01
Apr
10

Charlaine Harris – Is Eric “worth it”?

Here’s some teasers from an interview the girls at sookiestackhouse.com did with Charlaine Harris a few days ago.

You can listen to the full interview at their site, and I took the transcript from here (thanks J9!)

Such a great interview – the questions are really insightful. I’m so sick to death of reading interviews with Charlaine that are all about True Blood… it’s great to see some meaty questions about the books for a change.

Some interesting excerpts:

Q: When it comes to Eric, you have stated in the past that Eric is all about Eric, and we know that there are some Eric supporters who genuinely feel that Eric has genuine feelings for Sookie. And then there are other readers who feel that Eric uses Sookie as a means to an end. Is there a chance that you can tell us how you personally perceive Eric’s involvement with Sookie?
CH: I personally feel it’s a little bit of all of the above. I don’t think there’s any one right answer to that.

Q: Considering how Sookie is now married to Eric—according to vampire law—will Bill respect her decision, and is it possible for Bill to move on with his life?
CH: Well, he doesn’t really have an option with that.

Q: Despite the fact that Sam doesn’t want to be involved in supe politics, he seems to know everything that happens. How does he find out this information so quickly or when will we find out Sam’s role in the supe world?
CH: Well, he certainly follows the supe website very closely, and I think that’s how he gets most of his information. Plus, he’s got a lot of friends in the supernatural community.

[Ummm….WHAT? I’m telling you, there’s something coming down the line with Sam. Supernatural website? COME ON!!]

Q: Is there anything you really regret that you put into the book series?
CH: Oh, God, yes. The blood bond. I really regret that. You don’t know how much I regret that. I must have answered, like, a million questions about it until finally I just said, “Okay that’s it. I’m not answering any more questions about the blood bond.” You know, I wish I had really never, never, never thought about the blood bond.

Q: If you were Sookie, what would you consider?
CH: I would consider whether the good part of being Eric’s girlfriend was worth the bad part of being Eric’s girlfriend. I would consider what the future was likely to hold if I stayed that close to him.

Q: We want to know if you want to leave a message for your fans?
CH: Well, I do hope they’re gonna buy the next book, and I also hope they’re gonna like it. It has a very big ending—an almost Shakespearean ending—and I hope that it isn’t, you know, too over the top. But it was a heck of a lot of fun to write. Just come along with me—I’ll show you a good time.

98 Responses to “Charlaine Harris – Is Eric “worth it”?”


  1. 1 MASpencer
    April 1, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    A Shakespearean ending? Now I’m REALLY curious…

    • April 3, 2010 at 2:24 pm

      A happy Shakespeare ending (a la Midsummer Night’s Dream) or the everyone dies tragically kind of ending (a la Hamlet, Othello, R&J….)

      • April 3, 2010 at 2:46 pm

        I’m thinking Shakespearean as in hella dramatic.

        She said a while back that DITF ended up having “a night of crazy resolution” and the impression was very much that she didn’t plan on it happening like that.

        I’ve been reading some sneaky reviews of DITF tonight and they seem to agree with what CH has been saying about the ending – Shakespearean, insane, crazy.

        But satisfying. Hanging on to that… 🙂

  2. 5 kealeagh
    April 1, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Hmm. You know, she seems far more diplomatic when she receives smart questions like these ones. I don’t know what she means about any of it, but I liked her answers.

    Every time I think it’s going to be Eric in the end, something new comes out and I’m like, hmmm maybe not. Sigh.

  3. 6 skadi
    April 1, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    “I would consider what the future was likely to hold if I stayed that close to him.”

    Er, it’d hold a gracious plenty if nothing else…. oh me and my one track mind.

    Anyway, I’m really intrigued by the big Shakespearean ending thing. A tragedy, perhaps? A big name dying… roll on book release.

  4. 7 KittyKat
    April 1, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    [Q: If you were Sookie, what would you consider?
    CH: I would consider whether the good part of being Eric’s girlfriend was worth the bad part of being Eric’s girlfriend. I would consider what the future was likely to hold if I stayed that close to him.]

    Ok, this isn’t surprising. But somehow, I wonder, some of the worse parts about it come from the fact that the vamps know about her, not that she’s Eric’s girlfriend/wife. Most of her recent problems came about because of what she’s cabable of, and by mere association with a wide number of supes, than of whom she’s seeing. I don’t like this answer.

    • 8 northmanfan
      April 5, 2010 at 1:38 am

      “I wonder, some of the worse parts about it come from the fact that the vamps know about her, not that she’s Eric’s girlfriend/wife. Most of her recent problems came about because of what she’s cabable of, and by mere association with a wide number of supes, than of whom she’s seeing.”

      I agree at this point the supes(not just vamps) know about her and are interested in her regardless of whether she’s with eric or not. Felipe De Castro wanted her in Vegas for her abilities, Breandan et al wanted her dead b/c of what she is(part fairy) and who her family is (Niall’s granddaughter). To me, supposing that being attached to eric is going to put her in any greater danger at this point doesn’t ring true to me. I think a life with eric could be just as fulfilling as a life with a human or other supe. I’m still skeptical as to us getting to see a “HEA” with sookie and eric, but that’s not because I don’t think it’s a viable or believable possibility.

      • 9 Ashley H.
        April 5, 2010 at 1:51 am

        I remember when Eric offered for her to live with him (because that is what he thought so others had wanted of him in the past) I thought it was a great idea, that life would be so much better for her if she wasn’t always home alone in that damn house.

        It’s nice that the house is her family’s legacy and how much pride she puts into it. But it gets her into so much trouble, because living there she is a sitting target. It seems that EVERYONE knows that’s where she’ll be and where she’ll return. It’s been so easy to hurt her there. And now with Amelia gone, she’s alone once again… 😦

        • 10 northmanfan
          April 5, 2010 at 2:09 am

          Either that or have eric move in with her. I think he would recognize how important the house is to her and want her to be comfortable. Besides, I think he probably has a fondness for the time he spent with sookie in that house. Even if she moved in with him someone would eventually track her down to their new digs. Either way, she’s going to need more security around the place.

          • 11 Maria
            April 5, 2010 at 3:50 am

            Claude is supposed to be moving in with her in the next book. Hopefully, that will give her some protection.

          • 12 Gigi
            April 5, 2010 at 3:59 am

            I don’t know… but why should be Eric the one to moves with her?

            He has responsabilities he can’t avoid as a Sherif, why also she will impose to him the burden to be worry for her safety just because she wants to stay at her own house? IMO, Feminism can’t be an argument when safety and life could be (and are) at risk. In real life we all have to face the moment to take decisions, and to make a decision ALWAYS means we have to make a choice and leave or sacrifice something. I think the moment has arrived in which Sookie has to take affirmative decisions about what to love Eric really means and SHOW HIM with actions that she really does. Because until now, HE is the one who has been ALWAYS making her confortable, looking for her safety, getting into trouble for her and making sacrifices for her (while she has been acting like a spoiled fussy brat with him…).

            It’s time for her to take an active role on her relationship with him, because LOVE isn’t a one way street. And it’s time for her to grow up, because life isn’t at all as the Harlequim romance novels she is used to read. Even less when you are going to share it with, not just a vampire, but a Sheriff Vampire (or even maybe a King).

            So it’s better than she begins to land, and starts to plant her feet in the reality, and also SHOW him that she really loves him.

            • 13 northmanfan
              April 5, 2010 at 4:25 am

              “I don’t know… but why should be Eric the one to moves with her”

              I think that wherever they chose to live, they’d BOTH be targets so to me him moving in with sookie is not a big deal. Another consideration in the midst of this is maybe they should consider that sometimes the best defense is an offense, i.e., maybe they should take more proactive measures to ensure their security whether it be through politics/negotiations, action, or start with increased security around their home(s). Yet another consideration is that eric only has a set amount of time to be with sookie. She said she doesn’t want to be immortal, so why not try to make her happy while he has time with her? Even it includes moving in with her,I don’t think that would be that a big a sacrifice on his part.

              • 14 PrettyVikingChains
                April 5, 2010 at 4:44 am

                It probably doesn’t really matter where they live, but I think it’s more of a symbolic gesture. I agree with Gigi that Sookie needs to step up & offer something to Eric, instead of again letting him suit her wishes. Yes, Eric probably would be willing to move in with her (at least he said so in DTTW). But he shouldn’t have to! Plus, I would imagine that Eric’s house is already pretty damn safe. And if there really is a portal in her backyard, it just makes sense for her to get away from there. Being further away from Bill wouldn’t hurt either, lol. Yes, he certainly wants to make her happy, but clinging onto your past is not always the best way to obtain happiness. Just because she’s mortal doesn’t mean that he should indulge her in everything, especially when her safety is in question.

                • 15 Tracey
                  April 7, 2010 at 8:06 am

                  in one of the books, i think book 4 sookie states to Sam she will consider moving out, sellin her home, movin to a nice neighbor wit modern things. she’ll agrees to think on the subject more at a later time. However, sookie never does that. in later books she always states she likes her home and doesnt want a change. however, havin re-reading the books in the right order i think sookie will finally talk more on the subject in a serious matter. I think she will consider some options.

              • 16 Gigi
                April 5, 2010 at 4:49 am

                [I think that wherever they chose to live, they’d BOTH be targets so to me him moving in with sookie is not a big deal.]

                IMO, not only is big deal, but also a BIG risk. Because everyone, including the CIA and my mom (who has never read the SVM lol) knows where is located Sookie’s house, while nobody knows where is Eric’s. And like I said before, I really think he already has made a LOT of sacrifices for her. And that is also the reason why CH is saying it’s time for her to take decisions.

            • 17 VikingLover
              April 5, 2010 at 11:36 am

              Well said, Gigi! I agree 100%. Sookie making an effort and also making some compromises and sacrifices for Eric will show emotional growth. Honestly, we really need to see this happening now.

  5. 18 Jo
    April 1, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    today you’re on fire SVB
    Well on the part worth it, every relationship has the bad part and the good part, considering that we not have seen so far their relationship, does not mean much. That’s not how the relationship with Bill (much worse) and with Quinn? be a sheriff or not, does not really make a difference. If Sookie is hoping to have no problem in a relationship then it is better to be alone!
    I think even with Sam the problems would not it?
    liked about the response on the Bill, not much he can do
    and if CH wants us to buy his future books is good to think very well what she wants to do. I personally have no desire to endure more uncertainty.

  6. 19 Dwimordene
    April 1, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    The Shakespearean ending is in the style of his comedies, or tragedies… Typicaly it would be the second… So, maybe the series end in book 10, and all of them die?…. Just kidding, CH seems to only look forward to get money (as we can see whenever se talks), it would be bad for her loosing more novels… lol.
    E/S future seems to be together…

    • 20 sunnynala
      April 1, 2010 at 5:07 pm

      Hopefully it will be like my favorite A Midsummer Night’s Dream (that’s Titania in my avatar) and the ending will have everything working out perfectly and everybody getting who they want.

  7. 21 PrettyVikingChains
    April 1, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    Call me picky, but I don’t like that she calls Sookie Eric’s “girlfriend”. Shouldn’t she recognize it as more than that?

    • 22 KittyKat
      April 1, 2010 at 11:20 pm

      Kinda have that beef as well. It’s WAY more formal than that in the supe world. Even if there’s only so many people that Eric can forbid from coming to his territory, Sookie may be out of reach to some extent to any other non-vampire supe (out of common courtesy to some degree).

      I found it amusing how it’s written as black and white that Bill has no choice but to keep his hands off her. I guess BL’s had a shitfit when they saw this, eh?

      • 23 PrettyVikingChains
        April 1, 2010 at 11:45 pm

        Oh, I’m sure they’ll find some way to spin it, just give them time. Just another way that “poor Bill” is a victim & can’t change his circumstances…& should hate Eric *rolls eyes*

        • 24 Ashley H.
          April 1, 2010 at 11:57 pm

          [Q: Considering how Sookie is now married to Eric—according to vampire law—will Bill respect her decision, and is it possible for Bill to move on with his life?
          CH: Well, he doesn’t really have an option with that.]

          Yes, when I read that I took it two ways: 1) He has to suck it up & respect her decision or 2) Her response of “he doesn’t really have an option,” as in someone is forcing his hand in some way to not respect her decision and for him not to move on.

          I really hope that the 2nd assumption isn’t so :/

          • 25 Mia
            April 2, 2010 at 10:13 am

            Strictly from a storytelling point, assumption 2 would make a better tale. Bill was always so well connected in the vampire hierarchy for his age considering his relationship to QSA and that Victor knew him. Bill could be interesting again instead of being this chronic stalker-type pining after Sookie if he has his own agenda or an agenda beyond just winning Sookie back. After all I think book 7 is the one where the “all vampires are twisty and deceptive” comment appeared so why not make him more than just about Sookie?

            It doesn’t mean I want to see Bill and Sookie together again since I think that ship has sailed, but Bill tends to be a stale character if his sole function is to be following Sookie about and making grand sacrificial gestures.

  8. 26 VampirePamsGirl
    April 1, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    Well, it seems like even if we don’t end up with Eric as the HEA, Bill will definitely not get get to be in that role either! And if Sookie ends up alone…I think I could deal with that. So these comments really made me hopeful that it will all end right and the interview was terrific, lots of good questions.

    Like KittyKat I am betting that the BLs really didn’t enjoy this though. Even though CH is vague and diplomatic on the Eric answers, her Bill answers do seem more straightforward (and negative for those Bill/Sookie shippers!)

  9. 27 Emily
    April 1, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    CH: ‘I would consider whether the good part of being Eric’s girlfriend was worth the bad part of being Eric’s girlfriend. I would consider what the future was likely to hold if I stayed that close to him.’

    I really don’t like the sound of that..if she doesn’t end up with Eric, there’s no one else for me that she could be with that equals their relationship. It would just be a really anti-climatic ending.

    Eric has to be her HEA. *stamps foot!*

    I want her to turn into a full fairy or an Angel somehow, and they’ll live for thousands of years together having wonderful sex and magically have lots of tiny blonde haired blue eyed vikings!
    I can dream can’t I?

    Charlaine seems to criticize Eric more than any of Sookie’s other suitors, maybe because she doesn’t want to make it obvious in interviews that Sookie is going to end up with Eric. It keeps us on the edge of our seats because we all have no idea how it’s going to end, so it keeps us hooked?

    • 28 nskars
      April 2, 2010 at 1:31 am

      I agree, Emily. Charlaine does tend to pick on Eric more than any of them and so does Sookie, which I continually find infuriating. I suppose we tend to expect more from those we care about the most but also in Sookie’s case; I think she’s so used to being let down that when someone holds her in the esteem that Eric does, perhaps she is determined to remain skeptical about their motives.

      CH’s comment in which she says, looking at the good part of being Eric’s gf and seeing if it outweighs the bad part makes me hope that Sookie finally sees sense towards the end. Eric and Sookie’s relationship seems to be built on friendship and genuine affection for one another (besides the lust, that is) and I honestly think that if Bill wasn’t poisoning her mind against Eric in the beginning, Sookie wouldn’t have half the issues with Eric that she does.

      Just my opinion.

      • 29 Gigi
        April 2, 2010 at 4:52 am

        IMO, Eric and Sookie will end together, but obviously, CH isn’t going to say it. Where will be the fun for her in writing more books and the thrill for us to read them if she says it now?

    • 30 dracodew17
      April 2, 2010 at 4:32 am

      [I really don’t like the sound of that..if she doesn’t end up with Eric, there’s no one else for me that she could be with that equals their relationship. It would just be a really anti-climatic ending.

      Eric has to be her HEA. *stamps foot!*]

      I totally agree. Eric has been there since the beginning and their relationship has grown throughout all the books. If she introduces some new character for Sookie to end up with after nine (nearly ten) books of developing E/S, I will not be a happy person. That would take away everything she’s created so far.

      I don’t mind the BB being broken because then Sookie will have to face her feelings for what they are without there being any room for doubt, but honestly, Eric is the only one she could possibly end up with. Anybody else would be an insult to all the readers who have followed this series thus far.

  10. 31 Patty
    April 2, 2010 at 12:06 am

    I hope she means Shakespearean in a comedy way…not like…a Hamlet way.

    • 32 PrettyVikingChains
      April 2, 2010 at 12:27 am

      Well, she’s already said that Eric (& I’m pretty sure Sookie) would survive the series, so even if she does take a cue from JK Rowling & start killing everybody off, at least we know they’re safe. She’s already started with Claudine…

    • 33 nskars
      April 2, 2010 at 1:19 am

      Or a Romeo & Juliet kind of way? o_0

  11. 34 Pogonip
    April 2, 2010 at 12:50 am

    She said, “Q: Considering how Sookie is now married to Eric—according to vampire law—will Bill respect her decision, and is it possible for Bill to move on with his life?
    CH: Well, he doesn’t really have an option with that.

    Q: Will he find happiness?
    CH: Oh yes. Yeah, I don’t see why not.”

    So BLers can look for someone else for Beel. There is no B/S in the future. Thank goodness. Thank Charlaine, Queen of the Sookiverse. Whether they lick their wounds, engage in denial, or move on, is up to them.

  12. 35 Gigi
    April 2, 2010 at 2:10 am

    My own personal translation:

    1- Eric isn’t a saint. He has used Sookie sometimes, but also loves her.

    2- No B/S in the furture.

    3- Sam “certainly follows the supe website very closely” HAHAHHAHA! Sam is an internet “geek and lurker” like some of us lol, who likes to be updated with any new information and news.

    4- The BB sucks… and is time to end it.

    5- She is saying that she isn’t going to answer if Eric will be or not Sookie’s HEA. Also, her choice of using the word “girlfriend” at the answer means she didn’t considers that Sookie is truly “married” to Eric or is his wife (as some fans think).

    5- Most Shakespearean endings shows the establishment of a new order and the death of the heroe (Prince or King). Given the fact that she isn’t killing Eric and said it is a very big ending, “was a heck of a lot fun” for her to write it and said she wants to show us a good time… that means Eric will be the next King of Lousiana. 😛

    HAIL THE VIKING KING!!!

    • 36 nskars
      April 2, 2010 at 2:14 am

      Viking Vampire King of Louisiana… NGL I love the sound of that. 😀

    • 37 Angie
      April 2, 2010 at 6:04 am

      Ugh, I want Eric to be King so bad – but I’m not sure that would be good for their relationship. Still, Eric should be king, just because I said so, dammit. 🙂

  13. 38 Stef
    April 2, 2010 at 5:43 am

    Shakespearean ending?? Has she decided to finally kill-off Bill?? While I kinda like Bill in little ways (like saving Sookie’s life) I still would do a little happy-dance if it would be so!! I’m evil…i know 😛

    • 39 Gigi
      April 2, 2010 at 6:05 am

      Nahhhh, killing Bill will only makes him a heroe after he said he will die for Sookie. And yes, you are evil 😛 hahahahaha!

  14. 40 Caitlin
    April 2, 2010 at 6:13 am

    I totally agree with you guys, I don’t really like what she said about weighing if Eric is “worth it”. After reading all of the books multiple multiple times it seems that the books are leading up to Eric and Sookie being together and that Eric should be Sookie’s HEA. But I just had this feeling that CH isn’t going to do that and that we are all going to be terribly terribly disappointed 😦

    The fact that CH has stated multiple times that Sookie will live a normal human lifespan and that she will not become a vampire makes me think her HEA will not be with a vampire. I think that if CH wanted Sookie to be with Eric she could make it happen (I mean she is writing the damn thing!) but she is making it more difficult!

    I am afraid Sookie is going to end up with Sam 😦 I will be so sad. For me, the best part of this book series is about Eric and Sookie coming together from such different backgrounds and learning from each other. I predict Eric will accept some sort of political position that will keep Sookie safe (whether it is King or something else).

    As for the “Shakespearean ending”…Shakespeare often wrote about dysfunctional family relationships. Perhaps Eric’s maker tries to end Eric and Sookie’s relationsip and Eric kills him? Can a vampire kill their own maker? Do we know what happens if they do?? Just my two cents, I love reading about every one else’s ideas 🙂

    • 41 PrettyVikingChains
      April 2, 2010 at 2:10 pm

      I don’t have a problem with her saying that part. I think it’s important for Sookie to seriously look inside herself & decide if she wants a life with Eric. As much as we gripe about Bill, Sookie can certainly be accused of being too passive herself. She’s never really taken a stand & went after a guy, or as far as we know, even seriously examine her heart for what/who she wants. And of course she’s always blaming the damn BB. Even if she did end up with Eric, I don’t think it could really be called a HEA if she doesn’t actively choose it. Of course I’m hoping that she will choose everybody’s favorite Viking, but I want her to mean it & know that it’s right.

  15. 42 Emily
    April 2, 2010 at 11:14 am

    My tiny hope for the life span thing is that in all the interviews I’ve read with Charlaine, she always says that Sookie’s life will never be ‘extended.’ This just means that she wont live a few hundred more years than the average human. But if it ends up that Sookie’s life isn’t extended but somehow she is made immortal, not by becoming a vampire but maybe something else, it’s not extending, because immortality is infinite.

    I hope you get what I’m trying to say, its kind-of hard to explain! It’s probably a silly theory, and perhaps in an interview Charlaine has already said something to diffuse that theory. But it’s what I like to tell myself!

  16. 43 LLE
    April 2, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Did any one listen to True Blood radio? Here is a link http://www.blogtalkradio.com/true-blood

    • 44 Phoenix
      April 3, 2010 at 5:08 am

      Thanks for posting the link LLE! I was letting out little squeaks of joy as I listened to her small teases on DITF. I really want to know what that one word Eric is going to say thats going to make us all so happy.

    • April 3, 2010 at 10:19 am

      Thanks for this LLE – definitely worth a listen!

      So one of the girls doing the podcast has read an advance copy of DITF, given to them by the publisher to review for their website. Some key points:

      DITF is not as dark as DAG but it has it’s dark moments. Overall it’s a lighter book.

      The reviewer was riveted – she really loved it, thinks most of the fans will be really happy with it as well.

      Bill is very, very sick through most of the book. It’s “pitiful” but something “very sweet” comes out of it.

      There is no specific answer to the “which vampire?” question. This doesn’t surprise me since she’s said a number of times that she feels the answer is already in the text.

      Alot of questions are answered, and some things are wrapped up.

      The ending raises important questions – there will be plenty of things to chew over when we’re done reading (yay!)

      Funny, witty Sookie is back – but it takes a little while. Her recovery is a rough road.

      The book contains a “cool nod” to True Blood.

      Eric fans are going to be really happy with one word that he says – just one word.

      Eric’s reason for not coming to Sookie in DAG is revealed – it is a good reason, and not what we’d expect.

      [Later in the podcast the girl who reviewed DITF totally squeed about Eric and practically wet her pants with excitement about the book coming out and how she couldn’t wait for everyone to read it. THIS IS GOOD 🙂 Towards the end she raises this “one word” again, and says that “fandom is going to EXPLODE”. This is VERY GOOD 🙂 Admission of LURRVE is IN THE BAG.]

      “Charlaine outdid herself with this one, loved it, couldn’t put it down”

      I’m really excited for this book. I’ve seen a couple of advance reviews now and they have both been really positive.

      • 46 Gigi
        April 3, 2010 at 4:53 pm

        [Later in the podcast the girl who reviewed DITF totally squeed about Eric and practically wet her pants with excitement about the book coming out and how she couldn’t wait for everyone to read it. THIS IS GOOD Towards the end she raises this “one word” again, and says that “fandom is going to EXPLODE”. This is VERY GOOD Admission of LURRVE is IN THE BAG.]

        Eic will be King and loves her, and E/S will end up together, but obviously, CH isn’t going to say it because there will be no fun and thrill if we don’t read it. 😛

        LALALLALALALLA!!

        • 47 VikingLover
          April 3, 2010 at 5:25 pm

          OMG I’m DYING!!! The closer we get to the release and the more of these things I read, the more excruciating waiting becomes!! 🙂

      • 48 VampirePamsGirl
        April 3, 2010 at 9:25 pm

        Yes! Yes! and Yes! I’m practically jumping up and down in excitement right now. Is it May 4 yet? I’m going to be standing at the doorstep of Books-A-Million that morning waiting on them to open, lol.

      • 49 Freyja
        April 7, 2010 at 7:06 pm

        What does LURRVE mean?

  17. 53 VikingLover
    April 3, 2010 at 6:28 am

    Thanks for posting that, LLE!! She seems to be an Eric fan and she said the book was really, really good – that she couldn’t put it down. Very exciting! I wonder what that one word is too! Maybe it’s “yes” to the question “do you love Sookie”. 🙂

  18. 54 Sonia
    April 3, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    So… My silly take on the Shakespearean ending is that it will involve all the villains from the book and they will mostly destroy each other… To wit, maybe something like this….

    Amelia and Octavia finally dissolve the blood bond (while they’re in NOLA and Sookie is in Bon Temps/Shreveport)
    That happens just in time for Sookie to not heel to Eric when Appius orders Eric to have her do something and Sookie instead gets to surprise Appius with a stake through his heart.
    Dermot attacks Sookie, but Bill is there and lungs at Dermot and sucks him dry, thereby surprisingly healing Bill while still saving Sookie’s life
    Ummm… and something about the Were and Shifter villains of the book destroying each other.

    The end result being, of course, that Sookie, Eric and Bill (and maybe Alcide and Sam, too) are left standing together, looking around with bewilderment at the spread of bodies, ashes, etc around them.

    Bill, being the pompous butthole that he is, then turns to Eric and asks (point blank), “Do you love Sookie?” And Eric answers with, “Yes” right in front of everyone.

    Cue end credits.

    🙂 (Clearly, I don’t have an advanced copy of the book, I’m just guessing.)

    Oh, and my take on CH and her Eric comments is that her earlier reveals of “Eric will live to the end of the series” and “I already know how the series will end, and that has not and will not change.” (those are both paraphrases-not actual CH quotes) make it more obvious than she would like that Eric will be the HEA, So, she is more veiled in her replies now, because, gosh-darn it, she has to keep her readers guessing to increase the swell of anticipation.

    Also, some FF writers and SVM fans are starry-eyed fangirls who completely misinterpret Eric’s character and make him into this one dimensional romantic hero (boooorrrring!!!!) instead of recognizing him as the complex, multi-layered character that he is, so if I were CH, I too would want to slap some reality back into the fanbase. “Hello!? Mass murderer, people! Not Hugh Grant in some generic romcom!” (Don’t get me wrong, I think some FF writers do see Eric for what he really is and don’t make him into some plain vanilla love interest, I particularly revel in the insightful analyses into Eric, the BB, etc, by peppermintyrose (http://www.fanfiction.net/u/1995564). And, no, that’s not me. I’m also an FF writer, but as most of my stories are TB-based (the main ones being “what-ifs” after Godric’s death), I can’t I have stories in an AU to CH’s vision of Eric.

    • 55 Sonia
      April 3, 2010 at 4:23 pm

      Bah! Didn’t proofread that post! and I reworded part of it a few times.

      “make it more obvious than she would like that Eric will be the HEA” should read “makes it obvious that Eric will be the HEA”

    • 56 Sonia
      April 3, 2010 at 4:25 pm

      BAH!! I’m totally going back to sleep now.

      “I can’t I have stories in an AU to CH’s vision of Eric.” should read “I have stories in an AU to CH’s vision of Eric.

  19. 57 VikingLover
    April 3, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    [Sookie’s lover vampire Eric Northman has problems when his creator the newly named Vampire King Appius Livius Ocella accompanied by Alexei Romanov arrives without warning, an invitation or an explanation,]

    So Appius is the newly named king??? This can definitely account for the Shakespearean ending – Eric will kill him and become king, maybe?

    • 58 MASpencer
      April 3, 2010 at 6:37 pm

      That was the first scenario that popped into my head…

    • 59 KittyKat
      April 3, 2010 at 6:45 pm

      Hmmm….. I missed the king part before. So in that theory that’s how Felipe de Castro decides to cause trouble for Eric? What would become of Eric in that scenario of him killing Appius, a king with a human wife? And Sookie being more in the line of fire because of it….. like she doesn’t have enough problems already.

      Quite possible, I guess that would make good storytelling, but how would Sookie react to that shit, especially where Eric is concerned? Bah.

      • 60 Christine
        April 10, 2010 at 6:21 pm

        I’ve been thinking too about what Appius. Namely, what would he think of Eric taking Sookie as his wife? I’m guessing he wouldn’t be chuffed. Imagine if he told Eric to turn her. We all remember Eric saying he wasn’t going to/didn’t want that life for her (I think it was quite early on…maybe).

        I always try to think too much about what the title could mean to the story. I’ve been thinking it could mean a thousand things. I’ve liked some of the fanfics floating around, especially the one where Sookie falls pregnant from being raped during her torture. I dreamed of E/S becoming a proper family but unless CH is going to rip off Breaking Dawn (hopefully not) it’s downright unlikely.

        Predictions:
        *Sookie’ll feel left out because everyone else has to deal with their family problems.

        *Sookie will have to look after Hunter to protect him from some fae stragglers who, refering to a synopsis, ‘Sookie is about to come face-to-face with one of her more distant relatives . . .’, which surely means someone Fae and evil. Right?

        *Sookie will question if she’s willing to sacrifice not having any children in order to be with Eric.

        *Sookie feels pressure from Eric’s family for being human.

        Does anyone else think she’ll ever be turned and have her HEA with Eric?

        • 61 Christine
          April 10, 2010 at 8:09 pm

          Sorry to double post!

          I just read [Q: Could Sookie ever reconsider becoming a vampire when this story finally comes to an end?

          A: Sookie will never become a vampire.

          Q: Is it theoretically possible that Sookie’s lifetime can be extended by magical means?

          A: It’s possible but it’s not gonna happen.]

          So now I’m about to jump off a bridge. How long could he love her? Surely even true love can’t make him blind to wrinkles and old age. Sucks. 😥

          • 62 VikingLover
            April 10, 2010 at 8:17 pm

            [So now I’m about to jump off a bridge. How long could he love her? Surely even true love can’t make him blind to wrinkles and old age. Sucks. :’(]

            Well, this could be true of anyone – including humans. Plus human beings stay together through old age loving the person regardless of wrinkles and such. In any case, nothing is forever. Sookie could die just by crossing a street and Eric could die at the hands of someone else. An HEA doesn’t necessarily mean it will be forever – no matter who she’s with (vampire, human, were). If she chose a human, this person woud not live forever either. Have faith Girl! I’m sure CH will come up with something.

  20. April 3, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    King of what? Each state has a King..is there an overall head King? Like the Prez?

    She was very touched by the whole Bill sickness thing..saying it was pathetic but something really, really sweet comes of it…WTF? What did anyone else think this could possibly be? A total transfusion & memory wipe that erases his memory of his need for sookay? So now he can be healed & move on to be a valuable (and un-annoying) ally to E/S? Or he saves Eric’s life somehow? Oh that would just be too much LOL..BL’s would shit themselves.

    I’m so excited! She says funny Sook is back..omg..is anyone getting an AVR of this book?!

    • 64 VikingLover
      April 3, 2010 at 7:27 pm

      [She was very touched by the whole Bill sickness thing..saying it was pathetic but something really, really sweet comes of it…WTF? What did anyone else think this could possibly be?]

      Maybe he tells Sookie that he just wants her to be happy and if that means her being with Eric, that he’s fine with it??? That he finally realizes that he will no longer have her and that he is happy just having her as a friend??? Wishful thinking, I know! If that happened, BL’s everywhere would die a little inside. My first thought though was that maybe it had to do with the Bellefleurs.

      [King of what? Each state has a King..is there an overall head King? Like the Prez?]

      King of what indeed! We know Felipe is still around supposedly so it can’t be Nevada and I would find it strange if Felipe gave up LA. I have no freaking clue! As to there being an overall King, I don’t know but I found this snippet on CH’s website as I was looking for stuff for the Q&A thingie on this page, she said there is an overall ruling body:

      Question: I have often wondered how Felipe was able to take over Lousianna and Arkansas without paying stiff penalties. Maybe, there is not a National ruling on this? Would the AP rule that it was “okay” for Felipe to murder all the sherrifs?

      Answer:

      4254 duckpond100 Edited 2009-05-31 10:01 2009-05-30 10:18
      Eric could have tried bringing a suit against Felipe if he wanted to die while he was waiting for it to be adjudicated. When there were only a handful of the original vamps left, it seemed pretty pointless. As witness what happened to the remaining Arkansas vampires . . .
      There’s an overall ruling body with a rotating membership, but we haven’t seen them and we may not. Otherwise, suits are brought at regional meetings, as we saw in Rhodes. In an emergency, there are other guidelines that can be followed, but they’re pretty drastic.

      Charlaine Harris

      • April 4, 2010 at 3:07 am

        I’m thinking Bill and Sookie might finally reach closure in this book. She tried in DAG but it went right over most people’s heads. Hopefully she will nail that coffin shut for good in this book, and Bill and Sookie see clearly who they are to eachother.

        And I reckon Appius is King of another state. Still mulling over how that’s going to bring him into contact with Felipe, but Felipe and Appius are definitely connected somehow.

      • 66 Gigi
        April 4, 2010 at 4:11 am

        If a suit was pretty pointless…
        and
        we haven’t seen the overall ruling body, and we may not see them…
        and
        we already saw a regional meeting in Rhodes…

        That just left us with the pretty drastic guidelines used in case of an emergency… if Eric had an emergency…
        And with a big shakesprerean ending lol. 😛

  21. 67 Ashley H.
    April 3, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    [Bill, being the pompous butthole that he is, then turns to Eric and asks (point blank), “Do you love Sookie?” And Eric answers with, “Yes” right in front of everyone.]

    That would rock my f-in world! Yesssssss!

    • 68 VikingLover
      April 3, 2010 at 7:02 pm

      The woman said the word is said fairly early in the book. Hmmm, I’m wondering if it’s during the discussion as to why he didn’t come save her. Knowing Charlaine it will be said in an offhanded why like: Sookie: “It’s not like you love me or anything”. Eric: “Yes” Or something like that. lol Have I mentioned that I’m DYING??? Seriously, I’m not going to make it. 🙂

  22. 69 VikingLover
    April 3, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    **way**

  23. April 3, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Foot Stomping Sookie: “I know I am selfish, but the bottom line is the man I marry has to put me first over everything else..I have to trust him implicitly. I would never ask you to pretend to be someone you’re not or give up your Area..because those things were a part of you long before I was around and make you who you are. No high-handedness, no lies, no deceptions, no charming evasiveness..could you honestly vow that I would come before EVERY other thing in your life…Pam/Fangtasia/Area 5/anything (or anyone) I may not even know about yet?

    Dejected & Confused Eric Shaking Head: “Yes”

    THUD

  24. 73 Freyja
    April 3, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    -The book contains a “cool nod” to True Blood.-

    I’m not sure what that means. Can somebody explain?

  25. 78 Dee
    April 4, 2010 at 12:08 am

    Now I am getting excited about the book!!! The one-word answer might also be “sookie”. Seems like his maker and “brother” come and cause problems, since the book seems to be about family troubles. His maker might not like that Eric is married to a human and might ask him to make a decision and he picks Sookie. Although, the word being yes seems very possible if he is asked if he loves her.

    Re Bill: I think it has something to do with his own family, i think they said Sookie has to search for a relative to help out Bill. Honestly, this would be the HEA for Bill, for him to connect with family. It seems to me like that is what he was longing for from the beginning. When he was with Sookie, the time he was real gentle with her and sweet was when he used to brush her hair for her, which he said was something he used to do for his little sister. Then he gives the Bellefleur’s money anonymously when he finds out that he is related to them. So either this will have something to do with the Bellefleur’s or some other relative sookie tracks down. Since she has to track the relative then im thinking someone else. Maybe a great-granddaugher? or some other living relative.

    • 79 Gigi
      April 4, 2010 at 12:22 am

      IMO, CH should give him a great-grandaughter and leave him only brushing her hair for the next 3 books till the end of the series… HAHAHHAHAHAHA!!!!

      • 80 VikingLover
        April 4, 2010 at 12:39 am

        Hahahahaha!! LMAO!!! OMG, I always hated those stupid hair brushing sessions! They were so creepy!!!

        @Dee, I love your idea of family being Bill’s HEA. It’s makes a lot of sense and it’s such a great point. I think CH did say that Bill would be happy in the end – much more than he has deserved, or something to that effect. That family thing would be really sweet.

      • 81 T.Rece
        April 6, 2010 at 6:26 pm

        [IMO, CH should give him a great-grandaughter and leave him only brushing her hair for the next 3 books till the end of the series… HAHAHHAHAHAHA!!!!]

        See this, this is exactly why I come here and LOVE your posts! I nearly spit my drink out but it was well worth it. If CH could just inhabit your mind for a day I think I’d be a much happier camper.

        • 82 Gigi
          April 12, 2010 at 7:55 pm

          HAHAHHAHAHAHA!! I’m glad you didn’t spit your drink. And I also have to thank your compliment, though I think her writer shoes will be way too big for me (I mean, she said she’s a pomeranian and I’m just a tiny pocket chihuahua RFOL!!!).

          **Big HUG**

  26. 83 VikingLover
    April 4, 2010 at 7:46 am

    This is totally off topic but did you guys see the OMGBILLQUOTES on twitter?? OMG, I laughed for about 10 minutes straight! I had tears streaming down my face! LMAO!! 🙂

    Here’s a priceless one: “Callin’ mah maker ’cause yew couldn’t win Sookeh for yourself eis feeble and desperate, even for yew.”—–3 hours ago

    **can’t stop laughing!!!***

    • April 4, 2010 at 8:14 am

      It’s awesome…I found that a few days ago, someone I follow started RT’ing them. We shouldn’t make fun….but he’s SUCH an easy target 😛

      • 85 VikingLover
        April 4, 2010 at 8:19 am

        OMG It’s one of the funniest things I’ve ever read! Here’s my favorite: “Quick, drink before the wound closes!” – “Would I be a vampire?” – “Yew won’t be! God damn it Sookeh! Do yew wanna live or not?”

        Hahahahahahahahaha!! **can’t breathe!!** Hahahahaha!

    • 86 Gigi
      April 4, 2010 at 10:09 am

      If you haven’t read them yet, you HAVE to read Meredith Woerner’s TB reviews in io9.com. They are great and incredibly funny!!! She used to include household notes from Bill to Jessica like this one from the S2 finale:

      “JESSICUH We are in great need of Draino. I tire of clogged showahs. Can you collect some upon your next visit to the shop? I would also very much like some old spice red stripe if that’s not too much to aaaask. Eric is evil. Vampire Bill.”

      (and all of them finish with the same sentence before his signature) HAHHAHAHAHAHA

  27. 91 VikingLover
    April 4, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    [“JESSICUH We are in great need of Draino. I tire of clogged showahs. Can you collect some upon your next visit to the shop? I would also very much like some old spice red stripe if that’s not too much to aaaask. Eric is evil. Vampire Bill.”]

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! LMAO!!! OMG Gigi, that’s hilarious!!!

  28. 92 Freyja
    April 4, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    Hi, I’m new here and I just love this blog 🙂 You all have very good points to add.
    I just have a theory about how CH has written the books. I’m always so stressed out that she will not have Sookie and Eric end up together. She has stated that both of them will survive the series and that she has known from the beginning how they would end up, together or not. Originally the books were only supposed to be 10 and not 13. If she finished book number 8 before she got her new contract, than she must have ment for them to end up together, I think. Because S/E would have needed to work out their issues in book 9 and surly have sex (the tension was to much for that not to happen). Sookie would have needed to get to know her fairy family and close the case on Bill.
    What do you think? Am I to optimistic??? CH wouldn’t have built up this love affair for all these years in the books to end it in the last book!?
    I’m just desperatly hoping for a good ending so I can read these books over and over again for the rest of my life and I don’t think I would do that if I knew the end was without the big bliss of love everafter between them.

    • 93 VikingLover
      April 5, 2010 at 11:42 pm

      Hi Freya! Welcome! Nope, I don’t think you’re being too optimistic at all! I think it’s Eric too. I think we’re all smart ladies and honestly, we all came away from these stories pretty much feeling the same way about Eric and Sookie. I don’t think that’s a coincidence.

      {I’m just desperatly hoping for a good ending so I can read these books over and over again for the rest of my life and I don’t think I would do that if I knew the end was without the big bliss of love everafter between them}

      Me too! 🙂

    • 94 MASpencer
      April 6, 2010 at 12:07 am

      I’ve had similar thoughts before, Freyja. And it would seem to me that any author facing renewable contracts would have to position herself in such a way to be able to wrap up the series at any time should it be necessary. Which, as you point out, makes a REALLY good case for Eric as the end game.

      Given what CH wrote, I’m thinking (hoping) that the romantic tension in the next four books won’t so much include Sookie experimenting with other suitors, but instead grappling with whether or not she’s chosen the right one in Eric. But whatever happens, I just don’t want the tension artifically extended for the sake of retaining the drama. The whole which-hot-guy-will-I-choose? dilemma has pushed its shelf life already, if you ask me.

  29. 95 KC
    April 6, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    I hope she starts closing the other suitors’ paths in DitF. It’s gone on for far too long and has become a little boring IMO. I want to see Sookie work on some self-actualization . . . and have some glorious sex with the Viking;)

    • 96 Freyja
      April 6, 2010 at 9:49 pm

      Yes I totally agree. I think Sookie has to think of her professional future too, like work for the sups as a consultant and quit Merlotte’s. She has too figure out that she is not just a waitress, at least I’ve never seen a waitress go through all of the things she has gone through 😉

  30. 97 Tracey
    April 7, 2010 at 7:55 am

    i dont realli like CH response to the last question. she sld have thanked her fans supporting the stackhouse novels instead of sayin “I do hope they’re gonna buy the next book.” I think the blood bond was a great idea. In addition, it made the books interesting to read. i wonder if she realli regrets introducin it completely or if its the the consant emphasis of the blood bond as well as the growth of the bond that she truely regrets. the growth of the bond is where the story gets complex and questions arise.

    • 98 Christine
      April 10, 2010 at 6:27 pm

      Without the blood bong Sookie wouldn’t be questioning her feeling for Eric, not to mention it helping her in coming to his aid. Also, doesn’t it add as a warning level that Sookie’s got too much of Eric’s blood in her system? If she ever gets used to it then maybe she’ll entertain the idea of him turning her (which I think wouldn’t work, cos who’d want their husband to have that much hold over them?) or one of his family.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,125 hits since October 2009

