09
Apr
10

Amnesia Eric – Just Sayin’

“I’m cold,” I said gently, and he let me lie beside him, pulling the covers up over us. I propped myself up on one elbow and he lay on his side, so we were facing each other. – DTTW

There was a blanket at the end of the bed and he pulled it up over me. He turned his back to me for a moment and I heard his shoes hit the floor. The he got under the blankets with me and propped himself up on one elbow. – DAG
*****
“That confirms my bad opinion of humans in general,” Eric said. He pulled my coat off my shoulders, looked at it with distaste, hung it on the back of one of the chairs pushed in under the kitchen table. “You are beautiful.” – DTTW

“Don’t worry, you’re beautiful,” Eric said quietly. He leaned over to unbuckle my seat belt (to my astonishment), and as he straightened he kissed me again, this time on the mouth. – FDTW

*****
“When this witch is defeated, I would bring you to my side. I will share everything I have with you. Every vampire who owes me fealty will honor you.” -DTTW

“If I live through this,” Clancy said, “I’ll ask you to release me from my vow, Eric, and I’ll seek another master. I find the idea of dying in the defense of a human woman to be disgusting, no matter what her connection to you is.”
“If you die,” Eric said, “you’ll die because I, your sheriff, ordered you into battle. The reason is not pertinent.”
Clancy nodded. “Yes, my lord.” – DAG

…”Victor told our King that I was lying in an attempt to save my human lover from the fae. He said vampire lives must not be lost in the rescue of a human.” – DITF
*****
As I lay wrapped up in Eric’s arms, humming a little wordless tune as I traced the line of his shoulder
with an idle finger, I was bone-deep grateful for the pleasure he’d given me. A piece of happiness should never be taken as due.
“Thank you,” I said, my face pressed to his silent chest. – DTTW

“Eric leaned over on one elbow, and his big hand pressed my face against his chest” – DITF

*****

Dead to the World was written with a clear purpose in mind and reading it, you wonder how we could ever even doubt where Harris is going. Eric is the only suitor to have an entire book devoted to his character development.

He might have had amnesia, but this was not a “different” Eric. This was real Eric, stripped to his core being. Amnesia Eric was the Eric that is beneath the political animal forged of a thousand years of necessity. AE was a deliberate glimpse of Eric’s potential for growth and change.

Just Sayin’.

Image: aecr

29 Responses to “Amnesia Eric – Just Sayin’”


  1. 1 Missie
    April 9, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    No truer words have ever been spoken! AE is ERIC’s core!

    • 2 skadi
      April 9, 2010 at 4:21 pm

      The more I read the books, the more I believe this. It’s who he is.

      Great post SVB, as always.

  2. 3 Ella
    April 9, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    your posts brighten up my day!

    I’m also reminded of how Sookie has said that she can never date normal guys which has led to speculation of whether she’d end up with a were or a shifter if she wanted to have kids, but I’m not sure how much she would want to have kids with the potential of passing on her telepathy to them. Maybe Hunter can be her surrogate child in the future if Eric is indeed her HEA. I’m just thinking out loud…

  3. 4 VikingLover
    April 9, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    This is so beautiful that I feel like crying! 🙂 Eric and Sookie belong together!

  4. 5 ericrocks
    April 9, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Is it strange to love a fictional character so much? Good grief, I think I need mental health care.

    • 6 Tracey
      April 10, 2010 at 5:32 am

      i think we all do 🙂 we’re all totally obessed wit this series and the characters

      • 7 EricObsessed
        April 27, 2010 at 10:45 pm

        Oh I know how you feel which is why I’m so happy I found this site! Everyone I know is thoroughly sick of hearing me talk about these characters(Eric mostly!), my theories and general obsession with these books and the show. So thank you all here who are sharing my thoughts exactly, every time!

    • 8 nskars
      April 10, 2010 at 2:01 pm

      I don’t think it’s strange. I don’t care what anyone says. Our passion for SVM/Eric/ASkars has led us all here amongst friends where we can ponder and swoon without people hating on us.

      • 9 VikingLover
        April 10, 2010 at 4:56 pm

        Yeah, I agree. I really love this blog. I feel really safe here to express my opinions and not have a crazed BL jump all over me and I always feel that no matter what is written here, everyone is treated with respect. I really, really like that. Plus I love that everyone here “gets” it – the comments are always so intelligent and insightful. I’m really glad I found this site and Sunny’s.

        It’s nice to share a passion with other people that share the same the passion! It’s fun! And as I’ve said before, if men (and women) can have sports, we can have this. 🙂

  5. 10 Holby
    April 9, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    I hope not Ericrocks…of course, just think of all the discussion we could have if we all ended up together in group therapy!!!!

    • 11 Only4Eric
      April 9, 2010 at 5:12 pm

      Count me in for this therapy group. I feel like I should know better than to spend so much time obsessing about a fictional character, but Eric is so unique — complex, fascinating, magnetic (not to mention sexy enough to melt steel) — that he has built his own little nest in my brain. Yikes!

      Wonderful analysis; I agree that DTTW seemed to be a foreshadow of what’s to come. I also hold out some hope for True Blood — I keep coming back to Eric’s line, “This is the beginning.” I think it will take a while to get there, but I do think the path has been laid.

  6. 13 tvgirl.nicole
    April 9, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    I hope, hope, hope that you are correct about CH writing DTTW w/ that clear purpose.
    This was a wonderful post, nice way to kick off my Friday. Makes me want to re-read DTTW (not that it takes mych to make me re-read that book! My copy is so worn.)

  7. 14 Jo
    April 9, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Ericrocks, then all we also need!
    I love those posts, after the euphoria came the discouragement, but with these small details that SVB writes, my day has improved again!

  8. 15 Gigi
    April 9, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    I agree with you. But I don’t think it was growth, because IMO, the traits were there and CH’s purpose was to show Eric’s true personality behind the mask he needed to use for a thousand years in order to survive in the vampire world.

    [“When this witch is defeated, I would bring you to my side. I will share everything I have with you. Every vampire who owes me fealty will honor you.” -DTTW]

    When I read this for the first time in the book I thought it was a foreshadow. Sookie found this a little funny and exaggerated thinking it was a kind of medieval thought from him. But this is a very, VERY important quote because it shows CH knows since she wrote it that Eric will be King and he will share his kingdom with her.

    • 16 VikingLover
      April 9, 2010 at 5:20 pm

      Oh Gigi, if you were here I would hug you. Well said and I pray that you’re right!

      • 17 Gigi
        April 9, 2010 at 6:22 pm

        Trust me… 😉 (without the romantic sexy nuance of Eric, ok? LMAO)

        *sending a HUGE virtual hug to VL 😛

        • 18 VikingLover
          April 9, 2010 at 8:07 pm

          [(without the romantic sexy nuance of Eric, ok? LMAO)]

          HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I trust you! 🙂

  9. 19 Dee
    April 9, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    Yeah, I always felt that it was who he was deep down inside. The Amnesia just stripped away the 1000 year old vampire mentality of survival.

    I can’t wait to see this side of Eric on TB. I am even starting to think that even AB intends for Sookie and Eric to end up together as the seasons go on. I found this on a true blood website where they talk about theories and speculations. I am sure AB knows this fact and why they have shared dreams instead of just Sookie having erotic dreams of Eric.
    “In some vampire fiction shared dreams are a sign of life mates.”

    • 20 Gigi
      April 10, 2010 at 5:48 pm

      [I am even starting to think that even AB intends for Sookie and Eric to end up together as the seasons go on.]

      As CH would say: “Well, he doesn’t really have an option with that” LOL. Especially after all the letters sent to HBO, and the viewers and media pressure showing that Alex/Eric is the real soul of the $how… 😛

  10. 21 Jo
    April 9, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    We vote here, I’m sorry if I posted wrong SVB, if you want you can delete, but it is a vote for a magazine cover:

    http://coverawards.com/2010/04/08/alexander-skarsgard-true-blood-men-may-2010-details-covers/

  11. 22 PrettyVikingChains
    April 9, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Wonderful post, as usual. There’s been a lot of Viking love lately (pics, the extended chapter)! I think I’m gonna burst from it before May 4, lol.

    I’ve never doubted that AE was the real Eric, just without all the masks he had learned to use for his survival. I guess that’s something else that he & Sookie have in common. Now that he’s letting his down (to her at least), hopefully she’ll be able to do the same & they can continue to grow together.

  12. 23 Dan
    April 9, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    This is the theory I have operated on for long time. Now is the first I have started to doubt it. Either (1) Charlaine has changed her mind since DTTW (2) Its still on, Sookie just really can’t feel those deep emotions right now because of the torture. I think we should cut her some slack right now. She did say she loved Eric. She might snap out of this and remember how it felt for those three days.

  13. 24 Sara
    April 11, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    I love your blog, it completes the books in a perfect way. Thank you so much for pointing out all the things I might have otherwise missed and thank you for all the brilliant arguments and analysis. I always recommend your blog to friends that read the books. Thankyouthankyouthankyou! ♥

  14. 27 VampirePamsGirl
    April 12, 2010 at 12:38 am

    Never once have I ever doubted that AE was really Eric, just without the experience and hard shell, and this post only highlights and reaffirms that belief.

    I also have to double what nskars said earlier “Our passion for SVM/Eric/ASkars has led us all here amongst friends where we can ponder and swoon without people hating on us.”
    Damn straight! 😀

    Like VL said, I am so thankful to SVB for giving us this place where we can freely comment and theorize and not worry about getting attacked and even when people disagree it’s always still a very respectful debate (except for when the occasional ‘troll’ drops by, lol). And I’m also thankful to all the intelligent people that post here. I feel like I really learn alot from all of you and not just about SVM. 😀

  15. 28 VikingLover
    April 12, 2010 at 1:00 am

    HOLY SHIT! Did you guys see the new promo they just aired on HBO showing TB clips for next Season!!!!! SVB, did you catch that???

  16. 29 VikingLover
    April 12, 2010 at 1:03 am

    HOLY SHIT! Sookie gets attacked in the restaurant after Bill is kidnapped!!


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,642 hits since October 2009

