03
Feb
10

POLL: Sookie’s mortality and the Vampire HEA

Since there is nothing – absolutely NOTHING – going on in the Sookieverse to post about today, I thought we could talk about how Sookie’s mortality might play into who she ends up paired with at the end of the books.

You can vote for up to two options.

Tell us what you think, and leave your reasons and rants in the comments!

143 Responses to “POLL: Sookie’s mortality and the Vampire HEA”


  1. 1 Kealeagh
    February 3, 2010 at 1:16 am

    I have NO idea. Someday’s I feel like Charlaine is pulling a huge joke on us and other days I believe she’ll do the books justice.

  2. February 3, 2010 at 1:18 am

    Okay, I hate to say it, but I select “She will age and die, etc”… and not so much from the aspect that it’s creepy but rather that this would be very depressing from Sookie’s point of view. What woman wants to be with a man who remains gorgeous and ethereal, while she ages, wrinkles, and her tits begin to meet her navel? At least one of the good things about being together is that you have someone to grow old with.

    While I hope very much that CH finds some way to make it work, I’m just not sure if she will at this point. We know that Sookie isn’t going to be turned. We know that she ages as a normal human, as she’s never mentioned any kind of abnormal growth patterns and that would be flagged as being part of her “disability”. I don’t see much from the fae angle, since Faery’s been sealed off. Would Amelia have a part to play in it? Well, maybe. But if she does some kind of juju that freezes Sookie in time, why not just turn her into a vampire? It’s effectively the same thing.

    Sorry, I’m a bit down today, can you tell? 😉 Deep in my blackened, wrinkled little heart, though, I do hold my little hope that Eric and Sook will be happy and together, having mind-boggling sex every day for the rest of all eternity amen.

    • 3 Stef
      February 3, 2010 at 3:53 am

      “I do hold my little hope that Eric and Sook will be happy and together, having mind-boggling sex every day for the rest of all eternity amen.”

      –Amen, sister!

    • 4 Ashley
      February 10, 2010 at 5:47 am

      Im thinking maybe she will find a way around the whole aging and dying thing without turning her into a vamp…but who knows im really confused about where shes taking the books right now…

  3. 5 Maria
    February 3, 2010 at 1:43 am

    I picked I have faith in Charlaine. Though I do think mortality is a huge issue You can’t spend your life with someone who remains the same gorgeous person you met. One of the reasons people get married is to have someone to grow old with. Her parents had more fae blood and aged naturally, so that won’t help her (unless she embraced fae magic and transcended to a higher level).

    I’m wondering about Sookie’s aging though with all the vampire blood she’s had. She says she’s stronger, looks better and feels better than ever. She probably hasn’t aged at all since she met Bill. I know it’s a weird train of thought but I wonder if vampire blood slows the aging process? I’m just going to remain positive that things will work out for Eric and Sookie.

    • 6 caratstick
      February 3, 2010 at 3:13 am

      That is an interesting thought (vampire blood slowing the aging process). But even if it does slow it, that’s not the same as stopping it. So she/they would eventually have the same issue to face, just further down the line.

  4. 7 darbydashwood
    February 3, 2010 at 2:16 am

    ‘I have faith that Charlaine will come up with something’- Yeah, I have to think that it’ll somehow work out between Sookie & Eric. Otherwise what the fuck have we been reading the books for?

    I like Sam, but I am not a Sam/Sookie shipper. Alcide or Quinn? Meh. Introducing yet another love interest for Sookie is beyond ridiculous at this point. And honestly, if she does end up with a human guy that is just a really lame way to end the series IMHO. After all we’ve been through with Eric, seeing how much he’s evolved as a character- all due to his feelings for Sookie…. don’t you fucking rain on our parade like that, Charlaine. That’s all I’m sayin.

  5. 11 KC
    February 3, 2010 at 2:32 am

    Ms. Harris seems not to waver from “Sookie will live a normal human life span” and leaves no wiggle room that I can see. So, I try the analogy “If you met the love of your life and that person has five years to live, do you reject them?” For me, that answer is always “No.” But, if the question is “If you’ve met the love of your life, but *you* only have five years to live, do you reject them?” That answer is much harder for me.

    Her mortality’s only an issue though if she’s willing to give up the daytime, children, “normal” BT life she might still want. I think she has to make that decision first.

  6. 12 stephernutter
    February 3, 2010 at 2:37 am

    I took full advantage of picking two options. I have faith in CH that she’ll come up with something, but I also have no idea what’s going to happen anymore.

    Before Faery got sealed off I thought that Niall might have had a solution…now I’m not so sure. But I don’t think that there is another legitimate suitor for Sookie’s affections at this point in the series, and it’s too late to bring someone else in convincingly. I mean, as soon as she brought in Quinn I was thinking “WTF? Why do I care about this person? Why does Sookie give a crap about him?” They barely dated, they dry humped once and had sex once. And then there was drama about her dumping him? I’m sorry, I didn’t buy it then, and I don’t see how we’ll be able to buy her with some new guy since it’s taken 10 books (I’m counting DITF chapter 1) for her to admit to loving Eric, and he’s been around since the beginning. So as far as I’m concerned, someone new is out.
    Bill won’t happen. CH contemplated killing him off, she’s known who Sookie was going to end up with since book 2, and Sookie and Bill are finally starting to have a friendship. It’s not going to go back to being a romantic relationship.
    Sam is the only other person that Sookie could possibly end up with. CH keeps bringing up little things about Sookie and Sam, like Sookie not liking that Sam liked/was dating Tanya (I can’t remember the details right now), that he’s always there for her, etc. It’s always an afterthought on Sookie’s part which makes me think that it could happen and be one of those cheesy teen movie-type endings where the girl finally figures out at the end that her best guy friend is perfect for her. The huge problem with this, is obviously the fact that the Eric and Sookie relationship has been built up and developped so much. It’s not like Sookie is pining after some guy that doesn’t reciprocate her feelings. They love each other. So if it’s not Eric, she might not end up with anybody, and that is an equally unsatisfying conclusion to the series since CH has said that Eric won’t die.
    My finger’s are crossed that CH’s plan involves something to give Sookie longevity, because as much as I believe that Eric loves Sookie and wouldn’t care… I think the idea is kind of gross, and Sookie would care too much about their physical differences.

  7. 20 AJ
    February 3, 2010 at 3:28 am

    First of all, been reading this blog for a while now and I love it, thank you for your rants and ramblings!

    I chose Charlaine coming up with something because Eric HAS to be the HEA. I think it has to do with the fae blood, it will make her live longer than a regular human. Maria has a good point about all the vampire blood Sookie’s ingested. I just have a feeling Charlaine will come up with something crazy. But who says Sookie has to live for a long time to be with Eric, her life is in constant danger so anything could happen to her because Eric can’t protect her all the time. But that thought is much too pessimistic and we won’t know what happens in Sookie’s life after the final book so let’s just be hopeful it’s a pleasing ending to Sookie’s saga.

  8. 21 caratstick
    February 3, 2010 at 3:45 am

    This is a depressing question.

    I think the issue is not love but commitment. I think love ebbs and flows in any relationship. And the nature of that love also changes, sometimes you are passionate and romantic lovers, sometimes best friends and companions. And sometimes both of those and sometimes neither. But, if there is true commitment, that is what sustains the relationship, what helps you push through the lows.

    If Eric and Sookie more than love each other, if they are truly committed to their relationship, I think they can overcome the issue of her mortality. Or, more specifically, her aging. Because it’s not the fact that she will die, it is the fact that she will grow old. And he will forever be a 20-something Viking god.

    And, frankly, I think that it is Sookie that would have more of a problem with it. I know Eric is a sexual being, but even if they had to stop having sex, think about how short of a time even a decade–even two decades–is to someone who has lived as long as he has.

    But I really think that CH is going to side-step the issue. It’s going to be an ending more along the lines of GWTW: I’m not going to think about it now. I’ll think about it tomorrow. I think we’ll see Sookie and Eric together in the present, with the knowledge that they are together finally, acknowledging their love for one another, but with no resolution of their entire future on the written page.

    • 22 nskars
      February 3, 2010 at 4:32 am

      No resolution? Oh PBS, this makes me sad. :/

    • 23 walgigi
      February 3, 2010 at 4:38 am

      I agree with you it is a depressing question. But I don’t know about CH side-steping the issue of her mortality because she herself brought it up when Sookie thinks about it at the first chapter of DITF:

      “He also knew he had infinite time ahead of him.
      I did not.
      He hadn’t brought that up yet, but sooner or later, he would.”

      No matter he’ll do it or not, the fact that Sookie is already thinking about it makes it an issue. Because she is very stubborn and isn’t going to dismiss the idea very easily. And I don’t really see how CH will leave it as a loose end after she brought it up.

      • 24 caratstick
        February 3, 2010 at 1:50 pm

        I didn’t mean that they won’t talk about it. I agree with you that CH has had them mention more than once that they needed to have that conversation. And we’ll probably see the conversation happen. But seeing them have a conversation at the start of their relationship, mapping out how they think things will go, is a lot different from actually seeing everything unfold on the page. When do things (for anyone, and especially for Sookie) ever go according to plan? I don’t think we’ll actually see old Sookie with Eric on the page…that’s what I meant by side-stepping the issue.

  9. 25 Stef
    February 3, 2010 at 3:47 am

    I’ve decided to go for: “It’s too sad to think of Sookie dying and the vampire outliving her. What’s the point?” Wehile I know that love would transcend everything, it would just seem too sad for Eric (whole by all accounts will be her HEA dammit) to continue living on without Sookie. There needs to be something that will have her live on, whether it be becoming a vampire or some other crazy concoction by CH.

    • 26 ellemoe
      February 3, 2010 at 3:50 pm

      I don’t see Eric going to meet the sun though because it’s not his personality. Granted he would be sad and would miss Sookie but to end his life because she’s gone? IDK. I do think he is preparing himself for it now since she’s already told him she doesn’t want to be changed over and he’s agreed not to change her over to keep her for himself. But who knows what’s gonna happen. Maybe CH will change her mind about Sook not becoming a vamp and that’s what’ll happen in the last book.

  10. 27 walgigi
    February 3, 2010 at 3:48 am

    mmm I chose that I don’t have an idea. Well, actually I have one or two hahhaha, but anyway, I don’t trust CH too much about giving me the outcome I want… One day she said Eric’s good, the other Eric’s bad, she always says “Sookie will live a normal human life span”… On an interview at TrueBlood.net radio show last year, when they asked her about happy endings she even said she doesn’t believe in happy endings. She also said: Of course there’s a streak of the romantic in me that would always like a happy ending, or at least an emotionally realistic sad ending. I hate these endings where everything goes to Hell for no reason. I like endings that seem right within the context of the book, whether they’re happy or not”. MEH!!

    She just likes to play mind games to thrill us…

    (**Aaine, please CHECK your mail**)

  11. 28 Elyssa
    February 3, 2010 at 3:52 am

    I also picked that Charlaine would come up with something. The theory that I read on another website that I hope will play out would be that Eric with the help of Sookie’s great-grandfathers fea magic will become human again. Then Sookie and Eric could live together and raise Hunter…. If anything happens to Remy. But I think this one HEA I could settle for….

    Absolutely love this blog by the way… I enjoy reading everything… checking this website is one of my many morning routines.. lol ❤

    • 29 Kealeagh
      February 3, 2010 at 4:26 am

      Personally, I would be furious if Eric were turned human and frankly, I think he would be too.

      • 30 walgigi
        February 3, 2010 at 4:40 am

        HAHAHHAA

      • 31 Stef
        February 3, 2010 at 4:42 am

        Yeah, I don’t see Eric wanting to trade down on the food chain–even for Sookie.

      • 32 Kealeagh
        February 3, 2010 at 4:58 am

        Also if anyone’s a Buffy nerd, Angel was human for like a day and by the end of it he’s like, I WANT TO BE A VAMPIRE AGAIN.

        • February 3, 2010 at 5:03 am

          I read a fanfic a while back where Eric was turned human for a day by a spell and he and Sookie fucked out in her yard in the middle of the day.

          It was hot. And very well written. I am a dirty perv and I don’t care.

          • 34 nskars
            February 3, 2010 at 5:08 am

            Oooooh what was it called?

              • February 3, 2010 at 6:47 pm

                So I just spent my whole morning reading this and OMFG. I know CH hates fanfiction with the burning flames of hell, but THIS is definitely the kind of fic that’s a positive homage to the cannon. Her style of writing is very similar (better?) to CH’s and the story is awesommmmme.

                • February 3, 2010 at 11:09 pm

                  It’s good isn’t it? I’m really picky with fanfic, I can’t read alot of it or my perception of characters starts to get skewed and I start mixing up whether something happened in the books or in fanfic…not good.

                  I Have Gone Out, and another one called “Eric” (which are the books rewritten from Eric’s POV) are the only two I read – they’re very, very well written and the authors completely understand the story and the characters and don’t have them doing completely bizzare things that they would never do.

                  I really loved the idea of the soul walker in that story – much cooler explanation for Eric getting his memories back than what happened in the books I thought.

                  • 38 Stef
                    February 4, 2010 at 12:09 am

                    I just read “I Have Gone Out” in it’s entirety and I love it!! So well written! I completely agree w/ you, I can’t read too much fanfic, otherwise I start to confuse the fanfic w/ the actual books. But anyways…this is good stuff! Do you have the link to the other fanfic “Eric”?

                  • 43 nskars
                    February 4, 2010 at 10:32 am

                    Eric by DeeDee is the best Sookieverse fanfic I have ever read.

                  • 46 Maria
                    February 10, 2010 at 4:37 am

                    I read both stories this past weekend and they were great! I can’t wait to read more. I’m rereading DAG and I’m at the point where Eric is trying to tell Sookie how he feels about her but she stops him. “Eric” definitely helped put their relationship in better perspective for me. I just can’t believe how blind Sookie is!
                    So it’s nice to have some new material while we are all waiting for May to be here. Thanks for sharing the links!

                • 48 caratstick
                  February 3, 2010 at 11:15 pm

                  Me, too. And it was fucking awesome, but I can totally see what svb means about starting to get confused, if not about actual events then about character development.

                  Still, I am anxious now for the rest of this story to come out.

                  • 49 VampirePamsGirl
                    February 4, 2010 at 11:37 am

                    I totally get that too. I’ve read very few Sookieverse fan fics b/c of that very reason. I imagine though that once the actual series is complete, Sookie fan fiction will become a much bigger part of my life, lol. 😀

          • 50 walgigi
            February 3, 2010 at 5:14 am

            HAHAHHAHA Dirty Girl!!!
            (I’m also dirty like nbu and want to know the name LOL):)

          • 51 caratstick
            February 3, 2010 at 1:52 pm

            Oh, svb, we love that you are a dirty perv and share these things with us.

    • February 3, 2010 at 4:50 am

      I’ve heard the idea of Eric being human tossed around a bit…at first I thought it could work but I’m not feeling it now.

      As already mentioned it doesn’t sit right with what we know of Eric. He likes being a vampire.

      Then there is also the question of why should Eric have to give up being a vampire – which is his nature..he has been one for a millenium so I think that makes him more vampire than human now – why does he have to give that up and Sookie gives up nothing?

      I’m just not keen on the idea of Eric giving up everything he is, and Sookie not having to make any sacrifices.

      • 53 Elyssa
        February 3, 2010 at 5:09 am

        I agree you. I didn’t look at it that way… I just read that theory and I thought it would be interesting… But who knows… I do hope E/S end up together in the end.. Charlaine has to have something good up her sleeve… the suspense for the next book is killing me..lol…

      • 54 walgigi
        February 3, 2010 at 5:10 am

        [Then there is also the question of why should Eric have to give up being a vampire – which is his nature..he has been one for a millenium so I think that makes him more vampire than human now]

        Not just that, but think about the quantity of vampires’ and sups’ enemies he has made on that millenium… how is he going to defend himself (or Sookie) from them as a human?

        [I’m just not keen on the idea of Eric giving up everything he is, and Sookie not having to make any sacrifices.]

        EXACTLY!!! Because until now, she didn’t make any real concious effort to help the growth of the relationship…

      • 55 caratstick
        February 3, 2010 at 1:55 pm

        I agree…no Eric turning human forever. But this idea of Eric being human for one day or so…now that could have some interesting repercussions. Maybe even a baby. That’s right. I said it. Eric’s baby.

      • 58 asifuentes
        February 28, 2010 at 10:29 pm

        Okay, the whole theory about eric turning human again, I don’t think that would really work out. Everyone is right he has sacrafice a lot for sookie, why should he have to give up the one thing he loves the most?

        On another note I had a different theory about some of the possibilities on what will happen to sookie. CH has often mentioned that sometimes a vampires human can accidently be turned because of too much blood exhcange…Eric and Sookies have done it more than we can count, or it iss unclear but he does say something along the lines “we are getting dangerously close to an undefying limit”. Sookie doesn’t want to be changed even if her life depended on it, but what if CH decides to make it happen on accident? I don’t think I have seen any posts regarding this theory yet but if anyone has please foward it to me so I can read it.

  12. 59 Barbara
    February 3, 2010 at 4:03 am

    First, what is “HEA” ??? hehehe

    Second, I picked the “complete faith in Charlaine” choice.
    I’ve been reading a lot of fan fiction these last few months in order to get my Eric fix *chuckles* and many fan authors have come up with very unique ideas on how Sookie and Eric remain together beyond a human lifespan. Among the list are prophacies, Sookie’s advancement in Fae abilities, Sookie becoming a vampire out of self-preservation (life or death emergencies), and the vampire blood mixed with her fae blood extending her mortality into a few hundred years easily.

    I think I read somewhere that there are at least 2-3 books contracted for the series left … so there is plenty of time for Charlaine to come up with something over a reasonable coarse of time to address this issue.

    I just want the next book and the 3rd season of TB to come out now! Geez, I’m so impatient! LOL

    • 60 Elyssa
      February 3, 2010 at 4:08 am

      HEA – Happily Ever After

      May/June can not come fast enough!!! I have read the series twice and watch clips of season 2 all the time just to get my fix! XD XD

  13. 61 nskars
    February 3, 2010 at 4:49 am

    I made 2 choices cos I’m greedy: #1 – that I have faith in Charlaine and #2 – that I have no idea what will happen.

    I believe in this story and I believe in Eric and Sookie. I hold hope that CH will find some sort of solution to Sookie’s mortality. Or maybe she won’t. Maybe something completely random will happen that we may all be happy with. Who knows? I have faith that she will work it out in context to the situation and I do predict a resolution for Eric and Sookie. Whether it’s a conventional resolution or not, they will be each other’s HEA. I am assured of this. 😀

  14. 62 Pogonip
    February 3, 2010 at 5:29 am

    CH has said that she doesn’t understand why readers like Eric so much, because he’s “bad, really bad.” She’s said she wouldn’t allow her daughter to date a vampire. (Good luck on that, telling grown daughters or sons who to date.) She said Sookie will never be a vampire, and as for Eric, “once a vampire, always a vampire.”

    She paired Tara off with JB. I mean, really! Nice guy, but…..talk about playing it safe!

    I am so afraid that she will ultimately make Sookie settle for Sam, a good, safe, human(shapeshifter) male who can take the sunshine, eat food, age along with Sookie. I will see this as a cop-out. But I fully expect it to happen. At least he’s a shifter and not garden-variety human.

    Sookie will not have children, but will have a child or children in her life.

    Personally, I don’t see why she needs to settle on anyone. Why can’t she have more than one man in her life? Eric is absent from dawn until dark, leaving her lots of time to play with someone else.

    • 63 Stef
      February 3, 2010 at 9:20 am

      Now, now…no cheating on the Viking…why would she need to anyways? His sex is probably the best she’ll get! lol

    • 64 VikingLover
      February 3, 2010 at 12:35 pm

      [CH has said that she doesn’t understand why readers like Eric so much, because he’s “bad, really bad.” She’s said she wouldn’t allow her daughter to date a vampire. (Good luck on that, telling grown daughters or sons who to date.) She said Sookie will never be a vampire, and as for Eric, “once a vampire, always a vampire.”]

      This always confuses me. Why does she say this??? Am I missing something from the books? I just don’t understand when she says things like that and it makes me very nervous.

      • 65 Ashley
        February 10, 2010 at 6:03 am

        Maybe shes just trying to get us riled up….she obviously wrote the character for people to like him…otherwise why would he be her main romantic interest for books 4 through 10…..i know Quinn was in there somewher but he was honestly just a distraction from Eric IMO, and i couldnt stand his character…but i honestly think either CH was joking or was messing with the Eric fans.

        • 66 Maria
          February 11, 2010 at 1:07 am

          I could not stand Quinn as well. I just thought of him as a rebound relationship since Sookie was hurt after Eric lost his memory of their time together. I reread DAAD recently and noticed that Sookie gets all excited when Eric walks into Merlotte’s to talk to Charles Twining, and this is before the BB. I get really annoyed with her when she uses it as an excuse about her happiness at seeing Eric. She was like that before it.

          • February 11, 2010 at 3:01 am

            As I keep re-re-re-reading the books…you are so right about being annoyed with Sookie. She is so quick to point out how she feels angry when Eric does, but then “blames” the bond for her feeling of overwhelming happiness as soon as she sees him. How about thinking, “Hmmmm, maybe HE is feeling this overwhelming happiness and that is why I experience it every time I see him…maybe he LIKES me.” She’s an idiot sometimes!!! LOL

            • 68 Maria
              February 11, 2010 at 5:23 am

              Yeah, she should have definitely figured out that he has feelings for her through the BB if she wasn’t in such denial. He even told her that he liked being that tightly bound and that they would experience each other emotions in ATD. I mean for god’s sake he stays at her side when she has a bomb in her hands! I think his feelings go a little deeper than lust. LOL

          • 69 Ashley
            February 11, 2010 at 4:58 am

            yeah she was and this annoys me as well…she is stupid sometimes…i she didnt get the reaction she wanted in book 5 when she told him about the what happened during his amnesia and subsequently put herself into total denial mode, when really he was just confused because even though Eric knew what happened he didnt remember it until book 8…he just had to come to terms with it first and she took it as rejection…

            • 70 Maria
              February 11, 2010 at 5:13 am

              I mean of course he was annoyed because she wouldn’t even tell him what happened because she didn’t want him to “have power over her?” I just did not see him holding anything over her head and this is confirmed after she does tell him. She didn’t even trust him enough to tell him about Debbie Pelt’s death like he was going to blackmail her over it? I just didn’t understand her reactions to him after book 4. I also agree with you that he was confused but after he gets his memory back he starts calling her “lover” right away and makes his move in DAG. 🙂

  15. 71 VampirePamsGirl
    February 3, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    I have faith because without Eric there is no HEA and without a HEA I’m going to be fucking pissed off as hell at investing so much time, energy, thought, and money into this damn series. So I have faith. ;D And I think I just learned to summarize my opinion into less than 5 paragraphs, yay! 😀

  16. 72 ellemoe
    February 3, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    I’m going for the happy ending how ever CH can make it happen. In prior books Eric tells Sookie about vamp relationships and how they are rare or frowned upon because they can cause one vamp to have power over another vamp. As we know CH does not plan to turn Sookie and I don’t think Eric would truly want Sookie as a vamp either because she would have complete and total control over him. She’s human and has control over him to some extent. The man goes out of his way to keep her out of danger, make sure she has what she needs, and cannot stop thinking about her. If she was a vamp, she’d be dangerous and he would be lost to her every whim. Anywho, I think CH will make it happen with Sook’s fae heritage helping her to live a bit longer and Eric’s blood coursing through her veins should add some type of longevity to her life as well. I really don’t want to think of any alternatives. 😉

  17. 73 Dan
    February 3, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Man, this website is growing in popularity. I had trouble saving my post. Too many connections.
    We may have to kick in some cash for server upgrades.

    My ideas have been mentioned. In the last chapter of DAG, Eric had to stop giving Sookie blood due to some “undefined limit” and in the new DITF chapter, she gets the warning from Amelia about accidentally getting flipped “its not like a Math equation” Due to Eric’s premium blood
    and her Fay Royalty genes, Sookie is or will be Supernatural. She won’t be immortal, but her grandfather Fenton lived to be 700 years old and he was 1/2 ferry. I think Sookie has decades in her twenty something hot body.

    • 74 VampirePamsGirl
      February 3, 2010 at 9:06 pm

      That is exactly what I like to think/hope will happen with the series. Sookie may not be immortal, but she will have an unnaturally long life span due to something with her fae heritage. I hadn’t thought about Eric’s blood also factoring into that as well though, good point.

      I really like this outcome… think we could pitch it to CH? … Probably not, lol. Oh well, we’ve always got our fallback plan if CH doesn’t provide our happily ever after. Remember waaay back when Walgigi decided that Sookieverseblog could just write the HEA for us, I’m depending on that. I will get a HEA from somewhere. D

      • 75 Kealeagh
        February 3, 2010 at 9:24 pm

        Charlaine has commented on what her fairy blood and Eric’s blood can do to Sookie. I can’t remember what she said exactly and I’m too lazy to look it up, but when someone mentioned the fairy blood (I think) slowing down Sookie’s aging, Charlaine sort of side stepped the question. So, who knows? I like that idea, but it only buys so much time so we’ll see.

      • 76 walgigi
        February 3, 2010 at 11:55 pm

        HAHAHHAHA …with Dan and some others as her assistants LOL! And don’t forget you will be on charge of the show hahaha 😛

  18. 77 Dan
    February 3, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    I have not read the Charlaine interviews, but I tend to agree with some of the posters here that think her public comments are often used to throw us off. Therefore, I am sticking to my belief that Sookie’s life will be longer than a normal human.

    • 78 Kealeagh
      February 3, 2010 at 9:25 pm

      I wish she didn’t say some of the comments she does about this character and that. She should try and keep her opinion’s to herself – I don’t know. Why can’t she just say she loves all her charcters? Instead she picks at them just to cause an uproar with the fans.

      • February 3, 2010 at 10:07 pm

        Publicity is publicity – anything that gets people talking is good for her bottom line.

        (I know that sounds mercurial, but it’s not called “the business” for nothing. Of course, she also gets the author’s high of knowing lots of people are reading, and talking about, her pet creations.)

        PS Whoever mentioned chipping in to move to a better server…I have a server space available, cost free, until October. All I’d have to do is pay $10 to change the domain name. I was originally going to use it for my own purposes, registered the domain, paid up my service, etc., but didn’t have the time. It’s WordPress compatible, through JustHost. And my yearly fee is wicked discounted, because they messed up setting it up originally. Just a thought… 🙂

  19. 80 Dan
    February 4, 2010 at 12:36 am

    Never done fan fiction until the last 30 minutes. You just started me on a bad habit. LOL

    • February 4, 2010 at 12:55 am

      It is a bad habit Dan…but with a year between fixes sometimes I get desperate LOL.

      • 82 Holby
        February 4, 2010 at 2:04 am

        Actually, I want to thank you for providing this E/S junkie with a quality fix! I have looked through the site a bit, but the fanfic you gave us is probably the best on the site. Thank you, thank you…

      • 83 VikingLover
        February 4, 2010 at 4:27 am

        LMAO! The Eric vs. Alan Ball fanfic was hilarious! Although, I must say that I prefer the short hair on AS and it fits more along the lines of how I imagined Eric to look. I could never picture him with long hair.

        I started to read the other fanfic and they are really good but somehow it screws me up. I don’t think I can do it. Maybe after the series is over. Man, I just realized that we have 4 more years of angst until we reach the end of the series! I’d better take my vitamins and look both ways before I cross because I need to know how this ends. 🙂

        • 84 Stef
          February 4, 2010 at 5:20 am

          “Do you not know the mythic power of long hair on a man?” HAHA Love it!! That short fanfic was hilarious!

        • February 4, 2010 at 5:24 am

          I absolutely agree about the short hair! That was a welcome change–from bewigged TB Eric AND long-haired book Eric–for sure. It’s not mysterious or sexy. It’s mostly just stringy and/or weird (what are these fancy braids that Ch often has him done up in? yeesh)

          • 88 Stef
            February 4, 2010 at 5:36 am

            I don’t like the wig either…dunno about the actual long hair like CH describes. But hell, I’ll take any hairstyle on ASkars..as long as I get to look at him! 🙂

          • 89 VikingLover
            February 4, 2010 at 5:37 am

            (what are these fancy braids that Ch often has him done up in? yeesh)

            LOL! I feel the same way when I read that! I just can’t picture that for the life of me! I can’t see big strong manly Eric wearing braids. I just can’t do it! 🙂

            • 90 Dan
              February 4, 2010 at 2:09 pm

              Last night and this morning i split time between between listening to “Dead as a Doornail” and reading the “Eric” Fanfic. Now that one is a solid effort that I appreciate. All the dialogue from Charlaine is exact, its just told from Eric’s POV instead of Sookie’s. She fills in the blanks at times when he is not with her, but takes very little liberty of her own. It almost seems like an accurate companion to the books.

              • February 4, 2010 at 2:21 pm

                Exactly! That’s why I love it. She’s kept Eric 100% true to character.

                I also really appreciated her insights into his actions. It gave me a new angle on Eric that was completely compatible with the books. She’s done an amazing job with it.

                • 92 Kristen
                  February 4, 2010 at 9:38 pm

                  “Eric” was the first ever fanfic I read… and I almost consider it canon at this point! it is amazing!

                  Sadly enough though, it did get me addicted to fanfiction.net and I am ashamed to say that I’ve read some pretty hilarious E/S smut to get me through.

                  My husband thought it was bad enough that I was posting on a blog about the SVM books, but he was really appalled when I was up until 3am reading a 255,000 word fanfic!!

                  May CANNOT come soon enough…

  20. 93 Only4Eric
    February 4, 2010 at 1:50 am

    This topic has generated so much discussion that I just had to stop lurking and jump in. I hope someone can disabuse me of this notion, but I’m afraid it will be Eric’s mortality, not Sookie’s, that resolves the HEA question. Don’t remember the exact references, but I recall Eric saying more than once that Sookie will be the death of him, that she’s killing him, etc. Plus, there’s Pam’s weird remark about Eric living on through Sookie. CH has already showed us she delights in killing off characters we love, like Claudine, and I’m worried she will do the same thing to Eric, even though he’s her greatest creation. I think it will turn out that Sookie’s fae blood is poisoning him. Or he will meet his final death somehow in trying to protect her. Then Sookie will pine for a while and finally end up with an SEA (settled-for ever after). I think it will be Sam.

    Say it ain’t so!

    • 94 Kealeagh
      February 4, 2010 at 2:59 am

      Strangely, Charlaine has stated Eric will live through the series.

    • 95 AJ
      February 4, 2010 at 3:11 am

      “Sookie’s fae blood is poisoning him”

      !!! What an interesting idea… There have been comments in the books about vampires drinking fairy blood directly from fairies and no mention of any bad effects so I don’t think the fae blood of Sookie should have an effect, especially given Eric’s age.

      Charlaine wouldn’t do such a horrible thing as kill Eric would she?! Oh god, I just need the new book to read, hurry up May!

      • 96 JBdRone
        February 4, 2010 at 4:19 am

        Wow guys talk about throwing a fly in the ointment with that one! I am actually interested in seeing that one play out.

        Or maybe, Eric will be a good guy and step aside and allow Sookie to have the life he didn’t have – the spouse, the family and all that stuff she seems to want. Leaving the door open for her to return when she wants. Can you see a benevolent Eric?

  21. 97 Holby
    February 4, 2010 at 2:16 am

    I was driving and had an epiphany…which I fully expect and welcome Walgigi to destroy because she is so much better at seeing detail than I.

    Throughout the book there has been ongoing talk of how one becomes and angel. From Niall’s statements, and our new knowledge of Fairies from Sookieverse, it is clear that the Christian ideal of angel is not the same as the angel status to which Claudine (RIP) was aspiring. Claudine told Amelia and Sookie, in DD, that to become an angel one has to be a “good citizen,” so to speak and then at some point they are assigned a person to watch over.

    Is it possible that Sookie, who never hesitates to aid others, has never stolen anything except from Russell’s compound, has never so much as gotten a traffic ticket (good citizen, yes) is actually on angel track? And she will soon, I am assuming, have Hunter to watch over. Perhaps, since the portals are now closed, she, being part Fae, can ascend to angel status. Who knows what additional powers, health, longevity might come, through Fae magic, with the status of “angel.”

    I know, I know…just pulling ideas out of my hiney, but there has to be some equity in the relationship (of course, I am assuming HEA with Eric!).

    • February 4, 2010 at 5:00 am

      Very interesting idea, Holby. I like it.

    • 99 walgigi
      February 4, 2010 at 5:06 am

      [I was driving and had an epiphany…which I fully expect and welcome Walgigi to destroy because she is so much better at seeing detail than I.]

      HAHAHA Holby!!! Do not say that because I’m as lost as all of you about the mortality issue LOL. But Sookie about becoming an angel, the only detail I can use to refute you is all the hot steamy sex had she already has with Eric … hahaha I do not really think she was very angelic, even when we know that she definitely was in heaven more than once during it LOL 😛 .

      • 100 walgigi
        February 4, 2010 at 5:08 am

        *** must read: …about Sookie becoming an angel
        (my english… 🙄 )

      • February 4, 2010 at 5:16 am

        To paraphrase and completely misquote Eric from DTTW…”I can’t imagine a belief system that…” would not allow you to appreciate HOT VIKING sex! Haha
        And I got the impression that Claudine would have gladly engaged in raucous sex except for her desire to have a pure fairy child, not out of any consideration for angel status. I think the “idea” of angel is human generated, but the reality of fairy-as-angel is quite a bit different (similar to the childhood concept of a fairy vs. Neave and Lochlin-type fairies).
        But to be slightly redundant…if I have an angel watching over me…I hope she is distracted by crazy sex regularly!!! It will keep her happy and content!

        • 102 VampirePamsGirl
          February 4, 2010 at 11:47 am

          Lol @corasgirl. Absolutely agree with all that you said.

          I also really like this idea as well. Nice one Holby! It kinda goes along with what some others have said about wanting Sookie’s fae blood to prolong her life but takes that idea and runs with it. Very interesting take on it!

  22. 103 Dan
    February 4, 2010 at 4:31 am

    The writer is good on “I am Out”, but I don’t like her story. I have been looking for anything to read. Most other vampire fiction is weak. Seems I try to start a new series every couple of weeks and can’t make it past the first two books. If anyone is reading some good mystery fiction that you can’t put down, then share the wealth.

    • 104 VikingLover
      February 4, 2010 at 5:04 am

      [Seems I try to start a new series every couple of weeks and can’t make it past the first two books.]

      I feel the same way, Dan. Nothing has captured me like the characters in Sookieverse. This and Twilight were the first “series” fiction I’ve ever read. I haven’t been able to find anything else, in that genre, that I like. Oh well, actually I did read the Vampire Chronicles of course but somehow I don’t really view that as a series.

      • February 4, 2010 at 6:00 am

        I tried the Anita Blake series – that woman has issues. I just can’t get into it.

        I’ve been really into the Vampire Diaries tv series, I haven’t read the books but I think they’re aimed at a slightly *ahem* younger age demographic. I might give them a go though.

        • 106 Kealeagh
          February 4, 2010 at 6:20 am

          I’ve read the Vampire Diaries. If you’re a Damon fan – don’t expect anything.

        • 110 VampirePamsGirl
          February 4, 2010 at 11:51 am

          After my True Blood experience, I have absolutely refused to read the Vampire Diaries books because I love that show and I have heard more than once that the books are completely different, so I’m really scared to read them and mess up my enjoyment of the show. So, thanks Kealeagh for validating that decision, because if the books don’t treat Damon well, then I’m glad I have read them.

          “Well of COURSE I’m a Damon fan.” Lol @sookieverseblog! Love it, that’s me as well.

          • 111 Kristen
            February 4, 2010 at 9:45 pm

            DO NOT read them, then. They are nothing like the show! I so wanted to love Book Damon, but it just didn’t happen…

          • 112 Ashley
            February 10, 2010 at 6:14 am

            I have read the first two and i honestly thought they sucked, but thats just my opinion…there are some good vampire series though…the Morganville vampire series is good, and i also like the Vampire Academy series. The Vampire Diaries show is much, much better than the books.

        • February 4, 2010 at 1:53 pm

          I’ve also read the Vampire Diaries series and cannot recommend it unless you found Twilight appealing. It seems to me that Alan Ball channels these teen novels sometimes when he’s writing the relationships in TB. The women always need rescuing and they like the boring, insipid good guy. Maybe that appeals to teenagers (although it wouldn’t have appealed to me as a teenager), but it’s not teens watching TB.

          • 114 Dan
            February 4, 2010 at 2:35 pm

            Twilight was quality writing, too, I enjoyed them all, and re-read “Breaking Dawn” a few times. Over the past 20 years I have read almost everything by Annie Rice, until she changed her ways and got all religious.

            Other favorite authors are Larry McMurtry and John Grisham, genres more typical for my demographic.

            The Anita Blake series was too graphic and weird. Hamilton’s Merry Gentry series is more tolerable, but not great. And I tried about a dozen other Vampire books that I could not finish

            I was recently recommended the Karen Marie Moning “DreamFever” series and I must say the first book IS able to hold my attention.

          • 115 Ashley
            February 10, 2010 at 6:17 am

            Twilight is okay and im not saying the writing is bad, but its definitely aimed at teen…the vampire diary series is literally the worst vampire series ive read to date, IMO.

            • 116 VikingLover
              February 10, 2010 at 1:18 pm

              @ Ashley, I tried to read the Vampire Diaries but I couldn’t make it past the 1st page. I like the TV series – although the last 2 episodes have been a little ridiculous.

        • 118 Kristen
          February 4, 2010 at 9:43 pm

          Ok, I read the Vampire Diaries (yes, I’m slightly embarrassed) and it was MUCH too tame for me. The books are extremely chaste (more so than Twilight!) and while the plot it good, I couldn’t really LIKE and LOVE the characters the way I do in Sookieverse. Plus the ending(s) are super-weird and not so HEA.

          Hmmm… mystery and series fiction are tough genres as many times I feel like the authors are rushed to publish new books, especially in popular series. Generally, I steer clear, but I am so glad I picked up Sookie.

          BTW, has anyone read any other of Charlaine’s series? I’ve been thinking about Harper Connelly, but just not sure…

          • 119 Mia
            February 4, 2010 at 11:49 pm

            I read her Harper series. They grew on me although I think they are a little darker and edgier than SVM. A heroine who was struck by lightning and now finds dead bodies probably would have a differnt tone. I tried a couple of her Aurora books and some of the Lily books, but I didn’t like them as much, but it may be I like a touch of fantasy in my stories.

          • 120 VampirePamsGirl
            February 5, 2010 at 2:42 am

            More chaste than Twilight? Really, wow. Lol. I mean, I loved Twilight myself, but it was pretty chaste itself. I tried another book by that author (L.J. Smith), the Nightworld series, book one, and it was good but really not something I could get into. From what you’ve said about Vampire Diaries, it seems like it may be similar.

            I’m really glad that you’ve read the Vampire Diaries so now I know I don’t want to pick those books up at least for a while, lol, so don’t be embarassed. 🙂 Besides, sometimes I think some of the books marketed for children, teens, young adults are actually really great reads for adults, like the Harry Potter series, which I started reading as a pre-teen and still enjoy re-reading today. And I’ll definitely be heading out to watch Percy Jackson and probably will get the books afterward on it as well.

  23. 121 Hookah
    February 4, 2010 at 7:20 am

    I’ve read Vampire Diaries..next one coming out this month 🙂 It is quite a bit different from the TV show..but Damon is an even bigger ass in the books-there is 0 brother love in the books & they are barely civil..Damon is 100% more antagonistic. I find it curious that Kealeagh says “It’s mostly Twilight word for word” Vampire Diaries came out in 1991..long before Edward sparkled. But I understand what she’s saying..after I read the books, I thought-damn, there’s a whole lot of similar things in Twilight..curious how many ideas Stephenie Meyers got from Vamp Diaries?! (And Sookie?) I’ve also read House of Night & I think only Interview with a Vampire..I’m looking for another series as well..any suggestions?

    • 122 Kealeagh
      February 4, 2010 at 11:39 pm

      Oh I’m very much aware that Vampire Diaires was out first. I found it so hard to believe that Stephenie Meyer HADN’T read them. For Godssake, there were certain scenes that played out EXACTLY the same. Especially in the first two books. I didn’t care about any of the characters but Damon and I hated the way he never got the time of day, lol. I don’t know, I’m just glad I found the Sookie books.

    • 123 Ashley
      February 10, 2010 at 6:21 am

      The Morganville Vampire series and the House of Night series are both really good IMO, oh and the Vampire Academy series.

  24. 124 VampirePamsGirl
    February 4, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    @Dan & @Hookah

    Hmmm, good book recommendations. I haven’t personally read any of them, but my aunt loves the Lauren K. Hamilton books.

    Right now, I’m immersed in a book series by R.A. Salvatore, The Legend of Drizzt. There’s like about 20 books in this series and I love it. It doesn’t really get into the mystery category that much though or have anything to do with vampires. It’s based off of the Dungeons and Dragons stuff (Drizzt is a dark elf). If you like Lord of the Rings type stuff, fantasy with elves, dwarves, dragons, demons, etc., then you may like this series.

    I’m really glad you guys asked this though b/c I’m always looking for good book recs myself, and good advice on what not to read as well!

  25. 125 walgigi
    February 4, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    WOAH.. This post just has 2 day and already has 96 comments!!!
    (and that’s just the comments without counting the “silent” readers)

    YAY!!!! 🙂

    • 126 walgigi
      February 4, 2010 at 12:09 pm

      *** must read 99 now … 😛

    • 127 nskars
      February 4, 2010 at 12:11 pm

      That’s right, Gigi. When I first started stalking this blog it only had about 3 of us commenting. Now there’s like a thousand. 😀

    • 128 VampirePamsGirl
      February 4, 2010 at 12:14 pm

      I know! I was so happy when I saw that number! I’m so freaking proud for Sookierverseblog!

      “Our little zoo is growing” hehe. 😀

    • February 4, 2010 at 1:46 pm

      Our little zoo is definitely growing! It’s awesome! 😉

      Things have gone batshit crazy around here in the last month. Lucky hubby is a computer geek. We’re going to have to move away from free wordpress soon, but he’s on it 😉

      • 130 Kristen
        February 4, 2010 at 9:48 pm

        Check out Joomla… I just built two new sites on it and it’s AWESOME… or just purchase a great WordPress template (like maybe $25-$50) and set-up your own domain. Hosting is as cheap as like $10 a month or less!

        BUT, when you move, make sure and give us all advance notice as you’re in my “To Check Daily” bookmarks! Right beside Skarsgardnews.com!!! =)

  26. 131 Hookah
    February 4, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Morning all…yeah-it can only get bigger..viewership/fandom is growing exponentially inbetween Seasons 2/3 as people hear all the raves & are catching the Seasons on Demand or through other nefarious measures 😉 There are 5 of us in my “group” at work that have all just Watched both..because none of us had HBO but were all Twidorks & wanted to see this one too. Sooo glad I finally got to!! The Viking has given me a new reason to smile!!

  27. 132 VikingLover
    February 5, 2010 at 4:11 am

    By the way SVB, thanks for fanning the flames of my addiction. I didn’t think I could do it but I went back to continue reading the “Eric” fanfic story and NOW I CAN’T STOP! WHY GOD WHY?!? I’m totally hooked! It is really, really, really good!! CH could be sitting on a gold mine because I would pay her handsomely if she rewrote the books in Eric’s POV.

    • February 5, 2010 at 5:24 am

      It’s really fabulous. Almost exactly the kinds of things I had imagined him thinking. I mean, she got the motivations down so exactly right. I was like, yes, exactly, why can’t she (Sookie) see what’s so plain to the rest of us?

      • 134 VikingLover
        February 8, 2010 at 12:03 am

        [It’s really fabulous. Almost exactly the kinds of things I had imagined him thinking. I mean, she got the motivations down so exactly right. I was like, yes, exactly, why can’t she (Sookie) see what’s so plain to the rest of us?]

        Carastick, you are so right. I just read her version of Book 4 (from Eric’s POV). It’s so beautiful! I cried like the dork that I am. 🙂

      • 135 walgigi
        February 8, 2010 at 1:54 am

        [I was like, yes, exactly, why can’t she (Sookie) see what’s so plain to the rest of us?]

        Because she is always lying to herself as a way to potect herself from emotional pain (bottom line and easiest way to say it, because the psychological explanation is far too long).

  28. 136 Hookah
    February 5, 2010 at 5:01 am

    Yes! Like Midnight Sun!! So much more interesting through Edwards head! Fanfic huh? Gawd-I def don’t need any more addictions!! I better not….*biting nails*

    • 137 VikingLover
      February 5, 2010 at 5:05 am

      Don’t do it Girl (YES DO IT CAUSE IT’S SOOOOO GOOD!)! LOL

      I loved Midnight Sun!!! I really hope she finishes that damned thing.

    • 138 VampirePamsGirl
      February 5, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      There is some absolutely awesome fan fiction out there for both True Blood/Southern Vampire Mysteries and especially for Twilight. There have even been a lot of fan versions of Midnight Sun picking up where SM left off. Some are really, really, really good reads and some extremely talented authors, but it is definitely addicting so beware! 🙂

  29. 139 Hookah
    February 5, 2010 at 5:53 am

    Somehow I think we’ll have to be grateful for what we got..don’t think SM will finish it. Pfft..she doesn’t have to work another day in her life..and there’s still 2-3 movies!! But Def-Eric’s head would be an interesting place to be 🙂

  30. 143 Hookah
    February 8, 2010 at 6:02 am

    haha..ya’ll are so naughty 😉 I was talking books!! Eric POV..now if you wanna get me started on some other body parts..Satan in a beautiful MF Sunday Hat..that’s all I’m sayin


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,642 hits since October 2009

