26
May
10

New poster – Me and my Sis

At first glance, you’d think Sam might be getting a sibling.

Perhaps Collie’s weren’t in vogue in 1962?

Source: hollywoodcrush

80 Responses to “New poster – Me and my Sis”


  1. 1 Serena
    May 26, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    But Sam is only 34? 1962 would make him, 48? lol. Unless you were joking and I’m just slow. πŸ˜‰

  2. 2 vampireswelove
    May 26, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    These posters are the worst! First, so they want us to believe Sam is in his 50’s? Cuz that dog isn’t even a puppy still…So shifters age slower than usual-fine..I’ll buy that. 2nd-Sam’s “Go To” is a Collie…WTF is with this big Hound? AB needs to work on oozing smexy instead of just baffling everyone. E/S in the torture room was a start…

  3. May 26, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    No you’re not slow.

    I don’t think this is about Sam. I think that’s what we’re supposed to think. πŸ˜‰

  4. 4 Mony
    May 26, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    i like it…i mean it’s funny….i think could be someone of biological sam’s family….he’s only what…35-36?
    i whis we could have something with Fangtasia or just the viking…LOL

  5. 6 ESFAN08
    May 26, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    I’m just not feelin these Posters IMO its been a waste of money. I also think they’ve had to many of them. I wanna see the Character Posters/Photos like we got last year. I mean where are those? are we even getting the Character ones, cuz if i remember correctly they had already released the Character ones at this point last year.

  6. 7 Kathy
    May 26, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    I still maintain that these posters don’t have anything to do with the narrative of the show. They’re like the razor and minicooper ads last year (much more cleaver campaign last year btw). They are as if this world is Charlaine’s world and the vamps and shapeshifters/weres are out.

  7. May 26, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    OK – is Sally the dog?

    • 11 Kathy
      May 26, 2010 at 1:50 pm

      No, Sally is the little girl. The shifter “wrote” the caption.

      • May 26, 2010 at 1:51 pm

        But how do you know that?

        • May 26, 2010 at 1:54 pm

          What if “me” is actually the little girl, and “Sally” is the dog/shifter.

          Finally a poster we can sink our teeth into.

        • 14 Kathy
          May 26, 2010 at 1:55 pm

          Because the unexpected (which is the thesis of these posters, I think) would be the dog (shifter) wrote the caption. I could be wrong, but it wouldn’t be as funny if the little girl wrote the caption.

          • 15 Kathy
            May 26, 2010 at 1:56 pm

            They’ve used ordinary images and “slyly” twisted them. Even the fly, collie one looks like one of those old fashioned illustrations.

            • 16 Kathy
              May 26, 2010 at 1:57 pm

              Even the one before looked kind of like a beer ad (though I think that one was the weakest of this weak series.

          • May 26, 2010 at 2:00 pm

            Really? I think at first glance – being that we’re primed for shifters and were’s et al – we would think that the dog wrote the caption. And that would be pretty boring bc we all know Sam is getting family this season.
            But the little girl writing the caption throws open some new possibilities.

          • 18 Gigi
            May 26, 2010 at 3:17 pm

            Kathy, I don’t think the poster necessarily has meant to be funny. IMO the picture would be way more interesting if Sally is actually the dog…

        • 20 Feather
          May 27, 2010 at 2:00 pm

          aren’t full shifters firstborns?

          therefore, with sally being the little sister…

    • 21 j9
      May 26, 2010 at 2:30 pm

      I don’t watch TB, so I don’t know if this rule applies in AB’s world–but in the books only the firstborn of a shifter couple can shift. If the rule does apply, then “little sister” Sally can’t be the dog . . . unless they’re half-siblings, I guess.

      • May 26, 2010 at 2:43 pm

        True on the book thing.
        But in AB’s world, Janice (Alcide’s younger sister) is a were.
        So I’m thinking that rule has been chucked out the window.

        *Along with the rules governing blood exchanges…but I’M NOT EVEN GOING THERE*

    • 24 AstralRomance
      May 26, 2010 at 4:11 pm

      I took it to mean Sally is the dog.

  8. 25 KPRMSE
    May 26, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    If it is Sam’s mother and her sister, the ages would work out. If I was a young girl though, as a shape shifter, I would probably pick something a little more girly that a bloodhound looking breed.

  9. May 26, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    It’s Yvetta. She’s the ugly dog. LOL. I know it isn’t really, just wishful thinking.

  10. 29 KittyKat
    May 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    It’s not very clever, and it’s been done, with the fly/bull/dog poster, but I don’t mind it so much, personally. If anything, it has been interesting having new stuff to look at and comment every 3-4 days (promos/posters, etc).

  11. 30 Diana
    May 26, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Kathy, I agree. I don’t think the posters are supposed to be connected to, or represent, the characters and are just part of a silly little advertising campaign. I’m actually enjoying them a bit. I tend not to take things so literally and am just trying to enjoy both the series and the books for what they are: pulpy, fun, silly, certainly not Shakespeare, dark and smusing. Both have suble nuances, but they are what they are. My world will not come to an end regardless of the outcome in either. Just enjoying the ride.

    And really..no one in the series has good taste in clothes! Bill in his moth eaten robe or Eric in his wife beaters and track suits… Well, maybe Sam in those jeans and Pam (off hours).
    Most sincerely,
    Stupid, Kool-aid drinking, “need to wake up”, Bill loving Diana

    • May 26, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      Diana, I’m certain you didn’t mean anything untoward, but please don’t call those Tee’s Eric wears “wife beaters”. I know that is the popular name for them, but I find it offensive. It promotes an attitude that is criminal.

    • May 26, 2010 at 2:40 pm

      i must say, i didn’t know that racerback tanks for men existed until I saw them worn on this show by Eric XD

      • 38 Kathy
        May 26, 2010 at 3:22 pm

        I had an Eric=type friend a while back, 6’4″, blond hair (at one point beautifully long) and he dressed in black racer-back tees and black pants ALL the time. Made him striking and he knew it.

    • 39 Liz
      May 26, 2010 at 2:41 pm

      i cant wait for Mr genie pants wardrobe malfunctions, it will almost make hearing “babe” bearable

    • 40 Gigi
      May 26, 2010 at 4:48 pm

      Actually Bobsgran, the fact that Diana called the tee by the common name that it’s known by most of people is VERY significant. Because the outfit of a character in TB is also a key element and brings a lot of information about of the subliminal image that AB wants to give to each one of them. And Bill’s robe is one of the best examples of it.

      So I think that after the suggestion that Eric likes to practice BDSM and, no matter how hot Eric looks wearing them and/or the metrosexual looks, we will need to question ourselves why AB chose them to be Eric’s distinctive piece of clothe. You can’t loose of perspective that this “common” name (which as you said is offensive and prometes a criminal attitude) is actually associated to physically abusive husbands, but it is indeed the way that a LOT of common viewers are used to identify it.

      Very sneaky way to give to TB Eric another trait from Book Bill….

      • 41 Gigi
        May 26, 2010 at 4:49 pm

        **promotes

      • May 26, 2010 at 5:36 pm

        I understand what you mean Gigi, and I’ll have to think about that one. The association could be there but I just am sooo uncomfortable naming it. I’ve known women who have been abused by their partners, one actually was murdered, and I know how uncomfortable all of them feel when there is a reference to racerback tees as such. Just a prickly point with me I guess.

        • 43 Gigi
          May 26, 2010 at 5:59 pm

          Actually I completely share your feeling about the name, hon. But I wanted to address that there is a motive of why AB wanted to make this kind of tee distinctive of Eric, and it is completely linked to the way that it is commonly called by people and how they also associate it with the abusive behavior of men towards women in a couple’s relationship.

      • May 26, 2010 at 6:08 pm

        idk, maybe it’s just me splittin’ hairs here, but i don’t consider eric’s trademark black racerback a “wife beater” (my apologies bobsgran) style tank top. those are more like, white hanes undershirts. cheapy thin ones.

        like those handsome fellows are wearing πŸ˜‰
        i won’t be reading too much into that one. i imagine the man has an entire closet full of black tank tops and track suits in all the colors of the rainbow, haha!

        • May 26, 2010 at 6:23 pm

          Funny you should say that. I didn’t make that association either. It was simply a guys tank.

        • 48 Gigi
          May 26, 2010 at 7:08 pm

          Well, I have to respectfully disagree with your idea they are only white underwear style, because, despite their model or the maker (some even are made by designers) or if they are made for men or women (for women! …yep, you read it right) they are widely known by a lot of people and stores by this ofensive name. You can find some examples here:

          http://www.hisroom.com/wife-beater,t-shirts,434,011,10.ht

        • 52 MASpencer
          May 26, 2010 at 8:07 pm

          My husband and I call it his “stripper shirt”… because, you know, that’s kind of what it is. The racerback, the low armpits…

          It’s a stripper shirt. LOL!

          • 53 MASpencer
            May 26, 2010 at 8:23 pm

            By the way, I should add that my husband wears “wife beaters” around the house while cleaning and whatnot fairly regularly. (Never outside the house, though… way too trashy for a guy, though I’ve been known to wear them myself under sweaters and the like.)

            But I assure that my husband would never be CAUGHT DEAD in a shirt like the black tank top of doom– because he makes fun of it EVERY TIME he sees it on screen.

            Why? Because it makes Eric look like a male stripper! LOL!!!!

            Anyway, I believe the only time we’ve seen Eric in a “wife beater” proper is when he is hanging around Fangtasia– while he was having his hair done, or when he was interrogating his employees about the theft, for example. And because my (very sweet and adoring) husband does the same thing, I never thought anything of it.

            Besides, the “wife beater” moniker is definitely more strongly associated with the white variety of tank top, popularized by stereotypical portrayals of people of lower socioeconomic status. (Errant food remnants and armpit stains optional. LOL)

            And Eric Northman may be a lot of questionable things… but he is definitely not “low rent”!

            • 54 Serena
              May 26, 2010 at 8:26 pm

              The one he wears to Alcide’s is racerback, which makes me think he came straight from Fangtasia. I dunno, just a thought.

              • 55 MASpencer
                May 26, 2010 at 8:35 pm

                I’m just laughing at the idea of Eric having a closet full of stripper shirts and black jeans. It’s like his uniform– because you know he already ruined one of his stripper shirts in Dallas.

                Ha. It’s cheesy but I LOVE IT.

            • 57 Gigi
              May 26, 2010 at 10:49 pm

              [Besides, the β€œwife beater” moniker is definitely more strongly associated with the white variety of tank top, popularized by stereotypical portrayals of people of lower socioeconomic status. (Errant food remnants and armpit stains optional. LOL)
              And Eric Northman may be a lot of questionable things… but he is definitely not β€œlow rent”!]

              HAHAHHAHAHA yep, it was a slang that was usually associated with the “white trash” concept during the 20th century (wow, it sounds sooo far). And no, EN is definitely not low rent.

              But at the beggining of the 21st century there was a boom about them after the term was added to dictionaries (as evidence of how deeply rooted it is into society), and the name went from trash to trendy in the clothing industry when famous designers as Calvin Klein, Chanel and Dolce & Gabbana used it and began to offer versions of it… as well as famous artists as Gwyneth Paltrow, Britney Spears, Maddona, Snoop Dog, blah blah began to wear them again. Now the clothing industry has extended the name from the traditional white underwear shirt to casual, sport, and surf tank tops. And to be honest I really like and do not find trashy this kind of tank top. What irks me and I really find trashy is to know it’s a “word” accepted in the dictionary and the clothing industry is still using it.

        • 58 VampirePamsGirl
          May 26, 2010 at 10:39 pm

          You know… the only thing I could ever think of when speaking of Eric’s tank has been….sexy, lol. πŸ˜› I can’t get past the drooling enough to actually try to anaylze it.

        • 59 millarca21
          May 28, 2010 at 11:10 pm

          This conversation is interesting. In Oz, those white sleeveless undershirts those ever so handsome fellows are wearing are called singlets, and are items of underwear. No man with any style would wear one out of the house; actually I don’t think a man with any style would wear one at all, but then I abhor them and tend to mock men who wear them. They are not called wifebeaters here. Blue singlets, typically worn for both work and play by labourers and truck drivers, with stubbies (dark blue shorts) and thongs (flip-flops) are wifebeaters, but still more often just called blue singlets. The item Eric wears would not be called a wifebeater, but a racerback tank top.

          My theory is that Eric wears one because it makes AS’s shoulders look broader. Simple as that.

  12. 60 Liz
    May 26, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    Sams mom seams the most likely theory

  13. 61 Barbara E
    May 26, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    The expression on the dog’s face = “Moooommmmm! Sally is squeezing me too tiiiiiight!” LOL

    Ok, from what little we know about shifters … it starts around puberty … roughly 13 for Sam (in his TB back story with Maryann). So, the dog would be roughly mid teens we’ll figure. Let’s for 16 for argument’s sake.

    2010 – 1962 = 48 years + 16 years old = 64 years old now. So, it can definitely be Sam’s mom or dad (we don’t know the gender of the dog in the picture) … because that’ll make the parents be around late 20’s/early 30’s when they had Sam.

    As for the posters overall – I can take or leave them. They haven’t really added anything to the campaign overall. Just something else to get us to talk about True Blood.

    • 62 VampirePamsGirl
      May 26, 2010 at 10:53 pm

      “As for the posters overall – I can take or leave them.”

      I agree Barbara! There really hasn’t been a single poster that has made me sit up and go “WOW!”, which quite frankly is something that I kinda expect to happen when it comes to TB. They’re just alright, not the standard I would expect to have seen and time is running out for them to get any better!

  14. 63 VikingLover
    May 26, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Hahahahaha! I think this poster is hilarious!! Hahahaha!

  15. 64 EricObsessed
    May 26, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    This is vaguely amusing. I almost feel like these posters are for people who don’t watch the show at all. To grab their attention, make them say, “hmmm” but do these posters even get seen by people who aren’t already fans? Maybe they’re out in the bigger cities but where I live in the south, True Blood is a word-of mouth thing, not an advertised one. I practically have to bribe people to watch it! lol

  16. 65 Kathy
    May 26, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    That’s exactly how I see them EO!

  17. 66 Mony
    May 26, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    ok…..it’s OFF…..BUT I JUST FOUND A PICS OF ERIC NAKED ON SET!!!!!
    so…..i don’t wanna post here the link ‘couse it’s off…..maybe i should send a mail…or you can go on TrueBloodItaly on Facebook or on Twitter TrueBloodItalia.

  18. 70 Mony
    May 26, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    Ladies…..go check now….Sam and Bill Hot dream Scene!!!!!!

  19. 75 Sibyl_Vane
    May 26, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    SVB- I hope you’ve seen this- no need to wait for sunday.

    *Drools*

  20. 76 Gigi
    May 26, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    I’m not a moderator here, but anyway, if someone want to discuss these pics, please, I want to ask for your patience to wait until SVB make a post to discuss them. This is the kind of information that deserves its own post because it actually generates a big reaction and a lot of comments. Due to the growing number of comments, SVB actually needs our cooperation for organizing our comments on each respective post. We can help her a lot, if we wait just a little until she write her post.
    Thank you πŸ˜‰

    • 77 VampirePamsGirl
      May 26, 2010 at 10:50 pm

      Nicely said Gigi and I def. agree. SVB doesn’t ask much of us guys and she mostly gives us free reign on HER blog (blog, not discussion board) to discuss all aspects of SVM and TB.

      I know it’s really tough to wait for a new post when you stumble upon something as monumental as a pic of Eric’s naked behind. I know the first thing I think about when I run across a piece of SVM or TB news is sharing it with all of you guys and seeing all of your wonderful opinions and I want to do it right now! But we can restrain ourselves, lol, right?

      I’d just hate to keep on going against SVB’s and VL’s very nice requests and then us end up losing this wonderful place that SVB created! And I know that she hates having to get strict about stuff with us, so let’s please not make her! πŸ˜€

      Thanks! and Thanks Gigi for bringing this up!

  21. 78 VikingLover - Moderator
    May 26, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Thanks Gigi. I think Gigi summed it but again, I must ask that you NOT post OT links into these threads. The Sookieverse Blog also has a Facebook account – you can post these links there if you like. If you do, we will all be able to see them. That’s probably the best bet and then these blog posts can remain on topic. SVB will also see them there and if it’s newsworthy, she will create a new post as soon as she can. We would really appreciate your cooperation on this. Thanks!

  22. 79 Sibyl_Vane
    May 27, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Was not aware of the facebook page, what is it?


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 524,646 hits since October 2009

