01
Apr
10

First Look at Alcide

This scan of Sookie and Alcide from EW magazine has just gone up on Twitter.

Not sure about the facial hair – I guess it kind of works for a wolf though.

Source: @ReallyAlly via @JoeManganiello

48 Responses to “First Look at Alcide”


  1. 1 kealeagh
    April 2, 2010 at 12:01 am

    I feel like they’ll have no chemistry. I’ve seen Joe’s acting and it’s very…different to Anna’s. I don’t know. They don’t look good together either.

    • April 2, 2010 at 12:15 am

      I agree! Just looking at the picture, I don’t feel anything. I could feel more from the Eric and Sookie one posted the other day! Or, maybe I’m biased… 😛

  2. 3 Jo
    April 2, 2010 at 12:03 am

    he has to take off his shirt for me to give a better opinion 😉

  3. 4 Herm
    April 2, 2010 at 12:06 am

    Not loving the scruff!

  4. 5 Patty
    April 2, 2010 at 12:10 am

    He looks kind of crazy…more coyote than wolf. Hmm…I’m not sure he’s as hot as I’d like. And what on earth is Sookie wearing? Does it always have to be tacky?

    • 6 Gigi
      April 2, 2010 at 2:35 am

      [He looks kind of crazy…]

      HAHHAHAA That was my very first thought when looked at his expression on the pic. I don’t know if its a real pic, but it really looks like a photo montage, especially with that moon as a background.

    • 7 Ashley
      April 2, 2010 at 3:59 am

      Have to agree about the outfit…its horrible, at least from what we can see i think it is.

  5. 8 KittyKat
    April 2, 2010 at 12:12 am

    I think it may work for its intended purpose. He’s handsome enough for most people to wonder “what if” (not my type, though).

    Besides, if there’s another potencial suitor, it will make the gradual transition to our viking less problematic for the general viewing public (not talking solely about the BL’s), as it will be established that Sookie can/might/will consider other men.

    • 9 VikingLover
      April 2, 2010 at 3:59 am

      [Besides, if there’s another potencial suitor, it will make the gradual transition to our viking less problematic for the general viewing public (not talking solely about the BL’s), as it will be established that Sookie can/might/will consider other men.]

      I love this thought!

      I never really liked Alcide in the books.

      • 10 dsm
        April 2, 2010 at 4:16 am

        Of all the potential suitors (other than Eric) I always kind of liked Alcide the best. He seemed like a decent (and very hot) guy. Quinn and the whole “babe” thing was a huge turn off for me. Sam was too much like a older brother to her for me to ever take him seriously as a potential love interest. And Bill, well we won’t go there …

  6. 11 PrettyVikingChains
    April 2, 2010 at 12:22 am

    It looks like they’re in 2 completely different scenes! This may be a little premature, but if it goes like this, I don’t see their “relationship” going anywhere. I agree that introducing other love interests may soften the blow for BLs, but their chemistry would have to be believable for that to even have a chance of working.

    I liked the pictures I saw of him when he was first cast, but this doesn’t look like the Alcide I’d pictured AT ALL. Isn’t he supposed to be a very clean cut, upper-middle class guy? At least that’s how I imagine him. But here it looks like he borrowed an outfit from Sam…

    • 12 KittyKat
      April 2, 2010 at 12:33 am

      I agree with you there, I don’t think it will work either. It’s more trying to consider all possibilities than anything, hehe.

    • 13 skadi
      April 2, 2010 at 12:52 am

      It’s not how I imagined him either. And you’re right, he looks like he borrowed a his outfit from Sam. I always thought of him as much cleaner cut, but with really untamed hair. And bigger. Much bigger.

      It’s not a great photo though, so I’ll try to withhold judgement.

      • 14 Lise
        April 2, 2010 at 8:41 pm

        I agree the hair here is way too bouffant and not messy enough. Plus the facial hair is creeping into Wolverine territory.

        • 15 Christine
          April 10, 2010 at 6:44 pm

          […Wolverine…]

          I always pictured Alcide as being a young Hugh Jackman…not at all like that abomination up there^

          So I just went on imdb http://www.imdb.de/media/rm3893271808/nm0542133

          Joe Manganiello actually looks ok!

          • 16 Gigi
            April 10, 2010 at 7:55 pm

            He looks gorgeous on that pic, but it seems TB staff has a fond of messing with the characters images (specially their hairs)….. 🙄

            • 17 Christine
              April 10, 2010 at 8:13 pm

              Yeh, I’ve noticed that too. Stephen Moyer is actually good looking in real life…yet in True Blood he’s more grey than white, has huge cheeks and looks 15 years older. Alex looks so much older in TB than Generation kill…what is up with the TB makeup artists?! Surely they’re not trying to weather the vamps cos they’re meant to be soo much older! -.-

    • 18 Gigi
      April 2, 2010 at 2:49 am

      [Isn’t he supposed to be a very clean cut, upper-middle class guy?]

      In the books he is a middle class man whose father owns a surveying firm, but also Sookie describes him as a hardwork guy who used to work in the field most of the time and drives a pickup truck.

  7. 19 VampirePamsGirl
    April 2, 2010 at 1:26 am

    Meh…. but I do like the background there. It looks like a wolf’s head howling inside a moon. Probably doesn’t speak well that I got more interested in the background of the photo than in the two characters in it.

    • 20 nskars
      April 2, 2010 at 1:36 am

      Haha VPG, I liked the background better, too. I guess the wolf background rules them out of being in Club Dead in this scene? Poor Sook, she’s destined for wardrobe failure. Sigh.

      • 21 PrettyVikingChains
        April 2, 2010 at 1:41 am

        Unfortunately her poor wardrobe choices is one thing that TB has stayed true to the books about. She had some odd clothing choices in the books too.

        They could certainly still be in Club Dead here. I don’t know of too many places that would have a wolf background other than a supe hangout.

        • 22 nskars
          April 2, 2010 at 1:46 am

          Ohhh yes, I actually think her TB wardrobe is marginally better than her SVM wardrobe.

          I just thought that Club Dead was a vampire bar and while it is a supe hangout, I didn’t think the vamps would be putting pictures of wolves on the walls. 😛

          • 23 PrettyVikingChains
            April 2, 2010 at 2:00 am

            Sad, considering how horribly she’s dressed, especially last season. But true.

            Who knows the logic of the vamps. Or AB more likely, lol. Maybe he won’t stress it as a vamp bar, & just say that it’s a “generic” supe place. I never really understood myself why all the other supes wanted to hang out at a vamp bar, so maybe he doesn’t want the confusion?

            • 24 nskars
              April 2, 2010 at 2:22 am

              Maybe…

              Most of the time I differ between furious bursts of cursing AB for ruining everything and just seperately appreciating TB and SVM for what they are.

        • 25 ericrocks
          April 2, 2010 at 2:22 am

          “Unfortunately her poor wardrobe choices is one thing that TB has stayed true to the books about. She had some odd clothing choices in the books too.”

          I have too totally agree with this. I am just finishing up book 5 and Alcide takes her to the Packmaster Contest. She wears a long sleeve red t-shirt, a very short denim mini skirt, red tights, and scuffed up black mary janes.
          God Gawd Girl! How old are you? Three?

          Unbelievable.

        • 27 dsm
          April 2, 2010 at 3:10 am

          I will die if they actually put her in that red dress with the detachable sleeves that CH had her wear to the club in the books. Detachable sleeves??? OMFG.

          • 28 MASpencer
            April 2, 2010 at 3:50 am

            I’ll die laughing. If True Blood brings the red dress with detachable sleeves to the small screen, then as far as I’m concerned, Alan Ball has carte blanche to do whatever the hell he wants for the rest of the series without hearing so much as a peep of complaint out of me.

            That goes double if she’s wearing a banana clip with it! LOL.

            • 29 PrettyVikingChains
              April 2, 2010 at 4:44 am

              LOL! I don’t know if I could promise never another peep, but he would definitely get more cool points from me 😉

          • 30 Lise
            April 2, 2010 at 8:43 pm

            I dream of the red dress and sleeves he has to bring it to the screen, and the lovely champagne number with jet earrings, and black garters….sigh!

  8. 31 dsm
    April 2, 2010 at 1:35 am

    I’ve seen photos of him in which he looks take-your-breath-away HOT. Sadly, this is not one of those photos. Instead, he kind of has what, for lack of a better description, I’d call “the crazy hick” look here. The whole look seems out of place to me. In the books they portrayed him as being hard working and also having a bit of money and refinement. I’d always pictured him as having a macho but put-together look.

  9. 33 MASpencer
    April 2, 2010 at 2:14 am

    I, for one, think he looks totally HOT. That whole bearded, plaid-wearing, lumberjack look is very en vogue for the boys right now. And I LOVE it.

    I can’t speak for their chemistry as a pair, though. In this pic, it looks to me like they’re in some kind of trouble…

  10. 34 ericrocks
    April 2, 2010 at 2:16 am

    He is pretty hot in this pic, but still doesn’t quite do it for me. Not at all like I pictured him. And WTF are his green eyes?

  11. 35 Liz
    April 2, 2010 at 3:25 am

    the dress looks to me like what Sookie wore the second night i think it was…. a beige lace dress, wasnt this the one Eric creams on in the mansion…or was it off her by then. Alcide wore a suite that night though.

  12. 36 dracodew17
    April 2, 2010 at 4:41 am

    I think since Sookie has moved into her Gran’s room, she’s obviously been wearing her leftover clothes from the early ’50s. I mean, doesn’t this and the outfits from last season scream ’50s middle-America housewife?

    Honestly, FFS. Just because she dresses horribly in the books doesn’t mean she has to on the show. And I’m not digging the plaid. Contrary to popular belief, we don’t wear that much plaid down here in the South.

  13. 37 Sarah
    April 2, 2010 at 9:52 am

    I´d love to see a fashion hell column for the show. Remember the dress she wore in Dallas? With the flowers in her hair? I think Bill likes this kind of style. hopefully Eric has a positive influence on her.

    • 38 Lise
      April 2, 2010 at 8:45 pm

      The lilac dress that Bill sent over for the special dinner at the end of Series 2 was vile and did nothing for her colouring. Then again I guess book Bill had a hankering for a petticoat and well turned ankle.

  14. 39 Dwimordene
    April 2, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    I always imagine Alcide with suit or at leas dress shirts and nice pants… Not a cowboy guy… And saved too. I don’t like the image. But I don’t care much, I never liked him. And appart from my personal point of view, there was nothing between this two, she used him, he used her (he used her more than the other way round).
    I think the dress must be the one from the second night, and the theory of the clothes being her grands seems adequate and would explain the drastic change of fashion that we saw from the day she left her bedroom to Tara.
    I like to see she is wearing her normal hair, though… No more “southern woman” anymore 😀

    • 40 sunnynala
      April 2, 2010 at 2:39 pm

      AP was wearing this outfit in a (pap?) photo taken on a shooting location at a large hotel in Los Angeles. Some theorized it was a stand-in for Russell’s mansion.

      scroll down–http://www.zimbio.com/Anna+Paquin/articles/9sLjesUKvv4/True+Blood+Season+3+Filming+Location+Photos

      • 41 sunnynala
        April 2, 2010 at 2:42 pm

        Correction: It was the Trianon Apartments in Hollywood.

        • 42 Ashley
          April 7, 2010 at 4:05 am

          I think it looks like a good location to use for Russells mansion…and if you notice the shirt she’s wearing is the same as the one in the photo with Alcide.

  15. 43 Ave
    April 2, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    I’m fine with the plaid shirt but the scruff just does not do it for me! Alcide is supposed to be the other tall, hot suitor who is pretty much competing with Eric, right? From this picture, it looks to me like there will be no competition. Then again, I’m probably just biased.

    About Sookie’s outfit, I’ve seen more pictures on PaquinAnna.com and shes wearing a white long sleeve, lace shirt and a denim mini skirt with black flats. Not as bad as the damn detachable sleeves.. lol.

  16. 44 arakha
    April 5, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    I think he looks pretty hot, actually (although, not what I expected when I Googled photos of him after he was cast). Not a big fan of the plaid, but I’ll deal. I really liked Alcide in the books, despite the questionable things he did (although these did lessen my opinion of him somewhat), until the end of the fifth book. But during the eighth I felt kind of sorry for him again and I’m glad we haven’t seen the last of him.

    I think, after Eric and Sookie, these two had the greatest sexual connection/ chemistry. If Alcide hadn’t been so involved with Were politics, and had made amends for (or avoided) his crucial mistakes with Sookie, they might have had a future. Alcide isn’t too popular anymore, but who knows, maybe the show will change that. I’m kinda looking forward to seeing how the Alcide/ Sookie dynamic plays out onscreen. At least, through Alcide (and Eric), tv!Sookie will see that she deserves (and can do) better than Bill. I hope.

    Of course, I don’t really want Sookie to end up with anyone except Eric, in the long run. But I think, show or bookverse, anyone is preferable to Bill. -shrug-

    • 45 PrettyVikingChains
      April 5, 2010 at 3:05 pm

      The only book I actually liked Alcide in was CD. I didn’t see very many appealing qualities in any of the others. IMO, he’s at the bottom of the list, only above Bill. Even though I’m not a big fan of his, I’d rather see her with Quinn than Alcide. At least he had better reasons for his actions. Whereas Alcide made stupid decisions because he was infatuated with a crazy psycho. I know you can’t choose who you love, but you can choose what you do about it. The fact that he still picked her over Sookie after everything that happened ruined him for me. Other than Bill, I also think he is the one who has used her the most. Luckily, I think Sookie actually realizes this (!), so I don’t think she would ever pick him. But I certainly agree that anyone is better than Bill!

      • 46 VikingLover
        April 5, 2010 at 3:34 pm

        Yes, I agree. I don’t like Alcide at all.

        [Even though I’m not a big fan of his, I’d rather see her with Quinn than Alcide. ]

        Even though I threw up in my mouth a little at this thought, I have to agree. I would prefer her being with Quinn (**dry heaving**) then Alcide.

        • 47 Ashley
          April 7, 2010 at 4:03 am

          I dont know…i like Bill the least, then Quinn, then Alcide…Alcide was very sexist if you ask me…did anyone else notice this? I mean the first time he met Sookie he walks into her house demanding a meal? I thought this was weird, but maybe thats just me. And he was kind of snob, and then there’s the whole Debbie thing on top of it. Thats a definite dealbreaker.

          • 48 Ashley
            April 7, 2010 at 4:04 am

            Oh and he ran out on Sookie in the club, if Eric wasnt there to help her she would have died.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,147 hits since October 2009

