17
Mar
10

just sayin’

Season 1, Episode 11: To Love is to Bury.

I watched season 1 of True Blood before I read the books. On the first watch I was oblivious to pretty much everything, including the scene below.

On my second watch of season 1, this shot came on screen and I damn near spat my wine out my nose.

That tiger would have stood out to a bookie regardless of where they stuck it – it’s not exactly subtle – but in ERIC’S office?

Let the cockfight begin!

Just sayin’…babe.

45 Responses to “just sayin’”


  1. 1 PrettyVikingChains
    March 17, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Haha, nice catch! That is a kinda pansy looking tiger. Bring it on!

  2. 2 lkc
    March 17, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    Maybe someday it will be a stuffed tiger head!

    • 3 VikingLover
      March 17, 2010 at 1:42 pm

      Hahaha! That’s freaking awesome! I missed it too. Shees, I can’t wait for HBO to replay S2 next week. I’m sure there are loads of stuff I missed. Last night I was watching a little bit of S1 ep 3 (I think it was ep 3) and I was struck by Bill telling Sookie “you don’t think it’s magic that keeps you alive?” Ha! I loved that.

  3. 4 Alicia
    March 17, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Well, there’s the double connection with ‘a swedish tiger’ too.

  4. 5 KC
    March 17, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    I hope Eric just likes opera and the La Boheme poster isn’t foreshadowing…

    • 6 VikingLover
      March 19, 2010 at 12:04 am

      KC, I think you were right and I was wrong! I don’t think it’s related to the play though, just the meaning of the word Bohemian (I was curious after what you said so I looked it up lol): a person (as an artist or writer) who lives and acts free of regard for conventional rules and practices.

  5. 7 kealeagh
    March 17, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    There’s also that scene in episode 3 of season 1 where Bill goes to see Malcolm, Diane and them and Bill’s all like (MAJOR PARAPHRASING): “There are others who can put a stop to you” and then Mal says “I’m not afraid of Eric.” and then Bill goes “I’m not talking about him.” Hmmm the Queen, Beeeeel???

  6. 8 Gigi
    March 17, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    m… KC, I hope the same. Anyway, it’s kind of odd a tiger’s poster in E office and I don’t like it…

  7. 9 VikingLover
    March 17, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    [I hope Eric just likes opera and the La Boheme poster isn’t foreshadowing…]

    Nah, I don’t think so, KC. It’s partially hidden by the coat rack and is not easily visible. Even the wording is a little hard to make out on the La Boheme poster. It’s not like the tiger poster that is up front and center in the shot. TB seems to love using camera angles to tell us little things. lol It’s similar to the scene in S2 when Godric asks Lorena if she loves Hugo and the camera focuses on Sookie and then on both Bill and Eric – both placed up front and center in that shot.

  8. 10 VikingLover
    March 17, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    *excuse me: I mean to say ‘when Godric asks Isabelle if she loves Hugo’.

  9. 11 skadi
    March 17, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    So I wonder what the bottles of Tabasco and Southern Comfort on Erics desk mean?

    Like Eric isn’t all the hot sauce anyone could need.

  10. 13 Dwimordene
    March 17, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    [So I wonder what the bottles of Tabasco and Southern Comfort on Erics desk mean? ]

    I’ve been asking myself that everytime I see the sauces at Erics table… Now I begin to look every scene with more attention on decoration and little details. It seems this might be getting a lot more interesting… With all the new theories that are being discovered latelly.

    La boheme… I think it must have something to do with the story or the characters more than music likes, though if it is there, it should be that too 😀 Though unfortunatelly la boheme is one of the two operas I never liked, and I quite fond of opera…

    Has anyone get to see what is the other poster about? also the draw on the right? Hahaha… We will end up analyzing scene by scene and shot by shot. lol.

  11. 14 Ericrocks
    March 17, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Great catch Aaine!

    I notice something new just about everytime I watch an episode, and believe me, I have seen them all many, many times.

    Wolves and Tigers and Shifters! Oh my!

  12. March 18, 2010 at 2:47 am

    Hmmmm… perhaps, “Let the fur fly” might be more apropos. Pro-viking and proud of it.
    glam

  13. 16 samantha
    March 18, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    it took me a little while to realize that LOL
    not oblivious anymore huh?

  14. 17 Dwimordene
    March 18, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Everywhere are this kind of details.
    In the scene at the begining of the series we are shown circles everywhere, which means eternity and have a lot to talk about, and also the 4 stereotypes that will be developed…
    At Sam’s we see the house full of animals images and we hear him growling in dreams… The gloomy home of Bill… The “autostrungling” chain of Sookie…
    I’m begining to watch them again, and there are things that after many discussion you get better… And I’ve to say that now Bill is getting really scary… AB doesn’t like him, and he shows us from the very begining oly with his behaviour and expresions (verbal and physical).

    Oh, and rememember, Sookie’s grandfather was a telepath too, as her granmother tells her. Maybe Sookie is not going to be a fae descendant or maybe her gran was telling her something else? It intrigued me.

    • 18 sunnynala
      March 20, 2010 at 3:30 pm

      And I’ve to say that now Bill is getting really scary… AB doesn’t like him, and he shows us from the very begining oly with his behaviour and expresions (verbal and physical).

      Exactly!!! Bill Compton is the very antithesis of the kind of man AB would admire. He is the very opposite of the kind of man ANY of us should admire.

    • 19 Gigi
      March 21, 2010 at 2:18 am

      [But we will never be about the effects. I mean, it’s less interesting to me how [Bill’s] face might change or what exactly are the mechanics of the fangs coming down – although we have really thought about that – than the fact that he’s been alive for a hundred and seventy years, most of them as a vampire, and his wife and children, who he loved deeply, he outlived them. He’s outlived everybody. He’s in a changing world and he’s given up on the idea of having any sort of love in his life until he meets this girl. That to me is way more interesting than what [growing fangs] looks like.”] http://blog.buzzymultimedia.com/alan-ball-interview/

      Well, actually this AB comment about Bill in one of his latest interviews (on january 2010) sounds like admiration to me…

      (BTW… He said he also loves Eggs :roll:)

      • March 21, 2010 at 5:33 am

        I do agree with you Gigi that Ball appears to have an ongoing love affair with Bill, but how much of that is genuine and how much of it is to support the agenda of his show is what’s really up for debate.

        The first two books are all about Bill and Sookie – and the first two seasons of True Blood have reflected that emphasis. I know I rave on as much as anyone else about there not being enough Eric but there was a marked increase in season 2, as compared to season 1. Just like the books. And all indications are that the emphasis will increase again in season 3 – just as it it did in Book 3.

        From a purely marketing perspective, the Bill Sookie ship was the bread and butter of the first two seasons and if you think about it that way, you would expect nothing else of the show runner than to be pushing that ship with everything he’s got. Which is exactly what Ball has done. You certainly would not expect to hear him say anything that’s going to undermine it until he is damn good and ready to see it undermined. I’m seeing a change in Ball’s rhetoric of late – a very subtle one, but a change all the same and I’m 99% convinced that we are going to see one hell of a shift in Bill by the end of season 3.

        • 21 Gigi
          March 21, 2010 at 6:45 am

          [“Season Three is a big Eric [the vampire played by Alexander Skarsgard] season and Season Four is really big for Eric’s character, according to the books.”]

        • 22 Ashley
          March 29, 2010 at 2:22 am

          Yeah its all for the agenda of the show IMO. He supports who he wants people to like at that time. He has to push Bill and Sookie, otherwise could lose viewers. I think you are right about the shift in Bill as well.

  15. 23 VikingLover
    March 18, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Is that a cranberry colored coat hanging from the coat rack? Hahahaha! 🙂

  16. 25 Dwimordene
    March 18, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    Hahahaha… And another one! Ya… We must begin watching shot by shot… Hahahaha
    But how long is going to take AB to begin to get some conclusions? Because if he keeps being the mess of s2 (even if there is a reason, it was boring!) it will be the end of the series before the greates revelations.

  17. 26 Cheryl
    March 19, 2010 at 3:30 am

    I recently watched season 1 again and thought it was pretty fortelling when Bill was being judged for having staked Longshadow. Something along the lines of “humans are of no value” was said and Bill responded with something like “there are others who disagree”. Of course immediately I thought of the Queen. Plus then when Bill took Jessica to Fangtasia and Bill stated he had other matters to attend to and Eric piped in about those matters being Sookie Stackhouse and Bill stated she mustn’t be harmed and Eric went off about how that sounded like an edict but he would know if it was, etc. etc. All that makes me so hopeful AB will follow the storyline of Bill having been ordered by the Queen to seduce Sookie. Of course it would appear Eric wasn’t aware of the Queen’s orders so Im sure we will get some backstory on how he finds out in order for him to eventually force Bill to spill it to Sookie or maybe Bill will be man enough to tell it himself. Either way, Go Team Eric 🙂

    • 27 Gella
      March 19, 2010 at 4:19 pm

      Ok so I’m a big dork and I watched the audio commentary with Alan Ball and he basically said that they were going to stay true to the book with the whole Bill being hired by the queen to seduce Sookie part.

  18. 30 sunnynala
    March 19, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    I hope that La Boheme poster ties in with my theory that Eric and Godric lived a bohemian lifestyle. 😉

  19. 31 LLE
    March 19, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    The picture of the tiger, Sookie had an affair with a were-tiger Quinn.

  20. 32 VikingLover
    March 21, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    [From a purely marketing perspective, the Bill Sookie ship was the bread and butter of the first two seasons and if you think about it that way, you would expect nothing else of the show runner than to be pushing that ship with everything he’s got. Which is exactly what Ball has done. You certainly would not expect to hear him say anything that’s going to undermine it until he is damn good and ready to see it undermined.]

    I agree 100% with you SVB. For me personally though, I think it’s option 2: that his “love affair” with Bill is just because of the current agenda/storyline of the show. That could change but for now everything seems to be pointing in that direction. One of the things that really sticks out at me is the fact that in the past 2 seasons, we have yet to see Bill trying to protect Sookie from the person that is apparently planning to do her the most harm: The Queen. We have yet to see Bill devise some type of escape plan, some exit strategy, ANYTHING, to protect Sookie from her. He hasn’t even told her the truth – not because of a moral obligation or because it’s the right thing to do – but because she is in grave danger! Sookie needs to know that she’s being stalked by the Queen for some sinister purpose so that she can at least try to protect herself some how. Instead Bill is moving right along with SA’s game plan. In my opinion, Bill proposed to Sookie not because he loves her, but because marriage will only help to forge a stronger bond with her. As his wife, it would be much easier to manipulate her and maneuver her out of Bon Temps and closer to the Queen. A human marriage would not save Sookie from a Vampire Queen so there really would be no purpose to it. If anything it would put her in more danger because now she’s “legally” bonded to him and he is responsible for delivering her to the Queen by duty/order. If Bill cared for Sookie, he would be freaking out after hearing the Queen say “I look forward to meeting her”. Instead he proposes. The timing alone is suspicious.

    That’s another reason why I’m still on the fence as to whether or not Bill has even developed true feelings for her. On some level maybe he does care for her (maybe even has fallen in love with her now) but the fact that he hasn’t told her anything, and even seemed to move on to Phase 2 of “Operation Sookie” by proposing to her, makes me doubt it. Sometimes I think he does and sometimes I think he doesn’t.

    • 33 sunnynala
      March 21, 2010 at 7:27 pm

      IMO, Bill is addicted to her blood, and as a sociopath he is only concerned with what Sookie can do for him, not the other way around.

      She strokes his ego by being ‘his’. She is “special” and “valuable” and the very act of “belonging” to him elevates his status within the vamp world. Why do you think Bill drove her all the way to Fangtasia, told her Eric required her services and then allowed him to ‘check her out like a library book’?? He was dick swinging in front of Eric: “See, this beautiful creature cannot even be glamoured and yet my wish is her command because she adores me”.

      Her blood is addicting and Sookie is his supply. Let’s see if he didn’t feed on Barry after he ‘rescued’ him from Lorena.

      Sookie has no idea who he is. He can pretend and act and she buys it hook line and sinker. She looks up to him and thinks of him as her hero. She is his miracle because she buys his load of crap and makes him feel important.

  21. 34 VikingLover
    March 22, 2010 at 1:03 am

    Holy Crap! Did you guys see the little snippet they aired of Eric fighting someone (Were?) in Sookie’s house??? Ahhhh! I can’t wait for S3!!!

  22. 36 VikingLover
    March 22, 2010 at 1:32 am

    OMG SVB, I’m DYING over here! I was almost screaming!! I saved it on my DVR and I keep pausing it!!!! Ahhh! Can’t wait for you post! 🙂

  23. 37 ksr
    March 22, 2010 at 9:01 am

    I guess we give too much credit to AB. He is not Hiëronymus Bosch after all. So I don’t think that he is so good in symbolism. I suspect that he didn’t pay any attention to Eric – tiger relationships when his stage designers stuck on this poster. AB even didn’t know the difference between ‘Blood Ties’ and ‘Blood Bond’ and you really believe that he remembered about Quinn while he shoot S1?! )))))

    • March 22, 2010 at 9:54 am

      Oh I wouldn’t write him off that quickly.
      What triggered this post was that in Season 1, he shot Jason wearing a cap with a panther on it. In the audio commentary for the DVD he commented that book readers would know what it meant.
      They’ve now cast Crystal Norris so it appears he’s going with the werepanther storyline for Jason. And that hint was also way back in S1 😉

      • 39 VikingLover
        March 22, 2010 at 11:53 am

        KSR, I think AB and Co. really do pay attention to details like that and they strew them around very deliberately. For example, last night while I was watching S1 ep 1 (like everyone else I guess lol), I was struck during the scene where Sid Lancaster comes over to tell Sookie that Uncle Bartlett had died. Before that scene, Sookie is trying to pack up Gran’s belongings and she cuts her finger. When Sid Lancaster shows up, he hands her a check for the assets that UB left her. When she grabs it she gets blood on it from her finger. I thought that was really freaking cool – in essence it was “blood money” he had left her. I was really impressed by that little detail and that they took the time to add that in. It’s little details like that which it make fun for me to watch – trying to find the clues strewn all about.

  24. 44 ksr
    March 22, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    SVB, you are frighten me! AB is fond of cats?! The climax is yet to come and we have to pray that it wouldn’t be оne nil to Quinn, couse this kind of trick quite in the manner of AB… %)

  25. 45 ksr
    March 22, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    TO VikingLover Last night I was watching S2 ep 8, but in all others cases I has to admit that I’m agree with you and you are right even if it’s easy to think that you are wrong… 😉


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,642 hits since October 2009

