05
Feb
10

Hello….Debbie Pelt? Really??

The black-haired woman I’d pegged for Debbie was wearing a gold silk blouse and skintight brown leather pants, with boots…
..Her own straight black hair had been cut in asymmetrical clumps, tiny locks of different lengths, making her look a little like a dog in a very good show, maybe an Afghan. Her narrow face increased the resemblance.
Club Dead

And from that, somehow we are getting…this.

Isn’t she…..what’s the word I’m looking for here?

Cute?

Yes, that’s it. She’s “cute”.

DEBBIE PELT IS NOT FUCKING CUTE, ALAN!

OK Alan, you did it. You shocked me. You surprised me. Actually you damn near left me speechless.

I am moving on to other news before my head implodes.

And in other news, Eric will be groping the boobs of some waitress.

[BUXOM SWEDISH SERVANT GIRL] Female, 20’s, Attractive. This servant girl is seen in a flash back to 900 AD with Eric (ALEXANDER SKARSGARD). Eric kisses her passionately and fondles her breasts. ROLE HAS NO LINES AND WILL REQUIRE PARTIAL TOPLESS NUDITY

I have no issue with Eric having sex scenes with random women. He is a vampire and that’s what vampires do. I have no issue with them setting Eric up to be a player, even in life, because he is. He’s not attached to anyone and he’s hot as hell so he’s allowed to be.

So fine, play this up but can we please see something redeeming about him? Would it kill them to throw us a bone here?

Source: SpoilerTV


81 Responses to “Hello….Debbie Pelt? Really??”


  1. 1 walgigi
    February 5, 2010 at 2:33 am

    more PFFFFFFFF (please, send me the straightjacket…)

  2. 2 Suki
    February 5, 2010 at 2:36 am

    Well, I do have issue with Eric having random sex. One of the reasons Charlaine Harris wrote Eric to be so perfect for Sookie is because he puts her above other women. She alludes to Eric’s conquests, but we never actually read about any specific rivals for Sookie. (As opposed to Selah, Portia, Lorena in Bill’s life.) It’s one thing to be aware of a character’s ability to be with other women but entirely something else to witness a rude, womanizing grope. Mr. Ball is determined to kill Eric’s status as a romantic lead. Why would Sookie want a pig like that?

    • 3 Kealeagh
      February 5, 2010 at 2:39 am

      Well we don’t know that Sookie will ever find out about Yvetta (Lord I hope she doesn’t) and this Buxom Swedish Servant Girl is way far in his past. If they DO start having Eric like, hit on women or whatever in front of Sookie, then I have a VERY big problem with that.

      • 4 Suki
        February 5, 2010 at 2:50 am

        What kills Eric’s status is not Sookie’s witnessing his behavior, but the reader’s/viewer’s seeing it. We lose our interest in his “getting the girl” if we don’t think he deserves her.

        And yes, this particular groping incident is way in his past (but indicates an inherent disrespect for women and really could serve no other purpose). But…spoiler alert…the stripper he has a sexual relationship in Fangtasia in our current time will seal the deal for viewers that he is indeed a pig and unworthy of our herione (not that she’s such a catch these days either, thanks to Mr. Ball). Poor Alexander Skarsgard has spent two years telling the press that Eric is intrigued by Sookie because she’s so different, and now his character is suddenly (after a thousand years) blinded by a great pair of boobs. Yeah, he’s pretty evolved.

        • 5 walgigi
          February 5, 2010 at 2:55 am

          [What kills Eric’s status is not Sookie’s witnessing his behavior, but the reader’s/viewer’s seeing it. We lose our interest in his “getting the girl” if we don’t think he deserves her.]

          You hit the nail by it’s head. That’s AB’s purpose. no more, no less. And I agree completely with ALL you just write here.

        • 6 Kealeagh
          February 5, 2010 at 2:59 am

          Good point, good point. Sigh.

    • February 5, 2010 at 3:27 am

      I see what you’re saying Suki, and to an extent I wholeheartedly agree.

      What I don’t like about this is that it’s making him out to be a manwhore and as you correctly point out, that effects audience perception of him as a love interest. I hate that.

      But I also think we have to be careful not to paint Eric with the same brush that Ball is currently painting Bill.

      At this point in the books, Eric was having sex with other women. We didn’t see it because Sookie didn’t see it – not because he was especially making an effort not to parade it under her nose in the beginning.

      Charlaine has definitely kept it off the page for a reason (since as you point out Bill has been through a few women Sookie knows of), but she makes it clear as late as book 5 that it was happening – but by this stage Sookie was fishing to find out about it (“Go back to Shreveport and have a good time with your boss” – to Felicia).

      I don’t believe it’s happening now – I think he probably stopped whoring around in book 5 or six, and most definitely by the time he regained his memory in book 8. But we’re looking at his character after nine books of development, and True Blood is still dealing with an Eric whose interest is piqued and not much more.

      Honestly, I would rather see Eric acting like a vampire, than Bill acting like a pussy whipped human husband.

      I can see some potential for setting up Eric as a tomcat (“wherever I am, there will be women”) and then questioning that behaviour as he gets closer to Sookie. I know, delusional probably and most likely they’re just going to show him as a tomcat, end of story.

      I guess that comes back to what I said in the post about giving him some redeeming characteristics – otherwise he *will* just come off as a “rude, womanising grope”.

      • 8 VikingLover
        February 5, 2010 at 3:42 am

        Yes! I agree 100%, SVB.

      • 9 Suki
        February 5, 2010 at 3:42 am

        I sure hope you’re right about Eric’s questioning his behavior and turning around. But Alan Ball’s constant referral to Eric as a “bad boy,” makes me less optimistic than you are.

        • 10 VikingLover
          February 5, 2010 at 3:46 am

          Yeah, but don’t forget that CH says the same thing. I think AB is as much full of shit in that regard as CH. I think he’s going to become the “reformed” Badboy on TB.

          • 11 Suki
            February 5, 2010 at 3:49 am

            ohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplease

          • 12 walgigi
            February 5, 2010 at 4:24 am

            Well, I’m also less optimistic because he is actually just a regular and not one of the lead roles in TB. AB left his character out (and even made secondary characters from the books as Tara, Sam and Jason as leads just as a way to marginalize Eric character on his show). He could “grow” in personality, and will have “something” with Sookie because AB always said he is a fan of “E/S sexual attraction”. But he just describes it as a sexual attraction, contrary to his way to describe B/S relationship as truuue loooove… meh!

            • 13 VikingLover
              February 5, 2010 at 4:52 am

              Well true but technically Eric didn’t really become a lead in the books until Book 3. Sort of similar to what is happening here with TB, I think. I still think (hope/pray) that this is all very calculated. There’s too much foreshadowing going on for it to just be about sex. In almost every scene Eric has had there has been some mention about not understanding having “feelings for humans”, they always show some reaction he has about Bill and Sookie, and also that whole Sophie Ann scene where she tells Eric that he’s probably in-love with Sookie too and he says “I do not love humans”. I don’t know Girl, I don’t think it’s going to be just about sex.

              I still think AB is full of shit and is keeping his cards close to the vest.

              • 14 Stef
                February 5, 2010 at 1:14 pm

                Well, I’m going to remain optimistic until I see it become the clusterfuck the show is turning out to be. But I agree with SVB that there has to be times when he’s been with other women in the books. He does have needs (as SVB has so eloquently put out there before). I guess the main point of the books is to show how much Eric has evolved in the short time he has known Sookie (mainly for Sookie’s benefit–but also for himself, in a way). And maybe–by some miniscule chance–AB will eventually be leading up to that in TB. He has to show some jumping-off points that lead Eric to his destiny of being with Sookie. And, as we all have probably experienced with men in the real world, we sometimes don’t want to know about the pasts that our men may have led (although sometimes secretly we do). But people can change, despite their past. And i’m sure CH’s true motive in the books is to show that even Eric (a thousand-year-old vampire who’s seen and done it all) can change.

              • 15 sunnynala
                February 5, 2010 at 4:13 pm

                “I do not love humans”.

                Eric KNOWS Sookie is more than human. I think he loves her, right now, but that is jmo.

                I love it that we will get to see the lusty, full of life Viking fighting and fucking, eating, drinking, loving…LEIF, the thing Eric loves the most. It’s not shocking to hear he tumbled buxom servant girls, it would be shocking if he didn’t.

            • 16 walgigi
              February 5, 2010 at 3:16 pm

              VL you have a valid point when said that his interest in Sookie isn’t all sex. It’s also valid and true, as Steff said, that he has needs. And I know that Eric and Sookie will have a romantic involment at some point on the show. As well as she will have some with Alcide, too.

              But even if AB would HAVE to eventually raise Eric status to be a lead because of his character and Skars popularity, his purpose about B/S as the lead couple is very clear. I personally lost ALL my hopes (yeah, that lil tiny hope I also had about E/S as a lead couple) after I saw the more than 120 pics by Episode on the new HBO official site of TB. Quoting myself from another post about the only Eric’s pics I could found after 24 episodes:
              ___
              1- S1:04 Escape from Dragon’s House – Eric and Pam escaping by Fangtasia’s back door
              2- S1:09 Plaisir D’Amour – Bill with Eric, Pam and Chow at his house (its the worst quality pic in all the whole HBO site)
              3- S1:09 Plaisir D’Amour – Bill and Sookie outside at Merlott’s with blurry Eric, Pam and Chow at their background
              4- S1:11 To Love is to Bury – Jessica at the door with COMPLETELY blurry Bill and Eric at the background
              5- S2:16 Shake and Fingerpop – Eric leaned on Lafayette’s window (I can swear with my hand over a Bible it’s the worst pic I ever see of him, and in fact, it is the only one where he is alone)
              6- S2:20 Timebomb – Eric and Sookie in the middle of the FoTS hall
              7- S2:21 I Will Rise Up – Eric and Godric at the roof with blury Sookie at their background

              Discarding the ones where he is blurry at the background, you can find 5 pics of him. No pic of Eric in Fangtasia when Sookie saw him for the first time, no pic of Eric when Sookie was making the investigation in Fangtasia, not an Eric pic from “Scratches”, the bullet sucking, or the dreams, not even a single close up. NADA. And when I could find there at least 3 pics of LongShadow alone, 2 of the magister, 3 of Hugo, 3 of Karl!?!?!, and like 8 of Eggs (*roll eyes) I have to admit that True Blood (using their own Nan Flannagan’s words) is a fucking fiasco.
              ___

              And judging by the selected pics to be feature by epi, I couldn’t find that AB (using Stef own words) “has show some jumping-off points that lead Eric to his destiny of being with Sookie”.

              • 17 Stef
                February 5, 2010 at 4:44 pm

                HAHA…way to rain on my optimistic parade Gigi:) Love ya anyways!

                • 18 walgigi
                  February 5, 2010 at 5:48 pm

                  OMG hahah!! As I always says is better to laugh Steffy. Seriously, you don’t have an idea how though is for me to remain “emotionaly sane” as I’m watching how that bitch of AB is killing Eric character 😦 .

                  I hate him… I do.

                  • 19 Maria
                    February 5, 2010 at 6:05 pm

                    Look at what he’s done to Sookie. I think she is so annoying. Even people that I’ve gotten into the show can’t stand her. AB can’t even get the main character right.

              • 20 VikingLover
                February 6, 2010 at 4:49 am

                Yeah, I can definitely understand where you’re coming from and it is disappointing. For me though, and I could be totally wrong and it’s just my opinion, when I look at those stills, they only make me feel like they are just indicative of the role Eric played in S1 and S2. He didn’t really become a major player until mid-end of S2. In my opinion though, looking back at S1 now together with the clips from S2, I’m starting to believe he was going to be a major player all along. I think the stills after S3 will definitely showcase more Eric.

                It could also be that they are being careful not to give away too much. If they showed more intimate E/S scenes (or more Eric scenes period) they’d basically be telling us the direction they are planning to take the story in. I mean we know that they’re going to show more Eric and that Eric’s fascination with Sookie will grow because they’ve said that much, but we’re still pretty much in the dark as to where it’s all freaking going. Same as the books I guess. Twisty f***kers! 🙂

                And because I’m a TOTAL optimist right now and am praying for the best, I think the scenes they showed are significant and are some jumping off points (to Steph’s point). This is my take:

                1- S1:04 Escape from Dragon’s House – Eric and Pam escaping by Fangtasia’s back door – the first time they find out Sookie is a telepath and Eric pretty much tells her he’ll see her again to use her abilities. Now she’s thrust into the Supe world full force and her association with our lovely Eric begins. Jumping off point 1 – the relationship begins!

                2- S1:09 Plaisir D’Amour – Bill with Eric, Pam and Chow at his house (its the worst quality pic in all the whole HBO site) – taking Bill to the tribunal because Bill broke a vamp law. He killed another vamp for a human – which is a big deal and (in my opinion) basically teaches us, the audience, that because vamps feel superior to humans this is a rare action, that Bill’s actions were REALLY unusual for a vampire (in my opinion foreshadowing of his mission from the Queen) and of course, that Eric is the Sheriff and must uphold the law/deliver vamp justice. Jumping off point 2: Something is wrong with Bill and Eric is behaving the way a vampire is “supposed” to behave. Not a bad guy, just vampire.

                By the way, I really feel this was also an excuse for why TB Eric did not stake Longshadow. In TB world, this wouldn’t have made sense – it would be very unusual for a 1000+ year old vampire, who has felt superior to humans for centuries, and is charged with upholding the law, to do something like that no matter how much he may have been intrigued.

                3- S1:09 Plaisir D’Amour – Bill and Sookie outside at Merlott’s with blurry Eric, Pam and Chow at their background – Yeah, yeah, this is a total B/S scene BUT it’s also one of my favorite Eric scenes because while Bill and Sookie are saying their gross, cheesy, teen flick goodbyes, Pam tells Eric “if I had any feelings I’d have chills right now” then Eric replies “Not me”. Then as they are leaving, he turns around to look at Sookie. Jumping off point 3: obvious foreshadowing that Eric will develop feelings for Sookie.

                4- S1:11 To Love is to Bury – Jessica at the door with COMPLETELY blurry Bill and Eric at the background – this is all about Jessica so I don’t care. 🙂 Although, Bill gives Jessica to Eric because he doesn’t want her to interfere with his mission (foreshadowing of deception) and he almost lets that slip in front of Eric. Jumping off point 4: Bill’s a twisty f***ker whereas Eric will develop genuine intrigue/feelings for Sookie.

                5- S2:16 Shake and Fingerpop – Eric leaned on Lafayette’s window (I can swear with my hand over a Bible it’s the worst pic I ever see of him, and in fact, it is the only one where he is alone) – Jumping off point 5: Eric’s intrigue with Sookie is growing. He finds what is meaningful to her curious. Really Obvious Foreshadowing.

                6- S2:20 Timebomb – Eric and Sookie in the middle of the FoTS hall – Jumping off point 6: This is ALL E/S. The whole damned thing. Some of the best E/S foreshadow scenes ever! I love it!

                7- S2:21 I Will Rise Up – Eric and Godric at the roof with blury Sookie at their background – One of the best and most significant scenes ever! HUGE Jumping off point: Sookie (and we) see another side of Eric, we learn that Eric is not really inherently evil he was just taught “there is no right or wrong only survival or death”, that he can be unselfish and put someone else before himself and is willing to die for someone he cares for, and – the number 1 reason I love this scene – because he allowed Sookie (a human) to witness it all. That, to me, is a huge deal. I loved that whole damned storyline.

                Anyway, maybe I’m delusional but I need something to hang on to damn it! 🙂 Sorry for the long post, I think I got carried away!

                • 21 walgigi
                  February 6, 2010 at 3:13 pm

                  [Anyway, maybe I’m delusional but I need something to hang on to damn it! Sorry for the long post, I think I got carried away!]

                  HAHAHHA No dear, you aren’t delusional, but as you said, you need something to hang on. You don’t need to excuse for the lenght either because you need to express, and my posts most of the time has the lenght of the first chaper of a book, too LOL. We aren’t competing, we are sharing opinions, and even when we do not share the same, it doesn’t means your opinion isn’t as valid as mine… and I respect it (the only individual in this world that doesn’t deserves my respect is AB LOL). 😛

                  • 22 VikingLover
                    February 6, 2010 at 5:26 pm

                    LOL! Thanks Walgigi! I was trying to find an ‘edit’ button so I could cut it down but it was too late! Hahahaha! Geez, I’m completely obsessed. 🙂

                  • February 9, 2010 at 4:39 pm

                    Continue to oscillate between hope and hopeless here, but after reading through the posts…perhaps the future plans for Eric becoming the Eric from the book contributed to ABs initial disappointment when he confirmed AP/SMs real-life relationship??? And how will that affect the movement of the E/S storyline?

      • February 6, 2010 at 12:49 pm

        ****SPOILERS****
        I still have hope for Eric’s character on TB and the ability of the creators of the show to redeem him IF THEY CHOOSE TO…because: a) even AB will have to be responsive to the will of the viewership. and b) Eric was made vampire in early 20s…his wife was handed to him by his brother’s death and he was in process of “arranging” another after her death…many a boy in their early 20s have yet to experience true love, learn to control their emotions, or grow out of a party and conquest lifestyle. It could be that the show could evolve around the growth of Eric from this lusty admiration to something substantial.

        Okay, I lied. I don’t have hope. I have understanding of possibility, but don’t have any faith at all in AB seeing it the same way.

      • 25 Mia
        February 7, 2010 at 9:59 am

        [Charlaine has definitely kept it off the page for a reason (since as you point out Bill has been through a few women Sookie knows of), but she makes it clear as late as book 5 that it was happening – but by this stage Sookie was fishing to find out about it (“Go back to Shreveport and have a good time with your boss” – to Felicia).]

        I really have to re-read these books. I never picked up on that sentence in that way, and it hadn’t occured to me that Pam sent Felicia to make Sookie jealous either.

        [I can see some potential for setting up Eric as a tomcat (“wherever I am, there will be women”) and then questioning that behaviour as he gets closer to Sookie. I know, delusional probably and most likely they’re just going to show him as a tomcat, end of story.]

        I really hope you are right that they’re building Eric so you can see a change in him – as long as he doesn’t become a blonde Bill in the Sookie-you-are-my-miracle-I-will-atone-for-you-vampires-are-bad kind of way.

        It’s too bad book characters can’t sue for defamation. Book Eric, Sookie, Bill, Sophie Ann, Hadley and maybe Jason would have a good case.

        • February 8, 2010 at 10:10 pm

          Although, I must say…I kind of like TB Jason better than book Jason. As least he has some redeeming qualities. Hard to believe that book Sookie and book Jason came from the same household!!! TB Jason is just dumb, but at least he is entertaining as hell!

  3. 27 skadi
    February 5, 2010 at 2:39 am

    It’s not how I imagined Debbie Pelt. What’re the chances they’ll give her the awful haircut? slim to none, I bet.

    I think the buxom swedish girl is something of a red herring. One drunken, post battle feast amongst a bunch of Viking warriors could easily lead to some lusty groping/kissing and not much else. Or if it’s after he’s made vampire, maybe she’s his first meal.

    Either way, release that little tease of information and it’s bound to provoke a reaction amongst fans. Perhaps they’re being more coy about sharing any details that might show him in a redeeming light because they want it to be more of a surprise? (for those who’re purely viewers, I mean) A girl can hope, huh?

  4. 28 Kealeagh
    February 5, 2010 at 2:40 am

    Plus, I must be like 8 years old becaues I giggled like a loon at “Eric kisses her passionately and fondles her breasts. ROLE HAS NO LINES AND WILL REQUIRE PARTIAL TOPLESS NUDITY” WHAAAT!? LMAO.

  5. 29 walgigi
    February 5, 2010 at 2:47 am

    Actually she looks more like Sookie than AP… *roll eyes*

  6. February 5, 2010 at 2:51 am

    I could totally pass for a Swedish Wench… if you dyed may hair blonde, gave me a WonderBra, and put a small tub of mead in my hand. I selflessly offer myself for the part, to be bandied thoughtlessly about by said Viking Prince, groped and whatnot. (Don’t worry, I’ll suffer through it.) This way, I can have hope of being penetrated – uh… I mean, so as I can penetrate the set all stealthy and such. I would totally sneak into Alan Ball’s trailer while he’s asleep and put an iPod on him that only plays a steady stream of “Dead to the World” and various other highlights of Eric’s virtue, to better educate him. Upon completion of that task, I will go to ASkars’ trailer to ensure that he remains hopeful and buoyed during this trying time for his character.

    I have absolutely nothing to personally gain from this proposition.

    • 35 Suki
      February 5, 2010 at 2:56 am

      Lena, you are such a selfless woman.

    • 36 walgigi
      February 5, 2010 at 2:59 am

      Selfless and sacrificial… lol

    • 37 VampirePamsGirl
      February 5, 2010 at 3:01 am

      LOL @Lena. I was just thinking the same thing myself about that casting call. I’m a buxom, female in my 20s, and I’m sure they’ve got enough make-up and tricks to help the attractive thing, lol. Course though I’d have to dye my hair too as it’s really black. But I could totally serve Eric…. umm be a serving girl, lol. 😀

    • 39 ksr
      February 10, 2010 at 2:04 pm

      Okey, then… Girls, I’ll help you with that. Just last weekend I made a shoping, so there 3 unused WonderBras (I even didn’t cut off labels) in my clothes-press, so you are welcome…
      As far as I’m a little bit over ‘female in my 20s’ so to speak I’ll play Eric’s stepmam (cause I’m sure that ‘female at her 30s’ is too young to be Eric’s mother)! Don’t you mind? I can console a boy after his royalty conversation with his dad, clasp him to my bosom, and dry up his man’s poor tears and give him some advises how to behave with women!

  7. 40 Maria
    February 5, 2010 at 3:05 am

    I don’t really care what she looks like…I think the V addiction is weird. She was crazy enough in the books all on her own.

  8. 41 VampirePamsGirl
    February 5, 2010 at 3:05 am

    I’m really not that fussed about the servant girl casting call. I guess it’s cause I’m thinking of the era that this scene is supposed to be taking place in. Like Skadi said, if the scene takes place in a drunken, post-battle type thing, it’s all good. It would probably bother me more if it wasn’t taking place in the Viking era, but since it is it just seems kinda natural to me.

    As for Debbie Pelt, well, I’m just gonna treat it like I usually do with the casting and see how it plays out on the screen. I admit it’s not quite what I picture for Debbie Pelt either, but maybe they can make it work. Like with Alcide, I’m reserving my opinion for now.

    • 42 Suki
      February 5, 2010 at 3:18 am

      [It would probably bother me more if it wasn’t taking place in the Viking era]

      Well, just to make sure this isn’t dismissed as a “natural” Viking occurence, Mr. Ball has plans for Eric’s pig-like behvior in the present as well.

      • 43 VampirePamsGirl
        February 5, 2010 at 3:25 am

        Lol. Shhh. I’m trying to be hopeful for one night. I’m blocking Yvetta and all the other stuff from my mind for now. 😉

      • 47 walgigi
        February 5, 2010 at 3:38 am

        The fact that it’s going to happing in his younger years as a human is the way to root it as a characteristic of his personality, because after more than a thousand years, he is still doing the same behavior. It’s just more of the same thing they did at the first flashback, when he was dying and his men didn’t wanted to leave him. They told him about the gods awaiting for him with a party with gold, meat and beers, and one of them asked: And women? Will there be women? And dying Eric answered them: “Wherever I am, there will always be women”. AB is just “reinforcing” his personality….

  9. 49 AJ
    February 5, 2010 at 3:23 am

    No. Just no. That is not Debbie Pelt. I picture Debbie Pelt as a fierce Naomi Campbell type. Things like this make me very concerned for the upcoming season.

    Lena – I am in total support of your sacrificial efforts.

  10. 50 VikingLover
    February 5, 2010 at 3:35 am

    LMAO Lena! You should be canonized for such selfless actions. 🙂

    [Either way, release that little tease of information and it’s bound to provoke a reaction amongst fans. Perhaps they’re being more coy about sharing any details that might show him in a redeeming light because they want it to be more of a surprise? (for those who’re purely viewers, I mean) A girl can hope, huh?]

    I think so too because otherwise, what the hell was the point of S2: the roof scene, the church scene where he offers to sacrifice himself for both Godric and Sookie, the dream sequences, etc. It just doesn’t make sense otherwise.

  11. 51 Hookah
    February 5, 2010 at 4:20 am

    Erm..yeah-DP is a psychotic evil bitch..this little Pollyanna does not fit my image of that 😦 Well-maybe they’re planning a total transformation? Remember nobody wanted Cedric to be Edward either..worked out okay. And Lena, I will totally be your wingman!! I am bodacious & open to fondling..so if somehow you were to get knocked out on the way to Askars trailer, I would make sure he was taken care of!! I would do that for you 😉

    • 52 Suki
      February 5, 2010 at 4:26 am

      Look what great teamwork we’re demonstrating here! It really warms my heart to see you girls working together to make sure AS gets everything he needs. And, in the spirit of this sisterhood, I’ll be there to make certain nothing happens to either of you on the way to his trailer as well. (You know, like getting accidentally bonked on the head, tied up, and stashed in the wardrobe trailer.)

  12. 53 Hookah
    February 5, 2010 at 4:39 am

    HeHe..in fact-I will go in ahead of time to make sure there’s nothing illegal/crazy going on in there! *first dibs* I don’t want you girls getting into trouble-plus I want to make sure Askars is in the best mood possible for your visit 😉 Wow-ok..cold shower..back on topic..I don’t think Eric is a bad guy per se (any more than a vamp normally is). I think he was a warrior & men in that timeperiod weren’t especially sympathetic to women..they were there to bake/bone/bear children. He was a product of his time-and yeah, I’m sure in a 1000 yrs I could rack up a whole lot of questionable behavior-but Eric is slowly being affected by Sookie, which is baffling to him-as he’s never seen women like that. Up until now, his life has been almost like 1 big bender..although sans alcohol. With that much time on your hands, it’s probably more of a “why not? Kill some time” kinda activity..going through the motions. With Sook, it’s become something more..I have 100%faith they will not totally fuck us & make him a douche!! Otherwise we will replace “Eric Sex on a Stick” with “AB’s Dick on a Stick”

  13. 54 nskars
    February 5, 2010 at 9:52 am

    She looks nothing like Debbie Pelt but stranger things have happened.

  14. 55 Janofarc
    February 5, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    That’s not Debbie Pelt.

    As for the serving wench – maybe they’re showing ‘old Eric’ and ‘new Eric’? Old Eric would grope women with one hand and drink with the other and have meaningless sex with employees but New Eric wants something more. Yvetta may be a transitional phase for the viking, whatever he’s looking for she doesn’t fulfil it and he realises that Sookie is what he wants?

  15. 58 JBdRone
    February 5, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    I just hope they give Debbie that tacky hair cut as described in the book.

  16. 59 walgigi
    February 5, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    BTW… Did anyone notice that HBO/TB rearanges again his Talk Area (forum) to left Eric Northman thread in the latest pages? (OF course, with the other actors threads… yeah…) It was the first thread because is the most commented and visited since January, and in February they decided to change the format again? If people don’t know how to select to read the threads by the most commented, they have to check page by page. Some are already ranting b/c are completely lost trying to find it…

    • 60 Mia
      February 7, 2010 at 10:39 am

      I noticed that today, and I was wondering where it went. The new HBO forum is my favorite train wreck right now, but I only pop in once a week or two hoping against hope that they restore the old boards. The volume of duplicate threads is discouraging too, but I don’t blame the people who create them since it is hard to find things in there.

  17. February 6, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Not the DP I had pictured…but AP doesn’t match my pic of Sookie, either.

    Would like for us to stop referring to TB as fanfic…since SVB has now gotten me totally hooked on the fanfic sites, I must say that calling TB fanfic is insulting to fanfic since most of it really stays so true the nature of the characters!

    • February 6, 2010 at 12:47 pm

      Ha Holby keep looking around…there is some absolutely abominable, tragic, tacky, god-awful fanfic out there as well. Reader Beware!

      I have read some stuff that makes AB’s decimation pale in comparison.

    • 64 walgigi
      February 6, 2010 at 2:31 pm

      In fact, AP looks more like Debbie, too. AB almost achieved Debbie hairstyle here and only needs to dye her hair to black HAHAHHA:

      (O.M.G… her grimaces are so annoying…)

      • 65 Janofarc
        February 6, 2010 at 3:53 pm

        Debbie had a really wierd hairdo in the books didn’t she? I think the bigger question is will she still be engaged to a were-owl? (A were-owl? REALLY charlaine?)

        • 66 walgigi
          February 7, 2010 at 12:35 am

          Given the fact that she isn’t going to be a were-linx, but a “beefy werewolf” using V… 🙄 , I don’t see why AB would like to engange her with a were-owl (and he also showed Sam as an owl, so I don’t think so). But who knows? In a story where Alcide’s sister Janice will be a tomboy werewolf biker into new age stuff, you can expect anything… (who knows, maybe she’ll be Pam’s lover 🙄 again). For me the biggest question is will Debbie be interested in having sex with Eric and will put “the amnesia spell” over him if he refuses? If she will also be “Hallow”, that means AB’s Alcide comes from the premise that he’s also under some spell from Debbie?

  18. 67 VikingLover
    February 6, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    I think Parker Posey would make a great Debbie Pelt:

    • February 6, 2010 at 6:37 pm

      @VL…you are soooo good. That is really what I pictured as I read (except with a stupid haircut!)

      Off topic…Johnathan Rhys Meyer as Claude???

      • 69 VikingLover
        February 6, 2010 at 6:54 pm

        Thanks Holby! Oooooh Jonathan Rhys Meyer would be gooooood! Check it out:

        • 70 Stef
          February 7, 2010 at 12:21 am

          OOOHH YEAH!!…Love JRM! He would be perfect! Man, if he were on the show too, no matter what a clusterfuck it turns out to be–I would still be glued to the tv! Well, I’m kinda glued already (and practically licking the tv) since ASkars is on it. 😛

          • 71 Stef
            February 7, 2010 at 12:27 am

            BTW…Still disappointed that Henry Cavill wasn’t cast as Alcide…I still think that role was made for him!! 😦 Anyone that hasn’t seen ‘The Tudors’..you better get on that! 🙂 Final Season is starting in April…just in time to watch to hold you over fot TB in June!

            • 72 lkc
              February 7, 2010 at 5:25 am

              I just finished watching season 1 and 2 on DVD and LOVING it. Running out to get season 3 tomorrow. JRM and especially Henry Cavill are my 2 new addictions. JRM would be perfect as Claude.

              As I have been watching the Tudors these last couple of weeks I keep thinking it is everything TB is not. A great ensemble cast. All the storylines flow together and make sense as a whole. It is visually beautiful and the costumes-amazing. It follows history but they have certainly taken some major liberties but it is not distracting and makes sense!

  19. 73 stephernutter
    February 7, 2010 at 12:22 am

    If they dye her hair black and give her a choppy haircut I guess it could work for Debbie.

    I made my friend watch True Blood (and got him hooked!), but as I was watching season 1 with him I noticed the vampire at the tribunal who pulled out the other vamp’s fangs. THAT’S kinda what I expected for Debbie Pelt. I always kinda got the feeling that she was attractive, but with really sharp features. And “crazy” eyes.

    Sigh. I keep holding out hope that AB knows what he’s doing. He’s making it really difficult for me.

  20. 74 Dan
    February 9, 2010 at 8:23 am

    I have not read the interviews Charlaine has given and find it incredulous when you guys tell me she has publicly claimed Eric was a ruthless killer and womanizer.  Since there are zero examples of either behavior in the SVM, one can easily draw the conclusion she says these things to make Alan Ball happy.   So he can defend his bullshit portrayal of Eric by saying “Charlaine is on record stating Eric is no boyscout”. Yeah she might not mind BSing a reporter while not altering the books to suit HBO.   I think as the viewership of the show draws more readers into the books, say 50 to 60. %, then Ball will get away with less bullshit.  Personally, I hope the show flops and gets cancelled before the asshole fucks it up even more.

  21. 79 VikingLover
    February 9, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Gigi, has CH always said that about the Eric character or is this something new?

    • 80 walgigi
      February 9, 2010 at 1:08 pm

      To my best knowledge, the first time she said it was last november at the radio interview.

      • 81 VikingLover
        February 10, 2010 at 1:49 pm

        It’s nice that CH engages her fans but I agree with Aine, CH really should just shut up at this point. She’s a great writer but she apparently lacks a “PR” gene. If she does choose to respond to questions from fans, her responses should be filtered through a PR person.

        I really hope that her descriptions of Eric are not a preview of things to come. I don’t think it would fly with fans if she chose to deconstruct the character at this stage of the game just to take him out of the “suitor” running. Making him “bad” all of a sudden (or over the course of the next couple of books) would be ridiculous and wouldn’t make sense when you factor all that has been written so far. I think she would piss off a lot of readers – we’d all feel messed with after she has manipulated us into falling in-love with him to begin with. Ugh, I hope she doesn’t mess with Eric!


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other subscribers

find me

Archives

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 530,244 hits since October 2009