10
Mar
10

HBO throws us a bone

According to True-Blood.net, HBO have confirmed that they are in the process of making a series of True Blood “minisodes” to be aired prior to the start of season 3 in June.

A minisode is a brief episode, about 3-5 minutes long. These will feature a variety of characters, at this stage only Jessica has been named with more to come. I am not holding my breath for any Eric because no one wants to see him, obviously.

These little episodes will serve a promotional function, but here’s the really intriguing bit. They will also help “fill in the blanks” between season 2 and 3.

I submit that it would take quite a bit more than a few arty little shorts to fill in the “blanks” at the end of season 2… but meh, what do I know.



Is “fill in the blanks” marketing speak for “OMG we fucked up the last three episodes SO badly and this is the only way we can fix it?” I’m hoping so, and based on this assumption (which I admit is a very big assumption to be making) I want to see any and all of the following in five minute bite-sized chunks, for my viewing pleasure.

Minisode 1Bill is back stalking around the strip mall in the middle of the night buying a lavender dress, plane tickets, and a big fat magic diamond. What? What do you mean, there was no time for that since he was up selflessly saving Bon Temps until 45 minutes before dawn? OK fine. Then I want to see Bill on the phone after Sookie falls asleep. On the phone with someone big and powerful with minions at their command, who they can order to go shopping in daylight for their evil, deceptive ends. I want something to explain how Bill pulled off that cheesy romantic coup d’etat, and don’t even try to tell me he arranged it all before Dallas. Bullshit. Even if he did, that makes the whole thing even more suspicious – since he had only known Sookie for TWO WEEKS. What sort of moron would plough ahead with a proposal, irrespective of when it was planned, after what had just gone down anyway? Yes I know we’re talking about Bill here, but really?

Minisode 2Eric calls Sam and they have a long, snarky conversation during which Eric sneers “Shifter” at Sam repeatedly, sounding like the sexiest badass ever. Oh, and they could also talk about what constitutes suitable tribute for a maenad, and how to get rid of one. Why did they bother with that whole Sam/Eric conversation mentioning tribute, trust, and swapping phone numbers at Fangtasia for it to have exactly zip, zero, ZILCH impact on the resolution of the maenad storyline? Perhaps it was just some big bullshit foil, so they could use up the leftover CGI budget having Eric fly like Superman. In any case, I demand some sort of rational explanation for this completely illogical crap we’re being fed.

Minisode 3We discover that Sookie has a time machine buried in her backyard. This time machine is what allowed Bill to untie Sam and get enough blood into him to heal a mortal wound, Sam to heal enough to get up and run to Sookie and Maryanne halfway up the road, and then shift his (presumably still healing) self into a great big bull to gore Maryanne….all in approximately 15 seconds. What? It could happen! They had a giant uterus made out of MEAT on this show!! Anything can happen.

Minisode 4Sookie looks out her front door to see a big van coming up her drive with “SHREVEPORT CLEANING SERVICES” on the side and all expenses taken care of. Well someone had to clean that shit up and you know who would have been all over it, right? Yeah, right. Well, Sookie and Tara did trot off to work the next day instead of spending all day cleaning every inch of Sookie’s house LIKE THEY SAID THEY WERE GOING TO!

Minisode 5 We’re off to the Queen’s, and Eric has beaten her vapid ass at Yahtzee, reaching five million first because he is just that good. Sophie-Anne stupidly leaves Eric and Hadley alone briefly, during which time Eric proceeds to nail her about why she should care less about Bill being in love with Sookie. Hadley is powerless against his sheer awesomeness and his shiny GQ suit, and spills her guts about her family connections. Eric takes this little nugget, adds it to Bill’s visiting the Queen behind his back…and comes up with MAJOR SHIT THAT WILL FUCK BILL UP.

How many of these episode things are there going to be? I think we need at least a dozen of them so that season 3 can start from someplace that might make sense.

@HBO have been tweeting about surprises in store when they start re airing season 2 on March 21st.

Just a guess, but I think we can probably expect to see the first of these little treats then.

36 Responses to “HBO throws us a bone”


  1. 1 Lisa
    March 10, 2010 at 3:38 am

    Heehee. “Eric sneers ‘shifter’ …sounding like a sexy badass” and “Eric has beaten her vapid ass at Yahtzee…because he’s just that good!”

    SVB. You fucking ROCK!!!

  2. 2 VikingLover
    March 10, 2010 at 3:41 am

    LMAO! It’s funny you wrote this because I was just reading an old blog written about the finale episode. The commentators were discussing the whole maenad and Queen storylines and the plot holes associated with each. By the way, the Author (not a bookie) was ragging on Bill and how Bill once again looked like a “pussy” and had to ask Sam to step in and help defeat the manead. That reminds me, didn’t Sam also save Sookie from Rene? Of course the Bill Bangers went wild with outrage. Anyhoooo, I agree with everything above. You are sooo right. When the writers are good, they are sooo good and when the writers are bad, they are soooo bad.

    On the Eric/Sam thing, I would have been okay with that (since apparently they had to get Eric to visit the Queen somehow) if it hadn’t been for that whole “don’t you like vampires little girl” dialogue. I wanted to rip my tv off the wall.

    I need a minisode that explains how the Queen (who is much younger than Eric) became Queen???? Can someone explain that to me please?

    Re Minisode 5: How can Hadley say anything to Eric since the “guards hear everything”??? Is she going to pass him a note?

  3. 3 VikingLover
    March 10, 2010 at 4:05 am

    One more thing:

    Another thing that really bothered me: when Sookie was attacked by the “bull headed creature”, Eric was all “Pam/Chow scan the area and find out what the neighbors know”. When Sam goes to Fangtasia to ask (well more like plead/beg/cajole/bribe) Eric to help him, Eric was all “oh that creature that pass through here recently, pfft, whatever”. ????? Doesn’t that lack continuity with the character arc??? I really could not wrap my head around that whole Sam/Eric scene. I’m sure the writer’s could have had a much better way to get Eric to visit the Queen.

  4. 4 Stef
    March 10, 2010 at 4:46 am

    They seriously fucked up the last 3 episodes of the show due to them rushing to get it completed. Now, with all the new character archs they’re gonna have even LESS time w/ Season 3. I’m expecting another clusterfuck of a season where they may actually need minisodes in between each weeks episodes just to clear up all the unfinished story-lined. It’s more messed up than it need to be IMO. OH well, we’ll just have to brace ourselves! I think the minisodes should be EXACTLY as you described SVB! Someone get this woman as a writer on the show!! She can turn things around for the better! (Eric’s hair–for starters) 🙂

  5. 5 Gigi
    March 10, 2010 at 6:59 am

    HAHAHHAHAA I almost peed myself laughing with your ranting LOL!!!

    Well, I read about the Jessica’s minisodes yesterday and went WTF???? WTF do I care about Jessica when they left so many ilogical things without explanation???

    [What sort of moron would plough ahead with a proposal, irrespective of when it was planned, after what had just gone down anyway? Yes I know we’re talking about Bill here, but really?]

    Well, the sort of morons that are AB and his writers… that sort. 🙄

    [Why did they bother with that whole Sam/Eric conversation mentioning tribute, trust, and swapping phone numbers at Fangtasia for it to have exactly zip, zero, ZILCH impact on the resolution of the maenad storyline?] – SVB
    [On the Eric/Sam thing, I would have been okay with that (since apparently they had to get Eric to visit the Queen somehow) if it hadn’t been for that whole “don’t you like vampires little girl” dialogue. I wanted to rip my tv off the wall.] – VikingLover

    I actually think the ONLY reason they had for Sam to visit Fangtasia (besides the wanting to make Eric looks like a moron repeating Bill’s words about knowing “someone who might be able to help”) was to bring Arlene’s kids there to make that stupid scene VL mentioned, with the staring at them and the children’s “delicious” taste, blah blah…

    And, I agree completely with Stef, especially on:

    {Now, with all the new character archs they’re gonna have even LESS time w/ Season 3. I’m expecting another clusterfuck of a season where they may actually need minisodes in between each weeks episodes just to clear up all the unfinished story-lined. It’s more messed up than it need to be IMO.]

  6. March 10, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I think it might be possible that they did the Sam/Eric thing to establish a connection between Sam and Eric. In the book, it is clear that they communicate (Sam calls Eric when Sookie needs interventions), but since TB doesn’t do character development, there is little opportunity to demonstrate this. Perhaps they are being forward thinking in providing some kind of rationale later for how Sam or Eric could contact one another.

    Additionally, Gigi, your comment about Eric “repeating Bill’s words about knowing ‘someone who might be able to help'” made me think. TB has now firmly established Bill’s close relationship with QSA and disregard for chain of command. In the political structure that exists, Bill should have spoken to Eric and ERIC should have contacted QSA. Now Eric should know even more clearly that there is something fishy about Bill and QSA. While a bit repetetive and definitely annoying, it is a pretty solid set up for Eric outing Bill or at the very least challenging the agenda and the implied edict!

    BTW, though I hated Eric’s hair in season 1, a Viking from 1000 years ago would definitely have long hair. And Vampires cannot just cut their hair. My greatest disappointment isn’t that he had to wear a wig, it is that in this age of cinema you can’t tell me that AB couldn’t find a better make-up team and a more realistic wig. (Though CH is also delusional about Viking men wearing their hair in “elaborate braids” since they were more likely to braid their beards than their hair!)

    • 7 Ericrocks
      March 10, 2010 at 10:13 pm

      Maybe HBO gave AB the funding to have better hair and makeup so Eric WILL have awesome long hair. It can be done. Think Lord of the Rings. If that is the case I wouldn’t be so consumed with worry about Askars short brown hair.

    • 8 vikingvampgirl
      March 11, 2010 at 3:48 pm

      lol I love that Jessica’s Hymen will grow back but Eric’s Hair doesn’t.

  7. 9 VikingLover
    March 10, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Those are great points about Sam/Eric/Queen, Holby. I still wish they had come up with better dialogue though. The whole “blase” Eric thing kind of threw off all the stuff from the Dallas episodes. It was a little bit weird and disconcerting. I mean, they didn’t have to make him do a 360 character wise but they could have handled it in a better way, in my opinion.

    About the hair, I’m really really really glad they cut it. I can suspend belief for that little bit of issue. I could never picture Eric having long hair when I read the books. Plus, just because he is a Viking doesn’t mean that he would keep his hair long for 1000 years. In order to fit in to different societal trends over the ages I’m sure he had to cut it. I like Vampireswelove’s explanation about hair not being living cells therefore it wouldn’t be subject to regrowth like Jessica’s hymen would be. Or it could be like Lestat who had to cut his hair every day in order to prevent the regrowth.

  8. 10 MASpencer
    March 10, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    It may be wishful thinking, but I’m betting we will DEFINITELY find out where Eric was during the season 2 finale. His absence was WAY too obvious in that last episode, and if there’s not a good explanation for it, well… that’s just plain bad writing, whatever your feelings about him are.

  9. 11 Cara_Dawn
    March 10, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Oh Sookieverse … I heart you. This made my day.

  10. 12 AJ
    March 11, 2010 at 3:22 am

    Minisodes are a good idea to clean up the mess from the end of season 2. Hopefully they won’t let us down and will take your ideas onboard SVB!

  11. 13 VampirePamsGirl
    March 11, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    As usual, SVB, your words are exactly what I was thinking about those episodes! You captured most of my grievances with those last few episodes of TB Season 2 perfectly! I am definitely on board with signing a petition for them to hire you as a writer on the show! It would be sooo much better! 😀

  12. 14 nikki
    March 11, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    I want to see Eric so do most of the people in the facebook groups…also people who have read all the books!

  13. 15 Gella
    March 13, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Hopefully they can explain how Sam was able to shift into a bull considering how the show says that he needs a living animal to imprint on in order to shift.

  14. 20 MASpencer
    April 15, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Okay, so I just wanted to mention that it’s been announced that John Hillard (who plays Hank, the dude who Jessica had strattled at the truckstop in the season finale) is slated to return in episode 3.01, the season premiere.

    Now, I’m at a loss. My understanding is that these upcoming minisodes were supposed to “fill in the blanks” between seasons two and three– and I believe E! even suggested that they would be focusing SOLELY on Jessica. (Although perhaps the point was that Jessica’s minisode was the only one CONFIRMED… I don’t know… some steamy nightclub scene was specifically mentioned, as the True-blood.net article related.)

    Anyway… if this trucker guy is showing up in the first episode of the third season, it would appear that they’re just picking the story up where it left off, right? How in the world would they squeeze a “steamy nightclub scene” in there? I suppose it’s possible that this character returns as part of a flashback in the first episode… but it still has me scratching my head, as I thought we saw a short clip of Jessica dragging a body into the house in one of the promos.

    Forgive me for thinking out loud. I’m just confused about this now…

    • 21 VikingLover
      April 15, 2010 at 11:48 am

      Maybe they mean his body, since she drags him back home? Or maybe she actually turns him?

    • April 15, 2010 at 11:50 am

      Last season they picked up directly where they left off in season 1 – with Sookie and Tara screaming their fool heads off in the Merlotte’s parking lot. And the episodes usually pick up directly where they leave off. So I’m expecting Ep 1 S3 to open with Sookie still standing in the restaurant looking freaked out as hell.

      I don’t think it will be a flashback with Jessica – I think they just have to give him a credit for Jessica dragging his dead body into Casa Compton… and I suspect we will see a bit more of his dead carcass in that ep as she tries to work out what to do with him. This is her first corpse after all.

      As for the minisodes, I think Jessica’s was the only one confirmed at the time they announced them. The steamy nightclub scene is a minisode with another character perhaps? Maybe when Jason picks up the two girls he ends up in bed with in Ep 1. That would be my first guess.

    • 23 MASpencer
      April 15, 2010 at 11:51 am

      Okay, so a little clarification. This is what Watch With Kristin said about these minisodes:

      “Great news for you Jessica-Hoyt fans! HBO hasn’t responded to request for comment, but I’ve heard that plans are under way to create a series of Jessica-centric (Deborah Ann Woll) webisodes in support of the upcoming season three. The webisodes will tell the story of what happens when Bill’s little baby vamp goes out into the big wide world on her own. Will she eat everybody? Will she be eaten? Tune in to find out!”

      True-blood.net confirmed this news, adding that there will be a “revealing” (not steamy, like I had written above) nightclub scene highlighting Jessica in one of these shorts. (I’m not certain yet whether ALL the minisodes are revolving around Jessica as WWK reported, or if that was just a faulty assumption.)

      Anyway, this just baffles me further. We know Jess gets back and finds Hoyt’s flowers in the next season… presumably on the same night as the season 2 finale, since she has to be home before sunrise. Are they suggesting that she’s going to go out clubbing AFTER draining the trucker, and just drag all the bodies back home with her?

      This isn’t making sense to me. At all.

  15. 24 VikingLover
    April 15, 2010 at 11:50 am

    {Or maybe she actually turns him?}

    By the way, this is what I wondered when I saw her carrying the body back home. Why would she do that? She could have just dumped him the woods.

    • 25 MASpencer
      April 15, 2010 at 11:56 am

      Interesting idea. Were it not for the other conflicting info, I’d strongly entertain this possibility. She’s lonely, you know. It makes sense, in a twisted way, that misery would want company.

      That said, I doubt she’d choose a random sleazy trucker to fill that role. But you never know…

      • April 15, 2010 at 12:04 pm

        OK so you can add me to the ranks of the confused.

        I do know that when word of these minisodes first came out I went digging high and low for verified info from HBO and couldn’t find anything except confirmation that they were being filmed and that Jessica was the only confirmed character. I’m not sure where they got the info on the nightclub scene etc.

  16. 27 MASpencer
    April 15, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Oh, and to supplement that, this is what True-blood.net said in their article about it:

    “They [the minisodes] will feature various characters in short storylines, including Jessica Hamby (Deborah Ann Woll) in a revealing nightclub scene. Look for them to debut on HBO soon.”

    So… yeah…

    • 28 MASpencer
      April 15, 2010 at 12:12 pm

      And now I’m wondering if the nightclub in question is Fangtasia…

      • April 15, 2010 at 12:27 pm

        Oh! Isn’t there a shot of Jessica in Fangtasia in that promo that aired the other night? And there is also that still of her with Pam who looks like she’s getting ready for work (putting the lippy on).

        I would die a thousand deaths if Jessica gets to go play in Fangtasia again. I was so pissed we didn’t get to see it the first time.

        • 30 MASpencer
          April 15, 2010 at 12:41 pm

          Yes… based on the shots with Pam, I think we’ll definitely see some of that interaction next season, and I’m very happy about it!

          But I still don’t understand what the dealio is with these minisodes, and how they’re going to work them into the (presumably very, very short) timeline in between seasons.

          My line of thinking now is that maybe she went to Fangtasia to ask for help from Pam or Eric when she realized what a jam she got herself in. (It would say a lot if she turns to them– and NOT Bill– for guidance, wouldn’t it?) If that’s the case, though, I suspect it would give us an idea of where Eric was during the finale, and I don’t see them ruling out any suspects related to last season’s main cliffhanger in a venue as casual as a minisode.

          Then again, maybe these minisodes aren’t meant to be casual. How important are these snippets going to be to the storyline, anyway?

          • 31 Dwimordene
            April 15, 2010 at 1:21 pm

            I was thinking that the minisodes could be parallel to all seasson 2. How did they catch her, what did she do with Eric… But to make something interesting they need to have the main characters too, if not, it would be more like a fanfiction from TB, like a dream… Like CH stories, that are terribly boring and silly. So I relly wonder if there is really going to be these minisodes, It could be a lie… If they are doing them, they should be done by now… They could have being done while filming s3, I suppose, but if they have to pay more to the actors… At the end is all about money.
            I hope they do them, and they do them good. I really don’t like things done because they have to be done… And I hope that, when they say ONLY that is is about Jessica, that means is FROM Jessica’s POV, and so… So many things could be explained… They wouldn’t have to show us directly how the Maenade crap finished or other plots, but she will contact other people and we will see what really happened there from these encounters.

            • 32 MASpencer
              April 15, 2010 at 1:49 pm

              I remember thinking when I heard about these mini episodes that they could potentially support Sunny’s elaborate notion that the events of the finale (if not the whole season) were purposefully misrepresented. (In other words, the mini-episodes could serve to show us how things REALLY happened.)

              BUT… I’m not sure that Alan Ball would spring such a big, major, CRAZY twist on viewers this way. I mean, there are bound to be a bunch of people who won’t see the minisodes– those viewers who DVR the show, for example, or watch it On Demand– since they’re not going to be a part of the standard Sunday night hour. Ultimately, it’s not the same as writing a prologue to a novel, which anyone who starts the book will read.

              So… it would be a clever twist, for sure. But it also seems pretty (ahem, VERY) risky to me…

              • April 15, 2010 at 1:56 pm

                No I don’t think they will contain any big reveal either – though I also thought that when I heard they would “bridge” events between S2 and S3.

                If they are going to offer up anything that explains that clusterfuck of a finale I would embrace it with arms wide open.

                If Sunny is right they are going to have to give us at least a hint of a payoff soon.

                • 34 MASpencer
                  April 15, 2010 at 2:17 pm

                  Let me just say this: If one of these minisodes features Sam and Bill making a frantic midnight run to the nearest Brahman cattle ranch, my head might actually explode.

                  Alan Ball should consider himself warned. 😉

  17. 35 VikingLover
    May 24, 2010 at 12:51 am

    Holy f***ck, did anyone catch the small snippet of the Bill minisode that’s going to air next week??? The woman’s name is Mrs. Smallwood and it appears that she’s hoping Bill will give her a little nooky!

    • 36 Serena
      May 24, 2010 at 12:53 am

      missed it.. Mrs. Smallwood? there goes my Portia Bellefleur the travel agent theory.. wait did she say what she would take in exchange? 😉


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,646 hits since October 2009

