14
Mar
10

Charlaine Harris – Not So Keen on WTF Plotlines…

Digital Spy has a new interview with Charlaine Harris in which she finally admits that Alan Ball ran with a plot line in True Blood that she doesn’t like.

How does the series compare to the books?
“They’re very different in a lot of ways. The plot has been altered quite a bit and there’s more material that I didn’t write because they’re having to bring in the secondary characters and buff them up. There are some great differences, but as Alan promised me, he is staying true to the spirit of the books – and that’s what I wanted.”

Have there been any changes that you didn’t like?
“There have been some sub-stories that I wasn’t as nuts about as others, but there hasn’t been anything I’ve really hated. I wasn’t too keen on the voodoo story, but I see now why they introduced it in the second season. Once I saw it, it all made sense.”

Well I never expected anything like that to happen here! Proof that True Blood writers have a sadistic sense of humour.

Keep talking Charlaine. I would give my right arm to find out what she *really* thinks of this mess.

Would you be up for writing an episode?
“No. I’m too busy! I know that sounds pretentious, but I can’t imagine trying to make the time for that.”

Correct answer Charlaine. Her complete non-involvment with True Blood keeps it firmly in the category of fanfic where it belongs.

Next thing she’ll be writing True Blood episodes and Ball will be writing Book 11.

OMFG I think I just felt my brain snap.

How many more Sookie Stackhouse books do you have planned?
“I don’t plan anything! I’m signed through book 13, and I’ll consider whether or not to finish the series probably when I’m writing the next book.”

I was thinking we could be looking for signs of a wind up in DITF, but I guess not. I really do hope that she decides to finish Sookie’s story with the 13th book. As far as the HEA goes she is going to be pushing her luck to even stretch things that far. Alot of readers are getting fed up and it’s a very fine line between creating suspense, and stringing something out well past its use-by date. I don’t necessarily agree with accusations that she is milking a cash cow at this point – Eric and Sookie have a been a slow burn since the beginning, and in fairness to Charlaine I don’t think she’s drawing things out now any more than she could have been accused of doing earlier in the series. I can, however, see a point in the very near future where this will cross into cash cow territory if Sookie doesn’t make a decision.

The only way I could get on board with this series going longer than 13 books would be if the HEA question is resolved – soon – and we see Sookie continue her adventures with that person by her side. I find it hilarious that Charlaine insists her books aren’t romances, yet the question of who Sookie will choose has monopolised the whole series and caused a total schism in the fandom. I would love to read about Sookie with her someone (erm…her VIKING someone) after all of this “will they or won’t they?” drama is off the table. Interestingly, Charlaine is considering this possibility:

I hadn’t envisioned the series continuing beyond Sookie’s final choice, but it very well could. I’ve read some excellent books that took place after the heroine or hero bonded with the love of his/her life. I’m certainly thinking about it.

Interesting choice of words…”Bonded”. Just sayin’.

Anyway, back to the Digital Spy interview…

You’ve said before that you have no plans to turn Sookie into a vampire. Why is that?
“I just think it would be a betrayal of the character. That is totally unappealing to me.”

Finally, how likely is it that you’ll kill Sookie off in the last book?
“Killed?! Oh no, no, no! I don’t think you really need to worry about that!”

I really do think we can strike turned Sookie or dead Sookie off the list of possible outcomes. Harris has been insistent all the way that neither of these things are going to happen, and it’s reassuring to hear her say it again. I would hate either of these endings and I absolutely agree with her that turning Sookie would be a complete betrayal of her character.

23 Responses to “Charlaine Harris – Not So Keen on WTF Plotlines…”


  1. March 14, 2010 at 4:04 am

    “Next thing she’ll be writing True Blood episodes and Ball will be writing Book 11.”

    Haha..can you imagine? Book 11..Bill/Sookie have a Charles/Di wedding with the Prez of US & Vamp League officiating. The VP is a Vamp & Bill in all his awesomeness has been able to use his database to find a cure for cancer & pull together a team of DNA experts & they have found a way to recreate his DNA & inseminate Sookie so she can have his child!!! Eric is in prison & set for execution for being (framed)the mastermind of an attack in Dallas that killed many humans. OMG how totally awesome would that be!!!??? GO AB!!!! *Seizure-like heebie-jeebies waking up from that nightmare*

  2. 2 pbsTMI
    March 14, 2010 at 4:06 am

    I saw a while back that comment CH made about continuing the series with a post-HEA storyline. I actually like the idea and it could be interesting seeing Sookie 1 (Viking) solving mysteries, dealing with the supes.

  3. 3 Kealeagh
    March 14, 2010 at 4:14 am

    So wait………..she’s dragging on the HEA for another 3 books?? -____-

    I’m kinda over this. I thought Sookie’s current relationship with Eric (if it’s him) would kinda be the end of it.

    • March 14, 2010 at 4:32 am

      I don’t think so Kealeagh. Even if Eric is going to be the HEA I fully expect she will break them up and put them back together before she’s done. Just because she’s a bit of a sadist like that LOL.

      • 5 Kealeagh
        March 14, 2010 at 5:01 am

        It’ll be the Eric is King thing, that seperates them, I bet.

        • 6 VikingLover
          March 14, 2010 at 5:23 am

          CH would have to handle that break up very delicately. Correct me if I’m wrong but aren’t most fans for the Eric/Sookie ending? I’m assuming you guys are right and she’ll break them up at some point and then hopefully get them back together but I don’t know, I think I would feel as I were being jerked around if that happened. Even though I know it’s coming, it would still be bothersome and would make me roll my eyes. I’m so glad I picked up the series last summer because I don’t know if I would have been able to endure 9 years of this.

      • 7 Gigi
        March 14, 2010 at 12:47 pm

        I agree with you. But instead of thinking she is a lil bit of a sadist (that indeed is LOL) I think there will be a lot of incosistencies and credibility issues if she doesn’t let Sookie to resolve her inner conflicts and doubts by herself in order to achive an emotional maturity level that allow her to fully enjoy a relationship with Eric.

  4. 8 Tracey
    March 14, 2010 at 4:43 am

    i`ll jus wait till the books come out. no point on worring bout the HEA right now

  5. 10 VikingLover
    March 14, 2010 at 5:14 am

    Excellent post as always, SVB.

    [I really do think we can strike turned Sookie or dead Sookie off the list of possible outcomes.]

    It seems that we can also strike-off the “Sookie ending up alone” scenario too. I’m happy about that because that ending would have sucked royally. I would love to read stories about Sookie solving mysteries with her HEA as long as it’s with Eric. If God forbid she doesn’t choose Eric, the series would be over for me. I wouldn’t read it nor would I read anything written by CH again. It would be too much disappointment and I wouldn’t trust any of her stories again. I would feel manipulated after so much build up. Honestly, I hope Sookie makes a choice soon. Ten books of indecision, constant breakups, and slow emotional growth is enough.

    I am hopeful about TB when I hear her say that AB has promised her he would stay true to the spirit of the books. I’m hoping she’s telling us (in her own way) to be patient. I know many of you will disagree but I’m optimistic there will be a shift in Bill and Eric. I guess we’ll see after S3. 🙂

    • 11 Dwimordene
      March 14, 2010 at 4:43 pm

      I’m with you. And now that I think of it… He did American Beauty and, even if the series are not such a master piece, he can’t just avoid an interesting story, of expressive and extravagant and vague characters. What is the point of plain people? If you want to make an imprint you have to make people nervous and bring them doubts. The world has not two colours.

    • 12 ksr
      March 14, 2010 at 5:07 pm

      Oh, VikingLover! I’m so with you! I just hope that you really have a gift of oracle and your prophecy will come true!

      • 13 VikingLover
        March 14, 2010 at 5:31 pm

        LOL KSR! I have to stay optimistic in order to keep myself sane! 🙂

        • 14 ksr
          March 14, 2010 at 5:43 pm

          Yeh! That’s why I love your posts so much – it helps me stay of sound mind while everything around so vaguely and incomprehensible! 😉

  6. March 14, 2010 at 5:14 am

    I love this blog and the insight you share! I always find myself busting a gut laughing here or finding your points spot on.

    Off topic, but have you considered doing a “grab me” button/badge embedded with a link back to the site that your readers could post on their blogs?

    Thanks for sharing!

  7. 16 Eva
    March 14, 2010 at 8:52 am

    But she’s okay with her own WTF plotlines and her own silly stories. 3 more books to go? What’s up next – Sasquatches? Leprachauns? Santy Claus? Time to wrap it up CH.

  8. 17 Gigi
    March 14, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    How does the series compare to the books?
    “They’re VERY DIFFERENT IN A LOT OF WAYS. The plot has been altered QUITE A BIT and there’s more material that I didn’t write because they’re having to bring in the SECONDARY CHARACTERS and buff them up…

    Yeah… we must thank that “quite a bit” mess for making that Eric’s character was relegated to a secondary role, but instead we had such fun and interesting archs like tara and her eggs & a maenad with the thousand and one boring orgies, babmi swamp love and the three amigos. All as the result of making the secondary characters the leads as I’ve always said pfff.

    […There are some great differences, but as Alan promised me, he is staying true to the spirit of the books – and that’s what I wanted.”]

    I hope “staying true to the spirit of the books” is very well defined in the contract because if it was a verbal promise, she would have remembered that a spirit is invisible… So invisible that so far has been very, very difficult for us to see it on the show.

    I think she should have done that AB also promised her not to manipulate the fans to pressure her to change her story… At least, after two seasons, she is setting the limit for him not to cross it again:

    [Are you conscious that what you write may affect the television series?
    “No. Alan doesn’t tell me how to write the books and I don’t tell him how to write the series and I’ll continue the series the way I think is best to tell my story. Of course, he’s telling a slightly different story.”]

    • 18 Jo
      March 14, 2010 at 4:40 pm

      well I liked the answers, I knew she would never directly confront AB, I hope it remains on track, I think it will, after hearing all the posts and comments on this blog especially SVB, have faith!
      especially the comment about being able to continue with The One and the story continues, I think quite possible 🙂
      I hope, I hope too that it is preparing a slap with glove on AB, farm YOUR story as she intended! and not as AB.

  9. 19 ksr
    March 14, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Well, I could tell that CH finally was enlightened, but all this veiled hints looks like politician’s utterances which never contain nor ‘yes’ nor ‘no’ leaving themself a loophole for deviation. But hope springs eternal in the human breast… 🙂

  10. March 15, 2010 at 12:05 am

    I hope she doesn’t write other Sookie Stackhouse books after the 13th and if she does let Sookie already choose Eric.And you know what even though CH said that she had decided who she wanted Sooie to be whit in book 2 half of her fans who are reading the books are team Eric and if she doesn’t choose him or Sam like some fans think she will(GOD FORBID) than many of the fan will be done whit her books.I mean really who wants to read books about Sookie and Sam.I think CH is smart enough to know that she will loose many of her readers if Sookie and Eric don’t end up together unlike some other people who think Eric is bad and can only love himeslf and only 5% of the people read he books.

  11. 21 VampirePamsGirl
    March 15, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    I found this interview to be quite interesting. It seemed one of the more honest and to-the-point interviews that I’ve seen from CH myself. I loved even more getting to see how all of you guys reacted to it though. It really provided me a little hope for the books to turn out right and confirmed some of my own opinions about the show.

  12. 22 VikingLover
    March 18, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    This is completely OT but Holby, have you read the Fan Fic by Terri Botta “Hope Is the Thing With Feathers”? It takes place several years after Dead to Worse (it was written before DAG). Anyway, it reminded me of we’re talking about here – about the possibility of CH writing stories about Sookie with her HEA (Eric hopefully being the HEA!).

  13. 23 kelly1981
    April 21, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    it is starting to sound like eric’s maker will make sookie have doubts, which will split them for a book or two, then the last book will be the HEA and last adventure with said HEA, who i have a weird feeling may end up being sam.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,125 hits since October 2009

