16
May
10

Shameless Self Promotion

I’ve been a fan of Loving True Blood in DallasTalk Blood Radio for quite a while now. If you’ve never caught the show before, it’s an awesome Sookie fix.

I’m really excited to let you all know that Dallas has invited me to participate in the Dead in the Family show tonight (Sunday night). We’ll be picking over the new book, and I’ll be blabbing about my pet subject – Sookie and the Viking.

The show will air live at 9pm (central) and you can call in with questions and comments on (646) 929-0825. You can also listen to the show as a podcast too if you miss it tomorrow night.

Click the Blog Talk Radio image below to listen in at the Loving True Blood in Dallas site.

94 Responses to “Shameless Self Promotion”


  1. 1 Pat
    May 16, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    I won’t be abble to call in because it will be way too late in my time zone 😦 but I will be looking forward to listenbing to the blog tomorrow!

    Good luck and have fun!

  2. 2 nskars
    May 16, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    I will most likely be at work, missing the epicness of this but I’ll check out the podcast after work. How exciting! Good luck SVB you will definitely be awesome!

  3. May 16, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    Good Luck SVB. Have fun.

  4. 4 Lotus
    May 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Ooo, can’t wait to hear it! I’ll be listening after my favorite episode airs. Good luck!

  5. 5 caratstick
    May 16, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    This is totally made of WIN, svb. Can’t wait to listen. I know you’ll make us proud. Represent!

  6. 6 Serena
    May 16, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    Yay! Something else to look forward to! This week is on mega overload.

  7. 7 VikingLover
    May 16, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! How exciting!! You’re going to be great! I’ll definitely be listening in! 🙂

  8. 8 Robin
    May 16, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Outstanding! I am looking forward to listening in for your thoughts on our favorite couple!

  9. 9 Gigi
    May 16, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    Congatulations Aaine!!! It seems today it’s a day to celebrate for VL and you!!

    Hugs!!!

  10. 10 eowyn
    May 16, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Sista is rockin the airwaves….you go girl…

  11. 11 VampirePamsGirl
    May 16, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Congrats! I sooo wish I would be able to listen in but we’re leaving tonight for vacation. Going to Disney World! I’m super excited, but I’ll definitely be missing all the great stuff happening around here and I know I’ll have soo much to catch up on when I get back, lol. I hope that the show archives cause I’d really love listen to it once I can!

  12. 12 Dee
    May 16, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    That is awesome Congrats!!! I’m gonna definitely try to listen in

  13. 13 KC
    May 17, 2010 at 12:21 am

    Go spread the viking love svb! You might not mention the hair issue this time…deep yoga breaths.

    • May 17, 2010 at 12:40 am

      hahaha! Yes we all know what happens when the hair issue gets raised….

      Fortunately I think we’ll mostly be talking about the book so I should be fairly safe LOL.

  14. 15 Ericrocks
    May 17, 2010 at 2:28 am

    She is not letting Tina get a word in. Good grief!

    • 16 ericrocks
      May 17, 2010 at 2:16 pm

      Sorry for my cranky comment above. I was tired. However, I felt like at the beginning Dallas kept talking over SVB, so it was difficult to hear her.It sounds like it got much better and I need to learn some patience.

      • May 17, 2010 at 9:18 pm

        The sound wasn’t great from my end – I was just using the mic on my laptop. Hubby has a headset w/a proper mic that he uses for gaming…next time I’ll use that! Hubby is a total geek 🙂

  15. 18 Robin
    May 17, 2010 at 2:47 am

    SVB, I thought you sounded great!

    • May 17, 2010 at 3:45 am

      Thanks 🙂 It was weird at first, I’ve never done that before. And some of the questions threw me! Dallas gave me an idea of what we were going to talk about but some of the questions weren’t what I was expecting!

      It was heaps fun though.

  16. 20 VikingLover
    May 17, 2010 at 2:48 am

    Tina, you were fantastic!! Loved it! Were you taken aback when she said that CH has confirmed that there will be more than 13 books? I was like, what!?! Are you going to create a post re this?

    • 21 Robin
      May 17, 2010 at 2:57 am

      So glad you brought that up VL! I can’t believe I forgot to mention that! I don’t really know how to feel about her writing beyond 13 books, but I think it can be a very exciting possibility!

      • 22 Maria
        May 17, 2010 at 3:06 am

        I want her to resolve the suitor thing before she writes more books…I don’t want it dragging out past book 13. That would be too cruel!

        • 23 Robin
          May 17, 2010 at 3:19 am

          Oh, I definitely agree Maria. I think I would actually enjoy seeing Sookie & Eric team up in adventures if their relationship is resolved. I would not want to see CH drag out the whole suitor issue more than the next three books.

          • 24 VikingLover
            May 17, 2010 at 3:25 am

            Me too, Robin! I don’t mind more books as long as she resolves the suitor issue – and that for me means she and Eric stay together. I would love to read about their adventures and Sookie solving mysteries but I don’t want this issue dragged on for 13+ books. I don’t even want it dragged on for another 2 books! I want it resolved as soon as possible.

            Then she said that CH was introducing new characters? I’m like, what? I mean I guess she must considering that she still has 3 books to go but it made me nervous to hear that.

            • 25 Robin
              May 17, 2010 at 3:33 am

              Well, I don’t think the new characters will be considered suitors, especially since we know that she had her HEA in mind when she was writing LDID (if I remember that correctly). I have heard that an elf will be introduced in the next book. Also, a psychic named Manfred, who is also in one of her other series. She also said Quinn would be in book 11, but Quinn did not come into the series until book 5 or 6.

              • 26 VikingLover
                May 17, 2010 at 3:37 am

                Oh, you’re right Robin! Okay, you’ve made me feel 100% better because I was not a happy camper earlier. lol 🙂

                • 27 Robin
                  May 17, 2010 at 3:49 am

                  I see the problem being too many obstacles in the way of their relationship. CH has written 10 books of character and relationship development in regards to Eric and Sookie. It will be so upsetting to me if Sookie settles for a relationship that lacks the passion and true love that she has with Eric. It seems like so many people think the series is headed in this direction, too.

                • May 17, 2010 at 6:04 am

                  I also saw a chat with her on YouTube the other day that was fairly recent (I think it was on YT…I can’t keep track anymore lol) and she said there would be no new suitors introduced.

                  But….you just never know with CH…..

                  • 30 Pat
                    May 17, 2010 at 6:16 am

                    It would make NO SENSE whatsoever to introduce new suitors at this point!

                    And talk about pissing off your entire fanbase, fans might prefer Eric or Beelll or Sam or even Quin, but I am pretty sure NO ONE would be happy with a new suitor at this point, it would be like, where have you been for the last 10 books??!!

              • 31 LLE
                May 17, 2010 at 5:11 pm

                CH had ideals in book 1 about whom Sookie’s HEA but she had taken two years to sell the first book. When she started she already had it plan who going to be Sookie’s HEA.

              • 32 KC
                May 17, 2010 at 7:04 pm

                Are you sure about Quinn in book 11? Some of those at the signing in Dallas said that they got the distinct impression that Quinn’s appearance in the novella in the Sookie Companion might be his last.

                • 33 Robin
                  May 17, 2010 at 7:58 pm

                  You may be correct, KC, I may have misunderstood. I know for sure that he is in the novella. If that is his last appearance, I guess it takes him out of the running as a suitor.

                • 34 legalease
                  May 17, 2010 at 8:06 pm

                  Oh, I hope this is true. The field really would be narrowed down to two suitors, if that’s the case. I’ve read some comments on other boards maintaining that Remy is a suitor and possible HEA, but I think DITF shot that out of the water since Sookie read his thoughts and she clearly makes him uncomfortable. So, I guess we’ll see what CH does with Sam in the next couple of books. Sookie attending the wedding with him will give CH the opportunity to address that relationship one way or another.

                  • 35 Robin
                    May 17, 2010 at 8:14 pm

                    Listened to a CH interview this morning where she said that Remy and Sookie were really not interested in each other in that way. She also said that she did not think Hunter was going to be in book 11.

                    • May 18, 2010 at 12:30 am

                      I’m not surprised. Alot of people were freaking out about Remy after DITF came out and I was totally scratching my head like “Huh?”

                      Two things were made plainly obvious with that plotline.

                      1. Remy thinks Sookie is slightly creepy and has no sexual interest in her whatsoever. And Sookie sees him as her dead cousins husband, nothing more
                      AND
                      2. Sookie will never have children.

                    • 37 VikingLover
                      May 18, 2010 at 10:55 am

                      {2. Sookie will never have children.}

                      You really think so, SVB? Do you think that she will adopt Hunter at some point or do you think she will just forgo children all together?

                  • May 18, 2010 at 1:17 am

                    I’m part of the Remy bandwagon. Not as a serious contender though. It’s just that if isn’t going to be Eric, I’d rather it be Remy than Sam. lol.

                    • 39 Lkc
                      May 18, 2010 at 1:23 pm

                      I am with SVB in that I think having Hunter in DITF showed Sookie that having kids is not so easy, esp if that child is teleepathic. Sookie was exhausted after Hunter left. Not only did she have to take care of a 4yo but she also had to constantly shield her thoughts from him. Imagine having to do that all the time 1) shield your thoughts from a child and 2) constantly block other peoples thoughts out. She would never get a break. I think Hunter was Sookie’s reality check.

                • 40 MollyS
                  May 18, 2010 at 5:10 am

                  The radio show does make mention of Quinn’s return, and she says that the crowd in Dallas cheered, which is the exact same thing that CH mentioned in Seattle and everyone cheered there too. I really don’t get it–Quinn is a douche. Why are people cheering for him?

                  Great job, SVB. You represented Eric lovers very well. And you didn’t even make any snarky comments about genie pants when Dallas brought up the whole Quinn thing! : )

                  • May 18, 2010 at 5:16 am

                    Haha! Quinn and I have a complicated relationship 🙂

                    He bugs the crap out of me – he is immature, impulsive, easily manipulated and weak. But I really love the role he plays in the Sookieverse, and I love how he gets up the viking’s nose especially. So I’ll be happy to see him back in book 11. I kinda missed his jealous tanty’s even if I didn’t miss his god-awful fashion sense….!

                    • 42 Pat
                      May 18, 2010 at 5:26 am

                      Maybe we will finally get to know about Quin and Eric’s past dealings, I always got the impression there was more to their mutual disliking than just Sookie…

                    • 43 Robin
                      May 18, 2010 at 11:53 am

                      I wonder if Victor told Quinn that Eric and Sookie are married now. That certainly will be interesting if it is addressed between the two of them in the novella. In fact, Quinn could possibly give Sookie alot of information about Victor and FDC that will be very helpful to her and Eric. I am sure that talking to Quinn will only make Sookie more determined to bring down Victor. I am looking forward to February!

                    • 44 sunnynala
                      May 18, 2010 at 1:43 pm

                      I think CH must need to hire a fashion consultant. LOL!

                  • 45 VikingLover
                    May 18, 2010 at 10:50 am

                    People cheering for Quinn really shocked the heck out of me. I’m really surprised because every thing I have read indicates that he is the least favorite character. I’m confused. People aren’t seriously cheering him on as a suitor are they??? That would be a travesty.

                    • 46 Pat
                      May 18, 2010 at 11:02 am

                      I thought the same thing, from all the suitors, he always came across as the least favoured one… maybe people enjoy having him around as a character (he does manage to stir both Sookie and Eric in quite entertaining ways) and not so much as a suitor and that is why they cheered.

                      This is the only explanation I can come up with as I really don’t understand how anyone could think he would be the best suitor…

                    • 47 Lotus
                      May 18, 2010 at 11:23 am

                      No doubt. Quinn was a terrible suitor. Between the smarmy “babe” talk and his inability to stand up to his half-sister and crazy mother, I grew to dislike him immensely. He just had way too much baggage, even more than Alcide.

                    • 48 Gigi
                      May 18, 2010 at 3:26 pm

                      [People cheering for Quinn really shocked the heck out of me. I’m really surprised because every thing I have read indicates that he is the least favorite character. I’m confused. People aren’t seriously cheering him on as a suitor are they??? That would be a travesty.]

                      It’s difficult to understand that other people preffer other suitors instead of Eric for Sookie’s HEA (especially Bill LOL). But, at least I think that at this point of the story, Quinn’s story’s arch isn’t finished, besides the fact that he is also part of the FDC plot line. If she takes him out of the story now, we will be left in lack of a lot of important details from FDC, and especially from Victor’s personal and political agenda for Louisiana’s kingdom.

                  • 49 Robin
                    May 18, 2010 at 11:33 am

                    Haha, she really was on her best behavior, wasn’t she?

          • 50 Kathy
            May 17, 2010 at 4:49 pm

            Yeah, I agree. I think she should settle in the next book. It’s taking away from teh story now.

      • 51 VikingLover
        May 17, 2010 at 3:21 am

        Yeah, I was a bit confused because we all knew it could be a possibility but the MC on the show made it sound as though it were confirmed.

    • May 17, 2010 at 3:41 am

      Yeah I was taken aback by the more books thing.
      The only way I *might* be on board with that is if the suitor thing is out of the way. I will tear my fucking hair out if that drags on another 5 books. It’s too manipulative.

      I would really struggle with this, no matter how she cuts it. It feels like things are building towards an ending and there comes a point where you just have to say enough, yanno?

      • 53 Lotus
        May 17, 2010 at 9:23 am

        You did really great, SVB! But the whole thing about CH possibly writing beyond 13 books is really bothering me. I can understand if she feels another book is necessary to complete the story, but dragging it out unnecessarily instead of allowing it to come to its natural, organic end, could quite possibly ruin the series for me. I’ve read other series where the author drags out the story for much too long and have admittedly lost interest because it started to feel like a gimmick. Plus, I’m selfish and want to see resolution on Sookie’s relationship with Eric. Stretching that beyond another three books …? Eeek, I dunno about that!

        • 54 Kathy
          May 17, 2010 at 4:54 pm

          I actually think she wrote to many Teagarden mysteries. She introduced her HEA and the he disappeared for like 8 books and then it just felt like it was dragging until hshe reintroduced him. I don’t want that to happen to these books. Ugh!

    • 55 Dee
      May 17, 2010 at 3:50 am

      Really? wow that is news although can’t say I am surprised. I kinda had a feeling that there would be more than 13 books. Like all of you, I don’t mind as long as the HEA issue is resolved oh and if it’s Eric lol.

    • 56 MollyS
      May 17, 2010 at 3:53 am

      CH has confirmed that? I was at a CH author signing here in Seattle on Tues. night and she said she wasn’t sure if she was going to do more than 13, but she’s going to decide as she’s writing book 11 b/c she has to start laying the groundwork for either wrapping it up or extending it.

      I didn’t hear this live but I’m looking forward to checking out the podcast!

      • 57 Robin
        May 17, 2010 at 3:56 am

        Dallas said that CH has stated it twice now that she is going to write more than 13 books. Listen to the podcast, I believe they talked about it while SVB was on the phone with them.

  17. 60 Maria
    May 17, 2010 at 2:50 am

    Great job! Your air time went too fast…I wanted to hear more of what you had to say. 🙂

  18. 61 Pat
    May 17, 2010 at 5:31 am

    I don’t seem to be able to listen to the podcast, it starts buffering but never actually gets anywhere! 😦

    Is it because it’s not available yet?

  19. 63 Pat
    May 17, 2010 at 5:36 am

    Thanks, I will keep an eye on it, I am really looking forward to listening to it 🙂

    • May 17, 2010 at 6:08 am

      It’s up 🙂
      There were some “technical issues” – the show starts about 10 minutes in so just skip the first bit. It will probably get edited and reuploaded at some stage, but it’s there.

      • 65 Pat
        May 17, 2010 at 6:17 am

        Thanks again, I will take advantage of my little boy being in nursery and listen to it now 🙂

  20. 66 Dee
    May 17, 2010 at 6:54 am

    Ok finally heard it and, Tina, you did a great job representing the Eric fans. OT-I LOVE your accent

    and I agree with everyone, no new suitors which I doubt there will be. I think we will see more of FDC people probably and definitely more of the fae world.

    • 67 Pat
      May 17, 2010 at 8:23 am

      Just listened to it, what was that other caller on about killing Eric???!!! I think CH values her life too much to do something like that, hehehe

      I think you did great, great show of how, unlike some other fans we will not mention, Eric fans are balanced and realistic and we do admit there might be break-ups and problems in the future (although we secretly keep believing he will be Sookie’s HEA!).

      About the extra books, I would prefer she would finish it at 13, extending a series for money reasons (and that would be the only justification behind it) would feel like such a betrayal of these wonderful characters… if she does go for it, at least I hope she sorts out the suitor issue, otherwise I think I will just stop reading the books, you can’t extend a subject like that indefinitely just for the sake of keeping the suspense going and getting people to buy your books, it gets to a point where no one actually gives a dam anymore about any of the characters.

      Regardless of whom Eric ends up with, I hope he gets to have a HEA of his own (I worry so much more about HIS than Sookie’s HEA…), I would be devastated if after 10 books of him learning to come to terms and accept his feelings and get more humanised because of it, he just got his heart broken… 😦 😦

      • May 17, 2010 at 10:43 am

        [(I worry so much more about HIS than Sookie’s HEA…), ]

        I am with you there. :))

      • 69 KC
        May 17, 2010 at 12:56 pm

        I think you did great, great show of how, unlike some other fans we will not mention, Eric fans are balanced and realistic and we do admit there might be break-ups and problems in the future (although we secretly keep believing he will be Sookie’s HEA!).

        Or not so secretly;)

      • 70 LLE
        May 17, 2010 at 2:52 pm

        If Eric get involved with someone else, you never going to hear about the guy again because she stop writing about Eric.

  21. 71 Sunira
    May 17, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Great job on the show — you were fantastic!

    I’ve been lurking on this blog for a couple of months now, and you do an awesome job. Yours is the best blog out there – you and all the wonderful posters are so funny, smart and sassy!

    I also feel that if CH is going to write more books, she really needs to resolve the HEA (and, of course, I think it should be Eric!) and take the books in a different direction. I just can’t see myself reading more than 3 where Sookie is still making up her mind without losing interest — or my hair — but to read her adventures would be fun.

    • 72 KC
      May 17, 2010 at 1:00 pm

      I think CH has effectively removed Alcide and Bill from the running in DitF. Quinn should be next in the novella (crosses fingers) and maybe Sam in the novella or book 11.

  22. 73 Jo
    May 17, 2010 at 11:59 am

    I think CH is too smart to drag this endlessly would alienate readers and the characters wear. When and if she will confirm that most books do I hope she has a logical plan. Although the plot of mystery books, they are not the most important, no more than character development. Or someone was really interested in the latest book on who killed the Were? I do not at least. I think this applies to any book or show. It is very sad when a series ends with pure wear and nobody seems to care about the final. I wish I had more stories of Harry Potter for example, but I was pleased with the final. Probably the editors of JK also wanted more books but she had a plan and kept it. I like shows like Lost, for example, but only started to watch and invest in the show when producers set when it would end.

  23. 74 MASpencer
    May 17, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Umm… dallasmc is “the greatest moderator of them all” at CH’s website???

    Yeeaaahhh. I might have to disagree with that statement.

    • 75 KC
      May 17, 2010 at 12:57 pm

      Can’t even go there…

    • 76 MASpencer
      May 17, 2010 at 1:22 pm

      Just finished listening and wanted to add… GREAT interview! (Natch.) As usual, you raised excellent points, and represented ELs everywhere with class and intelligence.

      Like some others, I must also voice my concerns about the series going past book 13. Let’s hope CH finds an organic way to extend the story. I know I’ve already grown concerned that Sookie’s simplicity is being exploited for the sake of creating conflict and doubt, and if it continues, it will make her a hard character to like– much less to identify with.

      For example(s): Sookie pondering the possibility of working at Merlotte’s for eternity (REALLY??? Way to set the bar high, Sook…) or pouting like an ADD child as Eric tries to explain the facets of the vampire political structure (I couldn’t help but picture her sighing like Napoleon Dynamite while Eric talked).

      Look, there are plenty of obstacles in the way of a relationship between Eric and Sookie right out of the starting gate– enough that this ridiculous BS coming from Sookie is totally not necessary to move the story along or to make it clear that the relationship remains unresolved. So, if this trend continues over the next SIX frickin’ books, I’m afraid that I may totally stop caring WHAT happens or WHO Sookie ends up with.

      Sookie’s I’m-just-a-little-old-waitress act was charming (and totally appropriate) in the first few books. But at this point in the series it’s just frustrating– girlfriend fell off of that turnip truck a long time ago now. It’s high time she started acting like it. Sometimes I feel that for every step forward she takes as a narrator, she takes two steps back in the next page.

      • 77 Serena
        May 17, 2010 at 1:54 pm

        The immortal waitress BS really pissed me off too. And that’s another reason to hate the Sam HEA, how boring they’d be!

      • 78 VikingLover
        May 17, 2010 at 2:11 pm

        MAS, I could not have said it better! You stated exactly what was on my mind!! I agree 100%. I think this whole suitor issue is hindering the series: ie Sookie’s growth potential – simply because it’s starting to feel as if it’s being dragged out as a plot device to sell more books. It’s starting to come across as being unrealistic now. I want her to choose Eric. Period. It seems that is what the series has been heading for since Book 2 and I would feel really manipulated if it didn’t end that way. My point is, as you said, once she makes up her mind and chooses Eric, then CH has a lot of room to grow her character. It would be wonderful to see Sookie mature now and work on an adult relationship and the obstacles that come along with that. Plus it would be extremely entertaining to read about their adventures together. I really love when they work together. We can’t be the only readers that feel this way now.

        • 79 VikingLover
          May 17, 2010 at 2:13 pm

          But I do want to add that I was extremely happy with DITF because it was good to see a progression in their relationship and some growth in Sookie. It felt like a gift to me and I don’t want to look a gift horse in the mouth. However, I can’t endure a split, even a temporary one, in the next few books. They just got together and it would be nice to see them work together on their relationship. A split, to me, would feel like another plot device to get us to purchase more books. I would be pissed off!

          • 80 MASpencer
            May 17, 2010 at 2:35 pm

            Oh, I AGREE. But at the same time I’d actually be (somewhat) okay if they split for a bit because she panicked at the whole mortality/children/sunlight conundrum. That’s only natural. But if she runs off to a relationship with either Sam or Quinn again, I will probably just get annoyed.

            And yeah, it is nice that Sookie is making some level of progress, and I’m totally happy to see that. But I just don’t want to see her acting (or thinking) stupidly simply because that drives the story along. Like I said, it worked in the first few books because that was Sookie’s first rodeo, as it were. At this point, though, it’s getting a little implausible.

            Hesitance and indecision are totally to be expected on her part. But to vote against becoming a vampire because she won’t be able to waitress at Merlotte’s anymore– or ignoring Eric’s rare and very necessary divulgence of critical vamp information, because she just wanted to jump on the GP– made for MAJOR Jason Stackhouse moments. LOL.

            • 81 Gigi
              May 17, 2010 at 2:52 pm

              It is called immaturity, which is in fact a lack of growth…
              I’m really not so much worried of it in THIS book, but if it will persist in the next book, I will be very very worried.

        • 82 Robin
          May 17, 2010 at 5:30 pm

          This! Everything you said, you could not have put my thoughts into words any better! Sookie & Eric make such a dynamic team, can you imagine the adventures they could have together? And, throw Pam into the mix! I think I will be heartbroken for both of them if they go separate ways.

          • 83 Robin
            May 17, 2010 at 5:38 pm

            VL, my post above was regarding your thoughts. Also, I wanted to tell you that I thought DITF was a gift too. There were parts of the book that frustrated me, but overall I was pleased with the character development throughout. And, of course, very happy with the joyful moments between Eric and Sookie.

      • 84 Suzanna
        May 17, 2010 at 6:04 pm

        I couldn’t agree with you more, MAS! I think that if CH drags on the books and lets True Blood affect her at every corner, I’m just going to walk away and make up my own ending. And I got very frustrated with her as Eric is trying to explain vamp politics. It pissed her off when Bill wouldn’t tell her and here is Eric just laying it all out there.

        I found the interview to be a little frustrating. Dallas seemed to have talked over her a good bit. But I think SVB did great!

    • 85 LLE
      May 17, 2010 at 2:49 pm

      Dallasmic is very rude moderator and I never post there.

  24. May 17, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    You were fangtastic, thanks so very much for joining us last night Tina!

    I hope to have you back on during our season 3 run ! Our Season 3 Talk Blood shows start Sunday June 6th with a welcome back ” Waiting has sucked” show and then they will air live 15 minutes after the US showing of every Season 3 True Blood episode-so Sunday nights 9 pm US central time starting June 13th.

    You are all welcome to listen , Skype call-in and of course join us in the amazing chat room.

    You can subscribe to podcasts on Blogtalk or iTunes. I posted and linked all the info here today and the podcast and chatroom transcript from last night’s show starring the amazing “Tina of the Sookieverse” ha!

    http://www.lovingtruebloodindallas.com/2010/05/talk-blood-dead-in-family-show-podcast.html

    Blog http://www.lovingtruebloodindallas.com/
    email Dallas : truebloodindallas@gmail.com

    Thanks, thanks love to all,
    Dallas

  25. 89 Gigi
    May 17, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Big Hug Tina!!! It was very nice to hear you! I will echo MAS in saying that you made an excellent interview and as usual, you raised excellent points, and represented us, EL’s, with grace and intelligence. At the beggining, like erickrocks said, it was a little difficult to hear you at the beggining because she kept talking over you, but at least the rest of the interview flowed fine. Hope this was only the first of many more to come!!!

  26. 91 nskars
    May 18, 2010 at 12:07 am

    Finally just listened to the podcast and it was a shame about the delay but unavoidable I suppose. Awwwwwww Tina it was nice to hear your voice at last! Your answers were just as clear and concise as your writing on the blog. I would have liked to hear more, but I’m just greedy like that.

    Kind of a spin-out to me that CH doesn’t have any sort of outline for the books, I dunno if I’ve been living under a rock but that’s the first I’ve heard of that. Especially considering all of the foreshadowing and that on here we have discussed the meaning behind plots/characters and how some things seem very deliberate.

    I agree with most of you in that if CH goes on to do more than 13 books the suitor thing must be sorted out first. I think they would still be just as exciting to read with Sookie’s love interest by her side (as long as it’s Eric of course…). 😀

    • May 18, 2010 at 12:26 am

      Kind of a spin-out to me that CH doesn’t have any sort of outline for the books, I dunno if I’ve been living under a rock but that’s the first I’ve heard of that. Especially considering all of the foreshadowing and that on here we have discussed the meaning behind plots/characters and how some things seem very deliberate.

      You know what? I think CH likes to play dumb. I don’t believe that she has a map for the whole series down to the last detail – I think she tends to have an end point in mind with all her milestones along the way, as we were saying on the podcast.

      But I do not, for one second buy ole Charlaine’s line that she isn’t that “deep”. I don’t buy that the layers we see in the books aren’t there. If they weren’t there so many of her readers wouldn’t see them – it’s a simple fact.

      Sure there are lots of things we peg as foreshadowing that never come to anything – but there is also stuff that DOES. And you have to sort through meaningless stuff to find it, so that process in itself is worthwhile. The things that seem very deliberate – are deliberate.

      CH is crafty, and she’s letting that aspect of her books stand on it’s own. I really believe she’s made a conscious decision not to explain some of the more subtle themes and plot intricacies. She has said many times that her work should stand on it’s own. Think about how many questions she gets about the ins and outs of these books – the blood bond is the most obvious example. If she were to come out and admit that she is intentionally putting all this stuff in there she would never get a moments peace from having to explain herself.

      She either writes the books this way deliberately and has made a decision to allow her readers to interpret it themselves – or we are all having a mass delusion. And not just us, but people who read these books at a deeper level on other forums and sites as well. I think the first explanation is probably more likely, though some might disagree ;).

  27. 93 Eric is hot
    May 18, 2010 at 12:45 am

    Having re-read the book 10 3 times. I would just die if they don’t end up together. but, I think this will nopt be easy and Sookie will have to grow up a little more. I also think that Eric is going to give her a ring in the next book so she will feel as married as he does.

  28. 94 VampirePamsGirl
    May 25, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    I just had to pop back here real quick and say Congrats on doing a fabulous job on the show! I loved getting to actually hear your opinions instead of just reading them, lol. You absolutely represented us ELs wonderfully and made me very proud to be part of your little community here! I really hope you’ll have another opportunity to go back on Dallas’s show!


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,646 hits since October 2009

