14
Apr
10

New Promo Poster – Sam

So is anyone noticing a theme here yet?

Perhaps I’m giving them too much credit, but these seem so random that I wonder if I’m missing something.

105 Responses to “New Promo Poster – Sam”


  1. 1 skadi
    April 14, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    Is the theme “HBO is focusing on things other than this ad campaign and therefore not applying much effort to it.” ?

    Or maybe I’m just dense – perfectly possible – but I can’t work out the connection.

  2. 2 ellemoe
    April 14, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    Season 1 re: Fig. 1 he was the dog. Season 2 re: Figure 2 he was the fly. But he was the bull in season 2 as well. Does that mean he’ll be the bull in Season 3 since it’s Fig. 3? I don’t get it.

  3. 11 Serena
    April 14, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    The common theme is ‘lame.’ I wonder how much the marketing team got paid for this crap.

    • 12 Gigi
      April 15, 2010 at 3:39 am

      I don’t think they are even expending on it. Judging by the last two or three promos, I would say they are lacking a real marketing team…
      🙄

  4. April 14, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    OMG THIS IS SO EXCITING

  5. 15 Pogonip
    April 14, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    Wasn’t it a white bull? Representing the god Callisto…..er….Maryanne was priestess for? Pan, Dionysus, the Horned God? Is this just a dirty white bull on the new poster? It’s just so hard to keep up with TB, with all the changes.

    • 16 Skarlove
      April 14, 2010 at 11:51 pm

      Haha! Instead of the “God Who Comes”, it’s the “Bull Who Needs a Bath”? That’s pretty freakin’ funny.

  6. 17 KittyKat
    April 14, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    The posters are….bleh, however…. it still gets people talking about them, and anyone that sees them knows that they are unrelated to whatever the series will deliver. Since people are more and more familiar with what the actors look like and that their character is, there seems to be a shift away from character photos doubling as promo pics. This one looks a lot like the kind of illustration books that were published at the beginning of the century. Weird thing is that it doesn’t mean anything in the series’ context.

    In a way they simply get people talking. They seem to be doing it by releasing something every 3-4 days (crappy or not) so that people don’t forget to watch when the time comes. now…do I like it? Nope. Yet I’ve been searching for the new poster every single wednesday since they started it, and I believe that’s the point.

  7. 19 Ericrocks
    April 15, 2010 at 12:10 am

    They forgot the owl that he turned into when he was running from Maryann.

  8. 20 Dwimordene
    April 15, 2010 at 12:13 am

    Vilf = fanatic girls (asume it.. LOL)

    Sam = silly girls (that let being lied)

    I hadn’t given importance to the statements that Sam, as a true shifter, could mean he is a tricker and lier. Because TB Sam wasn’t bad, but he seems to have many secrets.
    Now we get the poster… And it has written “be true” under the multiple shapes (could mean more than just a shape?) of Sam. The first thing that come to my mind was that Sam is more than we thought, the second thought was that maybe they use him in symbolic way describing the series.

    Anyway, I’m sure they advice us to be prepare for a huge change. Because all is a trick.

    • 21 Dwimordene
      April 15, 2010 at 12:16 am

      mmm.. Sorry for the terrible writting, I think I might go to bed, it’s so late, lol.

    • 22 Liz
      April 15, 2010 at 12:26 am

      that sounds good and inspired a theory of my own.
      Season 1 Sam was the best friend, with a decent amount of face time, even kissed Sookie
      Season 2 He wasnt much more than a fly on the wall… no kissin, no orgy, although he did save the day (big hole in my theory here)
      So can we expect Sam to get a lot of face time coming up, he is after all having nude scenes with Bill isnt he?

      • 23 Dwimordene
        April 15, 2010 at 8:31 am

        It could be, because a dog is friendly, a bug isn’t acknowlege and a bull (in Spain) can be the protagonist of the event… Though they are manipulated to be so… And this reminds me that in s2, Tara was seeing the bull’s running in Pamplona (los San Fermines) and though that is not bull fighting,the bull fighting is the important part of those partys… So if the promo is not refering to something of that, I think that idea of playing with the bull (or something related) has to have some meaing in the series, I will think about it.

        But I, now in the morning… I think the promo isn’t talking about Sam. THe videos talk about an specific character and story (mixted in the case of S and E – could that be a meaning?-) and the posters talk about a general idea, by now two have being about vampires, other two about the living (I could count that as if two were talking to the fictional and two to the viewrs). And I think AB is laughing at us with them…. we are vilf and we think we know the truth… pride or vanity? I have to think more.. lol… hahah…

  9. 24 KPMRSE
    April 15, 2010 at 12:43 am

    There is a saying, “you mess with the bull, you get the horns”. Maybe Sam is going to step it up this season and not take anything from his family?

    Or, maybe he’s just going to be full of bulls$%^.

  10. 25 Gigi
    April 15, 2010 at 12:52 am

    m… Given the fact that accordingly to Jung’s theory the pure shape shifters in literature are commonly related to the Trickster Archetype and…

    In many cultures the trickster and the culture hero are often combined…

    They might be saying that the true heroe of TB is Sam.

    (fuck…)

  11. 26 VikingLover
    April 15, 2010 at 2:38 am

    Maybe it means that he will be true to himself in S3 and he will stop living a lie. Maybe he’ll come out of the “shifter closet”. He does go to find his family in S3 so maybe it has to do with that.

    • 27 PrettyVikingChains
      April 15, 2010 at 3:01 am

      I like that theory. It took book-Sam way too long to come out of the closet to everyone, but TB-Sam kinda already has. He told Andy & Jason, but I don’t guess any of the recovering black-eyed zombies picked up on the bull switch. Maybe he’ll keep it going & let other people in on it, including his family. Plus, there have been rumors that his brother is a shifter too, which would definitely help him open up. Of course, according to canon, it should only be Sam, but I don’t think AB has a strong grasp of that concept.

      • 28 Dwimordene
        April 15, 2010 at 8:37 pm

        Well… I think it is more realistic that all children were shifters. CH made a mess by her strange breeding methods. It doesn’t give nothing… And there are a lot of weres and shifters around there to believe in that, there should be almost no one… Because now children don’t die, but not many years ago they did, they would have extinted. And there is no explanation for it either, imagine… Ok, they make it but she doesn’t get pregnat… Well, that was the one, no more fur-baby… I hope AB stays out of canon in that.

    • 29 Gigi
      April 15, 2010 at 3:29 am

      Maybe could be the searching for his true identity, yep.
      The images suck and are equally lame for an official promo, but it could be what you say.

  12. April 15, 2010 at 3:58 am

    I don’t care about this shit. I want to see promos a la “Beyond Here Lies Nothin'” That was fucking awesome sauce.

  13. 33 sunnynala
    April 15, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    HBO is calling this particular poster “Be True”. hmmm

    http://www.hbo.com/true-blood/inside/posters/download/poster-be-true?cmpid=ABC159

    • April 15, 2010 at 1:42 pm

      Ha! I was waiting for someone to pick up on that.

      This is what I was getting at with the theme. I’m sure there is one, I just haven’t got a fracking clue what it is.

      Except that I’m pretty sure they’re ALL character related.

      • 35 sunnynala
        April 15, 2010 at 2:42 pm

        Yeah, I don’t have a fracking clue either. But let’s parse it a see if we can come up with something.

        The ‘nice cup of Joe’ could reference Alcide but if it does it’s sort of pedestrian.

        Someone mentioned the poster of water cooler looked like the cups were fangs, but only on one side. Does one of our vamps get de-fanged?

        VILF could only be ONE vamp, Eric. Lol, or is that my bias showing?

        The “Be True” is the most intriguing. Naturally, I am biased toward my own theories and think it might stand for ‘get real’ as in, do we have the REAL story of the bull, the maenad, and the wedding ritual?

        • April 15, 2010 at 3:14 pm

          You are reading my fucking mind I swear.

          The cup of Joe I had pegged for Alcide and the VILF – Eric. Not only because everyone wants to fuck that vampire, but the V for Viking reference as well.
          And yeah, also thinking the cup one is a de fanging. I think I mentioned that in the comments for that post. Sophie Anne?

          “Be True”? Your theory about the finale fits. But on first reading I’m also thinking it’s a flag for Sam. Sam is a “true” shifter – there is a distinction between him (a real rarity) and weres, who are much more common. Just as in the books, Sam is tending to be sidelined by viewers. Big mistake, there is more to that shifter than we are seeing. Much more.

          • 37 sunnynala
            April 15, 2010 at 3:30 pm

            See, I wouldn’t have thought of that because I haven’t read the books but it makes sense.

            As far as the poster possibly referencing the final, I think it could go further than that. What if it references the fact that we’ve had more than one scene from an unreliable narrator and now TB is going to “Be True” and stop effing with our minds so much? LOL. Anyhoo, according to AB the theme for s3 is all about “identity” and so I think “be true” might reference the fact that we’re going to get to know the true characters behind the facades.

            • 38 MASpencer
              April 15, 2010 at 3:37 pm

              [Anyhoo, according to AB the theme for s3 is all about “identity” and so I think “be true” might reference the fact that we’re going to get to know the true characters behind the facades.]

              Definitely this!

            • 40 Dwimordene
              April 15, 2010 at 8:44 pm

              Hope so!! It’s needed a lot!

              Argg… My head is a mess lately, I have so many things in it! THat is was I was trying to say before… Reading again my comment, at the end I said a lot but not this clearly… LOL…

        • 41 PrettyVikingChains
          April 15, 2010 at 6:53 pm

          [Does one of our vamps get de-fanged?]

          Reading this, I immediately thought of QSA’s threat to Eric that she could take his fangs & wear them for earrings if she wanted. I don’t think we’re supposed to take that to mean that she will, but since we’ve seen the pics of her in Fangtasia, it could at least be referring to her.

          • 42 VikingLover
            April 15, 2010 at 9:12 pm

            I think you guys are definitely on to something here! I think they definitely represent the theme for each character in S3. The one fang can be Eric but I’m thinking it might be SA as well because of the V. Or Bill or who may suffer some torture at the hands of Lorena and Russell.

      • 48 Gigi
        April 16, 2010 at 5:29 am

        [Ha! I was waiting for someone to pick up on that.]

        That’s why I answer yesterday:

        [Maybe could be the searching for his true identity, yep.]

  14. 49 MASpencer
    April 16, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Just thought I’d post a few snippets from a recent interview The Nest did with Sam Trammel. Again, he reiterates that completely ridiculous story about Bill bringing a bull to Sam in the finale… and about all that sexy Bill dream biz.

    TB-News: It looks like ingesting a vampire’s blood results in wet dreams about the blood donor. Will Bill’s blood cause horny dreams for Sam? Do you see Sam accepting Bill now after they teamed up against Mary-Ann?

    ST: Regarding the first question, I probably shouldn’t say anything . . . except that yes, you have come to a logical conclusion. To your second question, also yes, I think Sam has bonded with Bill to a certain extent. They hatched a plan and saw it through–- though it was a little painful for Sam. I think it will bring them closer, perhaps make them less adversarial.

    TB-News: We’ve heard some different accounts on how Sam could turn into the bull. We’d like to hear it from the horse’s, er dog’s mouth. If Sam needs a live animal as reference to shift, when did Sam ever see the bull before?

    ST: That’s a great question, and one I’ve gotten before. During the scene with Bill on the porch, after Maryanne dies, I said to him something to the effect that he’d better get that bull back to its owners, but it was cut out for one reason or another. So to answer your question, yes, Sam must be in the presence of an animal to imprint on it. Once he’s done this, he can leave the animal and then shapeshift into it a little later on. In the case of the season 2 finale, Bill acquired a bull which I then imprinted on.

    Sunny, this does not bode well for your Alan-Ball-is-a-genius theory, particularly his answers to the first question. 😦

    Anyway, here’s the link, if anyone wants to read the whole interview: http://www.trueblood-news.com/sam-trammell-i-would-shift-into-obama-on-one-of-his-days-off#more-16717

    • 50 Jo
      April 16, 2010 at 3:33 pm

      OMG he is making this up now, it’s different from what he said last time, really!
      if he do not have a good excuse is better not to invent one. If it were true because he did not say it at other times it was asked? bullshit!

    • 51 sunnynala
      April 16, 2010 at 3:53 pm

      I will not be deterred from my Alan-Ball-is-a-genius theory! LOL

      As Jo said, Sam’s story has changed. In another interview he didn’t say anything about a conversation on the porch getting cut out, he said something about the bull itself getting cut out.

    • 52 Gigi
      April 16, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      It’s just a blatant insult and offense to the intelligence of the viewers… 🙄

  15. 53 MASpencer
    April 16, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    I’m with you. The explanation itself makes NO sense.

    The funny thing is that I was discussing the suspicious nature of the season finale with my husband just last night, and he said that of all of the loose ends, Sam turning into a bull was the least problematic in his opinion. If Sam grew up in a rural area, it’s reasonable to assume that at some point he could have come across a bull to imprint. (Yes, even a beautiful white Brahman bull, though that is slightly less reasonable.)

    But BILL bringing the bull???? How???? There’s a map of Bon Temps (I think) as part of the special features in the season 1 DVD. And if memory serves, NO WHERE nearby is there a cattle ranch. Bill may be able to move at vamp speed, but I doubt that’s possible with a bull in tow. So unless he’s got a livestock trailer attached to that black Beemer of his, and drove all the way out to cow country before arriving at Sam’s, I just don’t see how this scenario is feasible at all.

    If they wanted us to believe any of this mess, they should have gotten their story straight ahead of time. Gah, now I’m annoyed.

    • 54 sunnynala
      April 16, 2010 at 3:56 pm

      Right! the explanations themselves make even less sense than the finale. Sheesh! the more they talk the more smug I get about my theory. LOL!

    • 55 sunnynala
      April 16, 2010 at 3:58 pm

      But BILL bringing the bull???? How???? There’s a map of Bon Temps (I think) as part of the special features in the season 1 DVD. And if memory serves, NO WHERE nearby is there a cattle ranch.

      Even so, if Sam had said they stopped off at a ranch on the way to Sookie’s house it would have made a helluva lot more sense than ‘Bill brought the bull’. riiiight.

      • 56 Jo
        April 16, 2010 at 4:18 pm

        what I hate most is being treated like idiots, and that’s what he did. I think he thought: “I’ll give some explanation for these nerds stop to ask me that”

        Yes I’m sure this is an excuse invented. I can forgive the mistake but not a lie.
        it joins the list: the lack of explanation for the hair of Eric, the “eternal” Jessica’s virginity, the home of Sookie have been miraculously clean. The Bill’s concocted a plan so “incredible” in such detail in a short time and still have time to buy a dress, a ring, rent a restaurant. humph!
        I know think I’m exaggerating, but as a fan of series for many years, hoaxed tired of excuses just because we like to see TV series, fantasy or sci fi, not to say that we are ignorant.

        • 57 MASpencer
          April 16, 2010 at 4:32 pm

          The dress, ring, plane tickets and restaurant are probably the MOST outlandish factor in this equation from where I stand… and that’s saying A LOT.

        • 58 Dee
          April 16, 2010 at 5:40 pm

          I’ve been thinking about the proposal, for many it’s obvious that theres another reason he wants to marry Sookie but I am wondering if it’s his idea or QSA. Is he afraid that the truth might come out and this will be his way to show that he did fall in love with her so although he was sent to seduce her, he can turn around to her and say “I wouldn’t have asked you to marry me if I didn’t love you.” Maybe he is afraid bc Eric might find out since he sees now how far Eric is willing to go to get Sookie. Maybe since QSA said “I’m looking forward to meeting her” he’s afraid it might come out somehow if she meets her. This could also have been QSA idea and maybe she provided the ring, dress and restaurant. In the books humans can’t marry vampires, hasn’t become legal but in the books in the vampire world they can marry a human and like with Sookie and Eric you see that the marriage means that Sookie is Eric’s and others cant interfere with that. But on the show since humans can marry vampires, I wonder if AB will have the same meaning for this type of marriage, that others have to stay away, so maybe his way of stopping Eric from going after Sookie.

          • 59 Janofarc
            April 16, 2010 at 6:07 pm

            I think the proposal was so Sookie would be tied to Bill but he wouldn’t be tied to her. Marriage is sacred to Sookie but it’s just not that important to Vampires, if he really loved her and wanted to keep her away from EVERY other vampire wouldn’t he complete a full blood bond and pledging?

            A human marriage wouldn’t stop Eric from persuing Sookie, or Bill handing her over to the Queen but it WOULD help to control Sookie, she would probably take whatever Bill could throw at her and bend to his will to try and save her marriage – divorce would make Sookie see herself as another Arlene and we all know how much respect she has for her.

            • 60 MASpencer
              April 16, 2010 at 6:10 pm

              I really like your perspective, Jan. You make some very good points about Sookie’s character, I think.

              • 61 Janofarc
                April 16, 2010 at 6:41 pm

                It says a lot about Bill’s character too. Whether he loves her or not – he’s willing to push a marriage onto her, essentially trapping her. The timescales on TB seem to be much shorter than the books, The time that lapses between DUD and CD is about 8 or 9 months but in TB it’s been 2 months tops. This is another gripe I have about TB Sookie, what kind of woman, especially with the questions she has about her relationship with Bill, says yes to a proposal after only being together for 2 months? I vote enchanted ring.

                Anyhoo, back to the promo. Maybe the ‘Be True’ phrase refers to Sam’s shifter type? He’s a ‘true’ shifter but the others in S3 are Werewolves and Werepanthers?

                • 62 VikingLover
                  April 16, 2010 at 6:49 pm

                  [I vote enchanted ring.]

                  God I hope so! 🙂 On the other hand, I think that Sookie is enamored with Bill out of fear. Sookie has really never been on her own before. Even though she works she still lived with Gran who was still taking care of her – she cooked bkst for her, etc. I’m sure Sookie helped with the bills and such but she really wasn’t independent. Now suddenly Gran is taken away from her and here comes this man who (as Sunny has said) essentially takes her place. He is ridiculously overprotective and even displayed the willingness to die to save her. I think it’s that more than anything else. That would explain her hesitation and her crying when he first asked her – I really don’t think she wants to marry Bill and I think that deep down inside she knows that she does not love him. That conversation she had with Tara in last weeks episode gave me extreme pause.

                  • 63 Gigi
                    April 16, 2010 at 7:31 pm

                    Sookie is in love with the “IDEA” of being in love and having a boyfriend (and a husband and a family, and a home… blahblah). Remember she never had before the opportunity to have a relationship with anyone because of the limitations that her telephathy has impose over her, and the fact that everyone in town discriminate against her saying she’s “crazy”. Also remember that she also craves for a protective and loving male figure after she lost her father (because she already had on Adele a protective and loving female one). And Bill knew IT, so he took advantage of THAT knowlege in order to manipulate her into accepting his proposal.

            • 66 Jo
              April 16, 2010 at 6:29 pm

              I agree, although it has a hard time believing that a woman in the 21st century prefer to stay with a guy like that just to not be divorced.

              • 67 VikingLover
                April 16, 2010 at 6:35 pm

                Need I remind you of the BL’s, Jan? LOL

              • 68 Janofarc
                April 16, 2010 at 6:44 pm

                Tell that to the BL’s who think he’s Sookie’s true love just because he took her virginity and she’s a slut for being with *shock! Horror!* 3 men over the space of 2 years!

                There’s still a big “You’ve made your bed so lie in it” mentality with some people. The vows say ’til death do you part’ and they take it seriously no matter how bad the marriage gets.

                • 69 VikingLover
                  April 16, 2010 at 6:51 pm

                  Ooops, my previous post was meant for Jo not Jan – the one about the BL’s. lol Jan, I agree with you 100%. 🙂

                • 70 MASpencer
                  April 16, 2010 at 7:04 pm

                  If they think SOOKIE is a slut, they should have seen ME when I was 25… LOL.

                  I’ll tell you, the BLs that say that shit are either frigid or totally bananas. Oy.

                  • 71 VikingLover
                    April 16, 2010 at 7:20 pm

                    I vote for: totally bananas. 🙂

                  • 72 Dee
                    April 16, 2010 at 8:05 pm

                    AMEN LOL!!! I find it funny when I see people calling Sookie a slut. Sleeping with 3 men by your mid to late 20’s in this day and age is actually not bad at all

                    • 73 VikingLover
                      April 16, 2010 at 8:19 pm

                      LOL Yeah, that’s practically a virgin. 🙂

                    • 74 MASpencer
                      April 16, 2010 at 8:40 pm

                      Oh, now… we all know that they’re only saying that about Sookie because she’s not with BEEL.

                      If Sookie launched some scandalous affair with him while MARRIED to Eric, they’d be all over it like white on rice, spewing forth ridiculous justifications built on all that first love, true love nonsense.

                      It’s hypocritical sour grapes. That’s all.

                      I say Sookie can screw whoever the hell she wants. In fact, I’m STILL disappointed that she didn’t bed Alcide back in Book 3. He might be a douche, but I’ll bet he’s a great lay. 😉

                      Oh to be Sookie Stackhouse for a day. LOL.

                    • 75 Gigi
                      April 16, 2010 at 10:44 pm

                      [I find it funny when I see people calling Sookie a slut. Sleeping with 3 men by your mid to late 20’s in this day and age is actually not bad at all]

                      That’s because BL’s have only slept with one man in their entires lives… MEHHHHHHHHHH!

                    • April 17, 2010 at 4:47 am

                      Let’s not get personal, now…

                    • April 17, 2010 at 11:14 am

                      Sorry SVB, I got so excited that I didn’t place it correctly.
                      VL, sorry too. I’m still excited and I haven’t had my second cup of coffee.

                    • 78 VikingLover
                      April 17, 2010 at 3:28 pm

                      Hi Bobsgran, I have no idea what you’re talking about but whatever it was, you’re forgiven. lol 🙂

                    • April 17, 2010 at 3:57 pm

                      VL, I posted between your post and SVB’s answer. I understand that’s rude. lol2

                    • 80 VikingLover
                      April 17, 2010 at 4:27 pm

                      Oh, did I break a rule or something? My bad! Sorry!

                    • April 17, 2010 at 4:34 pm

                      Really LOL. It must be my Canadianness(?sp). We’re always saying sorry.

                    • 82 MASpencer
                      April 17, 2010 at 8:02 pm

                      If SVB was telling anyone not to get personal, it was probably in reference to my own (admittedly mean) dig on people who call Sookie a slut. If so, I definitely apologize for the lack of tact. *shame face*

                      But that type of antiquated, bitter, self-righteous indignation just brings out my bad side. Grrr.

                    • April 17, 2010 at 8:33 pm

                      Oh crap! I did it again.

            • 84 Dee
              April 16, 2010 at 6:52 pm

              I agree that it would help control Sookie a bit but I’ll give Sookie a little bit more credit and don’t think she would bend to his will no matter what. On the show you do see her have her own mind even when it comes to Bill. I would hope that marriage wouldn’t change that for her. But I think it’s safe to say that we will never find out bc the marriage is never going to happen.

              • 85 Gigi
                April 16, 2010 at 7:36 pm

                [But I think it’s safe to say that we will never find out bc the marriage is never going to happen.]

                This!!! hahahhahaa

              • 86 Dee
                April 16, 2010 at 11:09 pm

                LOL Gigi, you know what’s funny I bet most are hypocrites and had ALOT more than 3 partners. I guess it’s not ok for a fictional character to do the same haha

          • 87 Jo
            April 16, 2010 at 6:12 pm

            I doubt that vampires give a shit for a human marriage. It is an obvious desperate measure and silly to keep Sookie since she is human, but would have a meaning for her.
            Or maybe it was just an artifice of the script to give more “drama” of abduction.
            was also thinking that Bill is not intended to flee with Sookie? because it is very naive to think that the SA or Eric would give up just because of that, it probably would take it anyway.

            • 88 VikingLover
              April 16, 2010 at 6:18 pm

              Yep, I agree with Jan and Jo – it was an attempt to tie her to him without him actually being tied to her. Jan, you hit the nail on the head!

      • 89 MASpencer
        April 16, 2010 at 4:29 pm

        Yes, I agree… even though that would still have been beyond ridiculous, not to mention a giant delay when time was very clearly of the essence.

        • 90 VikingLover
          April 16, 2010 at 4:40 pm

          Re: the bull: They should just say,”yeah, we f***ked up because we ran out time. Sorry, we’ll do better next time”. lol It would be better then saying things like this, knowing full well that people will not buy into it. I’m still hoping the dress, ring, etc will get linked to SA somehow. Then it would at least be somewhat plausible.

          • 91 MASpencer
            April 16, 2010 at 4:54 pm

            THIS.

            Though Sunny still has me holding on by a thread… 😉

            • 92 sunnynala
              April 16, 2010 at 5:16 pm

              Lol!

              Yep, you gotta decide: Is Alan Ball a genius or does he just not give a shit?

              You know my answer. 😀

          • 93 MASpencer
            April 16, 2010 at 5:34 pm

            You know, I also thought that this could be some botched attempt to allude to Eric and company dropping that bull off in the woods as tribute– as per the events of the books.

            The difference is that, in the books, the image was very obviously intended to be comedic– three vampires struggling to get a BULL out of a trailer in the middle of nowhere– especially since the offer was ultimately rejected. Vamp strength and speed or not, the book made it clear that it was NOT an easy endeavor.

            That book readers would REMEMBER that image makes this suggestion about Bill bringing the bull directly to Sam that much more implausible. Maybe that’s why they edited that part of the conversation out? Because they KNEW it was stupid, and decided it would be better just to let the audience connect the dots themselves (i.e. rationalizing that Sam, growing up in a rural area, already HAD a bull imprint)?

            I don’t know. This shit makes my head hurt. LOL.

  16. 94 VikingLover
    April 16, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    [You know, I also thought that this could be some botched attempt to allude to Eric and company dropping that bull off in the woods as tribute– as per the events of the books.]

    I agree that it was an attempt to introduce something from the books into the maenad story but I think it was a misguided way to give a little nod to those who have read the books. I’ve noticed they do this a lot – introduce details like these but plug them into alternate areas of the story line. Of course I can’t think of any right now because my brain is fried from lack of sleep (and my 3+ hour Accounting class lol), but there are quite a few. 🙂

  17. April 17, 2010 at 10:50 am

    Last night I think I saw a new promo for TB. It was Bill looking like he had just taken a good bite out of
    someone. He appears to be yelling at someone and an off screen voice shouts something I wasn’t able to catch.
    Is this really new or did I miss something from the start of the promos?

    Checked the HBO site and couldn’t find it.

  18. April 17, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    I feel like I started something I had no intent to start. It was simply me, all agog because I think I saw a promo that hadn’t been on before and was anxious to share the news. In my haste I didn’t hit the right reply.
    MA, I agree with all you said. Sorrysorrysorry.

    • 101 MASpencer
      April 17, 2010 at 9:03 pm

      Oh, and you didn’t do anything wrong with your reply Bobsgran… these comments are posting in a totally wonky order. Not your fault at all, and I don’t think anyone thought you were being rude! 😀

  19. 102 MASpencer
    April 17, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    I’m so confused. LOL!!!

    Anyhoo, Bobsgran, I can’t wait to see if the promo you saw was really for season 3… it sounds juicy!!!

  20. 103 Gigi
    April 17, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    Well, Bobsgran and MASpencer, I really don’t have an idea of what are you all talking about hahahhaa, because BL’s comments weren’t personal, and the question you made to Sunny about if she holds her opinion for AB was made as a joke and wasn’t a personal attack. At least that was the way the way I saw it.

  21. 104 Gigi
    April 17, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    And indeed something’s happening with this comments order, because I just write one at the end, and it has been place in the middle of the page… @@


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,125 hits since October 2009

