01
May
10

This makes me feel kinda…dirty.

The throne is out of retirement, and daddy is having a private party.

Thanks ericrocks for the pic.

109 Responses to “This makes me feel kinda…dirty.”


  1. May 1, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    Is it just me but does he look as bored to you as he does to me??? And it that Yvette dancing on the pole???

    *First*

    • 2 Gigi
      May 2, 2010 at 5:49 am

      He looks concentrated and horny. His eyes are too focused on her to look bored, but obviously, he’s controlling his emotions, you can know he’s horney by his hand and the way he’s moving his fingers.

  2. May 1, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    I would say that’s Yvetta.
    He does look a little bit bored, poor bb. And a little bit horny.

  3. May 1, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    Yeah.. maybe he is internally waring between fucking Yvette’s brains out and getting the telepath under him…

  4. 5 Suzanna
    May 1, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    All I could think was, “Why is his hair red?” And, “Someone is about to die.”

  5. 9 Janofarc
    May 1, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    He doesn’t look like a happy bunny does he? That facial expression is enough to make you stop dancing and take your sequin thong to someone more appreciative!

    • May 1, 2010 at 11:33 pm

      Oh I don’t know…check the way that finger is cavorting with the throne. He is thinking dirty thoughts, for sure. 😀

      • May 1, 2010 at 11:35 pm

        Good spot there darling… Slow circles… *dirty thoughts*

      • 12 Janofarc
        May 1, 2010 at 11:36 pm

        I hadn’t noticed that but who is he thinking dirty thoughts about? Well not me that’s for sure FML!

        • May 1, 2010 at 11:40 pm

          That’s what i said earlier.. is he thinking about yvette, or is he thinking about the telepath. I think he’ll be trying to use Yvette to remove the ‘unwanted’ thought about Sookie from his mind. Which of course won’t work

      • 14 caratstick
        May 2, 2010 at 1:14 am

        That (the hand on the left) was the first thing I noticed and I thought the same thing you did. It’s not like he’s demonstrative. He’s not really going to be one to sit there grinning like a moron. I don’t think he looks bored, not enthralled or anything, but his interest is definitely…uh…aroused.

      • 17 Gigi
        May 2, 2010 at 5:51 am

        Yep!!! By the tension on the movement of his fingers you can know he’s horny.

        • 18 kelly1981
          May 2, 2010 at 10:05 pm

          you girls are filthy and i love it.
          damn that man is hot

          wish they would spend less of their budget on make-up, we aren’t supposed to be able to tell who is a vampire or not, only sookie can see them glow.

          still hoping he’ll get messy hair like when he’d flown to see QSA

  6. 19 Millarca
    May 1, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    I’m pretty sure it’s Yvetta. As for his expression, I think it’s that ambiguous “lion” stare, where the king of beasts is staring at potential prey but hasn’t made up his mind whether he’s going to pounce or go back to sleep. In this case I’m fairly sure he’s going to pounce.

  7. 22 Ericrocks
    May 1, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    I am trying to figure out what is on his necklace. Is that a ring? I can’t enlarge the pic.

    I definitely think he is doing the happy dance with his fingers, trying to figure out what his next move is.

  8. 24 charlotte
    May 1, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    I agree he looks really bored. Good haha

  9. 25 Ericrocks
    May 1, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Okay , I have to tell you this just makes me go SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

    I am dying here, waiting for June. I am so excited for the book, absolutely, but the books and TB have really become two different obsessions.

  10. 27 sunnynala
    May 2, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Very intense!

    Millarca:

    I think it’s that ambiguous “lion” stare, where the king of beasts is staring at potential prey but hasn’t made up his mind whether he’s going to pounce or go back to sleep. In this case I’m fairly sure he’s going to pounce.

    Totally agreed.

    Eric thinks the fastest way to get over a girl is to get a woman under him. Too bad it’s not going to work LOL!

    • May 2, 2010 at 12:01 am

      i totally agree Sunny… he can’t fuck all he likes, but when Sookie see him with Yvette and he feels Jealous from her, i think that will be the begining 🙂 The dreams will come up again

  11. 29 dsm
    May 2, 2010 at 12:01 am

    I don’t like to gloat, ok well maybe just a little, but I just can’t help but notice that we aren’t seeing much of Bill in the teasers, promo pics, etc. Seems like HBO has gotten a clue as to who their biggest draw is these days …

    • 30 sunnynala
      May 2, 2010 at 12:29 am

      Yes! Eric is front and center.

      I can’t wait to see what HBO comes up with for the individual promo shots. I don’t see how they can top the one of Eric from last year. Watching him lick his fingers sends me, everytime. 😀

    • 39 Millarca
      May 2, 2010 at 12:30 am

      I’d love to know what the thought processes are behind the decisions of the PTB, and how many of the decisions are the result of long-term planning and how many, if any, are made in reaction to fan response as the show progresses.

      Why would they cast as Eric a devastatingly charming, drop-dead-gorgeous man with a killer smile who was voted sexiest man in Sweden for a number of years if you didn’t want your viewers to get the hots for him and “claim” him? I suppose there are many factors, including availability and salary, but I can’t help thinking that, especially bearing in mind the storyline in the books, all along they had in mind the fact that this man’s character would dominate and he would become a fan favourite.

      Stephen has a nice smile too, but he is just not sexy in the way that AS is sexy. In his sex scenes with Sookie, Bill doesn’t seem to have a pumped up body, so I don’t think Stephen was sent to the gym to prepare. Contrast Alex’s appearance in this year’s snake poster. And last season they made Bill’s face makeup strangely pasty white and not as attractive as he was in Season 1. IMO anyway. No, I think Eric’s potential attraction was well known and intended and was a long-term plan.

      Though, of course, there is the possibility that I just might be biased! 😆

      • 40 dsm
        May 2, 2010 at 12:45 am

        I somehow have the impression, based on no facts at all, that had fan reaction been overwhelming for SM, AB would have be prepared to diverge completely from the books. When season 1 started, I really doubt they’d thought much beyond the end of that season – it was uncertain that they’d even get renewed. When the show went totally nuts rating wise in season two the writing was on the wall though because what had changed between season 1 and 2 really – just a bit more air time for a totally hot viking?? I wouldn’t be surprised to hear that they were leaving their options open and the fan reaction to s2 sealed the deal.

        • 41 Millarca
          May 2, 2010 at 1:12 am

          What you say definitely makes sense. I think they always intended for Eric to be the fan favourite, and it has worked out that way, so we will get more of Eric as a sympathetic character and they’ll follow the main Eric storylines from the books. I’m trying very hard not to get too excited though in case I’m wrong.

          • 42 VikingLover
            May 2, 2010 at 7:29 am

            I agree Millarca. I think they always intended to have Eric become a fan favorite otherwise they wouldn’t have bothered to take such time to cast this role so correctly. I mean let’s face it, AS is Eric – it’s as if Eric walked right off the page. It’s incredible to watch him in action.

      • 43 VampirePamsGirl
        May 3, 2010 at 11:52 pm

        Some interesting conjectures here. It would be interesting to know the thought processes for sure, especially since AS originally auditioned for the role of Bill, but got turned down there though and called back for the role of Eric.

        • May 4, 2010 at 12:55 am

          I smell bullshit in that story about the Bill audition. Something about it just doesn’t jibe with me. I know, I’m paranoid *pulls tinfoil hat down tight*

        • 45 Dwimordene
          May 5, 2010 at 9:20 am

          That is bullshit… Why would a viking audition for bill?.. they are different ethnic groups… Also… I find AS to be very alike to Eric for that being a coincidence. They wouldn’t have let him even try, loss of time. lol

          • 46 Millarca
            May 5, 2010 at 9:28 am

            Both AB and AS have said it’s true, strange as it may seem. http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/cult/a213423/skarsgard-wanted-true-blood-bill-role.html?imdb

            • May 5, 2010 at 9:32 am

              That just goes to show that AB was going to mess with the Sookieverse so damn much that he was looking at roll reversing the characters maybe??

              • 48 trixie
                May 5, 2010 at 10:19 am

                well, apparently EVERYBODY first auditioned for Bill! At Paley last year Ryan K. said he did as well, although I remember reading that Ball saw him in some film he did in Australia and immediately thought of Jason…
                and in that same panel, Alex was talking about how he got the role of Eric, and he said that yes, his very first audition was for Bill, but he soon realized that AB had already thought of another, better fitting part for him. Which is obvious really.
                I think it’s common at the start of the auditioning process, to have lots of people read the same part, just to have an idea of the actor and not because they’re actually in the run for THAT role.
                For example, in Lost, they had almost every male actor in the cast read for Sawyer, like the guy who plays Jack, and even Hurley!

                • 49 svmaddict
                  May 5, 2010 at 10:34 am

                  I agree. That’s the only logical explanation. It makes no sense that a 6.4ft tall, blond Swede would audition for the part of Bill. When there was an opening for…. a 6.4, blond Swede in the show. AS is too perfect to be Eric to just “happen” to have auditioned for anothre part and then Ball thought of him as Eric.

  12. May 2, 2010 at 12:01 am

    I can’t stand it. I can even ignore what’s her name because it’s the back of her head. He’s soooo lovely.

  13. 51 Serena
    May 2, 2010 at 12:06 am

    Doesn’t he look the same here as in the clip where the Queen walks into Fangtasia? In that case he would def. be eyeing Yvetta but thinkin Sookie!

  14. 52 Caitlin
    May 2, 2010 at 12:08 am

    is it just me or does it look like he has a mustache in this picture?

  15. 53 Barbara E
    May 2, 2010 at 12:14 am

    If I didn’t know any better, I would say that was Alex from 5+ years ago – very baby faced in this picture.

    I can’t tell if he looks bored or angry … but definitely not interested. I know what you’re all saying about his right hand … but that could be him trying to contain his frustration/anger/etc ??? *shrugs*

    Oh jeez … can’t wait to see this coming season!

    Lack of Bill in promos – well, he is supposed to be missing! *grins*

    • 54 sunnynala
      May 2, 2010 at 12:27 am

      He stroked an inanimate object once before when he was thinking about Sookie. In the scene with Lorena at the hotel he stroked the back of the couch as he was talking about her.

      • May 2, 2010 at 12:38 am

        I wonder more if this is Alex’s nod to the books. It’s mentioned many times by Sookie that Eric is very tactile – and he is often described touching/stroking things while he’s talking or when he’s preoccupied. AS seems to be incorporating that in the way he plays him.

        • 56 sunnynala
          May 2, 2010 at 12:40 am

          Oooh, nice. 🙂

        • 57 dsm
          May 2, 2010 at 12:51 am

          Good catch. Seems to be a device they use to portray active thought, despite an apparent outer calm or even disinterest. They want you to know that Eric is ALWAYS thinking.

  16. May 2, 2010 at 12:52 am

    Is that his leather jacket that he’s been wearing in all the spoilers? It almost looks velvet. The tank without the jacket would get us the nude looking pic from the dungeon, but if Yvetta is down there, I don’t think it’s a sexual encounter. I think he would be interrogating her.

    • May 2, 2010 at 12:53 am

      It’s the same jacket from the QSA promo shots and the one we got ages ago with the pole in the back ground

    • 61 sunnynala
      May 2, 2010 at 12:56 am

      I think it is the same jacket.

      Rygee, why do you think Eric is going to interrogate Yvetta? Do you think he will suspect something hinky about her so soon?

      I am loving how well lit Eric is. He has so often been shot in the shadows at unflattering angles. He almost looks like a smooth faced youth in this pic.

    • 62 Dee
      May 2, 2010 at 2:21 am

      I think the spoilers all said she will be his lover, so I think there will be some sexual encounter. At least thats the impression I got, otherwise I think it would’ve just said stripper.

    • May 2, 2010 at 2:24 am

      Renee.. i have linked in a post two pictures of Eric in the jacket, but they are awaiting moderation. i have them up on svmu in the pictures for season 3 album

      • May 2, 2010 at 2:51 am

        Thanks Dazed! I’ll check them out.

        • May 2, 2010 at 3:57 am

          And there is another version of this picture released too… It actually has another throne to Eric’s left.. it’s up on svmu too

          • May 2, 2010 at 5:15 am

            Geeze Dazed! I would’ve been back sooner, but got distracted by your slideslow. Nice work.

            You’re right; it is the same jacket. So it looks like Eric had a busy night with Yvetta, Sophie Anne, and Sookie.

  17. May 2, 2010 at 1:18 am

    I like the lighting, too. The empty “throne” next to him gets almost as much space in the picture as Yvetta and better lighting.

    As for the Chech ho, I think Pam and Eric perked up and turned around when she entered because they smalled that she wasn’t human. I theorized that while vamps don’t care for Weres, they may find other were-animals tasty after a steady diet of fruit flavored humans. I figure that Yvetta is one of Hallow’s Were witches sent to entrap Eric. With the fox fur, leopard bra, and snake choker, I think she’s trying to convince him that she is just about anything but a Were. So…Eric drinks his fill and has his fun, but I don’t think he would be as easily fooled as Sam was with Daphne. I figure that before the night is through, he knows she is not what she purports to be and takes her down to the basement to interrogate her, which is when Sookie shows up. She gets to see Eric questioning a bound Yvetta AND gets to read Yvetta’s mind and see what they got up to upstairs. I think this will parallel what happens S4 when Bill abducts and tortures Holly to get info about Hallow. That, in turn, will be a replay of when Steve held Holly Simpson and Rufus Dobson, aka Sookie and Hugo in his basement. Convoluted much? ROTFL!

    • May 2, 2010 at 1:27 am

      Wow darlin… that is very thought provoking stuff… and i’m going to agree with you. Parallels are everywhere in the show.. 🙂

    • 69 sunnynala
      May 2, 2010 at 1:29 am

      I don’t think he would be as easily fooled as Sam was with Daphne.

      Yes, I have to agree with you there. All of the parallels are also opportunities to compare and contrast the characters, so how Eric stacks up to Bill and Sam in his reactions to similar situations is the best way to size him up.

      She gets to see Eric questioning a bound Yvetta AND gets to read Yvetta’s mind and see what they got up to upstairs.

      Hmm, I wonder if she’ll help him out when she hears Yvetta’s thoughts like she did Bill with the hep-D fangbanger?

      • May 2, 2010 at 1:34 am

        Now that is interesting… but i would think it was way to early in the season for this no? I would have thought that this comes out in ep 10, I Smell a Rat!

        • May 2, 2010 at 1:50 am

          Daphne had revealed her true colors long before ep 10. Sam should have been suspicious of her right off the bat, so I’m hoping that’s what we’ll see from Eric.

  18. 72 meiliharrison
    May 2, 2010 at 1:27 am

    I think I’m gonna crop off Yvetta’s half of this pic, enlarge Eric’s half and print out a 2′ x 3′ poster and hang it in front of my bed! Haha!!

    • May 2, 2010 at 1:28 am

      Hell yeah… that sounds like an awesome plan

      • 74 Millarca
        May 2, 2010 at 2:06 am

        Hee hee. I just cropped it and it looks much nicer without Yvetta, but in order to blow it up we’ll need a much higher resolution pic.

        • 75 meiliharrison
          May 2, 2010 at 2:11 am

          Shit, we’ll make a boat load of money if we can blow this up and sell it! Like the Fangtasia calendar… 😉

          • 76 Millarca
            May 2, 2010 at 2:20 am

            Hee! When cropped this pic would make a nice cover photo for a calendar but we will need pics with fewer clothes. From what I understand of Season 3 we won’t have any trouble getting them though.

  19. May 2, 2010 at 1:37 am

    It’s all wheels within wheels. This scenario also explains the spoiler that Pam was going to go on a killing spree. It looks to me like she will either be acting on the information that Eric extracts from Yvetta, or she will be fighting off the Were witches who are trying to rescue her.

  20. May 2, 2010 at 1:53 am

    He looks bored to me:( Maybe old girl aint putting it down like he likes it!!! lol

  21. 79 RubySun
    May 2, 2010 at 2:34 am

    I have to say, I definitely think he is deep in thought, but I don’t think it is about Yvetta as far as sleeping with her. I think he looks like he is trying to figure out what to do about her, like he knows she is not who she says she is and he’s trying to figure something out.

  22. 80 Jo
    May 2, 2010 at 3:34 am

    this scene should be a bit before meeting the Queen, he’s with the same clothes.
    You know what irritates me also in your hair, any hairstyle is that he is without a strand out of place, like a businessman on Wall Street… last season even his hair short and was still a little messy, as if he just passed his fingers through them.
    I think he is not weighing on Yvetta, he is enjoying the dance but her thoughts are elsewhere

  23. 81 Paloma Northman
    May 2, 2010 at 3:49 am

    I hate that Czech ho!!! Although he looks bored with her, you can tell that he is thinking of screwing Sookie a thousand different ways. ahhh….Eric!!!!

  24. May 2, 2010 at 5:51 am

    This picture makes me sad for several reasons. Sigh.

    • 83 Gigi
      May 2, 2010 at 6:02 am

      I know….

    • May 2, 2010 at 6:11 am

      ONE. The hair.
      TWO. The make-up.
      THREE. Yvetta
      FOUR. The creepy-vibe.
      FIVE. His outfit.
      SIX. He looks skinny.
      SEVEN. The pole dancing.
      EIGHT. This True Blood Eric-persona-thing. (Maybe I have to see the scene)

      It sounds like I’m complaining. And maybe I am. I don’t know. This just…Skars!Fingers are the only thing that has me slightly content.

      I’ve been fine with all the Eric changes for season 3 so far, until this picture. I have NO idea why.

      • 85 Gigi
        May 2, 2010 at 6:38 am

        He’s just not “Eric”…

        Because the fact is that in TB he’s a very much darker character than he really is, so that is what I think they are also darkening his hair…

      • May 2, 2010 at 7:01 am

        You know what. I am with you on every single thing (except the outfit. I like).

        I love Askars. But he is looking about as UNEric these days as is humanly possible. Eric is big, brawny and has long blonde hair. Alex looked like that in S1.

        Now he’s skinny – which I could live with but along with the short dark hair it’s just so wrong.

        I mean, I understand that in casting they have to make some concessions. AP has brown eyes instead of blue, SM has blue eyes instead of brown. That shit I can live with. But Eric is unrecognisable from season 1.

        Oh fuck, there’s a hair rant coming on… I will stop before it gets legs.

        I also don’t like the creepy vibe of this pic. I’ve warmed to the idea of Yvetta but I’m not sure I like the look of this scene much.

        • 87 svmaddict
          May 2, 2010 at 11:21 am

          I will have to be the devil’s advocate once more. *sigh*

          For me Askars is the perfect Eric. Yes, he doesn’t have the long “Brad-Pitt-in-Legends-Of-the-Fall” hair but if I have to choose between his short hair and that wig from Season 1, I choose short Definitely. Even this shorten than last season, darker version.

          While we are at the subject of hair -guys, that’s his natural color. He had it cut and it cam out darker than it was. Lets not forget he had highlights in the previous season. I’d like my Eric blond but I’m not gonna complain if Askars is natural -would you like him to be like SM who has been forced to die his hair and looks awful? Thanks, no thanks!

          Two, Eric has the best outfits in the show. This particular on happens to be yummy. Personal opinion of course, but I do believe that him being who he is, a 1000yo vampire Sheriff, is very comfortable in his skin. That’s the whole idea behind the tracksuits and the flip-flops so I’m ok with it even if I believe flip-flops belong only in the beach. That being said, has anyone forgotten the gray suit with the black shirt from S2? Or the amazing black outfit he wore the night Godric died? Per-fection.

          Three, Askars is a lanky man. That’s his frame. But he is not skinny, I think sometimes it’s the angle of the camera that makes him look thinner or broader, once again I’ll take him as he is. As for season 1, if you guys recall, he looked MUCH thinner in Ep.4 -that was before the writers’ strike and GK. When he came back from Africa and the GK set he was much broader but eventually he returned to a somewhat smaller frame because that’s the way he is built and maintaining weight is just hard for him. Once again, I’ll go with natural. If we want big this season, we have Joe.

          Now, in regards to the character: I ADORE the way Eric is portrayed in TB. He is potrayed as somewhat darker but that’s because in the books the story is Sookie’s narration and he is careful not to show her all the things being a Sheriff pertains. The scene in S2 where he kills the redneck and keeps Lafayette prisoner in the basement of Fangtasia shows that he is not a boyscout but, who are we kidding ladies? He is no boyscout and we love him for it! It doesn’t mean he is evil or even mean, it means he is a vampire Sheriff with certain responsibilities.

          I’ve said it many times and I feel like a broken record that’s on repeat, but a way to see how NOT mean Eric is, just watch the scene in hotel Carmilla where he feeds from that meal-on-heels that can’t pretend to hate it. He could be mean to her, he could degrade her or make her feel stupid but instead he told her she did well and let herleave with a smile. THAT is Eric for me, both book & TB Eric. 🙂

          • May 2, 2010 at 2:12 pm

            Oh sweetie, I in NO way meant I didn’t like ASkars. I LOVE his portrayal. He is beyond flawless in everything he does, I was just saying that this picture gave me a really weird feeling. Maybe when I see the scene play out it’ll be better but to me, this was just beyond creepy.

            As for Eric’s hair, come on, they could dye it. And I am beyond sure the Alan Ball KNOWS he was pissing off fans when he turned Eric’s hair colour. HE KNOWS THIS. I don’t understand why, but he did this on purpose. I was fine with the new colour until this picture. It is so slicked back, so short, so dark, it’s very disconcerting. It feels…off.

            Now, on Alex’s frame. LOL. This is so weird to say. Sometimes he is really broad and other times he can look particularly skinny. I had no problems with this. I love ASkars no matter what, I was not upset that he was skinny at all. In this shot, in this angle he just looked really slight, and it looked odd.

            I was just listing things that looked wrong in this picture. I was not trashing Alex or Eric in anyway. I was just saying this picture FELT wrong to me.

            I agree on all your points on TB, book Eric. Alex is just perfect for the part and I don’t think they could have gotten anyone better.

            • 89 svmaddict
              May 2, 2010 at 2:30 pm

              LOL! No need to explain, I know what you meant! I presonally like this pic (the one I didn’t like was the one with him and Sookie against the wall -his hair was HORRIBLE there) but anyone gets a different vibe from it.

              I know you’re a die-hard Eric fan yourself and we are reasonable people here (not BillsBabes) different opinions are welcome, we can all agree to disagree! But I’d never disagree with how this photo feels to you because everyone gets a different vibe and it would be irrational for me to expect everyone to get from it what I’m getting. Not to mention selfish and narrow-minded.
              So, I wasn’t replying to your comment, I was replying to the sookieverseblog comment who was talking in general on how “Un-Eric” Eric is this season. Which is what I don’t agree with and had to say why.

        • 90 Gigi
          May 2, 2010 at 11:33 am

          [But he is looking about as UNEric these days as is humanly possible. Eric is big, brawny and has long blonde hair. Alex looked like that in S1… Eric is unrecognisable from season 1.]

          Do you really want to know about what I think about this?

          Well… According to the Learning Theory, in Behavioral Psychology we use the Reinforcement as a stimulus to strengthen or increase the probability of a specific response in order to change a behavior. There are different types of reinforcement to use depending on which is the specific response you want to recieve. The one used when you remove something in order to decrease a behavior is called Extinction. You are taking something away so that a response is decreased. And because you can’t expect that any behavior will change instantly, all types of reinforcement (incuding Extintion) need a time schedule.

          Meaning? In AB’s language: “No Eric, no rabid fans fucking me with “this is not CH’s story, Bill can’t be the lead male and Sookie’s soulmate, so I can tell my own story”.
          Because, it took him 3 years, but he got rid of “Eric”.

          IMO, this is just the final stage in changing Eric’s book character into a complete different character in TB. In S1 & S2, AB first changed Eric’s core and his personality when he gave to Bill most of his traits and specific instances and dialogs with Sookie in order to make TB Bill more appealing and similar to book Eric. Then he created for him much darker personality traits and questionable circumstances to make him less appealing and more similar to book Bill). And it was perfect to cast ASkars for the character because besides that he is an excellent actor, he’s also an eye candy, so the fans aren’t going to leave the show after 3 seasons… It took 3 years, but the fans have LEARNED and will stop the fucking and whining about Eric (and proof of it is that it is what’s actually happening for this new season).

          Do not forget that tv producers also hire their own psychological consultants for their shows…

          • 91 svmaddict
            May 2, 2010 at 11:57 am

            [IMO, this is just the final stage in changing Eric’s book character into a complete different character in TB. In S1 & S2, AB first changed Eric’s core and his personality when he gave to Bill most of his traits and specific instances and dialogs with Sookie in order to make TB Bill more appealing and similar to book Eric.]

            What do you mean AB gave Bill most of Eric’s traits? IMO, Eric is portrayed fairly and accordingly to his book persona -although there are many differences of course, but the overall portrayal leaves me more than satisfied. For me they are two different Erics only because they are two different universes -the books & the show. Both Erics I love!

            Bill on the other hand… his portrayal is not something I’m happy with. They’ve turned him into a saint and that’s just annoying. But I don’t see any Eric traits in him. If anything, he continues to be weak and a douche, just like in the books. The difference is that they have made him a pitiable character. Pitiable doesn’t mean appealing though. And Eric is definitely not pitiable so I don’t see how you can find any connection between the two.

            Of course there are professionals and reasearch is made about the target group and many different tools are used to ensure the audience remains hooked and faithful to the show but what you describe is a conspiracy theory!

            If anything, the previous season & I suspect this season as well, Eric’s character wins both in tv-time, and depth. And lets not forget that for the first two books Bill WAS the main male character even if the signs that he wouldn’t stay that way long, were there.

            I am a die-hard Eric fan but lets not make Eric in our head something that he is not -Eric would never sacrificed himself for Sookie the way Bill did in season 1. Not in the first books anyway (in book All Together Dead we see that he is willing to do it but that’s much later in his and Sookie’s relationship). My only objection is that Bill wouldn’t sacrifice himself back then either! So the way Eric is portrayed in TB is not my problem, the way Bill is, is my problem! He is compeltely OOC but I wouldn’t go as far as say they’ve given him Eric’s traits. If anything, he is even more pathetic.

            • 92 Ashley
              May 3, 2010 at 3:40 am

              I agree with everything you said…Bill’s core personality is the same on the show…if they hadnt thrown that running into the sun thing in everyone would be completely doubting him…he has been slightly upgraded in some ways, but in my opinion is more of a coward and jackass than in the books even…for example, Book Bill would never punch Eric, book Bill didnt hate Eric, in fact they were a lot more friendly. Book Bill didnt even get mad about the bullet sucking, and either did Sookie in fact. So show Bill is more of a whiner and douchebag than book bill even is in my opinion. At least book bill acknowledges that hes a vampire, while show bill seems content to pretend hes human for Sookie’s benefit.

              • May 3, 2010 at 4:03 am

                I totally agree. The relationship between Book!Eric and Bill was a lot more friendly, which could tell when Bill TELLS Sookie that if anything happened to him that she SHOULD go to Eric. TB!Bill would never do that, he would probably send her off to the Queen or even Sam.

          • 94 Millarca
            May 2, 2010 at 12:08 pm

            I find myself constantly reminded of the conflicts that arose in the Buffyverse. Though these are two very different shows, there are similarities. I credit AB with more talent and maturity and objectivity than Joss Whedon, who tried that tactic with Spike fans in the Buffyverse, and failed abysmally, IMO. Fans of this show are not naive and superficial and malleable; we are not clean slates to be “taught” in this way. Despite James Marsters’ physical attractiveness, Spike fans did not accept naked!Spike as acceptable compensation for properly.developed.character.Spike, and I would like to think that the TBPTB do not think we are so bland and shallow that we can be bought by pretty nekkid ASkars. Rather, I hope the producers and directors and writers have learned something from the Spike experience, and realise that fans of TB are intelligent and sophisticated and deserve to be treated as such.

            • May 2, 2010 at 1:55 pm

              I definitely agree with svmaddict. Although I like SVM and book!Eric, I have to say I LOVE TB Eric. Thanks to Askars, maybe, but I don’t see him SO evil, nor I think AB is going to get rid of Eric’s persona.

              [If anything, the previous season & I suspect this season as well, Eric’s character wins both in tv-time, and depth].
              Totally agree. Eric’s portrayal in TB is fascinating just as well than in the books, maybe even more. If AB was going to “kill” Eric, he wouldn’t have related him to one of the best characters of the show, Godric, and there wouldn’t have been any roof scene.
              Eric is mischievous and naughty even in the books, much more in the show where everything is amped up and not tied to Sookie’s POV. But he’s not evil. We’ll see, I’m sure, that he’s definitely not.

              Besides, it’s not that making Bill kill LongShadow or go into the sunlight to rescue sookie means giving Bill Eric’s traits. I can’t see anything from Eric in Bill’s character.
              I’m not so worried about Eric’s hair or Eric’s outfit or whatever. I’m optimistic, I think we’re going to see an awesome season for Eric!

              [and I would like to think that the TBPTB do not think we are so bland and shallow that we can be bought by pretty nekkid ASkars]
              Hope not. If there’s a reason to show him naked, I won’t complain, but if it’s only a trick to make us squee and then forget about anything else, then… ouch, I would be very irritated.

              • 96 Dee
                May 3, 2010 at 5:05 am

                Plus lets not forget that this season Eric will avenge someone from his past, and from what AS said in an interview, well sounds like it will be his father. This will further show Eric’s human side on the show, not only showing love and loyalty to someone like Godric but now this season showing that love towards someone from his human life. It will help show that he still connects with that part of him even 1000 years later. Honestly, seems like a lot going on this season for Eric so he didn’t necessarily need this other plot but will humanize him on the show and showing his deep side once again and how loyal and loving he is to those he cares about.

                It should be a GREAT season, just 6 more weeks!!!

  25. 97 VikingLover
    May 2, 2010 at 7:46 am

    I’ll be honest – I hate this photo. It’s not sexy to me at all and that’s not because of Yvetta. I just don’t like the vibe here and it’s not a very good photo of Eric. It is the only one of the Eric pics that I’ve seen so far that I am unhappy with. I usually think he looks totally hot and Eric like but something is off here. I honestly imagine Eric to look much like AS including the short hair since I do not find long hair attractive (I ignore those descriptions from the book because I do not find that sexy) and I have also completely separated TB Eric from book Eric in my mind now. But this pic bothers me and I don’t know why. It almost looks as if they photoshopped his face onto someone else’s body. I wonder which episode this is from. I think Yvetta shows up again in ep 4.

    • 98 eowyn
      May 2, 2010 at 10:24 am

      I’m with VL on this..This is not a pic I’m liking…something about the “vibe”, as others have stated being all wrong….

      It almost looks like a large MaCaulie Caulkin…and actually my 1st thought was it was a photoshop…I’m hoping it looks much better on TV…

      I think per the casting calls…Yvette is in epi 1 and 9…I haven’t checked for updates in a while…

      • 99 VikingLover
        May 2, 2010 at 5:00 pm

        Yeah, the more I look at this photo, the more intrigued I become. There is something more going on here and I’m dying to know what it is. To me there seems to be something more in his eyes than just lust – it looks like suspicion maybe? I just can’t put my finger on it. AS is such a wonderful actor – look at the expression on his face. It seems so closed off but at the same time you can see the gears going in his mind (to use Gigi’s words lol). I can’t wait to watch this episode. He looks kind of pissed off. I wonder if this is before or after the Queen visits him.

        As to the pic, now I just think it’s a really bad pic. He’s slouching down in the chair which makes his body look a little awkward.

  26. 100 lala
    May 2, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Dead giveaway: reminds me of Freud. He said, even if one is saying it, the body gives one away, whether it be finger-tapping, some facial movement, whatever. And here, his hands are betraying his thoughts.

    I wish someone at TB would read our posts and give us his blond hair back, please.

    I can’t deal with the color. I got used to it short, but the color…it is going to irritate me.

  27. 101 svmaddict
    May 2, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Btw, Eric looks like a predator in this photo. His face is closed, it’s what Alex said once: you don’t know if he is ready to fall asleep or pounce. But judging from the way he moves his fingers and the concentration he shows to a woman on a pole (hello, a woman pole-dancing people!!) he is most definitely about to pounce! The fact that it’s not obvious WHEN he’s gonna pounce is what makes it so excitingly scary. And sexy.

    I love Eric in predator mode.

    • 102 Millarca
      May 2, 2010 at 9:35 pm

      Thanks for pointing out it was Alex who said that. I couldn’t remember who said it but I think it’s what he’s doing in this pic.

      • 103 svmaddict
        May 2, 2010 at 10:16 pm

        No prob! 🙂 I have the memory of an elephant when it comes to Askars interviews. Not very flattering considering I’m 27yo and the crush I have on this man means that mentally I’m 13yo :p

        The truth is, we have NO idea what’s going on in this picture. Askars is wearing he same clothes here as he does when Sophie-Anne goes to Fangtasia (no idea in which episode that’s in but I saw the sneak peek in one of HBO’s new trailers). It might be before S.A’s arrival or after, he could be angry, lustfull, suspicious, bored (somehow I don’t think he is bored, he is too tensed and concentrated for it), sad, happy…. that’s the great thing with Askars. Ha plays Eric exactly as he is: indecipherable. You can never know what he is thinking.

        I had found that comment about the “lion” in his interview to be very appropriate. He is very majestic; dangerous and magnificent at the same time.

        You got to love Eric!

  28. 104 Jo
    May 2, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    I agree with anyone who says that he is very gloomy picture. Eric is not only for me, not only because of the hair. They are making it very dark, serious, you know, where is its humor, its fun? or must have seen the new season will not have to know that a dash of Eric humorous and entertaining books. I know that writers have to create a story more to Eric, but this story of revenge is bothering me and making me nervous.

    • 105 Sarah
      May 2, 2010 at 4:43 pm

      Well remember, he lost Godric only one week ago. He lost the man who was his “brother, father, child”. He alreasy was bored and a bit fed up with life before Godric met the sun, but now he lost a beloved person, maybe the only beloved one apart from Pam. I don´t think that he is in love with Sookie yet, but he already feels that she is different from other women, he had this wunderful moment with her on the roof of the hotel. In a nutshell his whole life has changed: Beneath his grief he has to deal with Sookie´s unexplainable attraction. And by the way, there is also the Bill-Queen connection that has the potencial to threaten his position.
      What I want to say is, that he has every reason to look gloomy 🙂
      To me this situation provides the necessary background for Sookie´s and Eric´s beginning relationship. In some kind of way, both need a crisis in order to question their current lifes and to look behind their crusted point of views. Only through this they could develop a affectionate relationship.

  29. 106 Angie
    May 3, 2010 at 12:07 am

    I still don’t understand why all the Eric fans want to castrate him for being attracted to Yvetta. I mean, hello, she is hot. Even if you’re a straight female, you gotta admit that. Yes, TB is taking it’s sweet time about getting to the juicy Eric/Sookie stuff, but I firmly believe they are on their way there. Even in the books, Eric didn’t start out all sweet and lovey-dovey towards Sookie. It took four books for us to start to really see that side of him.

    The thing I love about Eric is that he is who he is. As most of you have pointed out a million times, Eric, unlike Bill, doesn’t present himself as something he’s not. He’s a red-blooded male, and he’s not actually in a relationship with Sookie at this point in time, so what the hell?

    • 107 svmaddict
      May 3, 2010 at 12:35 am

      Completely agree with you. People have asked what’s the purpose of having Yvetta in the show, if it’s only an excuse for some naked Askars.I find her presence necessary.

      It is not in Eric’s character to sit around and mop while he pines for Sookie. We may not see it in the books, as they are narrated by Sookie and he is very careful not to bring something like that to her attention (unlike douche Bill who parades Selah in Merlottes every night), but it’s obvious that Eric has many sexual encounters while trying to get in Sookie’s bed. There are even a couple of hints where Sookie hears that he is not available at the moment because “he is feeding”.

      It’s important that we see Yvetta (or another secual partner of Eric) in the show for two reasons:

      1) to see this part of Eric that is hidden from us in the books. It’s another part of his personality and his everyday life so why not?

      2) to help Sookie realize that she is not very happy with the idea of him having sex with other women. Right now both Sookie and viewers take him for granted.

      But Eric is not Bill; he is independent and strong and an Alpha male, he is not to be taken for granted and damn right he’s gonna have lovers! And let Sookie figure out for herself how much that idea doesn’t appeal to her… maybe it will help her re-think some things.

      • 108 Millarca
        May 3, 2010 at 2:10 am

        I agree too. Eric is very masculine and powerful Alpha male vampire; of course he has sex with women. He is not in a relationship with Sookie so he is not betraying her. In addition to the points you’ve mentioned, his relationship with Yvetta provides an opportunity for viewers to see how Eric treats his sexual partners, so I hope he treats her well.

  30. May 5, 2010 at 10:23 am

    I can’t for the life of me find the posts in one of the recent threads about Eric’s ring. I was talking with svb about this we noticed that Eric didn’t wear a ring at all during season 2. Season 1 had him wear one :
    http://a-skarsgard.net/gallery/displayimage.php?pid=355&fullsize=1
    and this is for season 3

    http://a-skarsgard.net/gallery/displayimage.php?pid=23680&fullsize=1
    http://a-skarsgard.net/gallery/displayimage.php?pid=23775&fullsize=1
    The 2 season 3 rings are different. The first seems to be the same as season 1 though


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,646 hits since October 2009

