09
May
10

True Blood – Voiceover Promo

Tara: What do you want from Sookie?

Sookie: Don’t underestimate me.
Eric: Don’t underestimate yourself!
(SQUEE! Now we’re TALKIN’! I’ll bet this is the scene where she’s backed up against the wall and he’s all up in her face).

Sam: I don’t appreciate you trying to get me killed.

Mystery Man – Could be Russell, could be the Magister: This kind of moral anarchy cannot be allowed.

Source – Jussunique

110 Responses to “True Blood – Voiceover Promo”


  1. May 9, 2010 at 4:09 am

    OH SNAP! BITCH GOT TOLD! 3 CHEERS!

  2. May 9, 2010 at 4:15 am

    Also. LAME. A trailer for a trailer? Ugh. But also, SQUEE

  3. May 9, 2010 at 4:17 am

    While this is awesome, I find it hilarious that there is a promo for a promo. HBO knows how to be a cocktease.

    • 5 ladylaurin
      May 9, 2010 at 5:29 am

      [HBO knows how to be a cocktease.]
      Hahaha, for real!!

      I did love this, though. I definitely think the last line is from Denis O’Hare & it makes me excited to see what he’ll bring to the role of Russell.

      Did anyone see O’Hare’s role in The Proposal? It’ll be a hysterical comparison.

  4. 6 Willowbella
    May 9, 2010 at 4:19 am

    “Don’t underestimate yourself.” 🙂 Love it!

    Zeljko Ivanek, who played the magister, is not listed on the imbd as being in any episodes this season (that doesn’t really mean much as they will not have full cast lists yet). He sounds a little more Southern though…so maybe Russell.

    Yeah, the HBO marketing peeps have really been working for their money this time round. 🙂

    • 7 VikingLover
      May 9, 2010 at 4:32 pm

      [Zeljko Ivanek, who played the magister, is not listed on the imbd as being in any episodes this season ]

      That’s because they’re sneaky! I have a feeling there’s a lot we don’t know about the coming season – even with all the spoilers that have been released. Hell, we just found out that Vicent Gallo is going to make an appearance and he was apparently cast several months ago. Soooo sneaky!

  5. 8 Jo
    May 9, 2010 at 4:20 am

    Is the voice do magister/Zeljko Ivanek

    • 9 Gigi
      May 9, 2010 at 3:27 pm

      I agree with you Jo. It’s the voice of Zeljko Ivanek, the magister. He also had a role on the past season of “Big Love”, so I know his voice quite well. He has a very distinctive tone and his accent is quite marked when he speak.

  6. 10 nskars
    May 9, 2010 at 4:23 am

    OH MY EFFING GODDDDDD! Squee times a million!

  7. 11 MollyS
    May 9, 2010 at 5:31 am

    “This kind of moral anarchy cannot be allowed.”

    What about Steve Newlin or someone else from the FotS? Can’t imagine that too many vampires speak out against moral anarchy.

    • 12 Dee
      May 9, 2010 at 6:14 am

      Steve Newlin’s voice is very different, sounds younger and higher pitched. I do know Russell is fighting for vampire rights. Also, he most likely would be talking about QSA and her dealing V.

  8. 13 Dee
    May 9, 2010 at 6:11 am

    Ok the first is Jessica then sookie then Eric, have no idea who the person after eric is and last i think is Russell. Sounds like him, I heard him do the southern accent that he is going to use on TB, he did it for an interview and kinda sounds like it. Also, that whole line just sounds like it would come from him. Does anyone know whose voice it is after Eric?

  9. 14 Dee
    May 9, 2010 at 6:20 am

    Nevermind, I see that it’s sam lol. I scrolled quick and didnt see what SVB wrote above the video.

  10. 15 kelly
    May 9, 2010 at 9:50 am

    definatly sounds like the magister to me. moral anarchy referring to getting involved with the maenad or the explosion in godric’s house, or even bill’s kidnap.

    then again nan flanagan may have been so pissed at eric, she just sent the magister to piss him off.

  11. 16 OrientalThorn
    May 9, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Awesome! I love hearing Sookie & Eric!

    [This kind of moral anarchy cannot be allowed.]
    Does not sound like the Magister. I’d say it is Russell.

  12. 17 EricObsessed
    May 9, 2010 at 11:18 am

    A promo for a promo is totally pathetic and I am totally buying into it!! Anything for season 3 gets my heart to racing! And I have no idea what Russell sounds like but judging from the picture we’ve seen and his character in the books, he seems like he’d be the type to judge other’s morals. Besides, wouldn’t “morals” be subjective? I’m sure Vamp morals would be different that human ones.

  13. 18 Melissa
    May 9, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    That last voice-over is defiantly the Magister. The guy who plays that character was a prominent character on Big Love this season and sounds all too familiar. Dennis O’Hare, the guy who is playing Russell, does what his voice is going to sound like in this interview: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCMvAt6eeqc

  14. 19 sunnynala
    May 9, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Oh my word.

    “let her speak”…”don’t underestimate yourself”…the perfect man for a strong woman! The BL’s are finally going to get a look at how a REAL MAN behaves in a healthy relationship.

    This kind of moral anarchy cannot be allowed

    Sounds like a Puritanical judge presiding over a witch trial! No wonder he and Bill get along. LOL! squeeeee! King Russell is shaping up to be a fascinating character.

    • 20 OrientalThorn
      May 9, 2010 at 1:31 pm

      I agree Sunny! Eric is her perfect match, personality wise! Of course, BLs are so blind-sighted, they will only view this as a negative trait.

      Yes, definitely looking forward to meeting TB Russell.

    • 21 Mishia
      May 9, 2010 at 1:55 pm

      The King Russell comment kinda makes me wonder if he was referring to the QSA. I mean he is supposed to have a 700 or so years old lover so we may not get the Russell with the variety of boys lounging all over the place. Beehl might get chatty and tell him all about the QSA’s pecking sessions and latvian boys.

      • 22 VikingLover
        May 9, 2010 at 4:15 pm

        [“let her speak”…”don’t underestimate yourself”…the perfect man for a strong woman! The BL’s are finally going to get a look at how a REAL MAN behaves in a healthy relationship.]

        YESSSS! OMG, fangirling! Holy crap, Sunny you were right about your prediction that the Magister would make an appearance. I wonder if that’s why Eric is making a will – he and QSA may be on trial..

  15. May 9, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Having just bolted through the first season of Damages, that sure sounds like Zeljko Ivanek (Magister). I’d stake my life on it… 😉

    • 26 sunnynala
      May 9, 2010 at 2:39 pm

      Hmm, now that I’ve listened a couple of times I think you’re right. But, it seems sort of out of character for the Magister to be ranting about ‘moral anarchy’.

      • May 9, 2010 at 2:45 pm

        It sounds a bit like he’s mid-sentence. Maybe he *really* said, “A sphincter says, ‘This kind of moral anarchy cannot be allowed.'” (I’m twelve.)

        • 28 sunnynala
          May 9, 2010 at 3:03 pm

          LMFAO!!!

        • 29 EricObsessed
          May 9, 2010 at 4:46 pm

          OMG thanks for the best laugh I’ve had all week!!!
          No wait, someone wrote on one of the DItF posts about Bill’s jizz. That cracked me up too! You guys rock!
          *still laughing*

      • 30 Gigi
        May 9, 2010 at 4:25 pm

        [But, it seems sort of out of character for the Magister to be ranting about ‘moral anarchy’.]

        Not necessarily Sunny, if you think he could be talking about anarchy, but framed into the context of what should be for them the moral of a vampire (from their own vampires’ perspective).

        • 31 VikingLover
          May 9, 2010 at 4:28 pm

          Yes I agree, Gigi. Plus, the Magister has to uphold their laws. Otherwise, it would be chaos – especially since they are trying to carve a place for themselves within modern society. What ever is going on could jeopardize that.

        • 32 Ashley
          May 10, 2010 at 5:03 pm

          I think Eric is going to kill Lorena, or another vampire, and will ultimately end up before the magister. This would explain the will.

        • 33 KPMRSE
          May 10, 2010 at 5:03 pm

          I agree too – Perhaps he’s staying this to QSA over the v-selling?

  16. 34 VikingLover
    May 9, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    OMG!! OMG!! OMG!! HYPERVENTILATING!! I LOVED THIS!!! I cannot FREAKING WAIT for S3! They’re killing me!

    Okay, fangirling over….for now. 🙂

  17. 35 VikingLover
    May 9, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Is it retarded that I’ve already listened to this thing like 10 times just to hear Eric’s voice? *hangs head in shame*. 🙂

  18. 39 VikingLover
    May 9, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    By the way, how interesting that Bill was completely omitted from this. However, they included some interaction between Eric and Sookie! Squeeeeeeeeee!

  19. 40 Blondebonded
    May 9, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    I’m hoping Eric will be the one that makes her realise that she’s not helpless …Which will hopefully make her 39439439times less annoying lol

  20. 46 Willowbella
    May 9, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    My first instinct was the magister at the end but then the imdb confused me dammit! The You Tube clip of Dennis O’Hare was interesting and it really doesn’t sound the same…although he could have been playing around a bit with the reporter. We’ll see in 6 days (and counting) I guess. One thing I DO know is that the last line was definitely not Bill with his Suh-keeeeh drawl! 😉

    • 47 Willowbella
      May 10, 2010 at 12:44 am

      Okay, I read that back and realized that my comment about Bill saying Sookie’s name, though meant to be funny, sounded mean and I felt a bit bad. :/ I don’t want to diss SM, I really think he’s charming and funny, and his performance goes a long way to making Bill’s character more likable. I even think the old fashioned, slightly fussy drawl he does actually suits the character (seriously). Plus he’s a fellow Brit and I have to support that. 🙂

      I just can’t help it that my opinion on Bill is slightly tinted *ahem* by the books. And I really can’t help the fact that I’m more intrigued by Eric and am rooting for him more…way more! 😉 Did I manage to dig myself out of a hole there? 🙂

      • 48 VikingLover
        May 10, 2010 at 1:18 am

        LOL You won’t have to worry about that here Willowbella. We all feel the same. Nothing against actor, we all just don’t like the character of Bill for obvious reasons. 🙂

  21. 49 Mony
    May 9, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    Did you realize that Ball put quite the same lines into Eric and Sooike’s mouth?That mean more than it seem now without a contest of course…but Ball putting Eric and Sookie in this kind of mental connection it’s just HIS way to say “Hey everybody i understand them, but just let me do this show in my way and you will not be disappointed”
    Seriously….2 lines so similar in an audio promo….even in this Eric and Sookie are closer than everyone else…
    Bl’s won’t got it….and then….who f*** cares?!?

    • May 10, 2010 at 12:13 am

      It’s hard to say without seeing the full scene, but I what I really love about this is that it shows Eric believing in Sookie more than she believes in herself and that’s exactly how they should be at this point. Eric has always seen Sookie’s potential, and her power and her survivalist nature even when she couldn’t.

      Eric stands back while Sookie does her thing, and he’s got her back when she needs it. Bill never encouraged her to fend for herself, always wanting to coddle her and hide her away. This exchange is really true to them, I hope it plays out when we see the full thing.

      • 51 Willowbella
        May 10, 2010 at 12:39 am

        I’m totally with you on that. I love that he lets her stand shoulder to shoulder with him and doesn’t hide her behind him. That’s the way it should be in any partnership…equal.

      • 52 OrientalThorn
        May 10, 2010 at 12:53 am

        That’s what I love about Eric in the books. He arms her with what she needs, whether it is weapons or knowledge, then he stands back (and sometimes stands next to her). He views her much higher than she views herself and has provided her with encouragement and support through the books. I hope we will see some of that in TB (from the promo, looks promising!)

        Fingers crossed that this season will be the turning point in Eric / Sookie’s relationship. I am not saying romantically or sexually, but mostly the trust and respect they have for each other even from LDID. TB E/S have not gotten to that stage yet it seems, and this is what I want to see most in their development.

        • May 10, 2010 at 1:21 am

          Fingers crossed that this season will be the turning point in Eric / Sookie’s relationship. I am not saying romantically or sexually, but mostly the trust and respect they have for each other even from LDID. TB E/S have not gotten to that stage yet it seems, and this is what I want to see most in their development.

          Me too. Despite the chorus of Bill fans who think we will never be happy until we see them hook up sexually for real (because that’s all we’re interested in apparently), I just want to see that trust develop. If we see some of that this season, and see some clearer confirmation that Eric is interested in Sookie for herself then I will be happy.

          If there is more of the same season 2 bullshit, so help me I think I’ll be done. I can’t enjoy the rest of the show while the coupling I consider the core of the whole thing are unrecognisable. I dare say I wouldn’t be alone in that.

          • 54 VikingLover
            May 10, 2010 at 1:23 am

            Yes, I agree wholeheartedly. I prefer to see them develop the intimacy, trust, respect, and love between them than any sex.

            • 55 Willowbella
              May 10, 2010 at 2:01 am

              By DttW Sookie views Eric as a friend. When he becomes AE she comments that weirdly she misses what they had before. I think they’d be missing a trick if they didn’t do that in the show, it makes the dynamic between them much more complex and is part of the reason why Sookie is so conflicted when AE wants to stay with her. She has to want BOTH parts of Eric in my opinion. Just as he wants her for herself, she has to want the same. I agree that trust and respect has to be established in S3 before Hallow’s whammy happens.

              I actually wasn’t mad that AB didn’t include the scene with Eric taking Sookie to the orgy. It would have made show Eric seem more lecherous and certain ‘fans’ would no doubt use that against him (“He only wants Sookie for sex…blah, blah, blah”). Would still like to see the pink leggings make an appearance though. 🙂

              • 56 VampirePamsGirl
                May 10, 2010 at 2:44 am

                “I actually wasn’t mad that AB didn’t include the scene with Eric taking Sookie to the orgy.”

                I can see where you get that and I do agree that many people would have used the scene against him. However, I HATE that scene not being included mainly because of the stuff that occurs before it. “You trust me? That’s crazy Sookie.” Those lines (and several others) really highlight the growth of Eric and Sookie’s relationship.

                For me, their friendship began in the last third of LDID and all of that seemed completely left out of the last few episodes of TB S2. Those episodes are why I am only cautiously excited for S3. I want to be hopeful, but I also don’t want to have my hopes up just to suffer major disappointment.

                • 57 Willowbella
                  May 10, 2010 at 3:35 am

                  I would have loved to see some interaction with them after that great scene on the roof in ep. 9 and not just in the dream. I was sad that didn’t happen and it seemed a missed opportunity.

                  Are the dreams more than just dreams? The E/S dreams were very different from her Bill dream. Are they actually sharing these dreams? After the first one, in the scene with Nan Flanagan, Eric kept looking at her like they’d shared something. Maybe he was just feeling her lust but it seemed more powerful than that, almost like he was being drawn to her (in spite of the drama going on) and had to make himself look away.

                  I hope they explain this and I hope I’m right, that would be awesome and would make the beginning ep 10 so much more meaningful. I fear my wishful thinking may be controlling me again though. 🙂

                  Maybe the dreams are just indicators of the future Eric, the man/vamp he’ll become. I’ll settle for that. Or maybe they’re just trying to keep we Eric fans happy. I’m okay with that too!

                  • 58 VikingLover
                    May 10, 2010 at 3:45 am

                    [Maybe he was just feeling her lust but it seemed more powerful than that, almost like he was being drawn to her (in spite of the drama going on) and had to make himself look away. }

                    Ah, but he didn’t look away, she did. 🙂 It would be nice if they had shared that dream but sadly I don’t think so. Lafayette also has dreams of him so I don’t think they could do that in the storyline. It was more that he was sensing her emotions at the moment – lust for sure and possibly something more. 🙂 And yes, I think the dreams are def a prelude of things to come – AE for sure. Also, Sookie got to see the “real” Eric while in Dallas – not just hot sh**t vampire sheriff. This was a factor in her dream as well. I loved that roof scene so much!! It spoke volumes!

                    • 59 Willowbella
                      May 10, 2010 at 4:06 am

                      Ah but we didn’t see Laffy’s “nasty and fantastic” dream to compare. Shame!

                      I’m sure your right though…pfft! 🙂 Sookie had glimpses of Eric without his mask before the dreams and would translate that. Plus Lorena was in the first dream which if they were sharing it would have been you know…’awkward’!!! I didn’t really think this theory through before I posted. It’s late and my flights of fancy are getting away from me. 🙂

        • 60 Gigi
          May 10, 2010 at 2:26 am

          Actually TB had shown before subtle hints on how Eric not only gives worth to Sookie’s gift, but to her assesments and judgment, too. Besides he called her to know who stole the money at Fangtasia, when she was giving her plan to infitrate herself on the FotS and Bill objected, Eric said: “Let her speak”. Also, when they were trying to escape from the FotS, Eric controled himself twice (with the stake and the young man at the door, and with Steve Newlin after she unchained him) when she told him (she almost ordered him) not to kill them. TB also showed that Sookie indeed has percieved this, at least at an unconcious level. They showed that after she saw Steve and Sarah Newlin fighting at the tv because he didn’t let her finish what she was talking, when she went to sleep and began to dream with Eric, the first thing he said to her was: “Finish your sentence” as a clear reference on how different is Eric with her, in comparison to Steve Newlin with Sarah, because Eric gives worth to her opinions.

          So the hints are there, it’s a matter of when and how they will develop it…

          • 61 VikingLover
            May 10, 2010 at 2:45 am

            Great points, Gigi! Another time was when they were in the conference with Nan and Sookie spoke up to defend Godric. Bill tried to shut her up (as usual) but Eric said nothing and let her speak. In reality, she was there as an employee to Eric and he could have told her (since she is “just” a human after all) to be quiet but he never did. He let her speak her mind as an equal to all of them.

          • 62 Willowbella
            May 10, 2010 at 3:08 am

            Totally agree. It’s more subtle in the show because the screenwriting rule is ‘show don’t tell’ but it’s definitely there from S1.

            In season 1 the scene where Longshadow gets staked was very telling. Longshadow asks Eric, “You trust the skinny human [Sookie] to clear the fat one?” and Eric says, “Bring the next one in.” Tacitly showing that he does. Also he doesn’t threaten her, instead he humbles himself by asking for a favour (he even admits that to her). He even agrees to her deal. I think they are showing even at this early stage that she has some kind of unusual effect on him.

            Also there’s was a great bit when Eric comes to Merlotte’s, to take Bill to the trial, where Sookie is crying as they walk away and it’s Eric who looks back at her. That wasn’t just incidental.

            In S2, when they’re escaping the FotS church and Eric says, “Trust me” Sookie shows that she does by keeping her mouth shut and following his lead. Also the look she gives him when he gives himself over to Newlin and says, “I’ll be fine” spoke volumes.

            • 63 VikingLover
              May 10, 2010 at 3:23 am

              {In S2, when they’re escaping the FotS church and Eric says, “Trust me” Sookie shows that she does by keeping her mouth shut and following his lead.}

              I always felt this was a variation to the “trust” dialogue they had in the car in LDID, on the way to the orgy.

              [Also there’s was a great bit when Eric comes to Merlotte’s, to take Bill to the trial, where Sookie is crying as they walk away and it’s Eric who looks back at her. That wasn’t just incidental.]

              I loved this part from that scene! It definitely was not incidental.

              This is completely OT to what started this convo in the first place but I really loved the scene when Luke arrives at the nest with the bomb. When Sookie stands up, we can see Eric standing a little bit away but by her side kind of just watching her. I always got the impression that he was there guarding her in case Lorena came back. AND of course also because he wanted to be near her and watch her since he’s so intrigued by her. 🙂

          • May 10, 2010 at 3:56 am

            yeah I know it’s there but they give with one hand, and take away with the other. Far too much.

            The FOT’s stuff – the way it was written, yes he could have been restraining himself for her sake. But Godric also told him to “spill no blood on the way out”. So that negated that. Same with the plan thing – he wanted Godric, alot of people think he was only interested in what she had to say because he was so single minded about that one goal. The dream – was great until they then had Lafayette dreaming the same things, showing that the blood causes attraction instead of enhancing it…bringing Sookie’s attraction to him into question again.

            I don’t know…CH does this double meaning stuff to an extent as well but I don’t tend to second guess her as much because of the way she’s writing Eric generally. I am much more confident about where she is going with him and Sookie, so when she writes lines that are open to interpretation (and she writes LOTS of them) I am usually confident that the way I see it is fairly on the money. But the way Ball is writing Eric, combined with all this double meaning makes it very hard for the average viewer to get a clear grip on his intentions. Which is the whole point, I suspect *sigh*.

            • 65 Willowbella
              May 10, 2010 at 4:25 am

              True. He’s stringing us along…it all comes down to those pesky viewing figures again. 😉

              There’s definitely ambiguity with Eric at this stage but perversely I kinda like that. Of course that’s because I’m going on faith that he’ll stick with the books and Eric WILL become the Viking we all know and love. I’m okay with AB keeping some mystery and taking time to build up characters gradually (and I get that I am bringing to bear a lot of later stuff from the books and might be a bit impatient to SEE that) but don’t take too long man, come on!

              This season will be pivotal in keeping peoples attention I think. Eric can’t be as static, we have to see new facets to him and see him change. His arc HAS to be more defined or people will lose interest in the most intriguing character on the show. The show has a lot of great characters but he is definitely the most intriguing, otherwise we wouldn’t all be clamouring for more.

              Also, hope you agree, I really miss the playful side of Eric in the books. I want to see that please Mr Ball.

              • May 10, 2010 at 5:02 am

                This season will be pivotal in keeping peoples attention I think.

                I think you’re right. This is make or break for me, at least. And not just with E/S – the whole thing. I do love this show but there were alot of problems last season with the plots and there was just so much going on, and so much that even now…after nine months of hashing and rehashing still makes little sense.

                If that happens again this season, combined with no clear indication that E/S are really progressing…I don’t know how I’ll be with season 4.

              • 67 walgigi
                May 10, 2010 at 5:08 am

                [Of course that’s because I’m going on faith that he’ll stick with the books and Eric WILL become the Viking we all know and love.]

                Ehmm… SVB please, I need the starightjacket and the muzzle… lmao!!!

                :X

                • 68 Willowbella
                  May 10, 2010 at 9:28 am

                  [Of course that’s because I’m going on faith that he’ll stick with the books and Eric WILL become the Viking we all know and love.]

                  Uhm, I meant that line jokily not in literally. I’m not that naff…honest!

                  I just meant that I didn’t mind a bit of ambiguity with Eric’s character in S1/2 but I want and expect them to start bringing his character more in line with the books this season. I’m hoping they do or a lot of people will lose patience and stop watching. They risk the character degenerating into a stereotypical, one dimensional bad guy if they don’t and that would be a f***ing tragedy since it’s a great character they’re messing with.

                  I also think how they progress is important too. If they start being self-indulgent and ignoring fans those fans will quickly disappear. Producers often think fans will follow a show blindly once a fan base has been created but that’s not the case. If I’m giving up an hour each week I want that show earn my attention. TB/SVM fans are discerning and demanding and if the show doesn’t meet expectations and is not well written then people WILL stop watching.

                  That’s the point I was trying to make. If I missed the marked and sounded like a deluded loony fangirl and total AB cheerleader then don’t hold it against me. I might get a little too excited by the new season hype but I still expect the show and writers to prove themselves.

                  • 69 Willowbella
                    May 12, 2010 at 10:05 pm

                    Apparently a sly, snarky Scottish sense of humour doesn’t always translate in cyber space. Maybe I should start putting *rolls eyes* and LOL more. 😉

            • 70 Gigi
              May 10, 2010 at 4:45 am

              That’s the reason why I say that’s a matter (not just of when they will develop it) but HOW….

            • 71 Ashley
              May 10, 2010 at 5:09 pm

              I think Ball does this because he wants people to believe that Eric doesnt really care about Sookie, but later will see its not true. Hes making it so noone can tell yet. Also, he doesnt want to blow up the BLs fantasy of Bill and Sookie quite yet. He wants Erics motives called into question, othewise Bill would begin to look even worse than he already does.

              • 72 Dee
                May 10, 2010 at 5:50 pm

                I think that he did show us that Eric likes Sookie, or at least is really interested in her. We had Isabella realize that Eric had an interest in her and she calls him on it. He told Lorena he wants Bill’s human. He asked Sam if he can get Sookie for him and that would be tribute to him. We had the Queen ask him if he is in love. I think they showed many times that Eric wants Sookie but we just dont see the same in return from Sookie.

                I said before that the reason to change Bill and Eric’s characters so much is so that their change will be even more dramatic and shocking. Also, if Eric was willing to kill a vamp for a human soon after he is introduced(just his 2nd appearance) then we would think differently of his character and would think he is more likely to do something for a human. This way we see that he normally would not help a human out, or protect her. So now when we see him doing so, we will know how much more special Sookie is to him and how out of character it is for him to do such things. Shows the effect Sookie has on him even more and how he will change because of his feelings for her. She’ll bring out the best in him.

                He has all of season 3 to gain her trust and start a friendship with her. We see that he most likely will take a bullet for her, he will help her rescue Bill, possibly heal her and protect her at other times. Who knows what else he will do this season that will have Sookie look at him differently.

                They’ve all confirmed that E/S will happen, and I have no doubt they are going in that direction. But I think we’re meant to see the change in Eric first

                • 73 Willowbella
                  May 10, 2010 at 7:29 pm

                  I pretty much agree with everything Dee. They want to show that it is Sookie specifically that has made the change in him, that she is special to him in some way. I think they’ll continue to develop the characters to make him worthy of her and her worthy of him as that seems to be the way they’ve been going. They are starting to do this physically with Sookie on TB by giving her fae powers. I liked that in the show she has these abilities and can be less passive, more kick arse, she can fight alongside Eric (and save him when he’s in trouble). They’ve already established that too when she ran to free him from the silver chains.

                  • 74 LLE
                    May 10, 2010 at 7:35 pm

                    Bill did not want Sookie to free Eric. Sookie watching Eric’s back in the church when she seen a guy about steak Eric. Sookie shout “steak.”

                    • 75 Ashley
                      May 11, 2010 at 1:55 am

                      Yeah Bill certainly got all pissy when Sookie went to take the chains off. He wanted to take off. And again when the Dallas vamps were all about to kill the FOTS people. Bill doesnt like getting involved in things because he has too much to hide and too much at stake i.e. job with queen and sookie

          • 76 OrientalThorn
            May 10, 2010 at 10:33 am

            Not saying that there were no hints as to the progress of E/S relationship. I meant that in TB, their relationship did not seem to have gotten as far as the 2nd book did. They had a few moments in S2, but most of them were very subtle and you had to go back and rewatch to catch the moments, I still think it was more obvious in the book.

            Either way, I for one, am hoping for more development on their trust, respect and friendship. I think it will happen in S3, otherwise it will definitely muck up S4. Someone had mentioned in another post about B/S living together and AE staying with them in S4. That would make me give up on the show!! LOL!

            • 77 Jo
              May 10, 2010 at 12:08 pm

              it’s hard for me to have any hope of coherence and evolution of the relationship E / S TB. Especially soon after seeing the relationship Godric / Eric, and Eric have saved his life twice, still hear Sookie say that Eric is a monster, and that she hated and wanted dead.

              • 78 Ashley
                May 11, 2010 at 1:57 am

                She didnt say she wanted him dead…and she was just being overdramatic by calling him “monster” for Bills benefit, trust me. She doesnt want Bill to know shes attracted to Eric.

            • 79 Gigi
              May 10, 2010 at 12:42 pm

              Of course you’re right. Some people don’t realize how deeply changed the story when TB made Bill the one who killed LongShadow. Because in books, when Eric killed him to save her, that was the first block, the base where their friendship and trust began to be build. Not to mention that TB also has erased completely that Bill neglected Sookie and was totally absorbed in his database, changed completely the manead’s story arch and “saved” Lafayette. Those changes didn’t allow Sookie to trust Eric, because she didn’t need to ask for his help in the search for his murderer. No to mention also that Sookie’s new relationships with Lafayette and Jessica are also “replacements” in the show for the relationships of friendship that Sookie began to develop with Pam and Eric in the books…

              • 80 Jo
                May 10, 2010 at 1:00 pm

                I agree, but none of these events change the fact that Eric SAVE her life, TWICE, and both times risking his own life, which requires at least at least the recognition and thanks. Of course he cheated to get his blood, but not enough to be called a monster.

                • 81 lala
                  May 10, 2010 at 4:31 pm

                  I’m surprised there was an increase in the fan base for TB season 2 after the maenad plotline went on soooo long and so haywire. The majority clammored for someone to put a stop to that. Fans are a patient lot if they trust the content will improve or if some other element is holding their interest. I give them credit, though. I stuck it out because of the books…

                  • 82 OrientalThorn
                    May 10, 2010 at 6:05 pm

                    I think many of the TB fans are BLs, that’s probably why they were able to get through the maenad plotline. It still showed Bill as a caring SOB, going to the Queen for help and convincing Sam to go through with the sacrifice then heal him. Beehl still came out looking like a hero… pffft!

                    • 83 OrientalThorn
                      May 10, 2010 at 6:06 pm

                      Sorry! Might have gone overboard here. I don’t mean to offend anyone! I just have issues with him.

                    • 84 VikingLover
                      May 10, 2010 at 8:36 pm

                      It wasn’t the maenad plotline that brought the viewers back, it was the Sookie and Eric storyline. Ratings soared during the I Will Rise Up episode because most people tuned in to see what happened between them after Dallas.

                    • 85 Mony
                      May 10, 2010 at 10:52 pm

                      Most of the True Bllod fans have almost 1 year to read the books and i’ve read hundreds of comment by people who said “I was a Team Bill then i reda the boks and now all i want is E/S”…last year Comic Con exploded for Eric and all the questions were for Alexander….
                      TB2 had high score just tjanks to him..sorry but for me it’s true!
                      BL’s are not legions…..legions are only for the Viking!LOL

                    • 86 OrientalThorn
                      May 10, 2010 at 11:28 pm

                      Yeah, well… maenad story was definitely my least fav. I guess I was saying it in ref to why S2 gained so many more fans, and part of the reason why people could get through the maenad storyline was because there were a lot of BLs.

                    • 87 Ashley
                      May 11, 2010 at 2:03 am

                      If you really pay attention though, which the BLs arent doing for the most part, there are many clues that Bill is hiding many things.

                  • 88 LLE
                    May 10, 2010 at 8:23 pm

                    Rating started to go down in the end of season 2. Not much of Eric in 10, 11, and 12. The biggest was in 9 after that it started to go down.

              • 89 Ashley
                May 11, 2010 at 2:01 am

                Bill didnt save Lafayette though. Bill didnt care about Lafayette, Sookie did. Bill actually defended Eric, saying that everyone is capable of both good and evil. The only thing Bill had to say about Lafayette was to deny he knew he was in the dungeon (which i think was a lie) and to tell Lafayette to stay quiet.

                I wouldnt say that Jessica is a replacement because her and Sookie arent really close yet. The only time they really spent together was tainted by Jessica going apeshit on her family. So i wouldnt say thats a replacement. As for Lafayette, I dont see that as a replacement, just an addition. They dont really hang out much, except when they are at work.

            • 90 Ashley
              May 10, 2010 at 5:17 pm

              OH PLEASE….i dont think Bill and Sookie will be living together…that would be a total diversion from the books and would be ridiculous. There is no way thats happening. Bill and Sookie will not last, and thats the only way they would live together. And no way in hell controlling and possessive Bill would let ERic live with him with Sookie around all the time. He said himself he doesnt want Eric to have contact with Sookie ever again.

              The only reason Bill is so bold when it comes to Eric is because hes the Queens little pet and knows she’s backing him up. Otherwise, Bill wouldnt dare mess with Eric and act totally insubordinately towards a physically and mentally superior vampire that could tear him limb from limb. Bills confidence comes from his position, but he’s still threatened by Eric for two reasons: One, he knows Sookies attracted to him and is scared of what might happen Two, Bill knows that Eric is intelligent and with digging could find out about his reason for being in BT
              Therefore, Bill would never let Eric stay with him

  22. 91 VikingLover
    May 10, 2010 at 1:21 am

    By the way, did you guys see the small snippet of the werewolf they showed? It was a quick teaser of a wolf and then a short voice over (or maybe it was just text) with the words “the hunt is on”. Anyhooo, we all know they’ll be wolves in S3 so it was nothing to write home about. 🙂

    • 92 Gigi
      May 11, 2010 at 5:46 am

      Are you refering to this Promo?

      • 93 Willowbella
        May 11, 2010 at 7:59 am

        I just saw this, thanks for posting. I’m glad they’re using real wolves. CGI and monster makeup werewolves can be so naff if it’s not done well.

  23. 94 lala
    May 10, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Personally, I think Sookie needs a slap. I don’t know howw Eric tolerates her sometimes.

    Vincent Gallo in Season 3 is epic.

  24. 103 Imagine
    May 10, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    Well this is a little off topic, but it has to do with True Blood so I hope it is ok to post on this thread. While I was re-watching the first season getting ready for the third (yay) I noticed the first time Sookie went into Fangtasia they played “Don’t Fear the Reaper” by the Blue Oyster Cult, usually when I hear this song I just think, “oh it needs more cow bell”(haha, SNL joke)But this time I looked up the lyrics to the song and I am wondering if AB put this specific song in for the first time Sookie meets Eric for a reason, foreshadowing maybe? Have a listen and tell me what you think. AB could have had any scary dark song on there, but he chose this one. I think it is a good song for S/E’s first meeting, or maybe I just have too much time on my hands.

    • May 10, 2010 at 11:27 pm

      I hadn’t noticed that Imagine, so I went and looked up the lyrics for that song.

      The music choices on this show are very deliberate. Ball handpicks the music himself, and Sunny has done some great analysis of the music on TB on her blog:
      http://www.sunnynala.wordpress.com

      Anyway, I think the lyrics of this BOC song playing when Sookie meets Eric are VERY interesting.

      Don’t Fear the Reaper – Blue Oyster Cult

      All our times have come
      Here but now they’re gone
      Seasons don’t fear the reaper
      Nor do the wind, the sun or the rain..we can be like they are
      Come on baby…don’t fear the reaper
      Baby take my hand…don’t fear the reaper
      We’ll be able to fly…don’t fear the reaper
      Baby I’m your man…

      Valentine is done
      Here but now they’re gone
      Romeo and Juliet
      Are together in eternity…Romeo and Juliet
      40,000 men and women everyday…Like Romeo and Juliet
      40,000 men and women everyday…Redefine happiness
      Another 40,000 coming everyday…We can be like they are
      Come on baby…don’t fear the reaper
      Baby take my hand…don’t fear the reaper
      We’ll be able to fly…don’t fear the reaper
      Baby I’m your man…

      Love of two is one
      Here but now they’re gone
      Came the last night of sadness
      And it was clear she couldn’t go on
      Then the door was open and the wind appeared
      The candles blew then disappeared
      The curtains flew then he appeared…saying don’t be afraid
      Come on baby…and she had no fear
      And she ran to him…then they started to fly
      They looked backward and said goodby…she had become like they are
      She had taken his hand…she had become like they are
      Come on baby…don’t fear the reaper

      • 105 MASpencer
        May 11, 2010 at 12:16 am

        Hmmm… interesting. I just figured it was a stereotypically appropriate song choice for a vampire bar. But you’re right– there could be a message there. Especially given all the flying talk, and the fact that this is actually an unorthodox love song.

        Not that it necessarily matters, but this song was also used in an episode of SFU– when Nate gets the dead biker’s old motorcycle, and takes off without a helmet at the end. The whole scene presumably symbolized a new chapter in which he would live his life fully without letting his fear of his own potentially terminal illness cast a shadow over it.

        Of course, the scene also depicts Nate symbolically speeding toward his death, as well. Much like anyone who would date a vampire would be doing, in a sense. It’s all very Baudelairean.

      • 106 nerd
        May 11, 2010 at 4:27 am

        in case anyone is interested, the cover of “don’t fear the reaper” heard on the show is by Heaven 17. i had to track it down, y’see 🙂

        • 107 Willowbella
          May 11, 2010 at 7:56 am

          I was like MAS and thought vamp bar appropriate song but reading the lyrics it could be foreshadowing. The song does seem incongruous since most of the music in Fangtasia is thrash metal. The fact that they chose to use a song here where you can hear the lyrics may have significance. The song changes just before she sees Eric though. Would’ve been great if it was playing when she lets go Bill’s hand and sits next to Eric at his right hand (now that’s portentous :)). If they deviate from the books and gave us Sookie being turned and flying off to spend eternity with Eric at the end of TB I really don’t think I’d mind! 🙂

  25. May 10, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    Of course you’re right. Some people don’t realize how deeply changed the story when TB made Bill the one who killed LongShadow. Because in books, when Eric killed him to save her, that was the first block, the base where their friendship and trust began to be build. Not to mention that TB also has erased completely that Bill neglected Sookie and was totally absorbed in his database, changed completely the manead’s story arch and “saved” Lafayette. Those changes didn’t allow Sookie to trust Eric, because she didn’t need to ask for his help in the search for his murderer. No to mention also that Sookie’s new relationships with Lafayette and Jessica are also “replacements” in the show for the relationships of friendship that Sookie began to develop with Pam and Eric in the books…

    Gigi I agree whit you.I also think that things for E/S totally changed when TB had Bill kill Longshadow because I think this is the turning point of their relationship,well maybe not exactlly turning but it was an important one because that was the first time Eric saved her and it was kind of a forshdawing on how he is always there for her in the future.That’s why I hate seeingthe scene where Bill stakes LongShadow and Eric stoods there montionless whitout doing anything.And also one of the most important moment between E/S is about their conversation in the of Club Dead and how he notice her driveway doesn’t work and buys her a new one because she doesn’t have money to but one.That was really important moment between them and AB ruened it in TB whit Sookie asking 500 dolars to fix her driveway.And also I kinda agree that the orgy scene might have been used against E/S but I think it was important to be there beacuse Sookie says she trusts Eric (even though Bill told her not to trust him)and he seems generoully surprised.Also an important moment.It showed the growing frendship and trust between her and Eric.Yo know I was thinking about something.The Godric/Eric plot.Don’t get me wrong I think it was brilliant and maybe they did this to show that Eric has a human side and Sookie sees it which I think is great but one more reason AB dismissing Eric’s interest in Sookie is by Eic going in Dallas because of his maker and not to ensure that Sooki was safe.Maybe I’m overacting and maybe that isn’t so important but still I think taht the Godric/Eric plot was the best one in the show for now even if I have doubts why AB changed Eric’s maker.I’m hoping s3 is a turning point between them but still i will never be quite the same as it is in the books because in TB we don’t have Eric staking LongShadow and beeing there for her when she needs him which changes their relationship is some ways.

    • 109 Ashley
      May 11, 2010 at 2:12 am

      But who knows though, we might see him do something even better later on, when it would mean even more. Who knows right? The LS thing i think was done simply to give Bill more story than he has in the books, and to make him look a little better. I really think its as simple as that. The person targeted because of it later on is Sookie, so that wouldnt change.

  26. 110 Dee
    May 11, 2010 at 4:03 am

    Ok so they cast, Claudine, and I don’t think book readers are gonna be happy about it. She just doesn’t fit the description. Lara Pulver, got the part


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,147 hits since October 2009

