04
May
10

I have a big boner for Jesus!

Here’s minisode #2, starring Jessica.

Poor Jessica.

Well, now we know how she came upon that trucker.

42 Responses to “I have a big boner for Jesus!”


  1. May 4, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    That was intense. i’ll have to think on it.. but She is most certianly fighting the two sides of herself… the cold blooded killer and a ‘good girl’.

  2. 2 MASpencer
    May 4, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    I have a feeling that Jessica is royally fucked. To me, this minisode definitely drives home the point that the legacy passed down from Lorena to Bill lives on through her, too.

    That said, if Pam will be taking her under her wing next season like a lot of us have speculated, maybe she still has a chance. Here’s hoping, because I really like her.

    • 3 ladylaurin
      May 4, 2010 at 3:36 pm

      [Here’s hoping, because I really like her.]
      Jessica makes me smile, it’d be a real shame to lose her. But I agree being under Bill’s thumb isn’t the best place to be, it may wind up getting her killed 😦

  3. 4 OrientalThorn
    May 4, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    That’s funny! I love how the pastor shouted he has a boner for jesus! LOL!

    Yeah, I feel bad for Jessica. She deserves a better maker! I think after getting her heart broken by Hoyt, she just feels so much more alone. Bill doesn’t provide any real guidance or teach her how to properly control her vampire urges. It’s a shame. I hope someone else (maybe Pam??) will be able to take her under their wing.

  4. 5 Barbara E
    May 4, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    While I can not deny that Jessica may have a bad time ahead of her … just taking this mini-ep by itself, with no future speculation … I see Jessica as being one of the “good” vampires.

    Instead of going off half-cocked like a teenager could … she was very mature and adult-like in how she handled the Pastor. Well, ok … that bit at the end was a tad immature-ish … but one does need to have fun every so often with idiots *grins* Based on what she said to him, we know she still has not totally embraced being a vampire, since she has to “rip people open to feed”. The way she said that.

    As for the truck driver … well, she does have to feed. And she’s a very young vampire yet (in both ages), so she does the only thing she know how … use her womanly charms. Honestly, you can’t fault her for that. TrueBlood does not really for new vampires. They need human blood. So, Jessica will need to feed.

    Like I opened my post with, here we see a conscientious Jessica, who actually understands what she is, but has not entirely come to terms with it. But I think she is handling it much better than when Bill was first turned (based on what we’ve seen/read).

    Now, to wonder what may happen in the near future for Jessica to become more vampire and potentially start her down-fall, like we’ve been speculating.

    • 6 MASpencer
      May 4, 2010 at 2:37 pm

      Oh, I totally agree. I don’t think Jessica is “bad” in the least… but if she keeps believing that she is, she most certainly WILL be. It’s a self-fulfilling prophecy… and I think it’s fair to say that both Bill’s and Lorena’s respective puritanical backgrouds have a lot to do with how they have handled their vampirism, and also with the amount of self-hatred and shame they both presumably carry with them.

      I hope Jessica is spared that kind of life. But so long as she’s stuck with Bill as her only source of guidance, I don’t see it happening.

      • 7 sunnynala
        May 4, 2010 at 2:51 pm

        Yeah, if Bill keeps telling her how bad and horrible she is she will eventually believe it.

        I don’t recall thinking Lorena tried to make Bill think HE was bad. If anything, she built his ego to monstrous proportions because she thought he was so much better and noble than he is. She actually thought he had a conscience, that he is ‘sensitive’. So I don’t think we can blame that aspect on Lorena; I think Bill does it because he has this deep-seated need for everyone to think he’s the only ‘good’ vampire and if that means making his own child believe she’s this horrible creature, well, he just doesn’t give a shit.

        • 8 MASpencer
          May 4, 2010 at 3:00 pm

          Well, she did tell him: “You’re a vampire. It (sic: CRUELTY) is your nature.”

          The background info offered in the Season 1 DVDs says that Lorena was turned the night before she was to become a nun. I think it’s fair to say she had some pretty biased opinions about what it means to be a vampire. LOL!

      • 9 dsm
        May 6, 2010 at 1:58 pm

        I agree that Jessica is at heart good. What they seem to be highlighting with her storyline, IMO, is how even someone who is inherently good can be completely destroyed if they end up with a bad maker. Really showing us how important that maker/child relationship is …

        Bill clearly had a bad maker and is damaged as a result – despite having been a decent human and attempting to be a decent vampire. The cycle is now continuing with Jessica. It will be a test for Bill – will he ever see the effect he is having on his child and take responsibility and break the cycle? Will Pam and Eric have to step in to save her?

    • 10 VampirePamsGirl
      May 5, 2010 at 5:53 am

      Well said. This minisode just made me feel bad for Jessica all over again. Poor virgin whore that she is. πŸ˜‰

  5. 11 sunnynala
    May 4, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Love it.

    Faulty first impression. She thinks, and so did I, that the old guy was a vampire.

    A good example of ‘mind control’ used for good and not evil.

    • May 4, 2010 at 3:08 pm

      Yep that was the first thing I thought. Another lesson about first impressions being unreliable.

      But I didn’t think the old guy was a vampire. I thought the point was that we were meant to think the old guy thought JESSICA was a vampire (ie that he might have been FOTS), but then it turned out he was just a bible basher who thought she was a garden variety hooker. And then she laid the whammy on him.

      • 13 sunnynala
        May 4, 2010 at 3:30 pm

        What made me think it was this tiny little ‘whooshing’ sound when he first came up to her, and then his words seemed to confirm it for me, like he was going to take her someplace to find some food.

        • 14 sunnynala
          May 4, 2010 at 3:34 pm

          I just went back and watched. It wasn’t really a tiny whoosh sound, but it did remind me of the soundtrack when a vamp approaches.

    • 15 OrientalThorn
      May 4, 2010 at 3:10 pm

      I think it also tells the audience that what you see is not always what you get. Never trust the first layer of words being spoken in this show, it can be deceiving, and in the end, the truth will be revealed. Think I’m reading into this too much?? LOL!

  6. 20 Dwimordene
    May 4, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    We got tricked didn’t we? This minisode much more interesting… We didn’t learn much from the plot, but AB winked us with his tale. I hope following minisodes keep improving πŸ˜€

  7. 21 kelly
    May 4, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    jessica rocks my socks.

    she is so awesome is hope she gets it sorted out with hoyt.

  8. 22 sunnynala
    May 4, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    Agreed Dwim and Kelly.

    This was a great minisode, so much going on. I sure hope we get a better, more in-depth mini with Eric and whoever I don’t care.

  9. 23 Dee
    May 4, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Didn’t know where to ask this so figured I’d ask here. But was curious if anyone else heard about this rumor. I saw on another site that gives TB news that Vincent Gallo was cast as the Sheriff of NY. Supposedly he tweeted about it and saying how excited he was. I went to his twitter page and he did say this but then again don’t know if this is the real Vincent Gallo or not. I would think we’d see something about this elsewhere in casting news. But did anyone hear about this too?

    • 24 MASpencer
      May 4, 2010 at 8:47 pm

      Oh, I would DIE! LOVE HIM!

      • 25 Dee
        May 4, 2010 at 8:49 pm

        I thought he was a great choice for Sheriff of NY, well that is if this is true. Curious how the Sheriff of NY will be involved, sounds interesting.

        • 26 MASpencer
          May 4, 2010 at 8:56 pm

          Checked out his (presumably official) Twitter page, and it looks like it might be true! I’m fangirling out here!!!

          Of course, that means that they’ve DEFINITELY been holding out on us with the casting calls.

          • 27 sunnynala
            May 4, 2010 at 9:05 pm

            He’s taken it down. Here’s what came up on the search

            Fucking thrilled to announce that I’ll be playing the Sheriff of NY in the upcoming season of True Blood. …

            ..but it’s no longer there.

            • 28 MASpencer
              May 4, 2010 at 9:10 pm

              No, it’s there! I just saw it a second ago. The tweet was just dated from 3/18, so it wasn’t at the top of the page.

              So they must have been looking to fill this role all the way back in March. o_O

              • 29 Dee
                May 4, 2010 at 9:34 pm

                Yeah that’s why it surprises me even more that we haven’t heard about it yet. If he was cast in March, wouldn’t they have this on the season 3 cast list or some casting news?

                If it’s really his twitter page, then I guess it is true.

              • 30 sunnynala
                May 4, 2010 at 9:53 pm

                LOL! Crap, I thought this was brand new and didn’t bother looking far enough down.

              • 31 MASpencer
                May 4, 2010 at 11:27 pm

                Must be kept under wraps, ladies! Now I wonder if HE’S the one with whom ASkars was talking about looking forward to working… although I’d be kinda surprised, because word on the street is he’s kind of a dick on the set.

                But, if it’s true, I’m MAJORLY excited!!!!

                • 32 Skarlove
                  May 7, 2010 at 2:22 pm

                  Wow! I’d been avoiding this page until I had a chance to watch the Jessica mini-sode. Thought it was great – much more insightful than the first, but this casting tidbit just blew everything I would have written out of my head. Vincent Gallo!!!! Yay!

                  Didn’t AS already work with him in Metropia? Maybe not, since with animation they may not have ever been in the same room…..I’m so mad my cable company didn’t carry the Tribeca Fest On Demand. Can’t wait to see it.

                  Wow, again. Freaking awesome. I really hope it’s true.

  10. 33 PrettyVikingChains
    May 4, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    This was great! I have more faith than ever that despite Bill’s influence (or lack thereof), that Jessica will still turn out to be a good vamp. I thought the spending time with Eric & Pam early on would’ve helped her adjust better, but maybe she was too into her wild stage to really consider the consequences.

    She’s gotten much better at talking with the fangs in! Maybe she practiced over the break.

  11. 34 Millarca
    May 4, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    I thought that was great. At first I thought the old bloke was a vampire. I think it was set up for us to think that, and then gradually come to the realisation he was just an evangelist type hunting whores to “save” them and not inherently bad. I loved Jessica and think she is a good vamp. But she’s 17, and saw a chance for a bit of fun with the old geezer. Mind you, I’m not sure what her intentions are with the young bloke.

    Maybe the intention of the clip was to for us to think about layers and conflict, first through the man and then Jessica.

    Did anyone recognise the song that was playing? The songs are often significant in True Blood.

    • 35 Millarca
      May 5, 2010 at 4:51 am

      Replying to myself to tell myself I’m fucking brilliant! πŸ˜† I finally found the song. I don’t know who’s singing it here, but it’s Bartender, as recorded by Loretta Lynn & Ernest Tubb. These are the lyrics, and they are perfect for that minisode:

      Please listen to me bartender I’ve got something on my mind
      I think I’d might feel better after one more glass of wine
      I’m payin’ for a broken heart the price of love is high
      With nothing left to live for what’s there to do but die
      (I know your story honey they’re all the same you see
      Why I knew the minute that you walked in you want to talk to me
      But I’ve learned what you don’t read in books from words that cost this bar
      I’ve seen them come and I’ve seen them drink
      Till they don’t even know who they are
      Now I don’t believe that honky tonk is a place for a girl like you
      I might be wrong but you don’t look right sittin’ there on that barstool
      It’s not too late so stop and think before all of your pride is gone
      You can end up like all the rest with a barroom for your home)
      I know you’re right bartender goodnight I’m going home

      This clearly means Jessica is a good girl. Alternatively it is a precious drop of irony, and she’s going to drain that young man. Whichever way it goes, the songs are always significant in TB; it’s one of its attractions for me.

      • 36 Millarca
        May 5, 2010 at 5:11 am

        Please ignore everything I just said. It’s a completely different song. *slaps self* Is it possible for idiot posters to delete their comments here?

  12. 37 EricObsessed
    May 4, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    I wasn’t thrilled to see the minisode was about Jessica, but I’ve forgotten how much I like her! I think she was a great addition to the show (wow AB did something right, lol!) and I think she’s pretty funny. Reminds me of the episode when they are in Dallas and Bill’s teaching her to glamour the FOS spy. I think she’s a bit of comic relief at times. I do hope she goes back to Pam and Eric even after Bill returns, she needs the guidance of a Real vampire. lol

  13. 38 KC
    May 4, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    Loved this one! It looks like Jessica’s daddykins’ glamor talent;)

  14. 39 OrientalThorn
    May 4, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    Awww… the video is gone! I was gonna show it to a friend of mine, and it’s not there anymore. ;(

  15. 40 FAWKME
    May 5, 2010 at 2:49 am

    I wanted to see that fawking video goddamnit. I’m so fawking pissed off with their lame @ss copyrights. It’s a fawking 4min clip ffs

  16. 42 FAWKME
    May 5, 2010 at 3:17 am

    Charlotte:
    You should’ve posted a link jesus fawking christ

    I have to do EVERYTHING all the fawking TIME, every time


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,389 hits since October 2009

