15
Apr
10

Another Advance Review of Dead in the Family

Paperbackdolls.com has just posted a great review of Dead in the Family, due out on May 4th.

The buzz for this book is really building now, fuelled by lots of positive reviews.

There are a few interesting tidbits in this review – including the revelation that Debbie Pelt’s body shows up in Sookie’s woods (good job at hiding that body, Eric), as well as this intriguing little teaser:

…Her usual vampire issues are soon superceded by a new one in the form of Eric’s maker, Appius Livius Ocella, and his newest child, Alexei Romanov, who arrive at Sookie’s house most unexpectedly. As Eric struggles with his family conflicts, Sookie sees a new side to her Viking—one that will forever change how she perceives him.

I’ve read alot of spoilers and reviews for Dead in the Family – some of which are too spoilery to post – and all of them seem to indicate that Sookie is going to finally get through a whole book without having her arse kicked. And for that I am glad.

Sookie is understandably more cautious and less trusting now, but she is still willing to take some risks to help those she cares about—and fortunately this time she doesn’t suffer greatly as a result.

Read the full review here.

73 Responses to “Another Advance Review of Dead in the Family”


  1. 1 MASpencer
    April 15, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Your restraint with these spoilers is causing me much vexation, SVB. Speak in riddles if you wish, but if you know something, I suggest you share it with the class! 😉

  2. 5 Freyja
    April 15, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    ooohhhh I can’t wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

  3. 6 Freyja
    April 15, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    I liked this the most: “I especially liked seeing her bully Eric when he most needed it” I wonder why that is?

  4. 7 sunnynala
    April 15, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    No hints as to the “Shakespearean ending”????

  5. 12 Pat
    April 15, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    A part of me can’t resist reading as many spoilers as I can (how well I can relate to you MASpencer!) but another thinks I should be good and wait to read the book as it will be more enjoyable if I don’t know much about it! In the UK it only comes out in June so I’m having a copy shipped from Amazon.com (no way can I wait a month extra!) but of course it will take some days to get to me and I really don’t know if I will be able to stay away from this site during those days! Maybe I should have my husband hide my computer for those days, hehehe

    • 13 kelly
      April 15, 2010 at 4:34 pm

      i’m trying to focus on the book, not tv also. i’m also in the uk so i feel your postage pain. i managed to get the original book covers from abebooks so i’m pained to buy the hardback, but there isn’t a hope in hell i’ll be able to wait for the paperback, so someones xmas prezzie is set. just re-read all 9 books and short stories out of desperation, now i’ve moved onto fanfiction but thats just confusing me.

      distraction is the key, but what would work….?

      • 14 Pat
        April 15, 2010 at 5:29 pm

        The covers in the UK are so boring and uninteresting that I have actually thought about gifting my copies (I bought the first 9 books pretty much in a row, not realizing the covers where different from the US) to someone just so I have an excuse to buy the American versions, hehehe I find fanfiction a bit frustrating a lot of the times because I think not many of them manage the capture Eric the way I imagine him and, like you say, it then gets really confusing. One I found really good was mentioned in another thread, I think it was called “changing it all”, or something like that. In the meanwhile, I am counting the days until May 🙂

        • 15 kelly
          April 15, 2010 at 6:18 pm

          yeah the fan fiction is more like ‘if was sookie……’ some of it is good tho, even tho its unlikely. gives good dream inspiration 🙂

          i was really naughty, cos i wanted the books with the original cover and that would take time, i downloaded the books on pdf, *winces a gasps* now i have the first 6 books i have deleted those downloads. but they drove me to it i tells ya, if the real covers were out in the uk at the same time as the us i wouldn’t have bothered….stupid publishers and distributors….

  6. 16 Eowyn
    April 15, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    “one that will forever change how she perceives him” I read another review (that has now been taken down) that describes why she perceives him differently..wait OH Crap…am I allowed to give something that might or might not be a spoiler on this site?

    Nevermind…

  7. 18 Eowyn
    April 15, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    OK then..this is just “speculation”..

    She perceives him differently because the blood bond gets broken..Then the reviewer said “in a way that will have Eric fans upset, but they will appreciate the Eric story for it’s background and depth”

    • April 15, 2010 at 4:27 pm

      Hmmm…did the reviewer seem to be fairly familiar with the series as a whole? There is alot of confusion about the blood bond in general, even amongst fans.

      • 20 MASpencer
        April 15, 2010 at 4:31 pm

        Wait– I thought that CH said in a very recent interview that the blood bond WON’T be broken in this book. But she’s “considering” breaking it in the next one…

        Assuming she’s telling the truth, I can’t imagine this “spoiler” is accurate. Which should come as a relief to Eric fans, given the insinuation.

        • 21 kelly
          April 15, 2010 at 4:44 pm

          didn’t amelia mention something about magic might be able to break the blood bond? or is fanfiction confusing me again?

          maybe sookie will finally realise how much eric has done for her, maybe charlaine wants rid of the whole issue before the issue gets any bigger. she can’t tell us much or we’d guess the story and she’d not need to write it.

          • 22 vikingvampgirl
            April 15, 2010 at 6:50 pm

            That was fanfic I read that one too.I had to stop reading them because I keep getting it all mixed up.

          • 24 Eowyn
            April 15, 2010 at 8:46 pm

            the 1st chapter, released on CH website..Sook’s and Amelia discuss if Amelia should ask Octavia if she knows a way to remove the blood bond..

            Sook’s agrees to let Amelia talk to Octavia about it..

            • 25 kelly
              April 15, 2010 at 11:18 pm

              ah-ha! i’m not insane, woohoo.

              maybe that pops back up in the following book, then sookie can realise how eric has behaved…..

  8. 26 Cheryl
    April 15, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    all i have to say is this new found perception of eric had better be for the good…damn it….

  9. 27 Laura
    April 15, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Oh man, the wait is killing me. I need more spoilers!

  10. 28 KittyKat
    April 15, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    I don’t like surprises. Spoil me rotten any day, TYVM>

  11. 29 Sonia
    April 15, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    I thought CH said the BB *would* be broken in DitF… Hmmm….

    {{She perceives him differently because the blood bond gets broken..Then the reviewer said “in a way that will have Eric fans upset, but they will appreciate the Eric story for it’s background and depth”}}

    Maybe Eric will be upset at Sookie for breaking the BB w/o telling him about her plan (especially since she’s going to have witches try to break the BB) but then Sookie will realize that she really does care for Eric and get excited to be around him even w/o the BB. Somehow in that process Eric will end up telling her how he’s been in love with her since CD… Or is that too fangirlish of me? 🙂

    What I didn’t like about that review is it doesn’t give too much indication of how E/S ends up at the end of the book. :-/ I think it’s probably a great thing if Sookie is still putting Eric in his place-her fearless moxie and penchant for telling it how it is, is part of why I think he fell in love with her in the first place.

    Is it just me or does anyone else immediately think “really hot fairy-scent-induced sex” when you hear that Claude will be living with Sookie in DitF? Maybe I just like that quote too much, “When you smell like that, I just want to kiss you and fuck you and rub myself all over you.”

    • 30 Eowyn
      April 15, 2010 at 6:11 pm

      Well, here is my worst effing nightmare…To have a blood bond, well, you need to have blood, both Eric and Sookie..suppose the ending is that Eric is left with very little blood…that would be a fucking cliffhanger….

      Get where I’m going….and please remember..this review was taken down..could be a bunch of crap..but it did get my panties in a knot…

    • 31 Dwimordene
      April 15, 2010 at 9:07 pm

      We wouldn’t be upset about that, I think… I’m begining to think the worst, for Sookie and Eric relationship… But then again? what is what we would like? Eric discovers someone better? That doesn’t fit… Maybe he meets me LOL

  12. 32 kelly
    April 15, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    my hubby just made a very interesting point. bless him he tries to take an interest in what i do.
    he reckons sookie will end up with someone she can care for, since she enjoyed looking after eric in DTTW and loved her gran to the point where she could predict her reactions.
    this leads me to think it’ll be sam. he’s the one solid character throughout, always been there to talk to and even tho his timing was awful sookie knows he loves her. either that or she’ll end up alone wishing bill had never entered merlotte’s, or maybe she’ll wake up one morning and it was all a dream….

    charlaine harris is mean making up wait like this…. bad lady, very bad lady

  13. 33 Liz
    April 15, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    where do you ladies find these spoilers, links please, tehe….

  14. 34 Davida
    April 15, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    Hey, ladies. I read all 9 books within a week (in Feb), have watched TB Seasons 1 and 2 several times (online), read lots of fanfiction (yes, I’m getting confused), and have been following this site for the past month (wonderful posts, intriguing comments). I think that makes me a bonafide addict like the rest of you. I hope I’m welcomed.

    I can’t wait for book #10! I know I shouldn’t read the spoilers, but I’m anxious to get my hands on anything “Southern Vampire Mysteries”. What I’m most curious about is the Shakespearean ending everyone keeps talking about. Didn’t CH say this book would be less grim than Dead and Gone?

    Sonia, “When you smell like that, I just want to kiss you and fuck you and rub myself all over you.”–HANDS DOWN my favorite line of all the books.

    • 35 Liz
      April 15, 2010 at 9:05 pm

      i head it was suppose to be less grim too, and a lot less casualties, i dont think any major players are going to die

      • 36 kelly
        April 15, 2010 at 11:16 pm

        there has to be less casualties, half the known characters seemed to be killed or locked from the world. it would be nice if no-one dies, but i’m a major pacifist.

        why can’t they all just get along :S

  15. 37 KittyKat
    April 15, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    Ok, finally read the review a bit more carefully and I have some gripes and uneasiness about the possible spoilers.

    First of all, it says she bullies Eric? Is this an intervention, Sookie style? I assume that if that’s the case, he’ll listen somewhat? He does seem to respect her enough for that. I assume this is related to his maker-brother problems..I hope.

    Next point, so in order to protect her, Eric supposedly lets her know stuff previously unknown to her, but will the information be deal-breaker in whether or not she’ll want to stick around in that relationship. And again, what will she see that will change how she sees Eric, and will it be for better or worse? Again, no clue. I would hope their relationship would be further solidified by their multiple trials, but will our girl start getting cold feet and treat Eric even crappier than she usually does as a consequence.

    Bill and the unexpected and satisfying results thing…well this one really depends on wheter or not the reviewer is a BL or not. I wondered before if the TB nod was the crying but now I wonder if it may be the appearence of a Jessica-like child of Bill’s. But I think that at this point I’m just making up stuff as I go along.

    • 38 MASpencer
      April 15, 2010 at 10:00 pm

      I don’t think the crying is the True Blood nod– it doesn’t seem explicit enough to me. I mean, CH has mentioned the fact that vampires cry blood in the books already. But I haven’t heard anything else that rang any bells, so…

  16. 39 Eowyn
    April 15, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I just read this tidbit..but might be old to you guys..

    A buried body was discovered shortly after Alcide’s local werewolf pack used Sookie’s land for full moon activities in an obvious attempt to frame her for murder.

  17. 40 KittyKat
    April 15, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    From Monsters and Critics website:

    {Her involvement in an intense battle among the Fae left Sookie Stackhouse emotionally damaged and physically scarred, only massive quantities of vampire blood kept her alive. Claudine died trying to defend Sookie during the war and she feels twice the guilt after learning her treasured fairy godmother and cousin was pregnant. Sookie’s vampire lover and Louisiana Sheriff Eric has been sympathetic but is dealing with a tangled mass of vampire politics. Werewolf packs are trying to organize in an effort to thwart pending legislation that would require them to sign into a national registry.

    A buried body was discovered shortly after Alcide’s local werewolf pack used Sookie’s land for full moon activities in an obvious attempt to frame her for murder. The sudden appearance of Eric’s maker and former master, Appius Livius OCella along with Alexei Romanov throws tensions into high gear. With the local werewolf pack and vampire politics in an uproar, Sookie has plenty of enemies but the most deadly could prove to be the one she never saw coming.

    The value of friends and family play pivotal roles in the latest Sookie Stackhouse series. While the overall action is a bit slower then in previous books, the many cleverly constructed subplots more then make up for it. The paranormal politics is believable without being overdone and sets the stage for more conflicts to come.}

    Tensions into high gear?

    Sookie framed for murder? Is this the Alcide thing?

    The one she never saw coming? Ok I pretty much assume Eric isn’t it, but who, then?

    Ok, I think I’m clinically obsessed. I need treatment…or DITF….ASAP.

    • 41 Dwimordene
      April 15, 2010 at 9:23 pm

      I never liked Alcide, nor most of the weres… They are not her friends and there was never trusted there… She was only made a friend of the pack so that they could use her habilities (I’m thinking now), but they discover the body of the grilfriend of their leader and they will go for her… Alcide never forgave her for that, even though she was saving her life.
      The enemy I assume is someone very close to her: family (Jason or Claude, or even Nial), friends (Sam, Bill… She could expect it from Quinn or Alcide… I don’t think it would be either Eric nor Pam). The list is short and closed… Tara and even Jason I think I could put them both out.

    • 42 MASpencer
      April 15, 2010 at 9:58 pm

      I’m really, really curious about the details of all this Alcide business, myself…

      • 43 Liz
        April 15, 2010 at 10:29 pm

        ive read about a very very angry fae who didnt go through the portal…. i am even more convinced now it is Claude who will be the big bad. It has to be a fae, and she would be expecting it from Dermott, so Claude is the only one who fits the bill as both fae and unexpected, i think Sookie wondering about it herself, when Claude comes to visit in the first chapter is a foreshadow.

        • 45 Dee
          April 16, 2010 at 12:12 am

          I wrote in another post on this site that I don’t trust Claude moving in with Sookie. In the first chapter, his encounter with Sookie in front of her house seemed weird. Can be Dermot but maybe too obvious? I also thought of someone else but not sure how possible it is. But what about the father of Claudine’s baby? He would blame Sookie for the death of his child and Claudine and I remember Claudine saying he never cared for humans that much to begin with so this would anger him even more.

          • 46 Dee
            April 16, 2010 at 12:37 am

            If that were possible then hmmm maybe Claude’s intentions aren’t bad, now I am confusing myself lol. But if that could be possible then maybe he moves in with her to protect her. In a way makes more sense bc why would he move in with her? He has his own place and if he wanted to kill her, would he have to move in to do it, probably not.

            • 47 Phoenix
              April 16, 2010 at 12:42 am

              I really really like this theory Dee. Even though we have never ‘seen’ Claudine’s boyfriend (Husband?), I think it would really fit. Plus, then Claude won’t be the bad guy. I really like Claude’s character so I hope he doesn’t harbor resentful feelings towards Sookie.

              • 48 Dee
                April 16, 2010 at 1:04 am

                Hopefully Claude realizes that Sookie had no fault in Claudine’s death. Yes, she was protecting Sookie but in the end it was Niall who put her in danger once he contacted her so maybe he’ll realize both Claudine and Sookie were victims. Maybe Claude wants to honor his sister by continuing to protect Sookie. Again, not sure how possible this is but you never know.

                Now trying to figure out who betrays her. I hope it’s not someone obvious like Alcide, bc we already know he does something devious so it wouldn’t be that big of a surprise.

            • 49 Serena
              April 16, 2010 at 1:20 am

              Other than a stripper we’ve never found out what Claude is trying to be, right? He might not be trying to be anything, but maybe he is trying to be something.. i wonder if it is affected by his choice to remain with the humans and what requirements his life path might entail? So maybe his protecting of Sookie or killing of Sookie or his blocking the attic stairs has very little to do with his own personal choice and more to do with the orders he has received. hmm.

            • 50 Liz
              April 16, 2010 at 1:26 am

              perhaps there something in that attic he wants!

          • 51 Liz
            April 16, 2010 at 1:02 am

            i like your theory, but isnt the danger suppose to be from a distant relative, i also got the impression that Claudines baby daddy never came into this realm, and if he did, he would be trapped here. Avenging your childs death is a strong motivator though, hmmmmmmmm, something to mull over.

            • 52 Dee
              April 16, 2010 at 1:08 am

              The fact that he would stay in this realm is what makes me question that theory, not sure if he would want to stay. Could it be a fae that hasn’t been in the books yet?

              • 53 Liz
                April 16, 2010 at 1:22 am

                theres the triplets dad, he seemed awfully formidable, he survived didnt he, i cant think of anyone else. i am still leaning toward it being a literal relative, as amazon review called it a distant relative, and i think they meant it literal

                • 54 Dee
                  April 16, 2010 at 1:27 am

                  Very good point, the death of his daughter is definitely motivation.

                  • 55 kelly
                    April 16, 2010 at 5:03 pm

                    surely claude moving in will put a strain on sookie and eric’s relationship, what with the smell of fairy in the house and sookie’s conviction that its the fae in her that attracts eric.

  18. 56 Serena
    April 16, 2010 at 1:01 am

    So when I was reading the review and the bits about Claude, who is ‘hungry for fairy companionship,’ the thought popped into my head, “Oh no, Niall sent Claude to bed Sookie too!” I guess this was my pervy head’s way of trying to connect some plot points, but it got me thinking about “Gift Wrap.” What if the short story is significant not because of Sookie’s behavior in it but because of Niall’s? What if he is a serial pimp/matchmaker? Maybe getting Sookie preggers was his real goal? And what if Sookie finds out about Niall’s odd great-grand-parenting skills?

    There must have been a reason Fintan denied him the visiting rights to the Stackhouses. I don’t really think Niall sent Claude to ‘bunk’ Sookie, (would CH even go there?), but what if Sookie remembers her incident and finds out from Claude that Niall sent Preston to bed her and he did something else high handed… say like sending Claude to live with her so she doesn’t go into the attic? hmm.. Or he sent Claude to spy on Sookie or at least keep him informed about her life. hmm.. or maybe I’m just overexcited.

    • 57 Liz
      April 16, 2010 at 1:11 am

      haha, good ones, i have wondered if Preston wasnt actually Claude in disguise. i know he swings the other way, but if ggdaddy ordered him…..
      im sure stripping has taught him what human women like, i know im really in the deep end fishing here

    • 58 MASpencer
      April 16, 2010 at 2:41 pm

      I don’t know about Niall sending Claude to bed Sookie. (LOL!) But the rest of it sounds totally plausible, and definitely in line with what I’ve been thinking, given the Stackhouse ladies’ track record with the fairies.

  19. 59 VampirePamsGirl
    April 16, 2010 at 2:47 am

    “Sookie gains some insight into the vampires’ inner workings”

    I’m real interested to see this myself. I’ve wondered for a bit what all more goes into the vampire hierarchy. I just think there’s got to be a lot more than has been explained so far, because it doesn’t seem like they have a very good checks and balances system going on. I mean right now FDC has control of three states; what is there to stop him from trying to take control of even more states? For example, he could be like “Oh look there’s Oklahoma, that is between my kingdoms and has a weak ruler, let’s take that regime down as well” and then he keeps gaining more power and more power and where does he stop? What can make him stop? Or will there be any kind of repurcussions from other states for him taking over Louisiana like he did? If I was a ruler for another states (especially one that was close to Nevada, Louisiana, or Arkansas) I would definitely be worried about FDC. I think there’s a lot more to be explored with the inner workings of vamps.

  20. 60 vampirenerd
    April 16, 2010 at 3:07 am

    once again commenting to say, i cannot believe i actually care this much about a fictional character. oh lawd help me o.o

    (and i mean eric, not sookie… oops!)

    i keep going back to the fact that a lot of the eric/sookie “history” began long before the blood bond was there. there were feelings before.

    i pre ordered my copy, but it’s not supposed to arrive until may 7th-11th. at first i swore i would stay away from spoilers until then, but now i’m actually freaking NERVOUS about what happens. i don’t trust myself to stay away. omg.

  21. 61 Gigi
    April 16, 2010 at 5:38 am

    This definitely is a very positive review 😉 . Can’t wait to read the whole book!!!!

  22. 62 Dan
    April 16, 2010 at 7:17 am

    I did like this review also. But for once I wish I had reacted to the word “Spoiler” by avoiding it, rather than pounce on it. I don’t want to know anything else until May 4th.

  23. April 16, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    This book seems too good to be true. *shifty eyes*.

  24. 67 Sonia
    April 16, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    Oooooh! Just had a thought inspired by NPR’s article on Iceland’s volcano (they named Leif Ericson as one of the top ten things Iceland has brought the world).

    What if…. The thing Sookie learns about Eric is that he actually is Leif Ericson? Sure, we know about his brother/wife/kids, but we really don’t know that much about the rest of his life since Eric is so secretive.

    Those who have read “Let Love In” know that Terra Botta proposed the idea in her fanfic… Maybe I’m being too fangirlish again?

    • 68 Freyja
      April 16, 2010 at 8:17 pm

      haha well I’m from Iceland myself so that would be funny 😉 But I think CH has already said that Eric is not Leifur Eiriksson.

  25. 70 VikingLover
    April 30, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    May 4th is almost here Guys! I can’t believe it! Miss SVB, I was wondering what the plan is for after the book is released. Is there going to be a date where we should all meet up here to discuss it together?

    • April 30, 2010 at 11:47 pm

      I’m thinking about it at the moment VL, will make a post in the next few days. I can’t believe it’s almost here either!

    • 72 Dee
      May 1, 2010 at 12:42 am

      I wanted to ask the same thing, it’s gonna be hard to discuss at first. Maybe if we can put the chapter were up to before we write anything? this way if somebody hasnt gotten that far they know not to read?

  26. 73 VikingLover
    May 1, 2010 at 12:27 am

    Okay thanks!! I’m SOOOO excited!!!!


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,646 hits since October 2009

