24
Jun
10

Pack Yer Bags!

WE’RE FINALLY MOVING!

Our new home is ready and waiting, and not before time. Hours of tinkering and staring cross-eyed at WordPress has left me channelling Jane Bodehouse after a few rounds with Maryann – confused, dishevelled and more often than not, blind drunk.

While most of you are snoozing early Friday morning (US time) the blog will be locked while we transfer everything to the new server. We’ve done a few test runs, and hopefully it should be seamless -you guys have made over 21 000 comments here and that’s ALOT of yammering, so let’s cross our fingers and legs and hope for the best.

A redirect will be placed on this URL on Friday. Essentially, this means that you will automatically land over at the new site when you try to come here. Redirection may take a day or two to kick in, or as little as a few hours depending on your location.

If you do find yourself here over the weekend and the place is deserted, our new URL is:

http://www.sookieverseblog.com

The blog won’t be open for posts until Friday, but our shiny new forum is ready to roll – so head over there to register and start posting any time you like.

http://www.sookieverseblog.com/forum

Make sure you update your bookmarks, and you may also need to resubscribe to your feeds from the new site.

Pack your bags peeps! And the last one out the door–switch off the lights!

Booze for dolls? Sign me up NOW. I'll take ten.


49 Responses to “Pack Yer Bags!”


  1. 1 silver
    June 24, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    yay! I’m happy for you! Even signing up for a new email confuses me, so I’m also really proud 🙂

  2. 2 A Northern Soul
    June 24, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Congrats, the new site looks fabulous! I *love* the way Eric is depicted, he looks just
    like I picture him in the books!

    • June 24, 2010 at 3:09 pm

      Aw thank you Northern, I’m so glad you like. I LOVE THIS BANNER.

      Everytime I look at it, I want to lick my screen.

      He is Book Eric, in my head, to a T.

      Kittrose (she uses Hime here) made the banner from her original artwork. When we talked about it I was all “Please can you make me book Eric?” and she came back with that. And I DIED.

      • 4 A Northern Soul
        June 24, 2010 at 3:21 pm

        OMG, I did to. And I’m at work (ssshh) and I almost fell out of my cubicle. sigh

        Thank you, Hime/Kittrose. You rock!

      • 5 MASpencer
        June 24, 2010 at 3:25 pm

        She did an AMAZING job making the hair look natural, and the images are beautifully done. Really great work, Hime!

        Although (get your rotten tomatoes handy)… I have to admit, even in the books, I really can’t get into Eric’s heavy metal hair. I JUST CAN’T.

        *ducks for cover*

  3. 10 Freyja
    June 24, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Congratulations 🙂 Love the new look!

  4. 11 pennydreadful
    June 24, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Congrats, svb. Thanks for all your hard work in creating a forum for us to discuss our SVM/TB obsessions! ❤

  5. 12 feather
    June 24, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    hooray!

  6. 13 MASpencer
    June 24, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    CONGRATS, SVB!!!! I’ll echo everyone’s sentiments here and offer a standing ovation for all of your hard work.

    Once again, I salute you! Countdown to “magic time”…

  7. 14 KPRMSE
    June 24, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Congrats! The newsite looks fantastic. Thank you for all of your hard work!

    Hime/Kittrose – You nailed book Eric. Awesome work!

  8. 15 Paloma
    June 24, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    The new space looks GREAT! Congrats!! Love the banner too!

  9. 16 AstralRomance
    June 24, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    The new site looks fabulous. I really like the banner kittrose did an excellent job Mr. Northman is looking particularly fine. I would just like to echo what pennydreadful has already said and say thank you SVB for all of the time and hard work that you dedicated to the new site it really is appreciated. 🙂

  10. 17 Dee
    June 24, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Congrats! The new site looks amazing, great job!!!

    Love the banner, beautiful work Hime

  11. 18 Robin
    June 24, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    I am SO very excited for all of us, SVB! Congrats on your success with the blog, and thanks for all of your hard work and for providing discussion forums to feed our obsession! The new site looks outstanding!

  12. 19 Mony
    June 24, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    GOOOOOOD LUCK!!!!!!!
    i just saw it….it’s just GREAT!!!!!!
    Love the banner too!!!!!

  13. 20 Obladee
    June 24, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Looks great! Can’t wait to get going and THANK YOU for all of your hard work! BTW, totally impressed with the artwork!

  14. 21 DutchGirl
    June 24, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    What a great depiction of Eric. It is the hair he should have 🙂
    The new site looks fab, big big thank you !!
    Can’t wait for it all to be up and running!!

  15. June 24, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    Congrats, Tina! 😉
    I’m happy I could give my little contribute to this wonderful blog!
    And guys, thanks for your appreciation! I’m glad you like my LongHairedEric (although it looks a lot like Askars still, but I can’t get him out of my head, lol)

    • 23 pennydreadful
      June 24, 2010 at 5:30 pm

      Hime- You are so incredibly talented. Thanks so much for doing the art for the new site (even though I’ll probably have to mop up drool from my keyboard every time I see your scrumptious rendition of the Viking.)

    • 24 Obladee
      June 24, 2010 at 5:37 pm

      You are incredibly talented, Hime. Hope you do that for a living! 🙂

  16. 26 lala
    June 24, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    Thank you for the beautiful banner with eric’s real blonde viking hair! It will be a pleasure to see that when we arrive.
    Good luck on the new blog site. Will be looking forward to all the new conversations:)

  17. 27 KittyKat
    June 24, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Cozy new home! 😀

  18. 28 Riz
    June 24, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    It looks beautiful! Congrats to a great new home!

  19. June 24, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    The way Black Raven Queen depicts Eric always makes me grin stupidly and tingle all over. To have to go through that every time I visit SVB…

    Well, thank you, from the bottom of by heart.

  20. 33 Gigi
    June 24, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Congratulations Tina!!! You deserve it 😉 Hime has made a wonderful work with the banner, the new blog looks wonderful as the forum, and you have achieved a great team of moderators. I am proud of you, like all of us who recognize your efforts and have seen how this blog has grown since its beginning. This is a definitely a complete new level, and as always, I wish you the best of lucks hon. Love you!!

  21. 35 Ashley
    June 24, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Yay! cant wait

  22. 36 Confusiousness
    June 24, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    OMFG!!!!! The new blog is awesome BUT that pic of Eric makes him look like a friggen DEVIL…. WHAT GIVES?????????????

  23. 37 VikingLover
    June 24, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    The new site looks FANTASTIC!! It’s BEAUTIFUL! Love it! Hime, you ROCK Lady! That banner is just beyond words beautiful. 🙂

  24. 38 Kat
    June 24, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    Just registered…woohooo!!!!
    Great job SVB!!!

  25. 39 Lotus
    June 24, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Congratulations! It looks amazing! Hime, you are a wonderful artist! SVB, thank you for creating yet another space for us to muse over the wonder that is SVM and TB. How exciting!

  26. 40 EricObsessed
    June 24, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Love the new site! Love the banner!!!!
    I signed up and read the terms and I “agreed” to them but, the no “sexually-orientated” posts sentence threw me off there for a sec! LOL Well, I guess we speak our own language here sometimes, so I guess we’re all still okay talking about the GP?!?
    Thank you SVB, (and all the rest of you wonderful people!) for all the work you do to entertain me!!!

    • 41 EricObsessed
      June 24, 2010 at 10:36 pm

      omg a red corvette just turned around in front of my house, maybe it’s a sign! Of what I don’t know, Book Eric is lurking, maybe? (there are no Corvette’s in my neighborhood) LOL

    • June 24, 2010 at 11:24 pm

      Does it really say that? Those terms and conditions are the default that come with the forum install.

      The forum that was obviously written by prudes, LOL.

      OF COURSE you can still talk about the GP. Same rules over there as here, basically.

      *Makes mental note to actually read that big boring sign up blurb*….

      • 43 EricObsessed
        June 25, 2010 at 12:02 am

        LOL Yes, it does say that. I thought that was an odd thing for you to write! At least I have an explanation now! 🙂 Pheww what a relief because this would be the only place I could talk or read about the GP!

      • 44 Millarca
        June 25, 2010 at 2:06 am

        😀 Glad to know that. When I read that bit I hesitated for a split second, thinking, ‘How can I agree to that, half of what we talk about is “sexually orientated”‘.

      • 45 Gigi
        June 25, 2010 at 2:41 am

        [Does it really say that?]
        I have to echo this… because I didn’t read at all the paragraph HAHAHHAHHAHAHAA!!!

  27. 46 VampirePamsGirl
    June 24, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    I’m late to the party, but I just had to add my Congratulations! and Thank you so much! You’ve done a wonderful job SVB and the new site looks amazing.

    Hime, the picture/banner is fantastic! I think it’s the perfect mix of being book Eric and ASkars. You should send that pic to the TB crew for us, lol. 🙂

    • 47 Gigi
      June 25, 2010 at 2:39 am

      You aren’t late at all, so move your lady ass fast because I’m waiting you there HAHAHHAHHAHA!!!!!

  28. June 25, 2010 at 5:47 am

    Thanks to everybody! 🙂

  29. 49 CarolB
    June 25, 2010 at 7:09 am

    Grrrr why do I have to be sooo busy today? I just want to get stuck into the new site!! CONGRATS SVB, looks brilliant! And yep, lovin the artwork too – you definitely SHOULD be doing that for a living Hime! See y’all on the otherside! xxx


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other subscribers

find me

Archives

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 530,253 hits since October 2009