written about the love we give the characters we admire. I think that’s very true. We use them up as examples of what is good; we may even wonder what they would have done with faced with our own problems. Fictional characters are by definition limited to the pages of the book in which they figure, but we extend their lives by holding them in our hearts. That’s all a writer can ask for.]

      I’m not going to waste my time and my energy asking Allan Ball where is this CH’s Sookie Stackhouse in his TB, because I actually know he flushed her down the toilet before the pilot episode, along with all the empowered and strong female characters of the story (btw… don’t have any hope to watch the wonderful Claudine, because he’ll probably presents her as another bitch, or will keep her out of the story and choose Claude instead of her just because he is gay. Remember… men are fuck up, women are bitches, and only gays are cool). Anyway, again with the worst… The worst of all is the message his “Sukeeh” is giving to all the young females around the world. Because with the absence of good female models to admire in his show, the message he wants them to learn with his mediocre version of Sookie is not to grow and empower themselves as women because what they only need is a man to resolve their problems, and that a dysfunctional codependant abusive relationship is what they should accept as true love.

      CH also said in her blog that she hoped that TB were successful because it will help her to add some figures to her selling lists… So, if I were to ask a question, I would choose better make it to Charlaine Harris. I would ask her if it was worth selling her convictions along with the rights over the SVM to Alan Ball to add some “figures” to her selling lists. Of course I’m not going to waste my time asking her either because she isn’t going to answer me. But WE ALL KNOW that, even when she doesn’t say it outloud, she also must be asking herself the same question after seeing how AB has destroyed her convictions along with her story.

      • 29 lkc
        February 1, 2010 at 5:02 pm

        Walgigi thanks for the great reply. I am so enjoying this blog as well as Blood bonds and the Sookiestackhouse series forum because there are so many INTELLIGENT posters, most of whom are women, who truly discus this wonderful series. You and Aaine, and several others, are great writers who post what I am feeling but am unable to convey with the written word.

        Other than TB I have only seen American Beauty of all AB’s work and truly have no desire to see anything else. I am not sure how much I will be able to watch season 3 if he continues along his current path.

        It truly saddens and frustrates me to see so many women romanticize Bill. Not just on CH’s site but throughout the web so many women excuse his behavior or find it sexy( I am not even talking about the trunk incident). On CH’s forum alone the current group of BL’s have totally justified his behavior and taken ALL blame away from Bill on the Club Dead thread all in the name of , he was protecting Sookie, he loves her, blah, blah, blah! What kind of message are these women and AB sending? Having worked in an Alcohol and Detox center in the past the numbers of women who have been sexually molested as children and who continue in this pattern into adulthood is astounding. This is why to me seeing a positive, strong( not bitchy), feisty( not Jerry Springer material) female role model would be so welcome!

        • 30 Kealeagh
          February 1, 2010 at 5:42 pm

          I actually went onto a BL of site the other day to see what they used as justifiable response to him being best for Sookie on the show and in the books and whenever the show was brought up and someone would mention what he did in the boosk they’d be like, “OMG the show is NOT the books, and for that I am glad! We have faith in Alan Ball!…P.S: Sookie is a skank.” REALLY? Honestly, that was all I could find. They talked about how Eric was just plain evil, Bill was misunderstood and Sookie was a slut and she could just go to hell, oh and the books suck.

          I was getting so angry, that I had to leave that sight. It was driving me up the wall because it made no sense, whatsoever. Another one is, “We have read the books and no matter what you say we still have our love for Bill. You can’t change our minds, we’ve heard it all, Bill is gentlemanly, kind and protective and if Sookie can’t see it, that that’s her loss.”

          Blows.My.Mind.

          • February 1, 2010 at 11:50 pm

            I was going to mention this in another discussion we had the other day and I forgot. I don’t want this to turn into a Bill bashing, but I seriously have to get this out.

            WHAT is with all the Sookie hate?

            Kealeagh I have visited a similar site (sounds like it may have been the same one) and I was so shocked at how alot of them are really, really down on Sookie, and Charlaine as well. I don’t know if they can’t see what CH is doing with Bill, and where he fits in for Sookie – or if they actually do see, and they just don’t want to accept it. Bill is the practice boyfriend. He will never be a romantic interest again. That is as clear as day to me.

            And they hate Charlaine for making him this, and they hate Sookie for relegating him to that place in her life. They don’t care about what Sookie needed to learn from her experience with Bill or how that has helped her grow. They don’t see or care how far she’s come in being able to forgive him and find a place in her life for him. The whole message of the Bill/Sookie relationship is completely and utterly lost on them. Gone completely over their heads. It’s truly bizarre.

            Oh and you know the other thing that made me giggle – the number of them who say they’ve “read the books and they still love Bill” – and you keep reading posts and it turns out that very, very few of them have actually read the whole series. Many stopped after Club Dead, and then there’s another big group who drop out after Definitely Dead when The Big Bill Reveal occurs. No wonder so many have it in for Sookie and CH – they haven’t even given themselves a chance to really “get” where Harris is going with Bill, or the B/S relationship.

          • 32 Ashley
            February 10, 2010 at 5:29 am

            I cant imagine why anyone would defend book Bill, honestly i cant….Im not even talking about in comparison to Eric, Im just talking about in general….”gentlemanly, kind, protective….” make me puke!…..in the books, and the show actually, hes totally over posessive and controlling…if thats what they mean by a gentleman, a man that is super posessive and overprotective, then yeah i guess bill is a gentleman…and all the woods stalking he does in the books, i found that annoying and creepy, not protective…not to mention how hes always jealous and asking about Sookies love life, yet they were broken up and has no right to be posessive…If you like are a woman that likes to be rescued by a man and gets turned on be jealousy, lying, and over posessiveness, i see how you could prefer Bill to the other characters!!!…lol

          • 33 Cara_Dawn
            February 11, 2010 at 7:52 pm

            IMO anyone that’s a Bill fan is of the old-fashioned view that women should only have one lover in their lifetime, and after that they should just start popping out babies. Anyone else is a slut (hence the Sookie trash-talk). It’s a deep-rooted almost caveman opinion, but it’s possible to think that way without knowing WHY they thing that way. And if they find Sookie’s character annoying (and let’s face it, she can be – she is a twleve-year-old when it comes to relationships, stalks around getting huffy and angry for no reason), that’s because CH wrote a character that is flawed, imperfect, and … human?

        • February 1, 2010 at 11:33 pm

          I didn’t realise you were the same lkc from the SS forum! I am so dense when it comes to these things lol.

          I can’t read that CD thread. I know what I’d see there and I don’t think I could take it in silence. It makes me mad, but it makes me really sad too. Some of these women are otherwise intelligent and worldly yet their views of what a healthy relationship looks like are so skewed.

          You know what gets me the most? The fact that they think it’s so noble and romantic that Bill would die for Sookie. The way that they think this makes him a better choice of partner, and that it shows Bill loves her more than Eric.

          It’s so weird. It just reeks to me of 15 year old romanticism – and when women grow up they usually outgrow that sort of idealistic thinking. What good is a man who is dead FFS? Bill is damn lucky he’s not dead – he’s done some utterly STUPID things in the name of getting a one-up on Eric (hello takeover and his verbal diarrhoea in front of Victor) and by all rights he should be. What good is Bill to Sookie, or to anyone if he’s dead? So he dies and leaves her alone to mourn the loss of her tragic hero? Fuck that. I want the man who is willing to fight, who is willing to take risks he wouldn’t normally take to be with me, the man who wants to live for me. The man whose actions say he loves me enough to make sure he sticks around.

          There’s no doubt in my mind that if push came to shove, at this point in the story Eric would die for Sookie. His actions have shown that time and time again, even if he doesn’t say it. He doesn’t have to. Somehow what Eric actually does counts for nought with certain sectors of the readership, as soon as Bill opens his mouth with yet another proclamation of martyrdom.

          • 35 VampirePamsGirl
            February 2, 2010 at 5:03 am

            SVB, what you touched on in this post here really brought the mental image to my mind of those types of guys that say they’ll kill themselves if their partner leaves them.

            This might just be my own little pet peeve but to me when a guy or girl says stuff like this to their partner it just makes it seem like they are trying to emotionally manipulate that person into doing something they don’t want to do. I’ve known people like this and it just irks me every time I hear stuff like that.

            That’s what Bill makes me think of. I know he doesn’t exactly say that, but it’s just the image I get in my mind; the message that I get from him – emotionally manipulative.

            • 36 Holby
              February 2, 2010 at 6:19 pm

              As I read this thread I also thought of the fact that, while Eric constantly makes comments about wanting to get Sookie in to bed, it is said with a nod and a wink (though he means it, he will wait for her.) Whenever Bill talks to Sookie about “them” it is inevitably about the physical aspect of their relationship. He would give anything to lie with her again. Is that the pinnacle of a great relationship? One more roll in the hay? It just confirms Bill’s underdeveloped sense of what a relationship is, IMO.

  14. 37 Pogonip
    February 1, 2010 at 9:53 am

    OK, guys, this is what I sent in:

    I really liked the way you changed Calisto’s name in True Blood to Mary Ann. The character and the events were so radically different from the book that it made it much easier to accept it as a new story line, an addition to the plot. Have you considered doing the same to other characters whose parts differ so much from the texts? I think it would make it easier for those of us who come to True Blood from the novels as well as those who go from True Blood to the novels, if it were clearer when your scripts add or change characters and events.

  15. 41 VikingLover
    February 1, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    My question would be: Since more and more people have turned to the books for their TB “fix”, how will this effect the vision and direction of the show once 80% of the viewing audience is rooting for Eric? 🙂

  16. 44 Dan
    February 2, 2010 at 4:46 am

    This last post here made me think. After season #1 and before I started reading SVM I did not particularly care who Sookie’s love interest was. I had never rooted for any fictional character to “get the girl”. It would have been cool to be one Sookie’s suitors and since she can read my mind, it would all the more challenging, You want what you can’t have.

    Then during “Club Dead” I decided Bill was a fool and Sookie was demonstrating exactly why you don’t let her get away. Eric kept her alive in that book and she kept Bill alive. Then in Dead To the World, I saw Sookie experience romance like never before, yet she did not think she was good enough for it to be real. After that book, I don’t see how anyone would not be rooting for the Sookie/Eric relationship. That became the
    primary thread of the series. The next two books while Eric came to terms with his desire, she fills het life with distractions (Quinn). Then by the 8th book, if red blood runs through the veins, how could one NOT be immersed in hope for the Sookie/Eric thing. And I don’t do love stories. How could anyone who has read all #9 books not want the Happily Ever After to include the Viking.

    • 45 VampirePamsGirl
      February 2, 2010 at 5:17 am

      “How could anyone who has read all #9 books not want the Happily Ever After to include the Viking.”

      Seriously. I think that is quickly becoming one of my own personal unexplained mysteries of the world. I think I may even take a page out of Kealeagh’s book and head over to a BillLover site to see if I can make any sense of how their minds work, if I can stand it there long enough to try. 🙂

      It baffles me as to how you can get past the third book and not feel the way we all do. Like you, it was Club Dead that I first realized what a fool Bill was and started seriously rooting for Eric. Though I think the process began in Living Dead in Dallas when Bill ran off to chase FOTS members while Eric stayed to protect Sookie. I mean, yeah at that time he was doing it for selfish reasons, but he stayed while the man that was supposed to love and care for her ran off to chase the bad guys without even pausing to check if she was okay.

  17. 46 KC
    February 2, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    There are only two ways IMO Eric is *not* the HEA: Sookie (read “Charlaine”) chooses the sad, flawed example of southern chivalric love that is Bill, making the Sookie I’ve admired a silly, pathetic, little girl; or Charlaine writes Eric out, making him either a villain or self-sacrificing hero, and has to work her butt off to make Sam a romantic figure in 4 books or deny Sookie romance altogether.

    • 47 Kealeagh
      February 2, 2010 at 1:24 pm

      She’s said Eric won’t die so if she doesn’t want Eric to be the HEA I think he’ll either become king and they’ll break up (IF it goes that way, it could go another way) or there will be a huge act of betrayal.

      As for Sam, technically she only has 3 books since we know book 4 will be able Eric. But what I keep reminding myself is Sookie can read his thoughts, she won’t like that. I mean, they can be fuzzy, but if she becomes more attached you’d think she’d be more tuned into his thoughts after a while. Plus, Sam can’t handle Sookie’s involvement in vampire politics and I seriously think Sookie will never be able to get out of that one.

      • 48 Kealeagh
        February 2, 2010 at 1:24 pm

        I meant book 10 not book 4.

        • 49 Holby
          February 2, 2010 at 6:10 pm

          I will pose a question:

          Can Sookie REALLY read his mind more now than she could before? She is inexperienced with relationships with men prior to Bill. Is it possible that she is just developing what people who cannot read minds have (and what the therapist cited when she was a child): Maybe she is just learning to read body language and nuance. She never had to before, and she makes a lot of reference to this throughout the books with statements like, If I had needed to learn how to read people indirectly…etc. So she is using the fear of reading vampire minds as another barrier to a relationship with Eric since she seems to be actively seeking excuses.

          What do you guys think?

    • February 2, 2010 at 1:47 pm

      I agree KC – and I can’t see her going for the first option re Bill.

      I can’t see her killing Eric either.

      But if she’s going to go for making him a villain, she’s going to have to pull something pretty amazing out of her hat. I know I drone on about this, but Harris considers herself a mystery writer, and there is definitely subplot in these books for those who are willing to scratch the surface and look for it. I have chewed over the “beneath the surface” stuff for so long, on forums with others who get into this kind of thing…and I don’t see anything to indicate she’s going in that direction with him.

      It just doesn’t fit with her style. When you read the first five books, there are very big hints about the Bill Bomb. They are everywhere. She literally left a breadcrumb trail and once she made her big reveal, you could go back and piece it altogether. And if you were paying attention even on the first read, it was obvious there was something big coming with Bill.

      There are clues about Eric to piece together as well, but none of them lead me to think he’s not what he seems. Mostly they relate to his relationship with Niall and Felipe and how that fits into his relationship with Sookie…and none of those are malevolent, they just allow us to put together what is going on off the page.

      The only way I can see it not being Eric, is if she decides to make Sookie go it alone. After all of this build up, there’s no way she can have another suitor swoop in and make it believable.

      I can tell you one thing though, it will not be Bill. I’m happy to sign off on that right now 😉

      • 51 walgigi
        February 2, 2010 at 5:28 pm

        Sam has such a HUGE “boiled egg without salt in strawberry blond hair” personality that I can’t see the way CH could make him a HEA, not even in 4 books…. But I’m completely sure it will not be Bill, because she already thought of killing him in the fae war.

        I know CH still has some cards under her sleeve…

        [The only way I can see it not being Eric, is if she decides to make Sookie go it alone. After all of this build up, there’s no way she can have another suitor swoop in and make it believable.]

        mmm… At this point of the story this could be true. To introduce another NEW one could be unbelievable. Anyway, could any of you ever thought about the possibility of Eric breaking up with her? Even when I don’t want that to happen, if she’ll continue with her doubts, I think he could…

      • 52 Ashley
        February 10, 2010 at 5:39 am

        I agree it will never be Bill…

  18. 53 VikingLover
    February 2, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    You guys are killing me with all of this talk of breaking up! My heart literally hurts. lol Honestly, I would be extremely pissed off if they did not end up together and I would feel REALLY REALLY cheated. All of this build up and all of this time making me fall in-love with these characters only to have them not end up together?? NO! I cannot accept that! 🙂 Honestly, I can’t even be rational about it.

    I think that they might break up or take a break from each other during the next books in order for Sookie to get over this whole blood bond thing. I think there could be a possibility that Eric will walk away to give her space but more than likely it will be Sookie to walk away since this is a pattern with her. When the going gets rough, Sookie always seems to get going. Eric tried to make her see this during Book 3 on the drive back to Bon Temps. I think that Sookie might tell Eric to let the blood bond die – didn’t CH once say that a blood bond will fade over time if there ceases to be exchanges of blood and if there is distance placed between the two parties? If Amelia or Octavia can’t break the bond then Sookie might ask Eric to give her some time alone. Maybe then she’ll come into her own and then realize that she is truly in-love with Eric.

    Honestly, I don’t see why Sookie would have to end up alone. Why can’t she end up in a loving partnership, as an equal, and still show that she has maintained her independence and growth as a person? Would CH really have to leave her alone in order to accomplish that? Do you guys think this is CH’s intention all along?

    Someone make me feel better please. Sookieverse! Work your magic darn it! 🙂

  19. 54 KC
    February 3, 2010 at 2:12 am

    All of this build up and all of this time making me fall in-love with these characters only to have them not end up together.

    I feel your pain, VikingLover. Why should Soookie end up with a result that is entirely too much like REAL life? Sookie deserves better;)

  20. 55 Mia
    February 3, 2010 at 8:05 am

    If I was going to ask questions of Alan Ball (leaving the books out of this), I’d ask:

    Why does Sookie’s telepathy only seem to work when it is convenient to the plot? She never “read” Amy in season 1, and this woman was involved with her brother, but she quickly scans Hugo in the hotel room to determine his love for Isabel is real? If it’s my brother, I’m scanning. I’d know they had a vampire hostage in Jason’s basement. Sookie can’t “hear” Luke or Lettie Mae? Really? Does Bill have to be present to tell Sookie to “use her powers” in order for her to do what should come naturally?

    Why do you feel it is necessary to give Sookie “super powers” when the telepathy cannot be demonstrated effectively?

    Why are the women characters written the way they are? Sookie, in particular, ignoring the books entirely, is written so inconsistently. Is she bipolar? Is she just stupid? After hearing Bill’s punishment for killing Longshadow, she proceeds to slap Eric and physically confront Lorena (the Jerry Spring moment of TB). First beating on a vampire is a sure fire way to get yourself killed or maimed. Second if she’s expecting Bill to save her, he’s either A) going to get himself killed or B) going to kill another vampire resulting in another trial and punishment for Bill, and who knows what the penalty for a second offence would be? Then there’s Sookie’s swearing, pseudo swearing, and the I can’t remember that I swear but now I’m going to swear moments. Is this intentional? Another Yahtze moment?

    Why can’t you give Tara a decent storyline? I like this actress. I liked S1 Tara better then S2 Tara. Where is book reading, sassy, intelligent, pragmatic, loyal yet vunerable Tara? Leave out the S1 screaming, and this is a good character. Add in some time with Lafayette too (great chemistry as family and their relationship is both funny and touching.)

    Why waste the excellent Michelle Forbes in the insane Maenad storyline? She would have made a great Hallow the witch in season 4.

    And Sophie Ann…WTH were you thinking?

  21. 57 VampirePamsGirl
    June 20, 2010 at 2:38 am

    Don’t know if this will get lost in the thread or not, but I was just wondering if anyone else had heard back about whether their question will be used in the book or not?

    I just received an email today that said my question will be used in the book and requesting my mailing address so they could mail the contract thing I will have to sign! Squee!

    Don’t know if it will pan out or not, but if so … cool!

    It’s funny though cause I don’t think I would ask that same question now. I think this whole thing here occurred at a bad time because I was still pretty pissed off from the horrible final few episodes of Season 2 when I submitted this question. That could possibly be obvious from the posts I did here, lol.

    Anyhoo, I just had to share the news with someone and I was curious to see if anybody else from here had been contacted.

    Also it’s a little bit off-topic but I wonder if anyone is going to submit a question for Charlaine now for the book. I’ve been thinking, but I really can’t think of anything other than stuff she won’t answer (like “Is Eric the HEA and if not HOW COULD YOU!?) or stuff that’s not really a question (like “Thank you soo much for creating Eric Northman), lol.

    • 58 VikingLover
      June 20, 2010 at 3:02 am

      WOW!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!! That’s freaking awesome and I cannot wait to read his response!! Also, I’m really curious since you said that you wouldn’t ask the same question now: if you could choose another question, what would you ask now?

      • 59 VampirePamsGirl
        June 20, 2010 at 3:44 am

        Thanks VL!!!! I’m not sure exactly what I would ask now or if I would have even submitted a question if the whole thing hadn’t taken place at a time period where I was mad, lol. Being mad seems to spur me into action a lot of times. Probably though just off the top of my head, I would ask now, how come he sees the story as being the story of Bill and Sookie, and not just Sookie’s story? I can understand not marginalizing Bill (though it wouldn’t bother me), but why is he elevated to a higher status than another character like say Jason or Lafayette?

        • 60 Freyja
          June 20, 2010 at 3:48 am

          Ah yes that would be a good question! The story is about Sookie and her life and the people around her!

    • 61 Freyja
      June 20, 2010 at 3:04 am

      What did you ask?

      • 62 VikingLover
        June 20, 2010 at 3:05 am

        Hey Freya! Her question is up above – see comment #19. 🙂

        • 63 Freyja
          June 20, 2010 at 3:10 am

          aha, I like it! I think he needs to answer this one, I don’t care what happens this season!

          • 64 VikingLover
            June 20, 2010 at 3:14 am

            If you had the opportunity, what would you ask him Freya?

            • 65 VikingLover
              June 20, 2010 at 3:15 am

              Oopsie! **Freyja**

              • 66 Freyja
                June 20, 2010 at 3:20 am

                I would probably ask him why Eric is not one of the main characters on the show. Or something about the ‘main’ characters (Sookie/Eric/Bill) why they are written so often OOC.
                Because I’m all for adding plots and changing things as long as he stays true to the characters and main plotlines.

          • 67 VampirePamsGirl
            June 20, 2010 at 3:49 am

            Thanks Freyja. Yeah, as I said I sent the question in while I was still highly pissed over the disaster that was the ending of Season 2. I still hate those episodes, but I’ve calmed down more now, lol. Or at least I’m waiting to see more of S3 before I blow my lid again, lol.

            I was thinking about that though…how a lot of the questions for this book will pertain to stuff that will have been explained and/or changed once the book finally comes out since it isn’t released until February 2011.

    • 68 Serena
      June 20, 2010 at 4:21 am

      OMG, that is super awesome! I’m kinda wicked jealous. I’m a little surprised they picked your question, its rather ballsy and it certainly has teeth! lol. I hope you get a good answer, thanks for representing the Ericluvers, 😉

      I already submitted my questions to Charlaine. I really just wanted one question answered, so I asked it a few different ways, lol. It was about Eric, his other child and his past relationships. I hope it gets answered, that’d be soooo great. I had a bunch of other questions about vampire politics and fairy magic, but they seemed like things we could surmise or questions she wouldn’t answer, and I didn’t want my other questions to compete with the one I really wanted, I hope my strategy pays off, lol.

      • 69 VampirePamsGirl
        June 21, 2010 at 12:43 am

        Thanks Serena! I’m really surprised it was picked too. I’m not sure I’ll really believe they use it until I see it in the book, lol.

        Your question for CH and your strategy sound awesome. You’ll have to let us know if it works!

    • June 20, 2010 at 6:15 am

      Really VPG?! That’s freakin’ awesome! I’m stoked for you!!

      I saw the call out for questions to Charlaine…I’ve been meaning to get a post up but I haven’t had a chance. Really excited to see this companion book….


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,646 hits since October 2009

