26
Feb
10

Just sayin’

[MA shows up in Gran’s wedding dress]
S: “You have no right to wear that dress!”.
MA: “I know I should have asked, but I couldn’t find you!
You’ll probably never use it anyway.”

S: “I’ve dreamed of this since I was a girl…and in my dreams, I always say “yes”.
B: “Then it ought to be easy”.
S: “Then why can’t I say it?”

108 Responses to “Just sayin’”


  1. 1 Barbara
    February 26, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    A little slip of a premonition there? *wink wink nudge nudge*

  2. February 26, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Cuz your lady bits are screamin for Eric dumbass!!! HaHa..besides-she won’t be wearing that dress for sure now..it’s all full of demon blood/funk..oh and has a big hole in the middle from the goring 😉

  3. 4 sunnynala
    February 26, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    That dress was totally NOT Maryann. It was so coservative and old fashioned, the very antithesis of MA. In Bill’s book, the maenad was bare breasted. Just sayin’, lol.

  4. 5 Holby
    February 26, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    Based on TB Adele, and even book Adele (who was a small woman), this dress should have been tea length on Maryann. Just sayin…

  5. 6 Kealeagh
    February 26, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    Episode 3.06 is called “What Do You Know About Love?” We know it’s when Bill escapes or whatever Alan Ball will come up with — so my prediction? THE DESTRUCTION OF BILL AND SOOKIE!! MUAHAHAHAHAHAAH!

    • 7 Tracey
      March 3, 2010 at 5:39 am

      i would be interestin to see Bill and Sookie get married in vermont. Exspecailly if S/E do eventually happen in TB.

  6. 8 prettyvikingchains
    February 26, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    As much as I hated the MA storyline, she did have a few words of predictive wisdom. Of course she’s the one that realizes that Sookie’s “beyond human”. When Bill & Sookie go to the house after Dallas, MA says: “Though I dare say there’s nothing stopping him from one day leaving you cold.” That one made me happy, along with the hints at Sophie Anne’s that Bill was hiding something. And then in the last episode, she tells Sookie: “Think back. Wasn’t there a time when you felt someone or something watching over you?” Claudine, maybe?

    • 9 VikingLover
      February 26, 2010 at 7:30 pm

      I agree, PVC! I love those scenes! Especially the “I dare say there’s nothing stopping him from one day leaving you cold”. Love it! They give me hope for E/S. 🙂

      • 10 prettyvikingchains
        February 26, 2010 at 8:20 pm

        Yes! It’s these kind of things that keep me optimistic that AB won’t completely fail us. I choose to believe (for my sanity) that he understands the E/S relationship & will go that route, but that he’s keeping it quiet for the shock value it will bring when it plays out.

    • 12 Tracey
      March 3, 2010 at 5:46 am

      I didnt kno wat MA meant by that. But u’ve made a very interesting observation! I liked MA’s lines. The way she told Tara’s mother off in such a classy way was great.

  7. 13 walgigi
    February 26, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    Foreshadows…

  8. February 26, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    I really hope AB doesn’t fuck this up.We alreayd saw how many things he stoll from Eric an put it to Bill(the love speach in 2.1 right now is in my mind because for anybody who has read the books and more specifically From Dead to worst you will see Bill’s speech is a copy from Eric’s) and I won’t be surprised if he doesn’t do the betrayel thing or if he does it he won’t have Bill rape Sookie and will probably make excuses for Bill about the wedding preposal that he was traying to protect her from the queen because he loves he so much.I can just imagin it happening.

    • 15 T.Rece
      February 26, 2010 at 10:11 pm

      What love speech? Did I blackout, knowing the agony of hearing Beel mutter those words was on the horizon?

      I probably heard the beginning of this little diddy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlCqfF7mwOs
      and proceded to smother myself with a pillow! Nothing is worse to me than 1:11. Literally I’m cringing at the thought. That damn love theme is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO annoying, just sayin.

      • 16 Sarah StC
        March 3, 2010 at 2:34 am

        That love theme always bothers me, too, but mostly because it’s almost exactly the same as the theme song for The Tudors.

    • 17 Tracey
      March 3, 2010 at 5:51 am

      rape isnt exciting to watch so im sure if its left out there wont be disappointments. on the other hand, bill’s arrangement will add an unexpected conflict for fans that havent read the books. in other words catchin attention and addin shock. The “want more” drive.

      • 18 VampirePamsGirl
        March 3, 2010 at 6:59 am

        I’d definitely be disappointed if the rape scene is left out. Not because I’m some kinda sicko, but because it would be just another instance where Bill does something horrible in the books and it’s compleletly changed for the show so he can remain St. Bill. JMO.

        • 19 Tracey
          March 3, 2010 at 7:19 am

          AB seems creative. If he leaves out the rape sene he’d problli replace it wit some else to turn people off towards him. Plus i don think he’d get a good flimin shot in a trunk. Im sure AB will change that sene if he doesnt omit it.

        • 20 Jo
          March 3, 2010 at 1:53 pm

          not have the scene of estrupro, if all the other wrong and ambiguous attitudes of the Bill in the books were removed, I bet with you, will not happen!
          I still do not believe he did not withdraw the edict

  9. 21 Jo
    February 26, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    Really? you have not given up on TB? Bill’s book does not compose the story, it’s there just reacting to what happens when it appears because neither the first books he is an active participant in history … or they invent something for him or play parts of Eric to the Bill.
    while Alex is credited as supporting actor nothing will change! entire TV series has its scale is vanity … leading man has more time (even as it has a relationship with the actress ‘lead’ who want to keep happy), many TV series have had serious problems with this,
    I will have E / S eventually, but will not be “epic.” Sorry for my outburst but do not expect anything of TB.

    • 22 Pogonip
      February 26, 2010 at 11:52 pm

      This is so true! As long as Skarsgard is listed in the cast as a “supporting actor” nothing good is going to happen with the scripts.

      • February 27, 2010 at 12:06 am

        I don’t think he will be this season.

        Trust me, that is the very first thing I’m going to be looking for when 3.01 airs.

      • 25 Ashley
        March 3, 2010 at 4:56 am

        i think thats going to change…i read several places not only will he have more screen time but he also got a raise which to me means he will have a larger role and will be one of several “main” characters

      • 26 Tracey
        March 3, 2010 at 6:02 am

        i disagree. Alex himself said there will be S/E soon. Plus fan want to see nake Eric wit Sookie. It’ll most likely be different from the books. Its already takin a turn – Sookie dislikes Eric in TB. time will tell.

    • 27 prettyvikingchains
      March 1, 2010 at 5:59 am

      Personally, I’m far from giving up on TB. But I was hooked on the show before I even knew about the books. I didn’t start reading until after “I Will Rise Up”. The dream sequence made me fall hard for Eric, & like I said, that’s based on the show alone. I know that if it happened to me, surely it did for many other viewers. So even if AB is in love with SM/Bill, he’s still portraying Eric in a way that can make people switch to Team Eric, even when they didn’t even know there was such a thing! Maybe I’m more open-minded about the show since I started off with it, but in general I like the differences. It keeps me on my toes & is still able to surprise me. Many of the changes that AB has made I like–keeping Lafayette, creating Jessica, Godric, not making Jason a total ass. In my mind, there are no changes that AB has made so far that are irredeemable. I certainly could be wrong, but I think that part of the reason that he has presented Eric as such a bad guy is so that his transformation will be even more dramatic. Of course, the same would be true with Bill–setting him up as such a great guy will make his fall that much further 🙂

      • 28 Kealeagh
        March 1, 2010 at 5:40 pm

        I see what you’re saying: “I think that part of the reason that he has presented Eric as such a bad guy is so that his transformation will be even more dramatic. Of course, the same would be true with Bill–setting him up as such a great guy will make his fall that much further.”

        I hope you’re right. Unfortunately, I have no faith in Alan Ball, so I hope he’s able to make it up to everyone, although, I doubt it since he’s stated he doesn’t listen to fan’s responses to the show.

      • 29 Ashley
        March 3, 2010 at 5:00 am

        Yes i think thats exactly what Alan Ball is doing…we will see a role reversal of sorts…preconceived notions will change when people see the other sides of both Bill and Eric…i havent given up and wont….i also like eric way before i read the books, and to me this proves AB is trying to sway the audience like you said…im sure there are lots of people who started liking ERic more as season 2 progressed, people who have never read the books. Its not just book readers that like Eric, and that is the way its supposed to be.

    • 30 Gigi
      March 1, 2010 at 7:37 pm

      He will be a regular in S3 but he isn’t a lead (as Tara MEH!). AB has said more than once he isn’t going to change his leads and that SM will always be the lead male actor of the series.

      • 31 Maria
        March 3, 2010 at 2:55 am

        AB saying things like that doesn’t give me much hope for the show. Bill is barely in DTTW, which season 4 should be based, so what are they going to do with his character? AB should have read all the books so he could have set the show up right.

      • 32 Kealeagh
        March 3, 2010 at 3:59 am

        OMG. When the heck did he say that?

  10. February 27, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    T.Reace the love speech in 2.1 when Bill tels her that he he loves her and hasn’t felt so sotronge for someone in 170 years.Doesn’t this remind you of someone.And I agree I abdly want E/S to happen but I don’t trust AB.For a man who has read the books and than say that Eric can’t love anyone but himself that just speaks how well he knows the characters.For example saying that Bill is a targic hero and he hasn’t known love untill he meets Sookie which is completlly false because Bill loved Lorena.I remember at the strat of season 1 how he said that Eric is probably the fans’s favpurite chracter and that he is very important.That’s why I think he is making Eric deliberatlly a villian and Bill a hero he just loves Bill so much but I don’t think he realsies that by making Bill a ”saint” he making him look worst much worst.Like in ‘Time bomb’ wneh he tells Eric that Sookie will never be his and that that’s nothing he can do I just want to smakc his face.Oh,an dremeber when Eric is ulnerable because Godric is about to kill himself and Bill smacks him acros the fase and Sookie stands there whitout saying anything an than when Eric tells him to step aside he does.I think that’s the moment when you see Bill in his true light.For Eric it’s probably the worst moments of his life and Bill wants to set out record.he is disrepctfull and on top of that a coward.And the worst thing is that not only they are destroying Eric’s characters but Sookie’s too.I just hate her in TB.

    • 35 Kealeagh
      February 27, 2010 at 5:16 pm

      Um, that scene from I Will Rise Up, where Bill punches Eric — the thing that bothered me was how Sookie didn’t say anything about it. Normally she would.

      • 36 walgigi
        February 27, 2010 at 7:48 pm

        That’s because AB has made a complete new story and is just using the character’s names of CH to ensure the bookies audience and due, his tv show success.

    • 38 T.Rece
      March 1, 2010 at 5:32 am

      Ugh makes me sick. Honestly I just watch TB and fastforward through most of it. Unless Eric is in the scene I’m out. Alan Ball has a SERIOUS hard on for Bill–or maybe Stehpen Moyer. I dunno, whichever way he hasn’t portrayed ANY of the characters as they are in the books. Sookie drives me bonkers most of the time, but on TB she is so pathetic and needy and huffy and puffy. She’s just as far up Bills ass as AB is. What a shame.

      The one factor regarding AS being a “supporting actor” is his commitment to the other HBO series–I’m drawing a blank on the name–the war drama. Starting 3.01, Mr. Ball better have made ammends!

      • March 1, 2010 at 5:41 am

        Generation Kill was a mini-series…it’s long finished filming.
        So he’s not tied up w/any other TV shows except True Blood. Phew 🙂

        • 40 Kealeagh
          March 1, 2010 at 5:34 pm

          So much Generation Kill love! Best bromances ever!

          • 41 Stef
            March 2, 2010 at 3:35 am

            LOVE,Love,love GK!! One of the best mini-series’ out there! (and not just ’cause ASkars is in it–but that does help!) 🙂

            • 42 Kealeagh
              March 2, 2010 at 4:44 am

              Oh I know. There’s also Ray and Nate. All those men made my heart flutter.

            • 45 VampirePamsGirl
              March 3, 2010 at 7:06 am

              Complete and total agreement with this statement. I just got done watching that series and wow. I admit that I only watched it because ASkars is in it and I am that much of a fangirl as to watch something I might not normally watch just because of him, but after I watched it, I was absolutely impressed and would watch again even without ASkars being in it. However, I do admit to squealing and drooling over the ‘Iceman’! I also loved, loved, loved, loved Nate (OMG, his eyes are so pretty!) and Ray (hilarious!), Trombley too, though he kinda scared me at times, lol, but he and Gabe (and the reporter of course!) rounded out their squad nicely.

    • 47 Tracey
      March 3, 2010 at 6:13 am

      “And the worst thing is that not only they are destroying Eric characters but Sookie’s too.I just hate her in TB.”

      What dont u like about TB Sookie?

  11. February 27, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Yes that’s exactlly what I,m saying.She just stan dthere an ddidn’t say anything.I know that Eric tricked her nad he did deserve a slap but in that exact moment.AB has completlly destroyed Sookie.He has made her a completlly damsel in distress who needs Bill everytime she in trouble like when she was whit Hugo.he was the one who was traying to get them out while she was standing waiting for ”Beel’ to come and than she even had the nerve to aks him why hedidn’t save her.She could have at least tried to do something while she was captivated.If AB can’t do Sookie right I can’t think of what he will do whit Eric.I’m feeling sorry for AS because he is doing such a great job playing Eric and he really gets his character.His work and his chracter will be ruened just because someone doesn’t get who he is playing or he just hate him. I’ll wait untill season 3 but I have a feeling that things will get worst in season 3.

    • 49 Tracey
      March 3, 2010 at 6:23 am

      It could be the turnin point in TB. Sookie doesnt kno Eric hear Barry say where Godric was. TB sookie may think Eric was comin for her. I would have asked Bill why he didnt show too. Now wit the BB sookie doesnt feel so hostile towards him. I think there’ll be some action between e/s in season 3.

  12. 50 GothicSantaClawz
    February 27, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    Well i just thought i would voice my anger as to Where ar the hot pink spandex????? i was sooo looking forward to getting a picture of them. I preferred the TB part with godric being erics maker cause it was like proof that eric could love, but i think the maenad from the book was so much better!

    • 51 MASpencer
      March 1, 2010 at 3:11 pm

      Personally, I wasn’t so upset by that omission. Surely, even Book Eric would be sensitive enough to realize that homosexuality does not, as a rule, equate with pink spandex, and would avoid that type of sexual stereotyping. (Honestly, I’m betting that, as a gay man himself, Alan Ball was either turned off or offended by that detail in the books. Even a fetished-out leather getup would have been more appropriate, given that it was a sex party. And while it appears that Ms. Harris’ writing is attempting to promote tolerance toward people of different sexual orientations, sometimes I wonder how many gay men or women she actually KNOWS. Not many, I presume, for all of her good intentions.)

      HOWEVER… the omission I WAS upset about was Eric’s role in defeating the maenad (and, of course, the substitution of Bill’s melodramatic brand of heroism). After talking up his assistance as a favor to Sam– and we know how Eric feels about favors– his absence from the finale was beyond disappointing. But it also seemed intentional… and since (if memory serves) Alan Ball intimated in a post-finale interview that there was a good reason for Eric not being there, I’m dying to find out what that reason could be. (And I suspect that it’s more than just Yahtzee… it BETTER be!)

      Anyway, whatever the reason is, I also think that it will rule him out as the guilty party behind Bill’s kidnapping in the first episode of season 3. Maybe he was ambushed?

      • 52 Jo
        March 1, 2010 at 7:33 pm

        though I was not upset by the omission, but the lack of Eric in an important event in its history, about the stereotype I disagree: there is someone more stereotyped than Laffayete? but love your character, but I think he exaggerated the times
        I do not think that one of the goals of CH was talking about prejudice against homosexuals, like the way almost doubled as natural as it is set in history.

        Particularly while I get upset the way women are portrayed in TB

        • 53 MASpencer
          March 1, 2010 at 8:43 pm

          I agree about Lafayette’s character embodying the heteronormative stereotype of “gay” to an extent– and have heard what I believe are justified grumblings from some gay viewers to that effect. It’s also worth noting that that the false generalization that he in some ways represents—- i.e. that all gay men are sissified queens of poor moral character—- is one set forth by Ms. Harris herself. But I could write a 10-page essay on some of the ways I think she has negatively (and I assume unintentionally) portrayed homosexuality in the Southern Vampire Series—- characterizing gay men (or gay vampires), on the whole, as promiscuous petty criminals, pedophiles, rapists, or most recently, murderous closet cases.

          There are exceptions, of course, as in the case of Russell Edgington’s marriage… so I try not to get caught up in overly-PC diatribes.

          Anyway, I think that Alan Ball has added some much-needed dimension to Lafayette via True Blood—- such that while he does portray many stereotypical qualities, they come across as only PARTS of his character, not the whole of it. Overall, his sassiness serves a purpose far beyond comic relief, and establishes him rather as the Mercutio of the series. True, Lafayette may wear makeup, collect furry handcuffs, and love old movies—- but he can also kick ass when he needs to, and often demonstrates a wisdom that far surpasses the other characters’. I think (and hope) that the upcoming relationship we’re supposedly going to see between him and Jesus the orderly will continue to expand upon that bigger picture.

          As for how the series has treated women? I’ll reserve my judgment on that until the third season ends. I’ll have to see how the break-up between Sookie and Bill goes before I can cement my opinion on that.

          • 54 Tracey
            March 3, 2010 at 6:42 am

            i love Lafayette. Hes super funni and a sort of badass. i didnt think Harris wrote anything protraying gays in a non-friendly stereotype way at all. i was expectin Eric to wear something crazy, over the top exaggerated and Harris picked the right outfit leather would have been predictable. Actually i would have been realli happi if Sookie and Pam went to the orgy. It would have been exciting if Sookie and Pam got together.

  13. 55 Janofarc
    March 1, 2010 at 12:25 am

    Anyone else notice that Sookie’s attitude seemed to change as soon as she put the ring on her finger? Was it the shiny rock blinding her or something more sinister at work?

    • 56 Gigi
      March 1, 2010 at 1:10 am

      Yes, we did. Sunny (Sunnynala) has a theory that talks about the posibility that the ring is under a spell.

      • 57 VikingLover
        March 1, 2010 at 2:21 am

        I really hope that is the case because that would deepen Bill’s betrayal irrecovably and would make me very, very happy. There would be no redeeming him after that! Who the heck could ever trust and forgive someone who would not only use deception to seduce them but would also use magic to bind them?? It would be ‘move over Beeehl’ and hellooo Eric! 🙂 But alas, I don’t think it’s the case. I think she was just overwhelmed to see the ring on her finger and all her little girlie fantasies of being married and living happily ever after took over. *sigh* I hope I’m wrong and Sunny is right. 🙂

      • 59 MASpencer
        March 1, 2010 at 3:25 pm

        Come now. Aren’t ALL women spellbound by engagement rings???? *sarcasm*

        I could rant about how the writers were obviously pulling from what they consider to be womankind’s universal obsession with weddings. But you know, maybe that wasn’t so much formulaic as it was very telling about where Sookie currently stands in the show. To be seduced by the “normality” of a wedding and marriage in the midst of so much chaos in her life is rather understandable, if delusional, don’t you think?

        It also speaks to her overwhelming naivete. Which is important– because what’s left of that innocence is certain to be in tatters by the end of next season. (As it was in the books.)

    • 60 Ashley
      March 3, 2010 at 5:07 am

      Yeah thats when she finally started to change her attititude…she got enthralled with the idea of marriage and having that ring on her finger as soon as she put it on

    • 61 Tracey
      March 3, 2010 at 6:46 am

      yea i noticed tha. she seemed more focused on the bling than the future. her first reaction to the propsal raises a red flag.

  14. 63 Gigi
    March 2, 2010 at 3:21 am

    This is AB’work and his TB legacy about Sookie and Eric…
    People don’t see them as a couple, they are getting beat down in the TV’s Top Couples torunament here:

    http://www.eonline.com/uberblog/detail.jsp?contentId=168753

    • 64 Gigi
      March 2, 2010 at 3:21 am

      Thanks BITCH!

      • 65 Gigi
        March 2, 2010 at 3:23 am

        Just sayin’….

        • 66 T.Rece
          March 2, 2010 at 6:32 am

          I checked it out and obviously gave a little check for ES. I have to admit I didn’t know the other couple. Some of the match ups were off. Like I didn’t like one and didn’t know the other. But I’m glad to hear Bill and Sookie got the boot before Eric and Sookie. And, honestly, I can’t blame the voters who aren’t on the ES bandwagon yet. BC you’re right Ball’s version hasn’t given them the ride they should have.

    • 67 VikingLover
      March 2, 2010 at 3:36 am

      Oh crap, I didn’t even know such a contest existed. I just voted. 🙂 Well at least Sookie and Bill weren’t on the list. They did choose Eric and Sookie. It’s too soon anyway – I think things may change after S3.

      • 68 Gigi
        March 2, 2010 at 4:24 am

        After Alcide will go out also as a suitor? mmm….

        • 69 VikingLover
          March 2, 2010 at 4:34 am

          Yep, similar to the books I guess. There are some people that still want Sookie to be with Alcide so I’m sure it will be the same with the show. Regardless, I really don’t think Alcide will be in a serious running for Sookie on TB but I guess we don’t know until we watch what they do with his character. I still have hope for E/S.

      • March 2, 2010 at 5:55 am

        hahaha Sookie and Bill *were* on the list – they got eliminated in the first round.
        That made me LOL.

        • 72 Gigi
          March 2, 2010 at 6:23 am

          HAHHAHAHAHA Noooooo, it was the second HHHHHHHHHAHAA!!

          • 73 Gigi
            March 2, 2010 at 6:27 am

            OHHHHHHH You mean Sookie and Bill? I never saw them on the first round when I vote last week!!! Are they really there??? LOL (sorry for the last post, I understood S/E, they are on the second now).

    • 74 Missel21
      March 4, 2010 at 12:31 am

      Well Bill and Sookie didn’t even make it past the first round, just sayin…

  15. 75 Gigi
    March 2, 2010 at 4:10 am

    Oh.My… just watched the new HBO publicity and Bill is described as the Bloodsucker, Sookie as his Fangbanger, Eric as a Narcissit, and Lafayette as his Lunch…

    • March 2, 2010 at 4:22 am

      Gigi,

      What was this on?!

    • March 2, 2010 at 5:57 am

      OMG.
      Well at least we still have our books.
      We’ll always have our books.
      *rocks self in corner*

      • 80 Gigi
        March 2, 2010 at 6:20 am

        HAHAHHAHA I know hon, I know… I went willingly into the straightjacket right after I saw it LOL!!!

        OMG!!! HAHAHHAHAHA

        • 81 T.Rece
          March 2, 2010 at 6:37 am

          So I’m with you both. Ball’s boner for Bill/SM is becoming more apparent by the day. Is he really gay? I honestly had no idea. Kind of makes me wonder if that has anything to do with his vision for TB? Bill in the books is often described as “misunderstood.” Ugh. Either way, I’m tired of his bad mouthing my viking.

      • 84 Dan
        March 4, 2010 at 3:38 am

        I just saw the lame trailer. I don’t want to read too much into it because it’s an advertising crew making one liners and not from someone dedicated to the show. Someone that cared about Sookie would never call her a fanbanger. I suspect the creator/s of that ad barely pay attention to show and know nothing of the books. That said, I lost faith in AB a long time ago and put little stock on the show. The show has had some great episodes. But it will never achieve much to look forward to. May 4th is all I care about.

    • 85 MASpencer
      March 2, 2010 at 2:37 pm

      Well that’s not very reassuring…

      Wish there was a link to this somewhere. I’d like to see it for myself.

    • 86 Gigi
      March 2, 2010 at 4:17 pm

      Ok, to help you in identifying the publicity commercial I saw for the first time on a HBO channel yesterday, it is about ALL the HBO series, and it uses arrows to describe the characters. It begins with a scene from “Hung” describing Tanya as “Pimp” and Ray as “Ho”. After like three characters later, then Bill appears alone first in a closeup as the “Bloodsucker”, and after that, they presents another scene with him and Sookie as the “Fangbanger”. Eric as the “Narcissit” (entering his dungeon) and Lafayette as “Lunch” (hiding behind the wall in the dungeon) appear almost at the end of the commercial after a lot of other characters from other series.

      • 87 VikingLover
        March 2, 2010 at 5:56 pm

        Oh! Hmmm, it sounds as if it’s supposed to be funny since they also played around with the Hung characters. I’m going to look for it and try to post a link.

        • 88 Gigi
          March 2, 2010 at 6:31 pm

          It is about ALL the HBO series characters and it is, indeed, kind of black humor(Big Love wives are also described as “Harem”). But the fact is that each character is described in the way that HBO wants them to be percieved by us, the viewers. In the simple way in which they want viewers to define and classify each character. At the end, that is the purpose and the effect of every publicity…

    • 89 Gigi
      March 3, 2010 at 1:49 am

      I FOUND IT!!!! Since yesterday I’m trying to find it on YT, and I just found it. It’s name is “Our People” Promo. Here it is:

      • 90 Kealeagh
        March 3, 2010 at 3:42 am

        LOL. Lloyd.

        Honestly, I see what they were getting at. It’s poking fun at their shows, simplifying them, making them interesting for new viewers. I felt offended by the Eric is a narcisst, but you know what, I think it’s just being overly sensitive. If it were Alan Ball who controlled the promo, I’d be seriously pissed and worried, but I think it was just for promotion. People remember funny ones and want to rewatch funny promos, and that one certainly worked.

        • 91 Gigi
          March 3, 2010 at 4:15 am

          Of course it’s funny, as I said it’s kind of black humor. But remember the description of each character is according to their producers view. I’m really pissed because in an official Promo, when they described Eric as a “Narcissit”, they are keepeing and perpetuating Eric’s image as the villian, the antagonist, the bad boy, especially when they are following his description with Lafayette as “Lunch”, not because he is going to “eat” him, but because he is using and malipulating him, because Lafayette is his victim. Also remember that a narcissit exaggerates achievements and talents and expects to be recognized as superior without corresponding achievements for it, is exploitative and takes advantage of others to achieve his or her own ends, lacks of emphaty, but behind his mask of ultra-confidence lies a fragile self-esteem that is vulnerable to the slightest criticism and is often envious of others…

          • 92 sunnynala
            March 3, 2010 at 2:01 pm

            LOl, sounds like Bill to me.

            • 93 Gigi
              March 19, 2010 at 6:09 pm

              That is exactly my point, Sunny. AB has been exchanging subtly (and not so subtly) the personalities between Bill and Eric since he began his show. He has been giving Bill all the little details, scenes, and personality traits of the character of Eric in the books. Details, scenes and essential traits of his personality that allowed that Eric and Sookie were able to develop a relationship based on trust and love. Similarly, he has been creating new situations and personality traits in Eric to make him be more like the narcissist and sociopath Bill shown on the books. Only those who have read and understand in depth both vampire’s personalities in the books are able to understand the degree of difference that those changes will produce in what is known as the spirit of the books. Because AB has completely changed the core of both characters.

          • March 3, 2010 at 3:26 pm

            can you be a narcissist if you really are FUCKING AWESOME!!!!? And the world really should revolve around you????

            I think not.

      • 96 VikingLover
        March 3, 2010 at 4:28 am

        LMAO That was pretty funny. Personally I wasn’t offended and really liked it. I think it’s just harmless fun.

        • 97 Tracey
          March 3, 2010 at 7:00 am

          i agree wit VL

        • 98 MASpencer
          March 3, 2010 at 3:03 pm

          It was funny. HBO was insulting all of its shows’ characters. And Eric’s designation as a narcissist no doubt had a lot to do with the fact that he had a head full of foils in the scene that they picked. Besides, judging by his actions in seasons 1 and 2 alone, he pretty much IS a narcissist– on paper, at least. And a very sexy one, at that. 😉

          On an unrelated note, when is ‘Eastbound and Down’ coming back??? I miss me some Kenny Powers…

  16. 99 Maria
    March 2, 2010 at 4:52 am

    Maryann’s comment about Sookie never wearing the dress is pretty funny. Also, I’m curious about Sookie’s glowing hands…I remember reading somewhere that CH wasn’t giving Sookie any more powers in the books. I’m wondering where AB is going with that.

  17. 100 sunnynala
    March 3, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    HELP! Does anyone know where I can find images from the old HBO season 2 True Blood site? I have one on my blog I happened to stumble across, but I’m looking for another and I can’t find it for the life of me. Surely someone saved those images? They were all very lovely.

  18. 103 VikingLover
    March 19, 2010 at 5:06 am

    Okay, so check this out Guys. I’m really intrigued at the notion of TB using so many hints, clues, foreshadowing, and symbolism on the show – as we have seen in this post and the post with the Tiger in Eric’s office, etc. Anyway, it got me thinking about the proposal scene and I started to wonder what the significance of the lavender dress might be. I looked up the color Lavender as used in symbolism, etc. I thought this was interesting: A Lavender marriage is a marriage between a man and a woman in which one, or both, parties are, or are assumed to be, homosexual. Usually, but not always, both parties are assumed to be complicit in a public deception to hide their homosexuality.

    Obviously I’m not implying Bill is gay (and I really don’t think AB is either lol) but what I found interesting are the words “usually, but not always, both parties are assumed to be complicit in a public deception”. Isn’t that funny? It’s not a phrase I had ever heard before but it is one that is apparently known in the gay community. AB would certainly be familiar with this phrase and its usage. How interesting that they used that specific color during the proposal scene. lol

    Anyway, I could be totally grasping at straws and it could just be a dress the costume dept and staff thought would be pretty. lol I thought I would just throw it out there for public consumption. 🙂

    • 104 PrettyVikingChains
      March 19, 2010 at 5:42 am

      Interesting. And maybe you are reaching, but I’ll buy any theory that supports Bill’s deception & that AB won’t screw everything up 😉

    • 105 Gigi
      March 19, 2010 at 6:03 am

      We discussed a little about the colors meanings in sookieverse here https://sookieverseblog.wordpress.com/2009/12/29/sookie-eric-and-the-colour-red/ , and also sunny has a theory about the lavander dress and it’s magic meaning.

      BTW, Alan Ball is gay and a very well known member of the gay community. You can find articles and exclusive interviews about his works and his publics events in afterelton.com, one of the biggest and known gay websites. There you can also find an interview where he talked about TB and the homosexual content, as well as about his efforts to bring authentic gay storylines.

      http://www.afterelton.com/TV/2008/9/alanball_trueblood?page=0%2C0

      • 106 VikingLover
        March 19, 2010 at 12:50 pm

        Thanks Gigi! On the Wikipedia site it stated that the color lavender became a symbol of homosexuality in the 50’s and 60’s – as a symbol of the Gay Liberation movement. It has political meaning and romantic meaning: Lavender roses are sometimes given by LGBTs (Lesbians, Gays, BiSexuals, TransGender)to each other on Valentine’s Day or may be given to those entering into a same-sex marriage . Maybe my theory is not so far off! 🙂

        • 107 VikingLover
          March 19, 2010 at 1:08 pm

          Of course it could also just be his silent protest about the fact that same-sex marriage is still illegal in the US – since in that scene they do touch upon the legality of Vampire/Human marriages. Or maybe it’s both.

          • 108 Gigi
            March 19, 2010 at 5:09 pm

            Like you, I think could be both. Bill brought Sookie tickets for Burlington, Vermont, and in fact, Vermont is one of the few states in US where marriages for same-sex couples are legal and currently performed.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,125 hits since October 2009

