04
May
10

True Blood Promo Poster 7

I like this better than the flamingos.

But I have to say, I am still completely underwhelmed by this marketing campaign. I really expected….I dunno what I expected actually, but this is somehow very disappointing.

25 Responses to “True Blood Promo Poster 7”


  1. 1 VikingLover
    May 6, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Like a “tramp stamp” type tattoo? Is that what they mean by vamp stamp? Who’s the tramp? Yvetta? I’m confused. I don’t get it. 😦

  2. 2 KPMRSE
    May 6, 2010 at 1:06 am

    It looks like one of those anti-snore nasal bandaids co-oped into service to cover bite marks…which is fitting as this ad campaign is so boring its putting most to sleep.

  3. 3 MASpencer
    May 6, 2010 at 1:16 am

    I suppose this one is referring to Tara.

    Meh. It’s cute I guess. Although the fang-mark-shaped Band-Aid/tramp stamp connection is a bit tenuous for my taste. Unless scientists recently discovered a major artery right above the butt crack. 😉

    • May 6, 2010 at 1:28 am

      MAS, just lost another mouthful of tea. Has anyone tried to put these posters side by each on one page to see if there is a theme? I’m tech challenged so I can’t figure it out. Maybe they are supposed to be all random.

  4. 5 KC
    May 6, 2010 at 1:20 am

    Have nothin’ to say about this one except lol@MAS.

  5. 6 Lkc
    May 6, 2010 at 2:06 am

    It sucks!

  6. 7 FAWKME
    May 6, 2010 at 2:06 am

    This is a good campaign. You don’t know what you’re talking about.

  7. 12 Dee
    May 6, 2010 at 2:27 am

    I thought of, Sookie, right away when I saw this. We know she will be in the hospital and she has bandages on her neck. Did seem like it could be bite marks on her neck, but I am still not sure if they’ll do the trunk scene and how. Also, not sure if they’d use that example for a promo poster.

    So I guess in the end it’s probably in reference to fangbangers. We know this season that fangbangers will end up dead and probably the cause for humans attacking vamps.

  8. 13 sunnynala
    May 6, 2010 at 2:38 am

    I guess it means that in TB universe fang bites mark a person as a tramp, like visible hickey’s.

    Not impressed, though. I had hoped the campaign would be a little more enigmatic and thought-provoking.

    • 14 VikingLover
      May 6, 2010 at 2:42 am

      The weird part about it is that the skin looks like vampire skin not human skin.

      • 15 Lkc
        May 6, 2010 at 3:13 am

        Actually I am am a decorative painter and it looks like a grey plastered wall to me, not skin! LOL!

  9. 16 caratstick
    May 6, 2010 at 3:01 am

    Eh. Not bad, not great. I don’t know. I think the thing with this campaign is, they’ve all been cute–some a little more clever than others, but mostly cute. And that feels a little off because TB is not really a cute show. Funny. Sexy. Violent. Gross. Heartbreaking. But not really cute. And we’re not getting the feel of the show. We care about what is happening with the characters–WTF is going on in Bon Temps and Shreveport? And these, although we’ve tied each poster to a character, do not actually reveal anything about the characters…even if it’s only watching their wicked grin while they lick some obscenely large fingers. *remembers* *fans self*

    But as far as being effective, I think the marketing company has actually pulled off a win. Because, like them or not, we (and the rest of the Interwebbings) are all talking about them–and more importantly we’re talking about True Blood and that’s what the posters are supposed to do: get people talking.

    • May 6, 2010 at 3:12 am

      I guess you’re right. But we would have talked a hell of a lot more if they’d actually given us something to talk about.

      Totally with you on the cute thing. I’ve been trying to put my finger on what I found off-putting about this campaign and I think that’s it.

  10. 20 lala
    May 6, 2010 at 10:58 am

    But no one uses band aids to cover fang marks. Don’t they heal with the application of vampire blood?
    Anyway, Sookie usually covers her neck with a hideous bandana.

  11. 22 JTA
    May 6, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    I’ve liked the poster campaign so far, but at first glance of this one I immediately thought “bra with bloody nipple stains”, lol!

    BTW – I recently discovered this blog and LOVE IT – so great 🙂

  12. 23 kelly
    May 6, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    i dunno, i’m starting to think were giving them too much credit for coming up with these ideas.
    i think all the posters are way more literal.
    kinda like luring in people who haven’t watched it by being comical and intriguing.
    i doubt any of the posters (except VILF) are specifically aimed at any, and even VILF could be used for bill, or even pam. cos, to be honest, the whole point seems to be that the vampires are hot and horny.

    i just wish june would hurry up so i can watch the hot naked viking in the first episode!!!

    • 24 Kathy
      May 9, 2010 at 1:57 am

      I have to agree with you. I think they’re generic, like the “Mini” and the “Razor” ads last year. I thought the first few were really cute then they started to lose me w/the shifter one and the flamingo one. This one, at first I too thought they were bloody boobs until I found a larger version of the poster and saw it was a band aid.

      PS: I just found this blog as well. I LOVE it!

      • 25 Sam
        May 10, 2010 at 3:23 am

        I agree – it’s quite tongue in cheek, this season’s ad campaign. I’m more happy about the great teaser shots and minisodes they’re releasing to keep the fans baying for more!!


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,642 hits since October 2009

