01
Apr
10

It’s Chain Yanking Time.

I am posting this verbatim, without comment.

If I say anything about this, my head is going to explode. For real.

Question: The promo tease for True Blood’s third season shows Eric with noticeably darker hair. Why? —Jody
Ausiello: “Because when vampires keep secrets from humans that they love, their hair follicles turn darker,” deadpans Alan Ball. “And that’s especially true if they’re carrying a torch for a blond waitress.” Very funny. The real reason, please? “Alexander made a movie during his hiatus and his hair was darker when he returned,” explains Ball with a laugh. “It wasn’t a choice [we made].”

Moving right along.

Ball also lets on that he’s writing an “intense” Sookie/Eric moment in episode 6:

Question: I’m on my hands and knees begging for some True Blood news! —Nick
Ausiello: The show is currently shooting episode 6, penned by executive producer Alan Ball. And guess what? It contains what Ball describes as an “intense” Sookie/Eric moment. “Let’s put it this way,” he adds, “I think people will have strong feelings about it.” In possibly related news, Ball told TV Guide that “Sookie is sexually drawn to [Eric] because she’s had his blood. But there is another reason he’s drawn to her, one that will be revealed this season.”

As far as I can recall, Ball hasn’t written any Sookie/Eric scenes in the series thus far. Not a single line of dialogue that has passed between them has come from his head. The episodes Ball wrote himself are not among my favourites, but hope springs eternal. I guess.

Source: Ausiello Files

35 Responses to “It’s Chain Yanking Time.”


  1. 1 Julie
    April 1, 2010 at 4:41 am

    Is he serious? Alex’s hair was darker when he returned for shooting, so they just left it?
    So, if Anna’s roots come in, will they just leave those too? Ever hear of hair dye? He got highlights for last season, but they couldn’t give him highlights again for continuity?
    I am floored right now!!!!!!

  2. 2 Barbara
    April 1, 2010 at 4:51 am

    Julie – I’m with you on that one. His supposedly serious truthful answer …. well let’s just say the bullshit meter is saying he’s lying. Hmmmmm.

    Well, I don’t mind the darker hair color, but it’s just not Eric … he’s supposed to be blonde …. Nordic … Viking … remember that little tidbit, Alan ?????

  3. 3 Stef
    April 1, 2010 at 4:55 am

    I kinda wonder if ASkars mentioned anything to anyone about lightening his hair. He has read the books after all–he knows Eric is blonde…and he’s Swedish for christ-sake! Maybe it was an executive decision by AB’s posse. I’ll bet ya anything that ASkars would change back to blonde unless he was told not to. Don’t know the reasoning behind it…maybe it’s to give BL’s a semblance of hope (about all the hope they’re gonna get from here on out).

  4. 4 PrettyVikingChains
    April 1, 2010 at 4:58 am

    [Because when vampires keep secrets from humans that they love, their hair follicles turn darker,]
    Is he admitting that Bill is keeping too many secrets? 😉

  5. 8 Julie
    April 1, 2010 at 5:08 am

    Ya know guys……maybe, just maybe, he IS YANKING OUR CHAIN as the title of this post says….
    There is no reason why they wouldn’t highlight Eric’s hair like they did last season….
    After all, the season premiere takes place like a day after the season finale right?
    So why would Eric dye his hair brown in those 24 hours? I bet there is a reason but AB just doesn’t want to give anything away. At least I hope this is the case! AB can’t really believe that we are going to watch a season premiere with Eric’s hair suddenly dark and no wonder why this is right???? I mean, come on!!!

  6. 9 Gigi
    April 1, 2010 at 5:28 am

    AS was a blond in all past awards events during the last months, so he darker his hair for a movie he made during an hiatus of a month before they begin to film? Sure… more bullshit…

    [“Because when vampires keep secrets from humans that they love, their hair follicles turn darker”] KEEP SECRETS???
    m…
    (then he must had to dye Bill’s hair to blue black for this season, too…)

    Also hope there will no eggs available for a long time…

    or bulls…

    • 10 Ashley
      April 2, 2010 at 5:00 am

      Is he referring to Bill here with the “keep secrets” part? I mean since when does AB think Eric loves Sookie? I dont know, but this is freaking confusing.

  7. 11 AJ
    April 1, 2010 at 6:57 am

    Bloody hell!!! I was suppressing my anger about the dark hair but with those quotes of AB’s I am so pissed off, what makes him think he can treat the show and the fans this way?! Does he not care about the world and wonderful stories that CH created? He’s basically just read the books, thought they were great and then had an “I wish I’d thought of that” moment but as it is copyrighted to CH, bought the rights to make a tv show which CH thought would be true to the books and is changing it and doing whatever he wants to the story. ASkars hair was cut short for the movie he was making and was still blonde when short and when growing back, then during filming for season 3 it was suddenly chocolate brown.

    Julie – great comment about Anna’s hair and I hope your right that there is a reason for the dark hair. There better be!

  8. 12 AJ
    April 1, 2010 at 6:59 am

    Oops, my grammar messed up in my ranting. That of course should be you’re not your in the last sentence. Okies, I feel better now.

  9. 13 morrissa
    April 1, 2010 at 9:10 am

    Every time he opens his mouth, I want to punch him in the nose.

    I have to work on that.

    Fire bad. Tree pretty. There.

  10. 14 dsm
    April 1, 2010 at 10:13 am

    He’s got to be joking. What is this a low budget indie version of TB where the actors are responsible for their own hair/make-up/wardrobe?

    • 15 Jo
      April 1, 2010 at 11:39 am

      I have to stop reading these things but I can not. it’s funny how they only speak of Eric is not? kkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
      about the blood, it appears to be worse than the BB. will be: ah … I do not know if I like him / her by blood or by him bla bla bla (although the same thing to Bill)
      AB has a tendency to blame others for their decisions nuts, to say that everything is the responsibility of AS?

      • 16 Jo
        April 1, 2010 at 11:58 am

        OMG OMG OMG, could be the scene of Eric giving blood to Sookie in the bed? : 0

        • 17 VikingLover
          April 1, 2010 at 1:12 pm

          I hope so Jo!!! 🙂

        • 18 MASpencer
          April 1, 2010 at 3:13 pm

          That’s the first scene that came to MY mind… here’s hoping!

          • 19 MASpencer
            April 1, 2010 at 4:56 pm

            So I’ve changed my thinking on this. The wording that Alan Ball uses suggests that the scene in question is going to be controversial or uncomfortable to watch.

            My guess now is that this scene refers to a) Eric finding Sookie in the trunk with Bill post-rape, and possibly getting emotional/beating some ass or b) Eric revealing Bill’s lies to Sookie in a revelatory moment. At this point, I’m leaning toward door number one, mostly given the shot of Sookie with bandages on her neck in (presumably) the same episode.

            Unless, of course, Ball intends to make ERIC the rapist– which would be utter and total sacrilege, and therefore, highly unlikely– I’m sticking with one of these two stories. Either way, I’m fairly certain the “intense” moment alluded to here does NOT include sexytime.

            • 20 Gigi
              April 1, 2010 at 11:26 pm

              [So I’ve changed my thinking on this. The wording that Alan Ball uses suggests that the scene in question is going to be controversial or uncomfortable to watch…. Unless, of course, Ball intends to make ERIC the rapist– which would be utter and total sacrilege, and therefore, highly unlikely– I’m sticking with one of these two stories…. Either way, I’m fairly certain the “intense” moment alluded to here does NOT include sexytime.]

              I agree with you that the tone of his wording suggested an unconfortable scene, and my first thought was that he intended to make Eric the rapist. But I didn’t expressed it because there are a lot of people that are wanting to stay positive and think that the best way is wishing AB is going to change his mind about his show.

              But the reality is that he has changed a lot of the original personalities of both of the original male vampires characters, and has been giving Bill traits and scenes from book Eric and vice versa. So, I think it isn’t negative, but real, to know he could do it. Especially after we all know that AB would like to uplift Bill’s image (his lead male) if he’s going to show that Bill has been lying to Sookie about his original intentions in meeting her and his deal with SA. And the only way to achieve that is to degrade Eric’s image… more.

              For me, is better to be prepared and being wrong, instead to be hoping for something very different and unexpectedly being hit in the face by a nasty surprise of this magnitude.

              • 21 KittyKat
                April 1, 2010 at 11:48 pm

                If AB does that, then he doesn’t have a fucking clue, and it would never be following the book’s general storyline. Eric may be dangerous, egocentric, and has a very biased view of justice, but he was never abusive in his recent history, there’s not a single line written on his taking someone against her will (I leave it to interpretation in his human life, as mentioned by Sookie in the books, the whole “happiest days raping and pillaging”).

                And the main point is: he never was sexually violent torwards Sookie, ever.

                Whatever physical damamge he ever caused her was out of urgency or being caught off guard. He never was violent for violence’s sake. I remember small incidents, like pushing her out of the way when Siegbert attacked him and Victor(?) at Merlotte’s, him sqeezing her hand harder than he should when startled by something she said, him biting her hard to recover in order to be in fighting form to face Mickie, being unaware of her injuries after Charles’ attack and squeezing her harder than he should (he didn’t know about the broken rib, after all). And he always let her go immediately when made aware of it. Perfect? No. Deliberately wanting to hurt her? No. Are his actions even labeled as “couldn’t help himself”? No. Only a handful of small incidents that owe more to him being a lot stronger than she is than any instinct to cause her harm.

            • 22 VikingLover
              April 2, 2010 at 3:55 am

              [Unless, of course, Ball intends to make ERIC the rapist– which would be utter and total sacrilege, and therefore, highly unlikely– I’m sticking with one of these two stories.]

              For me personally, I am 100% certain that Eric will not be the rapist on TB. In my own personal opinion, yes AB has changed some things, but I feel the core of the characters has stayed intact.

              • 23 PrettyVikingChains
                April 2, 2010 at 4:40 am

                I agree. As I’ve said before, I think AB’s playing up the differences, not because he believes those are their key characteristics, but to have more character development for Eric & a greater fall for Bill. As has been discussed on other posts, he has put in several clues that things are not as they seem, mainly on Bill’s part. I think we tend to get mad because we feel like we know the “real” Eric & that he wouldn’t act in certain ways. But we have to remember that we didn’t really know him that much in DUD or LDID. And he kinda is a narcissist. (He has every right to be though!) I think we have some good things coming up that’ll hopefully make up for some of the things we haven’t been happy with so far. The one thing that I really have been disappointed in is the lack of development in E/S’s friendship/joking around. That was integral in their development, & I’ve missed both the sweetness & the quips. And a new driveway from Eric would’ve been much nicer than a dress from lame Bill :p

                • 24 Ashley
                  April 2, 2010 at 4:52 am

                  We still have a chance for the driveway since that didnt happen until the end of Club Dead.

                • 25 Ashley
                  April 2, 2010 at 4:55 am

                  Oh and i agree about the E/S banter…that really started developing in Dallas after Sookie was rescued from the FOTS when Eric was doctoring her, and before the bullet sucking scene. I really wish they had included a conversation between them before the bullet sucking.

            • 26 Ashley
              April 2, 2010 at 4:57 am

              I took his wording, “I think people will have strong feelings about it.”, to mean that it will just be an intense scene, not necessarily a sexy moment or that Eric will somehow harm Sookie. I really hope not.

  11. 27 Andrea Fincher
    April 1, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Has AB even opened one of the fucking books? Even glanced at the covers of the books? Seriously.

  12. 28 VikingLover
    April 1, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    This is the most bizarre thing I ever heard. Surely they must have something in their contracts that prevents them from making dramatic changes to their physical appearances – simply for continuity purposes in a TV series. I mean, okay maybe he had to cut his hair short for another film but they could dye it back to blonde – dye costs like $10 at CVS. lol I know that AS was filming 2 movies simultaneously during the hiatus so maybe he wasn’t finished filming the Swedish film (or Straw Dogs) during the start of production for TB? But again, there has to be some sort of safe guards for continuity purposes while filming a series! I don’t know. AB is full of poop on this one. There’s more to the story here.

  13. 29 Missus T
    April 1, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Okay. Okay. I want to kick AB’s ass over those comments. WTF? Alex came back with dark hair so we left it. BS. I’m thinking (hopefully) that it has something to do with the whole Leif costume…but IDK. I’ve been wondering about this hair fuckery since last season. I know it’s been said before, but seriously – continuity? Eric’s hair is going to remain short but Jessica’s fucking hymen is growing back? GAH.

  14. 30 sunnynala
    April 1, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    AB is as full of shit as a Christmas turkey. You can’t believe a word out of that man’s mouth. LOL. Yanking chains, indeed. There is NO WAY they just left his hair like that. First of all, it wasn’t that dark until they started filming TB, so there has to be a super-duper secret reason WHY in the context of the story.

  15. 31 VikingLover
    April 1, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    Actually, you know what I’m thinking? This doesn’t have anything to do with the whole Leif thing – I think the hair change has to do with the V and the capturing of the witches. It would explain why his hair would change from the start of the 1s episode in S3 – after he has met with the Queen.

  16. 32 KittyKat
    April 1, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    This is horseshit. Hair color? I’d understand hair length, but never color.

  17. 33 Kricket
    April 1, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    I would officially like to start a campaign in which we all send blonde hair dye to Alan Ball and the good people of HBO–Because Eric’s Blonde and He’s Worth It! And at this point, seriously, I would do that. I’m still holding to the faintest of hopes that the Leif disguise could be in play, but otherwise, it is just about yanking our chains. I just can’t believe that Askars is refusing to be blonde. So, I hope Pam’s highlighting skills are put to good use again soon, or it could be a deluge of dye for HBO!

  18. 34 Ashley
    April 2, 2010 at 3:52 am

    If they make Eric hurt Sookie in any sort of way i will be more pissed than i have about anything theyve done so far….im hoping he sticks with bill attacking for some reason and Eric helps heal her.

  19. 35 Lotus
    May 17, 2010 at 9:46 am

    In light of recent promos which seem to include scenes from episodes 1-4, I’m really curious as to what happens in ep. 6 that would be more intense than what we’ve already seen with Eric/Sookie. Assuming ep. 4 includes the scene with Sookie at LP’s for the second night, if the staking or whatever comparable event happens that night actually occurs, then we have to think Soookie would be taken to the King’s mansion in episode 5, leaving episode 6 for Bill’s escape and the trunk scene? Maybe Eric rescues her from the trunk and from Bill? But would he then take her to a hospital, as it appears happens if we go by the picture of Sookie in a robe and bandages? That doesn’t make sense …

    The really bad thing is we won’t know what happens until July, lol. Arrrgh!


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,646 hits since October 2009

