18
May
10

True Blood Minisode #4 – Sam

Sam gets violent with various garden implements, before taking a figurative piss on Maryann’s head.

Okaaaay then.

Source: taliasmara

71 Responses to “True Blood Minisode #4 – Sam”


  1. 1 Kayteadee
    May 18, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Mneh. Boring, angry Sam. Didn’t you just know he was going to piss on it?

  2. 2 kelly
    May 18, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    ha ha ha ha ha. laughed my ass off.
    he’s funny, plus i just saw him in criminal intent. awwww bless….

  3. 3 ericrocks
    May 18, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    How is this filling in the blanks? They should have shown him imprinting on the Brahma bull that Bill just somehow managed to wrangle. *rolls eyes*

  4. 5 VikingLover
    May 18, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    This blows chunks. Can someone tell me what the purpose of this minisode was? They spent money on this?

    I think the Sookie/Laf/Tara minisode was the best one so far. I loved the Eric/Pam one because they rock but the Sookie/Tara one really had more to offer in terms of the overall story.

    • 6 sunnynala
      May 18, 2010 at 9:15 pm

      The only point I can come up with is that Maryann is the Woman in the Iron Mask. According to Alexander Dumont, the MAN in the iron mask was the illegitimate twin brother of Louis XIV. I guess it’s an extremely subtle clue that MA has a twin, a doppelganger, an alter ego.

    • May 18, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      MA’s storyline was a mashup of The Bacchae and The Birds. Sparagmos from The Bacchae was missing from the finale as was scatological humor from The Birds. Sam took care of both of those things. Maryann is fini.

      While I thought my eyes would bleed if I had to watch another orgy scene, the layers that AB buried in her storyline are fascinating. There are three posts on my website that explain all about her. If anyone can stomach any more of Maryann, here is the first one:
      http://www.ancientpythoness.com/2009/12/21/what-was-maryann/

      • May 18, 2010 at 11:36 pm

        Actually I should have said that Sam is finishing the act of sparagmos that he started when he ripped MA’s heart out.

  5. 17 Pogonip
    May 18, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Yeah, isn’t the whole bull thing over and done? Mary Ann got gored, we got bored, let’s move on now. Closure for Sam? We needed to be there? I don’t think so. The dog at the end was the highlight. The rest, a big yawn.

  6. 18 Osterby
    May 18, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Call me crazy…but I think that they are filling in the blank spot in the last episode of season two…

    In this mini-sode Sam is wearing the same shirt he wore the night MaryAnn was killed.

    In the Sookie, Tara and Layfayette minisode Tara and Layfayette are wearing the same clothes as when Sookie had the dress delivery from Rushton….

    In the Jessica minisode Jessica is wearing the same dress when she told Bill she was going to see Hoyt.

    Pam and Eric episode??? Maybe this is showing that Eric was otherwise occupied..lol!

    • May 18, 2010 at 11:30 pm

      I think you are exactly right, Osterby. Check out my post above.

      • 20 Osterby
        May 19, 2010 at 1:37 am

        How odd…I just was over at your blog this afternoon and re-read those posts…but I also re-watched the end of the last ep of season 2 this morning because I felt something dawning on me. Then this mini-sode was released. These mini-sodes seem to be the natural progression of events which would have occured where the screen goes blank…then the story picked up with Jason scrambling Eggs and the SFP which I remembered thinking when the ep ended…ahhhh…where’s the rest of the story? There’s something missing here…

        • May 19, 2010 at 1:52 am

          This also means that Sunny is right and the timeline backtracking to before the end of S2. Maybe FM did show up at Merlotte’s before Eggs got scrambled. Tara’s wearing the same clothes, but her hair is different.

          • 22 Osterby
            May 19, 2010 at 9:18 pm

            Yep, I think Sunny is onto it too…In the last ep of S2 Tara runs out of Merlottes with the gang and she falls cries over her scrambled Eggs. Tara’s top gets soiled (as shown in the preview) After Bud and Andy file their police report what would any hard working girl do after her boyfriend gets shot? Dry your tears, pull your hair back and go back to work slinging cocktails!!! Enter FM.

  7. 23 MASpencer
    May 18, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Honestly, the only thing I can see this hinting at is the very general idea of destroying masks. Sequentially, it followed the Tara/Sookie/Lafayette minisode, which hinted at Bill’s fabricated persona… and in terms of the show, this seems to fit in right after Sam’s conversation with Bill on Sookie’s porch about not keeping secrets.

    Anyway, in striking out to find his family and coming out as a shifter (to SOME people, at least) Sam is metaphorically destroying his own mask. And I suspect that by the end of the season, he won’t be the only one whose true identity is revealed.

    Still. Kinda MEH.

    For the sake of speculation, though, I wonder if this might be hinting at the idea that Sam may somehow be involved in exposing Bill? We’ve already speculated that he might have offered Eric some critical information to that end.

    • 24 sunnynala
      May 18, 2010 at 9:34 pm

      Ah yes. TB is going to be destroying some masks this season and then taking a piss on them!!!

    • May 18, 2010 at 11:25 pm

      Honestly, the only thing I can see this hinting at is the very general idea of destroying masks.

      I really like this. There seems little point in revisiting the Maryann debacle if they weren’t going to explain the plotholes.

      But the idea of smashing masks really puts it in an S3 context. I likey.

      But yeah, MEH. Had high hopes for this minisode explaining SOMETHING….god, anything!!!

      • 27 MASpencer
        May 19, 2010 at 12:39 am

        Oh, I KNOW. But don’t get me started on the finale again. Nothing good can come of it! LOL.

        However, I have to say that the mask-destruction theme very much brings to mind the writings of La Rochefoucauld, who offered some of the awesomest and most pithy witticisms on the human crutches of hypocrisy, vanity, vice, and not least of all, the masks of self-delusion that we all wear. I translated a lot of his Maximes in college, and I’d bet money that Alan Ball is a big fan. These themes run RAMPANT in True Blood– and I think that’s what he was probably pointing at here.

        Again, I think it was Dee who said that it would be counterproductive to give away critical info as part of a series of shorts that a large population of the casual viewing audience WON’T see. So instead, they were probably just written to whet our appetites and get us in the right frame of mind for season 3 like you said.

        Although I’m still secretly hoping that Bill’s minisode is going to drop a bomb… or at least SET one. LOL.

        • 28 MASpencer
          May 19, 2010 at 1:06 am

          I also wanted to add that one of my favorite of La Rochefoucauld’s Maximes says something along the lines of (forgive me, I can’t remember the exact French, thus this is a loose translation): We become so used to wearing masks that eventually we are disguised from ourselves.

          If this doesn’t hint at Bill– through the more obvious example of Sam, whom we already see launching an effort to “be true” to himself and others, as symbolized by his mask dismemberment and his search for his real family– then I don’t know WHAT does.

  8. 29 Dwimordene
    May 18, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Silly.

    But… Didn’t we all want to samsh the mask? Get rid of Mary Ann? lol

  9. 30 OrientalThorn
    May 18, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Blah as this minisode is… maybe it is supposed to show us how mad / angry Sam is over the whole maenad debacle. Maybe it was not just at Maryann, but the fact that he was forced into drinking Bill’s blood, making him tied to Bill. Maybe he knows he’s gonna have those horny dreams and now has to be his b****! LOL!

    • 31 VikingLover
      May 18, 2010 at 9:49 pm

      {Maybe he knows he’s gonna have those horny dreams and now has to be his b****! LOL!}

      I was going to say something using the words “doggy” and “style” but I’m not going to go there! 🙂

  10. 33 nerd
    May 18, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    i chuckled at the end, but i kind of figured that was coming.

  11. 34 Dee
    May 18, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    Now while I don’t think any of these minisodes are gonna show anything too important, couldn’t they have done something else instead of watching sam do this.

    The only good thing about this is that were up to minisode #4, which reminds us just how close we are to the new season.

    I’m guessing Bill’s will be the last one

    • 35 Robin
      May 18, 2010 at 10:19 pm

      But isn’t it possible there is something hidden meaning behind this minisode that we haven’t figured out? I mean, on the surface we are all rolling our eyes wondering why they would spend money to show us this. I like what Sunny had to say:

      [TB is going to be destroying some masks this season and then taking a piss on them!!!]

      Perhaps the mask is symbolic of Bill’s character that will be destroyed this season.

  12. 36 KittyKat
    May 18, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    I tihnk it’s more about showing their leads do stuff than anything, to give all of them equal or comparable focus. I’m sure they’re aware there’s not much story to tell in some of them.

  13. May 18, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Thankyou For That Taste. I Really Needed That. You All Rock My World.

    Love and Peace,
    B

  14. 38 Davida
    May 18, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    I don’t see how this minisode adds anything to the show, but Sam’s fun to watch. Why did he have to shift in to a dog to piss on MaryAnn’s mask? Couldn’t he do that as Sam?

  15. 40 ChelleInOz
    May 19, 2010 at 12:04 am

    Ah hahahaha – that clip made me laugh out loud. And pissing on it at the end? Brilliant. (and maybe its the whole dominant, dog-marking-its-territory thing was a cleansing of the spirit for poor Sammy?)

    Although it did make me think he could have gotten the job done a helluva lot more quickly with Jason’s chainsaw. Now that would have been hilarious!

  16. 41 KPMRSE
    May 19, 2010 at 12:12 am

    Feels like I’m really grasping here and trying to make something out of what seems to be a whole lot of boring nothing. But

    Maryann was a part of his past, and one that he hid who he was. As he meets his biological family in season 3, maybe this signifies closing a chapter in his life and moving on.

    Plus, with how hard it was to destroy – could point to how hard it is for others to escape their pasts (and how they come back to haunt them – Hello Mr. Bill)

  17. 42 Aposmeal
    May 19, 2010 at 2:54 am

    13 year old boy humor

  18. 43 Serena
    May 19, 2010 at 4:04 am

    I was thinking that this minisode was foreshadowing more of a dark and angry storyline for Sam. He seems rather paranoid in the other preview, and along with his quote to his bro, the loading of rounds in the gun, which makes me wonder if they are pushing some of Book 5 into this season.

    Oh and another thing, the truck that almost runs over Sam as the collie, what are the odds that is Jessica driving the thing? That’s be fierce.

    • 44 CarolB
      May 19, 2010 at 9:48 am

      I have a funny feeling they’re going to be pushing a LOT of Book 5 into this Season. Calvin and Crystal are showing up so I can’t see how they’ll drag Jason’s “transformation” out over 2 more Seasons. Plus, I was p*ssed as well at how Bill staked Long Shadow on the show, but I reckon AB’s motives will become clearer over the the course of time – we’ve already got Jessica thanks to that plot-change, so I can’t see Charles Twining needing to make an appearance now AND with Lafayette still cooking away at Merlottes(for now!), there’ll be no need for the not-so-sharp shooter Sweetie either.

  19. 45 Seán
    May 19, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    It does look like they’re shunning Book 5 when it comes to True Blood. In the trailer, Franklin sort of sticks his tongue out at Tara like a snake and that just reminded me of how I pictured Mickey when I read Dead As A Doornail. Dead As A Doornail is my least favourite Sookie book so I won’t lose any sleep about them leaving it out but I hope they cover every book with every season. I think there is lots of potential with Jason and his ‘transformation’ that could go on over two seasons, I really want to know more about the Hotshot community – we only get little glimpses into it in the book.

    • May 19, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      Someone had the idea that Franklin, Mickey, and Charles were all rolled into TB Franklin Mott, so that would mean that Hot Rain sent him for Bill and Sookie.

      • 47 Gigi
        May 20, 2010 at 1:22 am

        Yes, I said it because the character isn’t only asking for Bill, but for Sookie as well. So it isn’t an old dispute to settle with Bill, since it´s very recently that he is relating to Sookie.

  20. 48 Caitlin
    May 19, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Hello All! Someone made a very good point the other day- I’m sorry I don’t remember who made this point, it was really insightful so I’m sorry I can’t remember who you are (It might have been SVB, VL or Sunnynala)

    In a jist, since AB signed on with HBO for 7 seasons, and since it is rare for HBO shows to last that long anyways, it makes sense for things that happen in Book 7 (blood bond btw Eric and Sookie, vamp politics) or book 6 (meeting Queen Sophie Anne) or even Jason changing to a panther to happen earlier in the series. I think understanding this has made me less critical of plot changes and I think I may actually be able to enjoy watching TrueBlood now! Granted If I was in charge of the show I would not have made as many changes and you can bet your ass Eric would have platinum hair, but that is a different story.
    I’m sorry if this was a no brainer for others, but it was really insightful for me (ok maybe I’m slow!). I think I may finally have found a way to appreciate TB and not be upset when it is different than the books 🙂

    So thank you to whoever posted this originally! Man I love this blog! Thanks SVB!

    • 49 Dee
      May 19, 2010 at 8:22 pm

      Yeah, I don’t mind the Jason part because that happened in book 4 so wouldn’t bring it in that early. Plus for now we just see he starts a relationship with Crystal, he might go missing during this season and maybe not find out what happened to him until season 4.

      I’m more worried about the actors who play vamps on the show, I think that might be critical in how far can they go. Some shows don’t last on HBO but if they do well then they can have a long run. Look at Curb your enthusiasm, Entourage is on what its 7th season? and I haven’t heard of when it will end. Sopranos had a good run too. True blood has the highest ratings since Sopranos so I think as long as it does this well, HBO will want to keep it on. Infact, I think episode 9 of season 2 had as many viewers as the finale of Sopranos.

      But, I do agree that they have to bring in things earlier. Luckily since they’re getting rid of some book 5 plots, seems like they can get to book 6 a lot quicker.

    • 50 Seán
      May 19, 2010 at 8:23 pm

      Alan Ball is signed up for 7 seasons? I thought that so far, they’ve only been signed on for 2 more seasons before its decided whether the contract will be extended or not. In an ideal World, I would hope True Blood gets 13 seasons. This is hugely unlikely though. 😦

      • 51 MASpencer
        May 19, 2010 at 8:48 pm

        I think the ACTORS are contracted for seven years– I know that Alan Ball definitely has the green light through a fourth season, and possibly through a fifth as well. Anything after that is up in the air– but I think it’s fair to say that the ratings will likely stay high unless the show really goes off the rails, so they’ll probably get their full tenure out of it.

        The show COULD last longer than 7 seasons… but I don’t think it will. At that point, the actors will be showing their age (even, and especially, the vampires) so I just don’t think it’s practical. And being a serial drama (unlike Curb Your Enthusiasm), and one that’s based on a set of novels, Alan Ball probably has an overall plan and end-game in mind for this story, which doesn’t really lend itself to deciding to tack on another year just for the hell of it.

        Runs like that are pretty unprecedented for HBO anyway. Entourage may be entering it’s millionth season– but I really wish it wasn’t. Last season SUCKED. Better to quit while you’re on top than to make yourself irrelevant… which is exactly what that show is right now.

        • 52 LLE
          May 19, 2010 at 8:57 pm

          AB talk possible for 9 or 10 years.

          • 53 MASpencer
            May 19, 2010 at 9:04 pm

            I don’t see it happening. But I could be wrong…

            • 54 Osterby
              May 19, 2010 at 9:29 pm

              I agree MAS…I think he’ll tell is story as long as it’s good. Think Sex and the City. That lasted 6 seasons, and 2 feature movies!!! Just sayin’…

        • 55 Dee
          May 19, 2010 at 9:48 pm

          Yeah, while I would love the show to last 9 or 10 seasons, I just can’t see how it is possible. AS is going to be 34 this year, SM is about 40, right? I don’t know how they can continue with the show when they will really start showing their age in 10 years. The only way is to shoot back to back seasons but premiere them like they regularly would and I don’t see that happening.

          LOL yeah last season of Entourage was not great, hopefully this year will be better.

          Although, I wouldn’t mind if they did 7 seasons and then did a movie after like sex and the city. Not sure how likely that is but I would love it. At least for the book lovers it would be great if we get to see more towards end of the books.

          • 56 Seán
            May 19, 2010 at 9:52 pm

            For vampires aging, this is Hollywood people. Look at George Clooney, Madonna etc., they haven’t aged at all in the last 10 years.

            • 57 MASpencer
              May 19, 2010 at 10:03 pm

              LOL @ Madonna. You have a point.

              But with the pancake makeup they slather on the vampire leads, every wrinkle will show. Last year, 40-year-old Stephen Moyer looked like a grandpa… and poor AS’s forehead wrinkles aren’t faring much better.

              On the other hand, I’m laughing at the prospect of a bunch of Botoxed vampires. 😀

              • 58 Seán
                May 19, 2010 at 10:30 pm

                Well MASpencer. They need to get a better make-up artist pronto. And better special effects. Some of the special effects are great like the staking of vampires but Maryann’s vibrating was just crap looking.

                • 59 MASpencer
                  May 19, 2010 at 10:38 pm

                  Oh, I KNOW. And while some people might have thought it was awesome, I personally thought that Godric’s CGI self-immolation was a total mood killer. He looked like a giant Sterno can! LOL!

                  This is why I was also really worried about the werewolves. But from the looks of it, they got that one right. So fingers crossed that HBO is throwing a slightly bigger budget their way. (All of that said, I have absolutely NO complaints in the gore department.)

                  • 60 Dee
                    May 19, 2010 at 10:48 pm

                    Thank god they used real wolves. Look at Twilight with its insanely high budget and how the werewolves looked with CGI. Also, makes more sense for wolves to be of normal size on TB since people who see them should think they’re just real wolves instead of people in town seeing huge oversized wolves which would have the town people wondering. They’ve been able to keep their identity a secret because of that.

                    I find it funny because Ive seen some comments on the TB wolves saying they look crappy and don’t look real enough. Pretty funny since they are real wolves and exactly what they should look like lol.

                  • 62 Seán
                    May 19, 2010 at 10:50 pm

                    Yeah, I agree I thought it was really fake how Godric burned up. There was some great special effects though for Saint Beehl burning up. (Stupid idiot running out in the sun to save his damsel in distress Sookie when he wouldn’t be able to save her anyway).

                    Yeah, I feared the werewolves were going to be mutant werewolves like the ones in New Moon but thankfully they bear more of a resemblance to real wolves – albeit with glowing orange eyes.

                    • 63 Dee
                      May 19, 2010 at 11:23 pm

                      LOL Sean, well those werewolves in Twilight were pretty bad. Have you seen the wolves on set that they’re using for TB? They are such beautiful creatures, there is this black one with light eyes that they showed. I think Alcide’s is a light colored wolf, they have a pic of him walking the wolf on set.

            • 64 Dee
              May 19, 2010 at 10:03 pm

              I agree Sean that they can still probably look good after 10 years, well actually would be 7 years from now since we’re already about to go into S3. But also depends on the actor, some people age better than others. Madonna, well she has had plastic surgery and is very into yoga and healthy living. George Clooney, I do see how he has aged but not in a bad way. Brad Pitt still looks pretty good and he’s in his early 40’s, can’t say he has aged all that much. Maybe throw in some botox and TB vamps might be ok hahaha.

              For now I’m not worried, I think we’ll get a decent amount of seasons. I was also just reading earlier how S1 of TB set some record as far as DVD sales for shows. It’s one of the highest grossing tv show dvd’s, I think only one other show did better a few years prior and honestly it was very close. I think $38 million for TB dvd sales and the other had $40 million. They even said that HBO is more interested in the DVD sales than the ratings, they explained why but I think because they make more money off of the sales. But ratings are great too so HBO is happy.

              • 65 Dee
                May 19, 2010 at 10:06 pm

                Oh and I forgot to mention that the $38 million for TB was only after 5 weeks, which is when the article was published. So who knows how it did the remainder of the year. Maybe even beat out the #1 spot.

                • 66 EricObsessed
                  May 19, 2010 at 11:13 pm

                  Makes you wonder then why they have taken so long to put season 2 out on DVD. Especially since between it’s release date and season 3’s premier they’ll hardly be enough time to watch them. I have friends who’ve been waiting this whole time to watch S2 so we can talk about it and I think now Netflix has delayed the dvds till June now! Very annoying!

                  • 67 Seán
                    May 19, 2010 at 11:21 pm

                    That’s strange. I’m from Ireland and the Season 2 DVD has been available since last week, the day after the Season 2 finale was first broadcast on Irish and UK television. Why do you guys have to wait so long I wonder?

                    • May 19, 2010 at 11:26 pm

                      It’s available everywhere except the US I think.
                      HBO are reairing season 2 in the US at the moment. They won’t release the DVD until after it’s finished.

                  • 69 MASpencer
                    May 19, 2010 at 11:23 pm

                    I wondered the same thing! I was supsicious that maybe there was some spoilery material on the extra features that they didn’t want to release too far out from the premiere date– lest they give people like us time to chew on it. LOL. (Honestly, no one’s going to watch those enhanced versions on the first time around… too distracting! They definitely put that stuff in there for the fans.)

                    I guess we’ll have to wait and see, though.

                  • 70 Dee
                    May 19, 2010 at 11:26 pm

                    I wondered about this too, made more sense for S2 to come out on DVD earlier. Give people a chance to catch up if they wanted to. I finally convinced my cousin to watch the show very recently. At the time they only had S1 on demand and had to wait each sunday to watch S2. They only recently put S2 on demand but she wanted to finish S2 already and know what happens.

  21. 71 Serena
    May 22, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    Its starting to look like Sam is the one that took Bill.

    “For people who read the book, they’ll be surprised who kidnapped Bill,” Alan Ball promised devoted fan(g)s in a recent interview.”

    So its not Lorena, the Weres or Russell?

    “We definitely have used the plot from the book as a starting point,” Ball continued. “But we have done a lot differently as well. There’s a lot of new stuff happening,”

    So maybe they are taking Sam’s shiftier side into account? He could know the time and place, (Sookie blabbed it to him on why she wanted to leave work early or he heard the Tara convo) and motive (he could be pissed he is having dreams about Bill and is putting two and two together about what Bill did to ‘woo’ Sookie.) Oh and then maybe Sam sells Bill to the V-addicted Weres, so Russell’s white horse rescue is not a setup on RE’s part. Afterall, Bill is getting the royal guest treatment at RE; silk sheets, smexy stripper food, a phone call, Talbot the tour guide.. maybe Russell is an FOB.

    I might actually like Sam if he did this.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,125 hits since October 2009

