01
May
10

“Dead in the Family” House Rules – Please Read

So we all know that I can’t moderate this blog to save my own life. Comments frequently end up wildly off topic as we chase some theory or other down the rabbit hole…which is mostly just how I like it.

But with a steady increase in traffic here and posts even speculating about the new book usually reaching 200+ comments, we are going to have to have some order around here come May 4th. Or chaos will reign.

* * * * *

If you plan to participate in discussion of the new book, PLEASE READ.

1. I will make a Dead in the Family post early on May 4th for everyone to yell, scream, squee, rant and rave. This post will be for general thoughts and discussion of any aspect of the book whatsoever.

When this post reaches 200 comments I will lock it and create a new one.

As some readers outside the US may still be waiting to receive their books and others may not be finished reading, discussion will be confined to a specific post initially. Those who want to avoid spoiling should then be able to do so easily. Those who are only part way through reading should be aware this post will contain spoilers they haven’t read yet.

**ALL DEAD IN THE FAMILY DISCUSSION IS TO RUN ON THESE POSTS ONLY, UNTIL THURSDAY**

2. PLEASE don’t discuss new information from DITF on any other active post, including True Blood posts, or I will have to edit your comment (and I fucking hate doing that).

3. After Thursday, we’ll return to business as usual and you can post DITF related information on any post.

4. If you feel very strongly about not being spoiled, it’s probably best to stay away from here until you have finished reading. I will do my best to keep comments to the DITF post/s for the first few days, but obviously I can’t be here 24/7.

* * * * *

I hope this will balance the need for us to talk about the book asap, with consideration for those who are still waiting or don’t want to be spoiled.

Hopefully this will work, but really I have no fucking idea. Feedback welcomed LOL.

Not long now…I’m so excited!

68 Responses to ““Dead in the Family” House Rules – Please Read”


  1. 1 Pat
    May 1, 2010 at 6:28 am

    Sounds good to me!

    I was actually wondering about it as I am getting my book shipped to me (I’m not in the UK or USA) and I am not sure when it arrives so I was afraid I would have to totally avoid coming here from Tuesday onwards, which would be very painful to do, I am totally addicted to it now!

    I am going to keep my fingers crossed that the book arrives really fast and I will surely join your discussion as soon as I can!

    • 2 KPMRSE
      May 1, 2010 at 4:12 pm

      What is proposed is very fair. And, like Pat, I’m addicted to y’all too and its going to be hard to stay away.

  2. May 1, 2010 at 6:56 am

    Do you think maybe it would be a good idea to require everyone have a userid ?

  3. 5 Gigi
    May 1, 2010 at 7:09 am

    FEEDBACK:

    I just LOVE MT. Skarsgard pic HAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHA!!!!

    *(Aaine, check your fastmail)

  4. 6 Meili
    May 1, 2010 at 10:25 am

    I think this should work. I don’t think comments should only be restricted to people with userid, though. Unfortunately, because I’m anal, I’m going to be avoiding most forums and discussion boards during my reading time. I don’t want to rush through the book, I want to savor my first time… LOL!

    • 7 Robin
      May 1, 2010 at 6:11 pm

      I am with you, Meili, I am definitely going to have to avoid discussion boards while I am reading. I already think I might know too much about what happens in DITF, and don’t want to know anything more until I read it for real. I cannot wait to discuss our theories, I hope CH gives us more clues and information regarding the Nevada takeover, Quinn, our “rat”, Victor Madden, FDC and Sam.

  5. 8 Ericrocks
    May 1, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Thanks SVB, that sounds like a great plan. Lets hope people stick to the rules.

    ONLY 3 MORE DAYS!!!!!!!!

  6. 9 lala
    May 1, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    I am already anticipating the year-long wait for book 11. I am such a buzzkill.

  7. 11 VikingLover
    May 1, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Sounds good to me!! I’m so excited!!!! I can’t believe May 4th is almost here!!!!

  8. 12 caratstick
    May 1, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    Sounds like reasonable precautions, SVB. I am nearly freaking out without anticipation!

    Meili above says she likes to draw hers out. I’m more of a rush through the first time fast and kind of rough and then a second time through nice and slow….does this sound like I’m thinking about Eric? I am.

  9. 14 lala
    May 1, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    caratstick: nope, not even a week. That’s me, call me Permanently Unsatisfied. I’ll be good for May 4 and 5, and then I’ll start my whining.
    Hope to share with y’all.

    • 15 Robin
      May 1, 2010 at 6:15 pm

      It is going to be one long year to wait until book 11 comes out! At least we will have the novella and the Pam and Sookie short story to look forward to. And, of course, there is always True Blood!

  10. 16 kelly1981
    May 1, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    much appreciated. i’m in the uk and technically the book isnt released until june, but i’m ordering from the states cos i can’t wait that long.

    very nice pic, i could totally climb Mt Skarsgard.

  11. 17 caratstick
    May 1, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    I thought of one idea to help those that want to chat about the book as they are reading but before they are finished. Maybe people could, if they remember, put a note before their posts indicating how far into the book they are talking. Example: SPOILERS through chapter 3. Or something like that.

  12. May 1, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    I just finished reading DITF. I look forward to others thoughts on this book.

    Now I am ready to find out what Sookie will be up to next!

    • 19 Dee
      May 1, 2010 at 7:47 pm

      How did you get the book early?

      • May 1, 2010 at 11:45 pm

        There are a lot of ARC’s floating around. Quite a few people seem to have read it, judging by the number of reviews and spoilers I’ve seen.

      • May 2, 2010 at 12:47 am

        I found my copy on the shelf yesterday. “Someone” forgot to check release dates. My group bought all that were out on the shelf within fifteen mins!!!

        If you have a connection to any book store they already have the books in the back ready to stock the shelfs.

        Since we are going to a reading/signing I wanted to be sure to have a book in hand in case they sold out.

        • 22 Dee
          May 2, 2010 at 1:05 am

          ahhhh so lucky hahaha, awesome for you though. You know I was thinking of going to a bookstore near me. I was even thinking of convincing one of the young kids to just sell it to me lol.

          CH is doing a book signing this Tuesday evening in NYC, I’m thinking of going.

          • May 2, 2010 at 1:13 am

            how awesome! Let me know what you think! We won’t see her until the 15th.

            • 24 Dee
              May 2, 2010 at 1:30 am

              I am definitely gonna see if I can make it but not 100% sure. I also am curious what the crowd in NYC will be like, will probably be insane.

              • 25 VikingLover
                May 2, 2010 at 5:54 pm

                Dee, where in NYC is this being held??

                • 26 VikingLover
                  May 2, 2010 at 6:02 pm

                  Never mind, I checked on her site. 🙂 Holy crap! I’m going to go!

                  • 27 Dee
                    May 2, 2010 at 7:25 pm

                    Ok glad you found out the info…Yeah I’m still trying to see if I can go. I also wonder how far in advance you have to get there. Sometimes they can be PITA when it comes to these things in NYC, they will have to barracade off the line especially around that area since it’s so busy and sometimes they’ll close things off earlier. If you go, how far in advance would you get there?

                    • 28 VikingLover
                      May 2, 2010 at 10:02 pm

                      Hmmm, that’s a good point and I’m really not sure – I get out of work at 5 and I’m up on 58th so it’ll take me a little bit of time to get down there. I might be there by 6 but that might be too late. I think I might leave early from work if possible and try to be there by 4 or 5. This is my first time at a book signing so I’m not sure how early I should be there.

                      Can anyone give us some advice on this? How early does one have to be at these things?

                    • 29 Dee
                      May 2, 2010 at 11:13 pm

                      VL-I went to B&N website for union square, all it said was bc of CH time constraint she will not personalize books, just sign them. You’re allowed up to 2 books per person to be signed, one of which has to be DITF. But that is all the info they had. Maybe best bet would be to call B&N in union square and asking if they will have a limit that day for how many ppl to allow in.

                    • May 3, 2010 at 12:29 am

                      In Tulsa, Oklahoma (which is MUCH smaller than NYC) we arrived at 2:00 to get the arm band for PC Cast. By 4 they were out of bands and by 5 sold out of a huge stack of books. The ones with the bands got to sit for the reading and have their books signed. The Ms’s Cast said they would stay until each book was signed for everyone. This was the first one that would stay for everyone. Usually they leave when their time slot is up so the folks without the wrist bands do not get their books signed :o(

                      I agree call your store the day before to get their details so you do not miss out on getting you book signed.

                  • 31 VikingLover
                    May 3, 2010 at 11:42 am

                    Thanks Dee and Francy! I’ll call them today for info. I can only imagine how crazy it will be there tomorrow.

                    I can’t believe the book will finally be out tomorrow!!! I’m soooo excited!

                    • 32 Dee
                      May 3, 2010 at 4:09 pm

                      Yeah, I’m gonna call today too. I really wanna know if they’re only gonna let in a certain amount of people.

                      I know so exciting, I am really hoping I can DL the book tonight at midnight. I read somewhere that ebooks are available at midnight.

    • 33 caratstick
      May 1, 2010 at 8:17 pm

      It’s way to early for spoilers! And let me add…OMFG I am so jealous.

    • 34 eowyn
      May 2, 2010 at 11:29 am

      Reading it now…I think I’m more excited for everyone else to get it, to get your thoughts!

  13. May 1, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    This is much appreciated, I am in the UK and thank you to kelly1981, I didn’t even realise I could order from amazon.com but I just cancelled my UK pre-order (I was dreading waiting until mid june) and ordered to be shipped from the US, so hopefully will only have to wait a couple of weeks after you guys. I may have found an ebook version by then but hey-ho.

    • 37 kelly1981
      May 1, 2010 at 10:07 pm

      h yeah, i’m gasping or the ebook. i’m gonna be trawling the web for it daily. my shipping says it isn’t due to arrive till the 15th. if i can download it before it ships i’ll cancel it and get the paperback, otherwise it’ll stand out against the others….

      i’m so impatient.

      • 38 Dee
        May 1, 2010 at 10:10 pm

        I get the ebooks off of barnes and noble website, i have the barnes and noble ereader so automatically dl’s onto that. I even pre-ordered the ebook off the B&N site. Says it will automatically dl on May 4th. I am HOPING that after midnight I’ll be able to have it.

    • May 1, 2010 at 11:42 pm

      Incidentally, if anyone does happen to find an ebook or audiobook that can be downloaded from outside the US please post a link.

      I think it’s a fucking joke that people can’t download outside the US or have the book sent early enough to arrive on the release date. It’s so unfair that they have to wait, and then the book is completely and utterly spoiled for them by the time they read it because it’s weeks after US release and you just can’t avoid spoilers for that long short of staying off the net entirely.

      They really need to sort this shit out.

  14. 40 VampirePamsGirl
    May 1, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    That sounds like a great plan SVB! I was wondering how you would plan on handling this week cause I figure from Tuesday onward it’s gonna be crazy as hell for about a week or so. You know though, for me personally, I would recommend that anyone that doesn’t want to get spoiled at all, to stay off the internet completely cause I’m betting that the entire net will be sodden with spoilers galore from Tuesday onward. I wouldn’t check my Twitter that day until I had read the book, lol.

  15. 41 lala
    May 2, 2010 at 10:10 am

    interview with charlaine harris, new york times, sunday magazine, may 2 2010:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/05/02/magazine/02fob-Q4-t.html?ref=magazine

  16. 42 kelly1981
    May 2, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    yeah, i love going on these sites so much, but as soon as the book is released i don’t think i’m gonna even turn my internet on.
    i have coursework and shit, but i’m gonna try and kill time by writing fan fiction.

    its so depressing, england being america’s poor cousin.

  17. 43 Ericrocks
    May 3, 2010 at 11:58 am

    ONE MORE DAY!

    OMG!OMG!OMG! I am about to burst with excitement!

  18. 44 BOOKLOVER
    May 3, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    Hi Iv been reading Sookievers for a few months & enjoy it very very much. I started reading the books after TB tv show and love SVM and TB ( SVM a bit more) I will have to wait for DITF
    till Sunday as I do not live in the US, a friend who comes to vist from the US will bring
    the book with her so I guess I’ll be back to read here next week after reading the book for the first time, can’t wait …

  19. 45 Ericrocks
    May 3, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    It is awful quiet around here!

    Me thinks lots of peeps already have their books.

  20. 47 Robin
    May 3, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Yes, I agree ladies, much too quiet. Amazon tells me that my copy of DITF has been shipped, last check in point was Indianapolis. Going to finish my DAG reread tonight.

    • 48 OrientalThorn
      May 3, 2010 at 9:08 pm

      Oh, you’re lucky! I haven’t heard mine shipped from Amazon yet. It just states Shipping Soon. 😦 I am finishing up DAG this evening. I have written down some stuff that I had questions to during my reread. Maybe SVB will start a new post for the wrap-up.

      • May 3, 2010 at 9:20 pm

        Shit! I forgot all about the wrap up post! I’ll get on that this morning….hold the thought 🙂

      • 51 Robin
        May 3, 2010 at 10:58 pm

        Shipping soon is good news, my status went from shipping soon to shipped in just a few hours! I am in Lexington, Kentucky, so I should probably receive my copy at work in the morning. I have less than a 100 pages of DAG, so I am going to push to finish it tonight.

        • 52 OrientalThorn
          May 3, 2010 at 11:14 pm

          WOOT! I just got confirmation that my DITF shipped! UPS shows that it should arrive tomorrow! OMG! OMG!! I’m so excited!!!

  21. May 3, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    Finished DAG about 2hrs. ago, then read the first chapter of DITF at the end of the pb. I want MORE. NOW.
    Stamps foot like a 3yr. old.

  22. 54 VikingLover
    May 3, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    I tried to get my local B&N to sell me a copy today but they wouldn’t budge. Bastardooos! 🙂

    • 55 Ericrocks
      May 4, 2010 at 1:59 am

      Me too. I just got back from Books-A-Million. I tried to guilt them into it.

      “Aw come on, you mean you’re gonna me come back in just 12 hours? PLEASE. Come on”.

      They wouldn’t budge either.

  23. May 3, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    For me it’s appox. 16 more hours. Anybody need their windows washed? I’m desperate.

  24. 58 Dee
    May 3, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    I hate this, the closer it gets the less patient you get haha. I even tried checking my B&N account to see if they released it early. I read a forum that quite a few ppl got their ebook early but seems like it was those who pre-ordered it a long time ago and paid $27 for the e-book, now it’s $12.99, so I guess they decided to do something for them.

    6.5 hours and I can DL it, at least I think I can. I’m also gonna try to take my time with the book, but I don’t know if I’ll actually be able to.

  25. 59 VikingLover
    May 4, 2010 at 3:35 am

    Okay, I am officially signing off! By this time tomorrow I will be reading DITF! AAAAHHHH! I’m so excited! I’ll see you guys in a few days. Happy reading everyone!!! 🙂

  26. 62 Lily
    May 4, 2010 at 4:05 am

    I am going to have such a hard time staying away from all of the DITF threads until my book gets here. I pre-ordered it and it’s on the way so any day now *fingers crossed* Enjoy the book to everyone who will be reading tomorrow/tonight!

  27. 63 Natalie
    May 4, 2010 at 6:07 am

    It’s 1:06am Central Standard time here on 05/04/10 and I’m going to the Walmart to see if they have it yet. If not on my way to work I’ll be stopping and getting it tomorrow. I’ll follow the posting rules…but I’m very excited I hope I get it after work tonight as I’m typing this from work.

  28. 64 Dee
    May 4, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Ok so I’ve read some of the book, I won’t give anything away though. But i’ll say the TB tribute in the book comes early on and don’t worry it’s VERY obvious so you’ll realize immediately. And us Eric fans ahhhhhhhh that’s all i’ll say lol i’m happy so far and surprised. Also, this won’t give anything away but Eric’s house is described, from outside to decor inside. I know everyone will be interested in that.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,466 hits since October 2009

