07
Apr
10

Latest Promo Poster

Come on HBO, you’ve already done the coffee pot. This is just milking it.

At the risk of sounding picky, is this what you’re paying the marketing department for?

The marketing of this show has always been a real talking point (remember the fence with palings made to look like vampire stakes in season 1? That was fucking genius!)…I’m feeling insulted by this campaign so far.

Yeah, we get it. You want us all standing around the communal watering hole talking about the show. I hope we don’t have 9 more weeks of this sort of banality to look forward to.

Yawn.

Hurry up with the character promos already.

We want some more of THIS.

116 Responses to “Latest Promo Poster”


  1. 1 KittyKat
    April 7, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Agreed 😀

    Although while they already used that idea, and would rather have more in the nature of that gif, still better than nothing. Gives us something to bitch about, my job bores me, I need stuff to read at work (naturally).

    • 2 Ashley H.
      April 7, 2010 at 1:54 pm

      I agree borrrrrring.
      But damn, thank you SVB, that gif is hypnotic. I can’t stop watching it! Those fingers, those lips, that grin.. Damn!! 🙂

      • 3 VikingLover
        April 7, 2010 at 2:12 pm

        [..Those fingers, those lips, that grin.. Damn!!]

        Agreed! *sigh* I’m having very naughty thoughts right now.

  2. 4 kealeagh
    April 7, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    Okay, this isn’t cute anymore.

  3. April 7, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    You know what actually bothers me more about this poster is the pile of cups that resemble an upside down fang, which would mean it’s a one-fanged water cooler, which means the other fang snapped off, which is grossing me out a bit. From me to you. 😉

  4. 8 arakha
    April 7, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    LOL, truefacts. Give us the goods, HBO! At least we will have a new book soon 😉

  5. 9 stephernutter
    April 7, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    I don’t hate it, but the coffee pot was a lot more clever/witty.
    My biggest problem with this one is the “blood” really just looks like water that’s been dyed red. It’s too clear! The marketing department is getting sloppy.

    I still love that it’s been 3 weeks of promos and there’s been absolutely no Bill. VILF doesn’t count because there are multiple vamps that it could refer to depending on your preference (and surely they realized that V could be for viking as well?). This makes me happy 🙂

    May 4th is coming fast, and then I’ll have the last book in the Millenium trilogy, and then it’ll be True Blood time!

    • 10 Tracey
      April 7, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      “blood” really just looks like water that’s been dyed red.” agreed. i dont like it at all.

  6. 11 Barbara
    April 7, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Becca – ROFLMAO! That poor water cooler and it’s one fang.

    But I agree – I would have thought Alan Ball would have some more snappy, exciting promo material than what they have created. High schoolers could have come up with better material than these 3 posters.

    Can’t solely blame the ad agency as I would imagine Alan having one of the final says in approving promotional materials.

  7. 12 VikingLover
    April 7, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    God I love that Eric promo. Good Lord the man is HOT!! I’m all hot under the collar now. 🙂

  8. 13 Patty
    April 7, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Oh man…that promo. I don’t know how many times I’ve watched it repeatedly. I really think that men that sexy should have to register with the government. He should have to carry a license.

    This post definitely did not help me today…I had to scold myself once already for thinking about him this morning.

  9. 16 Gigi
    April 7, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    IMO, they think the show sells itself. I said it on the last Tara post. They went from “Waiting Sucks” to “Promo Sucks” in less than 2 weeks… and I also think they already take for granted the viewers because they rely on internet viral marketing a lot, so they aren’t willing to spend too much in publicity for the show. Withouth working on the publicity field any of us could have made that silly water cooler ad (even better because we hadn’t use the “upside down fang” and a much darker red liquid LOL). Oh, and they used Eric as the opening of their S3 promos to hook the audience, because OBVIOUSLY it’s A$KAR$ the best seller of the show.

    • 17 Dwimordene
      April 7, 2010 at 6:02 pm

      True but… Instead of paying somepeople who are so lazy as to do just those ads… They could be paying some other people (don’t know how many though… THat could be done in few hours by just one…) that think a bit more before shotting and that have better final results… To sum up, more intelligent! (as you can expend the same money on Berska or Zara and get opposite results of quality and design)

      Btw, in promo 3 there was “waiting sucks” too, ok, maybe I’m just imagine things… but coudln’t find “promo sucks”… It sucks that E teaser was shorter and gave much more information than the other two, that should have been shorter…

      SVB is bad is bad… I’m supposed to be a freak for dark, swords, war, vamps and elfs… But wtf! Not guys! Arg… This is begining to remind me Orlando Bloom time… whom my friends taught me to adore him… You begin with a character and end up gossiping about the actor… This is bad… Bad… lol

  10. 18 VikingLover
    April 7, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    [Oh, and they used Eric as the opening of their S3 promos to hook the audience, because OBVIOUSLY it’s A$KAR$ the best seller of the show.]

    Good, I’m glad they do realize that because then we’ll see a helluva lot more of him.

    • 19 KittyKat
      April 7, 2010 at 4:04 pm

      Yea, seriously, regardless of whom they market as the mains, they seem to know what gets people talking. We’ll still need to see how Sookie’s and Bill’s promos fare, but it’s safe to say that so far, Eric’s promo got a lot more attention than the 2 subsequent ones. It might be argued by naysayers that it was the novelty factor, but IMO there was no way that Sam’s or Tara’s promos would get a lot of attention unless they had been the first one.

    • 20 PrettyVikingChains
      April 7, 2010 at 4:06 pm

      Agreed! And that just might make all the waiting worth it.

  11. 21 Dee
    April 7, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    Yeah I agree, kind of just repeating last weeks they should’ve gone in a whole different direction. Hopefully this weeks sneak peek on sunday will be better too.

    Don’t know if this was posted already and if it has sorry to post it again but did anyone else see the titles of the first 6 episodes of season 3. By the name of the episodes im very optimisitc about season 3 and seems like it may stick closer to the books. And seems that although some characters went in different directions on the show, it still ends up same as book. Crystal and Calvin Norris are on this season, so although Jason’s storylines were a lil different, seems like he still ends up with Crystal. Although Tara is completely different, she still ends up with Franklin Mott. Although Bill and Eric were changed a bit in the show, we definitely know that Bill was still in Bon Temps for same reasons and it will be revealed and Eric will help Sookie find Bill. They also just cast Holly who will appear in thee 3rd season.

    Here is the list of first 6 episodes

    http://www.tv.com/true-blood/show/74645/episode.html

    • 22 PrettyVikingChains
      April 7, 2010 at 4:14 pm

      Yeah, I just saw that they cast Holly. That made me so excited! Getting ready for some DTTW storylines!!! I’m a little confused on how they’re gonna do it though. They seem to be condensing some stuff & putting it in earlier than it happens in the books, but in general they still seem to be sticking to the overall plot of each book. I’m not quite sure how that’s gonna work.

      • 23 VikingLover
        April 7, 2010 at 4:25 pm

        Yeah, cause they don’t really have the luxury of a lot time – It’s 10 books they have to work from now. They still have a lot of material to cover: Rhodes (*crossing fingers*), the LA take over, the fairies. Can’t wait to see what they do with these.

        I am so psyched about S3 that I can’t even stand it! Book 3 is a big book for E/S so I think AB is going to amp it up several notches now.

      • 24 Dee
        April 7, 2010 at 4:32 pm

        Well with Holly, I think i read that she comes on the show towards middle of the season and she will also be in season 4. Not sure how important her character will be in season 3 bc so far all they’ve said is that she creeps out Arlene with all her psychic stuff. So maybe they’re just setting it up so that Sookie does get to know her and in season 4 will be able to help with the whole witch situation. There seems to be ALOT going on this season and wonder how much of Calvin and Crystal we’ll see. But i am curious to see the Hotshot community and how it will look. Im hoping alot of the characters being brought in early wont have THAT much air time just yet. I mean with the whole bill kidnapped story and eric having alcide help sookie find Bill and everything that happens in Mississippi, the Tara and Franklin part, Lafayette and his lover and mother story, sam finding his family, Crystal and Jason and Hotshot community, Eric flashbacks with his dad in them and eric avenging something that happened 1000 years ago, plus holly and also hunter will be on this season it sure seems like alot goes on. Im also probably forgetting some other stuff too.

        • 25 sunnynala
          April 7, 2010 at 5:59 pm

          eric avenging something that happened 1000 years ago

          Is there a spoiler which says Eric is definitely avenging something that happened a 1000 years ago? I was under the impression that a timeline wasn’t mentioned–I remember it as only “Eric will be out for revenge this season” but I could certainly be wrong. Do you have a link or remember where you saw this spoiler?

          As for Holly, I am hoping she is a good witch in the books? Possibly someone who could help Sookie do– a what was it called in the books? a “Recreation” of a crime–and I’m hoping she will recreate the truth of what happened to Gran.

          • 26 sunnynala
            April 7, 2010 at 6:09 pm

            Nevermind! You were right Dee. This is what Alex said to Michael Ausiello:

            “I’d say it’s about revenge,” he told me. “He will continue to explore the whole Sookie thing and what that’s all about. He’s trying to figure out what’s different about her. He’s intrigued by that. And in addition to that, there’s something that happened a thousand years ago that he’s still carrying in his heart. All I’ll say is he’s trying to avenge someone.”

            • 27 MASpencer
              April 7, 2010 at 6:30 pm

              When Alan Ball says that there’s another reason Eric is drawn to Sookie, and that we’ll find out what that reason is next season, I suspect that it might tie into this.

              Everyone assumes he’s referring to the whole vampires-can’t-resist-fairies angle. But I think that, while that may end up being true to an extent, it’s not the whole story at all. It’s too easy, especially considering the fact that Eric already senses that Sookie is something more than human.

              I think she reminds him of someone he used to know, maybe even from before he was turned… or something along those lines. Just a theory of mine, anyway.

              • 28 VikingLover
                April 7, 2010 at 6:35 pm

                MASpencer, I have to say that I always love your storyline theories! They are always interesting and outside the box. lol Can’t you work your way into the TB writing room somehow?? 🙂 I really hope you’re right because that would make a helluva storyline and it would make a very interesting E/S TB dynamic.

                • 29 MASpencer
                  April 7, 2010 at 7:53 pm

                  Aww thanks, VL! 🙂

                  But nobody get too excited about that theory yet. I’m only ever half right about these things, at best. Case in point, last season’s finale.

                  I was convinced, much like Sunnynala, that an entirely different scenario would be taking place. I called Sam being the sacrificial bull and even Bill’s offering to heal him in order to get him to cooperate. But…

                  I thought the idea of Eric posing as “the god who comes” was being strongly hinted at. Aside from Jason pulling off a dumbed down version of that ruse with the zombies, the writers also made a point of showing us that Eric could fly in the previous episode– making him the perfect “heavenly” decoy at the final showdown. In fact, Dionysus is apparently often depicted in a panther-drawn chariot… offering a perfect opportunity to introduce the Hot Shot community, with which Eric (as the area sheriff) would surely have some type of association.

                  Finally, given the “teamwork” we saw in that part of the book series– albeit in a totally different way– and the fact that so much fuss was made about his connection to both Lafayette AND Sookie, I just didn’t really think it was possible that they could leave Eric out. Although the pessimist in me refused to be to certain about it.

                  Alas, I was right to have my doubts. Honestly, it didn’t matter to me that they didn’t do what I THOUGHT they’d do. I actually PREFER to be surprised. I don’t, however, like to be disappointed. And I was.

                  It felt like they set up all of these possibilities, and then tossed them out because they decided to switch gears at the last minute. Why wait until the penultimate episode to confirm Eric’s ability to fly, if it isn’t going to be somehow important? Why have Sam come to him at all, when you know how seriously Eric takes his favors, if he isn’t actually going to help? And why harp on Eric’s ability to feel Sookie’s emotions if he’s just going to ignore them?

                  Why????????

                  That “showdown” left me feeling majorly cheated. And if there wasn’t a very good reason for the formulaic yet utterly nonsensical events of the finale, then call me critical, but Alan Ball and his writers should be a little embarrassed.

                  • 30 PrettyVikingChains
                    April 7, 2010 at 8:03 pm

                    Don’t completely give up on them just yet. AB has said that there was a good reason why Eric wasn’t in BT for the finale, so I’m pretty sure that it won’t just be dropped & it’ll play into the storyline for S3. Even though I’m looking forward to seeing the Eric angle, the finale (& the episode before it) was still mainly disappointing & way too MA-focused. It’s too late to fix that!

                    • 31 MASpencer
                      April 7, 2010 at 8:24 pm

                      Yeah, that nugget about revealing where Eric was DEFINITELY gives me hope. Fingers crossed that the season 3 premiere doesn’t kick off with Eric STILL playing Yahtzee…

                    • 32 PrettyVikingChains
                      April 7, 2010 at 8:32 pm

                      ROFL! Poor Eric 😉 I think the Magister should add Yahtzee to his list of vamp torture methods.

                    • 33 Dee
                      April 7, 2010 at 8:48 pm

                      I read that too and praying that after Eric’s visit with QSA he realizes something is fishy and investigates a bit and finds out QSA sent Bill to seduce Sookie and thats how he finds out and what he was doing during that time. It’s either that or the whole Avenge something from 1000 years ago

                    • 34 Dwimordene
                      April 7, 2010 at 9:15 pm

                      Of course he discovered QSA-Bill-Sookie relation, Dee, the queens words were obvious to the oldest vampire in her queendom, now he will seek what is it about. Poor Eric, his expresion after her threat tortured me… Too much concern in those eyes, he might have beeing feeling Sookie and Laffy too.
                      Btw, do you thinks QSA like Yatzy? I don’t know what is it about and don’t care… But she seemed tooooo happy playing… I think is a way to put her vamps under stress… Like a interrogation method. Even Eric slipt his facial expressions…

                  • 35 MASpencer
                    April 7, 2010 at 9:41 pm

                    Okay, and can I just add one more thing about that season finale debacle?

                    The mural by Maryann’s pool– you know, the one that the set designers SPECIFICALLY made to give us clues about what she was and what she wanted– depicts not the figure of a BULL, but the figure of a very well built MAN (who appears to have small horns, vis a vis Pan, who we know to be strongly linked to Dionysus).

                    Furthermore, what do you see conspicuously positioned behind a very human-looking Pan ravishing his human lover? A leopard… also known as a spotted panther.

                    See for yourself: http://www.screencaps.org/SciFi/TrueBlood/Season2/Episode1/TrueBloodS2E1-314.jpg

                    Once again, I just don’t see how that final showdown lines up AT ALL with what we (and Maryann, evidently) were led to expect. Which is why, Sunnynala, your conspiracy theory is awesome… untenable as I suspect it will turn out to be.

                    • 36 sunnynala
                      April 7, 2010 at 9:58 pm

                      Which is why, Sunnynala, your conspiracy theory is awesome… untenable as I suspect it will turn out to be.

                      Lol, I haven’t given up the unreliable narrator theory nor will I, and I include the bullet sucking scene. I am convinced beyond a shadow of a doubt that Alan Ball didn’t perpetrate these horrendous scenes without very, very good reason. I think we’ll get the ‘real’ bullet sucking during the blue boxer incident, and I think we’ll get some very large hints as to the reality of the maenad killing in the very first ep of s3.

                    • 37 MASpencer
                      April 7, 2010 at 10:06 pm

                      Oh, how I hope you’re right!!!

                  • 38 VampirePamsGirl
                    April 7, 2010 at 10:37 pm

                    You really hit on soooo many of the things that made that S2 finale such a let-down for me as well. I try to be optmistic about S3, but thinking back to that piece of crap finale always makes it difficult!

              • 39 Jo
                April 7, 2010 at 6:50 pm

                OMG that would be his wife? well I do not know whether they will talk if he was married or not, but it would be interesting

                • 40 sunnynala
                  April 7, 2010 at 6:55 pm

                  Oh wow, we’ve had some reincarnation foreshadowing so maybe Sookie is literally someone he used to know and love? And neither of them know it yet? Wow..I just got all excited, lol.

                  • 41 VikingLover
                    April 7, 2010 at 7:08 pm

                    Reincarnation forshadowing? Where Miss Sunny?

                    • 42 sunnynala
                      April 7, 2010 at 7:11 pm

                      When Maryann told Karl he hadn’t advanced much in this life. For many reasons, I think MA herself will be reincarnated into one of these new characters, and MF herself will play the character. (whose spirit might also have been conjured by a witch’s ritual)

              • 43 Gigi
                April 7, 2010 at 6:54 pm

                [I think she reminds him of someone he used to know, maybe even from before he was turned… or something along those lines. Just a theory of mine, anyway.]

                Could be possible because it’s common angle in most vampire stories. But somehow I think AB doesn’t want to be conventional about his story, and I will be very surpised if he uses it, because he always strives to make something different in his works.

                • 44 MASpencer
                  April 7, 2010 at 7:59 pm

                  You’re right, Gigi. It’s slightly cliche.

                  But it’s still a better reason for attraction than fairy blood!

                  • 45 Dee
                    April 7, 2010 at 9:35 pm

                    Dwimordene-yes, i have no doubt that Eric realized it right away. He is extremely perseptive and not to mention that Hadley and QSA practically gave it away. Which is why it only makes sense that he would investigate it to find out all the details.

                    The yahtzee thing was just weird. AB said he pictured QSA being like paris hilton/lindsey lohan. He couldn’t have figured out a different way to do this? I guess it helped show her young and playful side but you do make a great point.

          • 46 Dee
            April 7, 2010 at 6:21 pm

            Well in the books its Amelia that does the recreation but it was never used for the death of gran which sookie already knows Renee killed her so i dont think she needs to do that. Holly helps with something else in the books, has more to do with Eric’s storyline in book 4. But who knows if they’ll have Amelia in the show, so not sure what else Holly will do

            • 47 sunnynala
              April 7, 2010 at 7:00 pm

              I have a theory that Bill killed Gran and glamoured Rene and implanted the false memory of the murder, just as he did with the limo driver. (“the plane arrived we just weren’t on it”) It doesn’t have to be Holly that does it, it only matters that the concept of recreations exists and hopefully we will get to see it this season. I hope it’s Gran’s murder because Budd Dearborn always suspected Bill and I’m thinking Eric will make like Sherlock Holmes this season and will be sniffing out info on all of Bill’s nefarious activities in Bon Temps. It just follows he will talk to Bud. How the witches will come into it and which one it will be is anyone’s guess.

              • 48 Dee
                April 7, 2010 at 7:13 pm

                I dont think they’re going to do that. Remember that Renee aka Drew Marshall DID kill his sister 2 years before any of this and there was a murder investigation and cops had a file on this and remember the old man in the pie shop telling Sookie and Sam about Renee’s sister Cindy so i doubt bill glamored that man, plus the cops. Plus theres so much in the books left for them to uncover on the show that I don’t think they’re going to go backwards and show the whole Renee thing again. They want to move forward plus AB will not do that to Bill’s character, by killing gran.

                • 49 sunnynala
                  April 7, 2010 at 7:21 pm

                  I’m not saying Rene didn’t kill the other women. I’m saying logically he didn’t kill Gran. The MO and victim profile was ALL wrong, completely different from the other murders and besides, why would Rene go to an elderly woman’s house in the middle of the night expecting her to be gone while expecting a young woman out on a date (and Rene knew she was on a date with Sam) to be home? The memory Sookie saw in Rene makes no sense.

                  Bill could have followed Rene and found out he was the murderer, glamoured him and used him as a cover to kill Gran. It’s all about the “Shock Doctrine”.

                  plus AB will not do that to Bill’s character.

                  IMO, yes he will.

                  • 50 Dee
                    April 7, 2010 at 7:38 pm

                    I don’t know, i still don’t think they’re gonna go backwards and now do the whole grans death again. I hope not at least bc there is already so much more they need to cover. I mean they are already bringing in characters earlier and starting story lines earlier bc they realize they wont be able to do as many seasons as books there are. They really need to move forward. He didn’t kill her the same as the others bc he didnt expect to kill her and just reacted quickly.

                    I think AB wants to keep the whole love triangle thing going. There are people who will forgive Bill for being sent by the Queen to seduce Sookie bc they will believe that although thats what it started out to be he did fall in love with her so you will still have people who root for Bill. Plus he says that Bill will be very important in the show and always a key character. If Bill killed the grandmother which he had no reason to, then NOBODY will root for Bill. There will be no love triangle and if Sookie found out Bill did that then she would never even speak to him again which means he wouldn’t even be important in the show. I dislike Bill but even I wouldn’t want to find out he killed her grandmother which i dont think happened.

                    • 51 PrettyVikingChains
                      April 7, 2010 at 7:51 pm

                      I agree Dee, AB has way too much Bill love to change that story. Book Bill has enough marks against him, he doesn’t need this one added to it to prove that he’s not a good guy. I think it would’ve made an interesting plot twist, but that’s just not what happened in the books, so I don’t think it’ll come to screen. And yes, if that was revealed it would pretty much ruin his character. There would be no chance of redemption, with Sookie or viewers. Also, I think that there’s been too much time since Gran’s death (in RW time, not TB time) for it to come back. It would seem too out of left field, IMO.

                    • 52 Dwimordene
                      April 7, 2010 at 8:22 pm

                      “Book Bill has enough marks against him, he doesn’t need this one added to it to prove that he’s not a good guy.”

                      I think, for Sookie, it was needed… She didn’t realize she was raped, she was manipulated, and so on…

                      I would love that twist… And I hope it happens, because it got Bill in a great position (as the Ratts attack)… I hope we discover (in TB) answers for all those “details”, but if we do, it would happen after huge dig in Bills activities and when there is no need of the character anymore.
                      Maybe it never happens though… But surely it wouldn’t be now… There are too many stories already that I don’t know how they are going to manage (I hope this seasson they give the correct amount of time for each plot). The show is going from complex to complicated.

              • 53 Gigi
                April 7, 2010 at 7:30 pm

                [I have a theory that Bill killed Gran and glamoured Rene and implanted the false memory of the murder, just as he did with the limo driver.]

                I understand completely your theory about Adele’s murder and Bill because I thought the same when I read the books. Bill’s mission and his domestic abuser profile (along with the great-uncle’s murder) made me think he wanted to isolate her and leave her without “most” of her left family in order to manipulate her without their influence (to murder Jason would be very obvious, and anyway, Sookie and him weren’t too close on that stage of his relationship with Sookie).

                But if in TB they will go for this angle, I think is too soon to reveal it. Somehow I could see it like the last relevalation about Bill, the finishing touch to definitely show Sookie the murderer he is. But because is someone that she would never forgives him, I think it’s too early to disclose it now.

                (…my 3 minutes of wishful thinking today LMAO!)

                • 54 Gigi
                  April 7, 2010 at 7:33 pm

                  reVELAtion about … lol

                • 55 Gigi
                  April 7, 2010 at 7:35 pm

                  someTHING (damn keyboard… sure… lmao!)

                • 56 sunnynala
                  April 7, 2010 at 7:46 pm

                  This is very true. While I expect the revelation to Sookie to come in the form of a “recreation” (because really how else could it be revealed to Sookie? unless she very clearly reads Bill’s mind, and I think she already can to an extent and doesn’t realize it. After Tina’s murder her flashbacks to Grans murder scene seemed to come from an odd “hovering” angle pov, from which position Sookie was never in when she found Gran) I am hopeful we the audience will find out or at least have it strongly hinted at in season 3, before it is finally revealed to Sookie near the end of the series.
                  In this scenario the tension would come from the question of who will ultimately win Sookie’s heart and mind: Good or Evil? I think it is certainly a huge question sans the reveal of Grans murder if Sookie would not eventually be sucked in by Bill, who represents the very worst common denominator of our society–a violently abusive warlike male who uses death and destruction as a means of control.

                  • 57 Dee
                    April 7, 2010 at 8:00 pm

                    Well if he killed the grandmother I dont think Sookie will even think of who to choose she would just know no matter who she ends up with it won’t be Bill. I want her to pick Eric bc she realizes they are better together rather than completely eliminating Bill bc he killed her grandmother which there would be no consideration then. There also wont be any Sookie/Eric/Bill drama and no hopes of Sookie and Bill together like PVC mentioned. She wouldnt even want to be near him which would basically take him out of the show. I think him continue trying to win Sookie back is what will make the show more interesting. And seeing more Bill vs Eric competition. Like PVC said, theres already enough strikes against Bill. But these strikes are also things ppl will make excuses for to drag on the love triangle. If bill killed Gran, it would end the moment Sookie found out. Plus will take away from future stuff that happen in the books.

                    • 58 MASpencer
                      April 7, 2010 at 9:02 pm

                      For what it’s worth, Sookie has no shortage of male suitors in the books. Losing Bill as a romantic prospect– without eliminating his character altogether– still wouldn’t cross out Quinn, or even Alcide, as rivals for Sookie’s affection.

                      Frankly, a romantic triangle is about as much as I can take anyway. Any more than two men in competition turns into pure, bubble-gum, female fantasy material. Not very credible, to say the least. Though a quality problem, that’s for sure.

                      So… I don’t know if they’ll actually go there with Bill. But it would make for some serious drama– and would also be very fitting given the whole little-red-riding-hood, wolf-in-sheep’s-clothing-ate-your-grandma-without-you-knowing theme.

                      And they DID show Maryann dressing up in Gran’s clothing to manipulate Tara, who clearly felt the same type of grand-daughterly love for Adele as Sookie. (A point they continued to drive home by showing that creepy photoshopped picture of the three together. LOL.)

                      So yeah… when you think about it, that twist would be pretty brilliant. And just… HORRIBLE.

                    • 59 MASpencer
                      April 7, 2010 at 9:14 pm

                      Oh, and lest I forget, there’s always Sam to complete the triangle. Though on True Blood, his liason with Tara, paired with the fact that he essentially told Sookie to fuck off, kind of takes him out of the running for now.

                      He deserves someone who will treat him better, anyway. Poor Sammy. How my heart broke for him when he saw that deer in the woods. 😦

                    • 60 Dee
                      April 7, 2010 at 9:20 pm

                      @Maspencer-I agree about having too many male suitors at once so I hope by the time Quinn comes around on the show, you don’t see Bill trying to win Sookie back, he’s around but just isn’t going after her, just like in the books. Stephen Moyer did say in an interview recently that you just might see Bill and Sookie both with other love interests. Which makes me wonder if Selah will be put into the show, which I hope they do. Then at that point it will just be Quinn vs Eric.

                      If AB would go in that direction which would be different from the books, i hope he would keep that until the end.

              • 61 MASpencer
                April 8, 2010 at 1:57 pm

                Oh my. Alan Ball has just spoiled that Lois Smith (Adele Stackhouse) might be making a return in season three– via flashback, of course. And what reason would there be for the character to make a return THIS season, when they didn’t feel the need to include any scenes with her LAST season?

                Oh Sunny, I thought of you… if your wicked prediction actually comes true, I’ll just die. Die, I tell you!!!

              • 62 MASpencer
                April 8, 2010 at 2:04 pm

                Oh, oh, oh! And here’s his quote:

                “I don’t think she’s gonna come back and go like, ‘Oh, you know what? I’m not dead!’ But she certainly can return in flashbacks or in visions or perhaps there’s a different reality that someone might go into.”

                DIFFERENT REALITY???? Book readers, natch, are assuming he’s talking about the fairy dimension. But once again… I thought of you, Sunny!!!

                • 63 KittyKat
                  April 8, 2010 at 2:17 pm

                  I’d LOVE to see it but I think it’s so out of place for Sookie to ever forgive Bill in any capacity, had he done it. A romantic betrayal is one think, eliminates interest as a suitor. Going as far as murdering someone she loves? Far, far beyond it. Unforgivable, whatever the circumstances were.

                  Plus I don’t see AB putting Bill beyond redemption.

                  • 64 sunnynala
                    April 8, 2010 at 2:25 pm

                    Kitty, of course it’s unforgiveable but I seriously, seriously doubt Sookie will find out the truth anytime soon.

                    We the audience can find out the truth through a flashback from Bill just as we found out about the Chicago murders from Lorena. In a future season, probably the series finale, Sookie can utilize a ‘recreation’, possibly because of new evidence turning up and causing her to have major questions and doubts about who really killed her Gran.

                • 65 sunnynala
                  April 8, 2010 at 2:18 pm

                  Oh. MY. GOD.

                  Stephen Moyer: “You won’t fucking believe what they are doing to my character this season”.

                  MAS do you have a link for the quote? This just made my day, lol.

                  • 66 MASpencer
                    April 8, 2010 at 2:33 pm

                    Yes, of course! Here it is… scroll down, you’ll see it.

                    http://ausiellofiles.ew.com/2010/04/07/ask-ausiello-lost-glee-house/

                    I’ll add that it IS an off-hand, what-are-the-chances? type of inquiry. But they chose it for a reason, I’m sure…

                    • 67 KittyKat
                      April 8, 2010 at 2:38 pm

                      Seen it before and would love it, that’s for sure.

                      How would BL’s be able to sing their favorite song, called……. “SVM sucks! AB will fix it!”

                      That would be pure gold 😀

                    • 68 sunnynala
                      April 8, 2010 at 2:44 pm

                      Ok, he went into more detail than strictly necessary given the question, which was kind of mundane. He goes so far as to practically spell out a ‘recreation’
                      different reality that someone might go into.” Isn’t there an alternate “fairy realm”? Is it possible to look at or experience the past in this realm? do the fairies have this power, to recreate past events?

                    • 69 MASpencer
                      April 8, 2010 at 2:49 pm

                      OMG! And I completely glossed over Ausiello’s “that last part smells like a major spoiler” comment!!!

                      Could it be referring to fairyland? Sure, but I don’t see how that’s such a major spoiler when ANYONE has access to that info by way of a simple conversation with a book reader. In short, that would be about as spoilerish as saying that Eric and Sookie are going to knock boots– which is to say, not so spoilerish at all. 😉

                      Oh, pure gold doesn’t even begin to describe the kind of smug satisfaction I’ll feel if Alan Ball turns Bill into a Granny murderer. The mere thought makes my heart skip a beat.

                    • 70 MASpencer
                      April 8, 2010 at 2:53 pm

                      I doubt it Sunny… at least, according to the books, that would be a witchy thing. Ectoplasmic reconstruction is what I believe it was called in the books. But it wouldn’t really be a different reality, so much as a projection of a previous time playing over the present.

                      So yeah. He’s either referring to fairyland… or an alternate “reality” of events altogether.

                    • 71 sunnynala
                      April 8, 2010 at 2:57 pm

                      Oh, pure gold doesn’t even begin to describe the kind of smug satisfaction I’ll feel if Alan Ball turns Bill into a Granny murderer. The mere thought makes my heart skip a beat.

                      Oh I so feel ya.

                    • 72 sunnynala
                      April 8, 2010 at 3:01 pm

                      Ectoplasmic reconstruction…..wouldn’t really be a different reality, so much as a projection of a previous time playing over the present.

                      Ok, it’s kind of like what Ghost Hunters call an unintelligent haunting, only with witches forcing it to happen with a ritually specified event.

                    • 73 MASpencer
                      April 8, 2010 at 3:19 pm

                      Yes. Precisely.

                      Never thought about it that way, but that’s a really good way to put it. The parties depicted in the reconstruction can’t interact with those in the present, and vice versa. You just watch the past in playback, essentially.

                    • 74 sunnynala
                      April 8, 2010 at 3:30 pm

                      I think this will be an awesome device, and so useful! Lest you forget, I also theorize Bill killed his wife Caroline and since I think Eric, and Bud, will go digging into Bill’s past in Bon Temps it might just be possible they find suspicious circumstances recorded in the death of Caroline and Eric contacts the witches to prove Bill killed her…and then one thing leads to another and we eventually get a reconstruction of Gran’s death as well.

                      (However, I haven’t ruled out the very likely possibility that Lorena will force Bill to remember killing Caroline while she has him in captivity)

                    • 75 sunnynala
                      April 8, 2010 at 3:41 pm

                      And I just wanted to add, Bon Temps seems to keep a pretty comprehensive historical archive, if the possession of a well preserved private family photograph is any indication. The mysterious death of a prominent white woman in such a small community would be well documented in the paper and by authorities, and indeed, her death might be the reason the archives possess the photo as it might have been part of an investigation. Perhaps Caroline simply ‘went missing’ and the town authorities printed the photo in the newspaper in order to help locate her.

                    • 76 MASpencer
                      April 8, 2010 at 3:51 pm

                      I’m totally curious about the Caroline flashback– especially since, in the first season, they showed Bill and Lorena watching from a distance. And Lorena saying “You can never go back.”

                    • 77 sunnynala
                      April 8, 2010 at 4:16 pm

                      I’m totally curious about the Caroline flashback– especially since, in the first season, they showed Bill and Lorena watching from a distance. And Lorena saying “You can never go back.”

                      In the flashback we’ve seen it looks like Lorena is giving him one last look at his family and then she makes him turn away and leave. I’ve said before that I thought this scene takes place shortly after he was turned, which was directly after the war ended.

                      But maybe it was from the same time frame as the spoiler for Caroline which said she is seen about a year after the war has ended and she thought her husband was dead. I’m thinking Bill’s flashback is a delusion just as his flashback was to his release by Lorena–and just like the bullet sucking scene. He always casts himself as the tragic, victimized hero in these little fantasies of his, so I’m thinking Lorena will force him to remember correctly that they murdered his wife and stole her house instead of leaving.

                    • 78 Dwimordene
                      April 8, 2010 at 4:33 pm

                      I thought that Bill could have killed Caroline too, or at least beated her while living together. But I never thought in that moment. Remember that they had kids, and this children are supposed to grow older and leave descendants. So they having a murdering party there and staying at his house doesn’t seem real.

                    • 79 sunnynala
                      April 8, 2010 at 5:00 pm

                      I thought that Bill could have killed Caroline too, or at least beated her while living together. But I never thought in that moment. Remember that they had kids, and this children are supposed to grow older and leave descendants. So they having a murdering party there and staying at his house doesn’t seem real.

                      DWIM, the children are a sticking point in my scenario but any number of things could explain Compton descendents.

                      1-Maybe Bill had a brother who had children. It was never specified that “Old Jesse Compton” as Bill called him was a direct descendent of his. In this scenario, Bill would had to have killed the children.

                      2-OR–Bill and Lorena killed Caroline and hid her body in Bill’s grave. Bill writes a will specifying his long lost cousin “John” and his wife Lorena as guardians of the children in case of the death of both parents. The couple pretends to “arrive”, on the night train natch, take control of the children and pack them off to boarding school, provisions for which Bill has included in the will. They could then legally move in and pretend to have deadly allergy to sunlight. they moved on when they got tired of BT and left the house for the children.

                      3-Bill only had ONE descendent who was entitled to the Compton house? What about the children of his daughter? Who might they be, the Bellefleurs? I just find it hard to believe that the Bellefluers, who “keep better records” than the average family as Terry put it, wouldn’t know a grandmother was a Compton. I think they would know and they would claim the house if they are actually related. So no, I do not believe his daughter at least has any descendents on TB.

                      Which means one of two things: Either Bill killed both the children, thus leaving no direct descendents, or he only killed the girl and left the male child alive to perpetuate his “bloodline”, something that was extrememly important to landed Confederates.

                • 80 Dwimordene
                  April 8, 2010 at 2:22 pm

                  hahaha… Thands for that quote! This is beutiful! lol

          • 81 Gigi
            April 7, 2010 at 6:39 pm

            Sunny, that’s Amelia. In the books Holly is a Sookie’s co-worker. She is wiccan and is threathened with his son in order to help the were witch V user Hallow and his brother with their plans against Eric.

        • 82 Gigi
          April 7, 2010 at 6:32 pm

          LOL, yes. You are forgetting Jason and a threesome he will has with some girls (that we don’t know and we don’t care lol), his new coworker who kisses a high school guy who is the new rival of Jason and also has teen girlfriend who has sex with him in a car (for whatever reason -because we aren’t neither interested in them 🙄 ), Pam and her new girlfriend, Claudine in visions, Bill’s wife, Eric’s euro-ho, and Eric’s viking waitress with large boobs (he seems to be fond of waitresses since a thousand years ago… lmao), and Acide’s werewolf biker sister and Debbie high in V… OH, I almost forgot Arlene’s pregnancy and also some reverend and Tara thing (to my best recall).

          m…

          I told it once, and now that they are still casting characters from very important story lines, I have to repeat it. I think there are too many story lines and it is kind of a “too tigh” project for just one season (12 episodes). Because no matter they’ll make it works, I think the quality of the acting and the drama could be somehow compromised by the quantity of story lines and the scenes’ time for each one of them.

          • 83 Dee
            April 7, 2010 at 6:48 pm

            oh god thats quite a lot i left out…thats right the 3some with 2 NYU students and also theres a love interest for Hoyt. I guess for Jason they want to continue a little with his slutty ways before he is with Crystal. Hopefully the Euro-ho has very little screen time. Seems like she is just on one episode and also on the first episode is when eric gets shot in sookie’s house so i doubt from then on out we will see him with the Euro-ho. They did say we see Eric naked in beginning of show so im guessing he’s with the Euro-ho then finds out Sookie is in trouble and probably runs to protect Sookie. With so much already going on do we need to see the whole 3 some thinhg and Jasons new competition and all these other pointless things. I guess its to keep Jason part of season 3.

            I hope they remember to stick mostly to the important parts such as bills kidnapping, alcide, eric, sookie.

          • 84 VampirePamsGirl
            April 7, 2010 at 10:33 pm

            Yeah, I’m with you on this one Gigi. I’m seriously worried about the thousand different story lines that it seems like they’ll have. I know there was that one interview with ASkars where he joked about the cast of a thousand for TB. I recently read an interview with Carrie Preston (Arlene) where she pretty much made the same remarks about the cast of a thousand. She also said that with so many different actors, all of them (even AP and SM) have weeks at a time where they are not needed for filming. I hope TB can pull it off, but I’m worried for sure.

  12. 85 KittyKat
    April 7, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    I was poking around and saw this in NYPost and found it amusing that in everyone’s mind (except the obvilious and deluded) is whether or not Sookie will get it on, or how far it will go.

    [Considering “True Blood” is TV’s biggest water cooler show right now — “OMG, can you believe how hot Sookie and Eric were last night,” for example — it makes total sense that for the third promotional poster, HBO would tap the breakroom’s best kibutz spot.]

    There are 2 more paragraphs, but Bill isn’t even mentioned, which I found pretty amusing.

    AB can say whatever he wants, I think it’s pretty clear, no matter the medium, what the large majority wants to see.

    http://www.nypost.com/p/blogs/popwrap/exclusive_true_blood_anticipation_vcUUZk3JWW4dFJtfoQUXaM

    • 86 Gigi
      April 7, 2010 at 6:42 pm

      Bill who??

    • 87 Dee
      April 7, 2010 at 7:06 pm

      I think the response from viewers who saw eric and sookie in the dream scenes made AB realize which direction he should go in or maybe he knew all along lol. It makes the book readers who are eric fans happy, and sales for the books went up 157% so as the show goes on there will be more fans who love book eric and want to see it on screen. Also those who never read the books and were or still are Bill fans like the whole sookie and eric thing. For one it spices things up, who wants to constantly see Bill telling everyone “sookie is mine” or telling her what to do or what to say or not to say. This show isn’t about a typical fairytale romance.

      • 88 PrettyVikingChains
        April 7, 2010 at 7:55 pm

        I have to disagree with you about the Bill fans. They’re all obviously crazy & actually do seem to like “Sookie is mine” & all his other disturbing qualities. I don’t think they’d be happy at all by seeing E/S.

        • 89 VikingLover
          April 7, 2010 at 8:07 pm

          I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – BL’s (or BB’s/Bill Bangers as I like to refer to them) scare the crap out of me.

          @ Dee: {..made AB realize which direction he should go in or maybe he knew all along lol.} I firmly believe this was the direction he was going in all along. Too much foreshadowing and hints in S1 not to be the case.

        • 90 Dee
          April 7, 2010 at 8:26 pm

          Yes you are right, there definitely will be those who will love Bill no matter what. Sorry should’ve clarified more that some viewers who are non-book readers got tired of Bill so you had a small percentage who originally rooted for B/S but changed to E/S but definitely still ALOT of ppl who still love bill

        • 91 KittyKat
          April 7, 2010 at 9:20 pm

          They are also the sort to write run-in sentences without any breaks or punctuation. Rather disturbing, but I guess it matches their brainwaves.

        • 93 Ashley
          April 8, 2010 at 4:16 am

          Some of them are really scary and aggressive, but i have seen some that like Eric too, not just Bill. Or those who dont care if there’s E/S because they think Bill and Sookie will just get back together right away…i really dont think so, but they can think whatever they want i guess.

  13. April 7, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    Agree completely that week 3 poster was a disappointment in concept and execution…zzzzzzzz

    I liked VILF though…especially the fan-modified versions that popped up last week.

    As for the finger-licking goodness above…watching that man lick his fingers and grin wickedly like that…well, as Lafayette would say, gets me all riled up in my nether regions.

    • 95 sunnynala
      April 7, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      As for the finger-licking goodness above…watching that man lick his fingers and grin wickedly like that…well, as Lafayette would say, gets me all riled up in my nether regions.

      Lol, I’m with you and Laffy on this one. 😀

  14. 96 sunnynala
    April 8, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    Oh boy, that’s awesome! Eric driving, in a HOT car? Hells to the yes!!

    Theo Alexander is a fierce hottie in that shot, isn’t he? Love the one the king on horseback and I especially love all the Pam.

  15. 99 Dwimordene
    April 8, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    So Eric goes to Sookie’s house in his car or maybe takes her back to her house after she went to see him to Fangtasia.
    Jessica might stay with Pam, good for her. She chats with Sookie, about Bill? About Hoyt? About her meal? About her future?
    Oh… And Bill in a change of clothes in the middle of the country?

    It’s being a long day of spoilers!

    • 100 VampirePamsGirl
      April 9, 2010 at 12:05 am

      “It’s being a long day of spoilers!”

      Haha, it seriously has been. And I love it! My b-day is Tuesday and I already felt like I was getting a present because Glee returns that day, but with all these Eric/Askars pics and the extended DITF chapter with all that yummy Eric goodness, I’m really feeling like the universe loves me, lol. I mean… just to make things all about me, lol. 😀 But sometimes you just get so happy that you gotta share, haha.

  16. 101 Dee
    April 8, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Thank you for posting these! Love the pic of Eric in the car, you could see so much of his chest it almost looks like he has no shirt underneath that jacket haha, i do think he has one on though.

    I was excited when I read they have a pic of Sookie and Eric in a romantice embrace, that’s not a romantic embrace.

    Bill’s pic confuses me the most, maybe he’s on Russell’s property?

  17. 105 MASpencer
    April 8, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Anyone know what kind of uniform Russell has on? It looks Napoleonic to me, but I’m HARDLY an expert on these things…

    I wonder, because I think we’re going to see that either Eric or Bill (or both) have a backstory with him. Given Eric’s supposed “revenge” plot, I’m leaning toward him. So I assume this screencap is probably a flashback to the old country– it doesn’t look like any American war attire that I’m familiar with off the top of my head. But identifying the uniform will confirm that one way or the other.

    • 106 MASpencer
      April 8, 2010 at 6:15 pm

      Or around the British Regency maybe? I don’t know… the cravat doesn’t seem quite right for that.

      • 107 MASpencer
        April 8, 2010 at 6:17 pm

        Dur, that’s roughly the same era, I know. But I mean regionally speaking…

        • 108 sunnynala
          April 8, 2010 at 6:21 pm

          It’s possible he’s just wearing pretentious riding clothes in the present day. I don’t see any military medals or sashes, nor even a sword or sidearm.

          • 109 MASpencer
            April 8, 2010 at 6:35 pm

            True… but the cravat is kind of a giveaway no? People might wear a jacket and riding pants, but the cravat/ascot seems a bit much, don’t you think? Unless you’re Prince, of course. LOL.

            That said, you’re right about no medals, sashes, or arms. So… huh.

            • 110 sunnynala
              April 8, 2010 at 7:06 pm

              It certainly could be a flashback to Regency England. Probably the King has always enjoyed the benefits of money and high society.

          • 111 MASpencer
            April 9, 2010 at 5:02 pm

            Indeed, Meredith Woerner at i09 confirmed that it’s actually traditional fox-hunting attire. So maybe a flashback, maybe not.

            I will say that I find this humorous, considering the expansion of the were world in store this season…

    • 112 Gigi
      April 8, 2010 at 11:35 pm

      It’s indeed french… remember Louisiana and Mississippi are states with a very strong french heritage

  18. 113 Gigi
    April 8, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    [“I’ve been asked that and in every interview I just say somebody different because there are so many hot women and hot men on the show. If it were multiple choice, Choice A would be Sookie; Choice B would be [Fangtasia waitress] Ginger (Tara Buck); Choice C would be Jessica (Deborah Ann Woll). I would go all the way down to the multiple choice Z where it says ‘everyone’ and pick that one! I could see Pam with anybody and everybody, which I guess is really her character.”]

    This CB’s comment about Pam’s new female love interet, the cast of a church girl to fall in love with Hoytt and Jessica’s new adventures with the lack of control and exploring her true vampire nature, along with this new S3 picture http://i617.photobucket.com/albums/tt254/Wal-y/Blogs/TRUE-BLOOD-Season-3-Kristin-Bauer-D.jpg… make me think Jessica could be Pam’s new female lover…

    Because it’s a fact they hadn’t cast anyone for that role.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,646 hits since October 2009

