11
Jun
10

Finally…

…we are DONE.

The character posters also came out today. They are so disappointing I’m not posting them. I like the backgrounds, but the characters look photoshopped to within an inch of their undead lives.

Season 3 Marketing Campaign…Overall Grade = D.
Moving on.

44 Responses to “Finally…”


  1. 1 Serena
    June 11, 2010 at 1:59 am

    Can I just say that the hour of wordpress fail was really painful, almost as much as this ad campaign.

    • 2 VampirePamsGirl
      June 11, 2010 at 2:05 am

      Agreed!

      I’ve also got to add that I’m thoroughly sick of the build-up and the promos, even the good stuff like the really nice clips and pics of Eric. I’m so damn ready to get this show on the road now. Thank goodness that its almost Sunday! 3 days left to mark off on my Naked Viking countdown calendar!

      • June 11, 2010 at 2:10 am

        I KNOW.
        I feel like I’m on total information overload for the first three eps.

        I am one very ashamed Spoiler-Whore today.

        • 4 VikingLover
          June 11, 2010 at 2:16 am

          {even the good stuff like the really nice clips and pics of Eric. I’m so damn ready to get this show on the road now}

          I agree! I’m so ready for S3 to start. I want to see these clips in the context of how they were intended to be seen – in the actual damn episode! 🙂

  2. 6 charlotte
    June 11, 2010 at 2:00 am

    Finally! No more poor photoshop jobs, no more lousy ‘messages’. Now let’s just hope they spent their money on the season instead of their poor advertising…

  3. 7 L
    June 11, 2010 at 2:02 am

    That isn’t even a mosquito.

    • 8 Gigi
      June 11, 2010 at 2:36 am

      HHHHHHHHHHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHA!!!

    • June 11, 2010 at 3:13 am

      oh snap, you’re right! its a mosquito hawk, aka a crane fly

      *slow applause* man. people are getting paid for this???

      • 10 VikingLover
        June 11, 2010 at 3:25 am

        This is really bizarre. The crane fly doesn’t “bite” people – they feed on the roots of a variety of grasses. They’re like little vegetarians. lol

      • 13 Chat_Noir
        June 12, 2010 at 6:06 am

        In my house they are commonly known as “cat food”… This was possibly the scariest TB promo poster that I have ever seen, although that’s because I am scared to death of crane flies – it’s like mother nature has created mutant spiders that can terrorise me from the air! *shivers*

        Anyway, if nothing else the TB promo posters have made me appreciate each an every video clip (no matter how short) all the more. I can’t think of a single poster so far that has made my heart beat a little faster with anticipation, whereas the videos have got me every single time.

  4. 14 Melanie
    June 11, 2010 at 2:03 am

    I totally and completely agree. D at best.

    This poster creeps me the hell out. And not in a good way in the slightest!

  5. 15 sunnynala
    June 11, 2010 at 2:05 am

    Ad campaign was awfully muted, wasn’t it? Compared to last year? I wasn’t paying attention then but the examples I’ve seen put all of this mess to shame.

  6. 19 LydiaB
    June 11, 2010 at 2:10 am

    I wonder if they were just fine with letting the hype grow without all the extras this year. But even though the pictures/posters sucked, the tv promos have been AWESOME.

    • 20 VikingLover
      June 11, 2010 at 2:17 am

      {the tv promos have been AWESOME.}

      I agree!!

    • 21 legalease
      June 11, 2010 at 2:34 am

      All of the promos have been fun, but I think my faves are the one that aired before the Ultimate Fan Experience and the latest one with the fantastic little Eric wave at the end. Even though it’s for all the HBO shows, I also really love the “Home” one because I adore that song and the images that they chose to use.

      • 22 Willowbella
        June 11, 2010 at 2:57 am

        The promos have been TOO awesome…I’m all hyped up. I’m all predicted out now too. I just wanna see it now. 🙂

  7. 23 dsm
    June 11, 2010 at 2:12 am

    This may be the sorriest poster of the lot. King of the losers as they say. I have no explanation for how a marketing team could go from the home run poster series generated last year to these. Personally, I think you are being generous with the D.

  8. 24 legalease
    June 11, 2010 at 2:16 am

    Unless these posters have some intricate connection to the Season 3 plot that we’re just not able to see yet, which I highly doubt, I’m with you on the grade. It is very disappointing because the Season 2 campaign seemed much, much better.

    • 25 VampirePamsGirl
      June 11, 2010 at 2:26 am

      Well, Sam was a fly in S2, maybe it’ll be a mosquito (or whatever type of insect that is) this year, lol. He’ll shift into a bloodsucker so as to better understand his dream-lova Beehl. :p

      • June 11, 2010 at 2:28 am

        No! He’s going to be were-flamingo because he’s all gay now, dontcha know?!

        • 27 legalease
          June 11, 2010 at 2:35 am

          I’m still scratching my head over that were-flamingo poster. I mean seriously, WTF?

          • 28 VampirePamsGirl
            June 11, 2010 at 2:59 am

            You know what the really sad thing is? On our vacation, we were at Animal Kingdom at Disney and there was place with a ton of flamingoes and all I could think was “OMG it’s weres! True Blood, True Blood!” Sad, isn’t it? 😀

            • 29 KPRMSE
              June 11, 2010 at 4:03 pm

              Don’t feel bad – I the exact same thing at Zoo Atlanta. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to look at flamingos the same way again.

      • 30 legalease
        June 11, 2010 at 2:31 am

        Ha! You know, I don’t know if I’m more excited or creeped out by the thought that we get their “epic” sex scene in 3 days! Bill/Sam 4eva!!!!!!

  9. June 11, 2010 at 3:01 am

    Have y’all seen the marketing apology on Facebook? I can’t help thinking it’s for more than the failed marketing stunts that were enumerated.

  10. June 11, 2010 at 3:08 am

    i was amusing myself earlier comparing the number of Facebook “likes” on each poster. when i last looked, askars’ had over 2 thousand likes. i believe the next closest was 800 something. i chuckled.

  11. June 11, 2010 at 3:35 am

    also, there is a very cute HBO video of Alex introducing Dennis, “truebie vs newbie”

    i won’t link of course, but it will make ya’ll smile i think.

  12. 42 asifuentes
    June 11, 2010 at 6:45 am

    Agreed the posters were really horrible this year. The apology vid…haha what can I say lets hope they learn from their mistakes…haha LMAFO!

  13. 43 Dwimordene
    June 11, 2010 at 7:13 am

    HAHAHAHAHAHA… This one is great! lol… The best of all them, withouth doubt 😀

    Yap, how can they be wrong? hahahahah Indeed.

  14. 44 lala
    June 11, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    400 billion?


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

find me

Archives

tweet tweet!

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 525,147 hits since October 2009

