11
May
10

Claudine has been cast

The role of Claudine Crane, Sookie’s fae protector, cousin and friend has been cast for True Blood.

The part has gone to Lara Pulver.


77 Responses to “Claudine has been cast”


  1. 2 Serena
    May 11, 2010 at 4:31 am

    Noooo… Isabella! That bitch killed Gisborne. cannot forgive..

    • 3 VampirePamsGirl
      May 12, 2010 at 10:32 pm

      Haha, when I saw the pic my first impression was its not too bad, I can see her being Claudine, but I kept thinking she looked familiar and I knew her name from somewhere. Your post made me realize how I knew her. And I completely agree with you! I hope the way she portrays Claudine is completely different than Isabella cause I couldn’t stand that bitch! And I love Claudine so I definitely want to keep the characters separate. Eh, I guess it could be worse though. They could’ve cast the one that played Kate in RH, I couldn’t stand her either, lol.

  2. 4 Dee
    May 11, 2010 at 4:33 am

    In that pic she looks a bit better than some other pics but I don’t know I pictured her different. I’m feeling eh about her. AB is great at casting males but some females he casts well I just don’t get.

  3. 5 Debra
    May 11, 2010 at 5:00 am

    Isn’t it a bit early for her? But I must admi I like her for the part.

  4. 6 Millarca
    May 11, 2010 at 5:04 am

    I just googled pics of her. She has good features and an ethereal quality to her appearance which I think make-up and wardrobe people will be able to transform into strikingly beautiful otherworldliness without much trouble at all.

  5. 7 Liz
    May 11, 2010 at 5:17 am

    sorry to post off topic, but i found this and just gagged
    http://www.digitalspy.com/cult/s59/true-blood/news/a219175/theo-alexander-teases-true-blood-role.html#article_continue

    is this gonna be who our viking gets his freak on with?

  6. 10 Char
    May 11, 2010 at 5:25 am

    I like the other pix I saw of her that I found from a Google search. Also she did Robin Hood in a BBC production so experience with that fantasy type work, I saw pictures with her and swords so maybe lots of experience because of RH?

  7. 11 Gigi
    May 11, 2010 at 5:56 am

    Sookie’s golden vision… that’s kind of cheesy, but I just hope she isn’t as annoying as her hahahhaha 😛

    • 12 Gigi
      May 11, 2010 at 6:26 am

      YAYYYYY!!! Congratulations for the signed copy Aaine!!! You has been working very hard and to be recognized by CH it’s a beautiful and very deserved reward to all your efforts with the blog. You go Girl!!!!

      BIG HUG!!!

  8. 15 Millarca
    May 11, 2010 at 7:05 am

    I am a strong advocate of gay rights and have no problem whatsoever with homosexality, but I’ve never enjoyed reading slash fanfic and I just don’t want to see my new favourite vampire in a sweaty grunting scene with another bloke, either as giver or received, and now I have images in my mind I do not want. *shudder* I know Eric did it in the books, but Sookie didn’t see it so we didn’t see it and I don’t want to see it now.

    Will it make me change how I feel about Eric? Probably not, but maybe. It depends on the precise circumstances, and we just don’t know what they are at the moment.

    I am hoping that Eric is doing it because it’s the best way to get Sookie out of trouble, not because he fancies the bloke and wants a bit of man on man action. As long as there’s a good reason I’m not going to be too upset, but I don’t want to see him enjoying it. We know he’s had many years of practice, but for the sake of my fantasies I want Eric to be heterosexual by inclination and choice.

    • 16 Millarca
      May 11, 2010 at 7:18 am

      Ack! That wasn’t supposed to be here, it was supposed to be in the other place. I don’t know how this happened. Sorry. I’d delete it if I could. 😳

      • 17 Kathy
        May 11, 2010 at 11:27 am

        I agree with you. I don’t even mind watching man-on-man action, but not Eric out of preference. Necessity yes, preference no.

    • 18 LydiaB
      May 11, 2010 at 11:55 am

      Well that sucks for you.

  9. 19 Belle
    May 11, 2010 at 7:53 am

    I am sorry… But this is not how i imagined claudine. The End

  10. 23 tvgirl_nicole
    May 11, 2010 at 7:57 am

    She’s alright. I have Claudine built up pretty big in my head. I lover her like I love Pam. So it’s a lot to live up to. I saw TB before I read the books, so KB is all I’ve ever pictured, and I love her.

  11. 24 Willowbella
    May 11, 2010 at 8:13 am

    She is actually quite ethereal and elfin looking in real life, very pretty. I think she will suit the part. They do like to cast people who are still kind of unknown (especially in the States). I think that’s smart though, they can just become the part and no other role if brought to bear on the character.

    • 25 VikingLover
      May 11, 2010 at 11:47 am

      {They do like to cast people who are still kind of unknown (especially in the States). I think that’s smart though, they can just become the part and no other role if brought to bear on the character.}

      I like this a lot. I hate to know too much about their private lives and/or other roles/characters that they’ve played.

  12. 26 Mony
    May 11, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Claudine will appera in a dream of Sookie i don’t know the episode, but the casting call said when Sookie is at the hospital.
    She is nearly as i immagine my Claudine^^

  13. 27 OrientalThorn
    May 11, 2010 at 10:40 am

    She’s pretty. I googled her, and I think she has good features and should make a pretty convincing Claudine. Not exactly as I imagined, but close enough. My only complaint is she is not tall enough. The thing that stands out to me about Claudine’s physical appearance is her hair and her height.

  14. 28 Vikingvampgirl
    May 11, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Just watched a video with her and I think she will be great. Got to give ab credit where it is due.

  15. 29 Belle
    May 11, 2010 at 11:01 am

    hahaha. Yes i did…. Now after reading DITF if he had of had dreadlocks like i pictured in my mind i of taken to them with a set of BLUNT garden shears. I just imagined Claudine a little taller and blonde. But then i did grow up watching fairies on walt disney hour in the early 80’s. Pumpkin carriage anyone to get to Eric’s house….x

  16. 31 lala
    May 11, 2010 at 11:11 am

    From this photo, her features appear elfin enough. I think she will make a fine Claudine. I was meh about the character from the books; the only cool scene was when claudine saved sookie from falling asleep at the wheel.

  17. 32 Kathy
    May 11, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Claudine is supposed to be 6 feet tall. Lara is 5’4″. It’s like cutting Claudine off at the knees. I don’t mind her looks as much as her physicality. She’s supposed to be shockingly tall.

    • 33 Gigi
      May 11, 2010 at 11:46 am

      I know, but we are talking about AB, who chose a blond to portray Debbie Pelt HAHAHHAHAHAHA (sorry LMAO 😛 ). So we can’t complaint because at least this one looks like book Claudine (only in a petite size).

      • 34 VikingLover
        May 11, 2010 at 11:51 am

        Well, she was blonde in her head shot but that doesn’t mean they won’t dye her hair to black. Anna Paquin is a natural brunette. As long as she captures the role in her acting than for me that’s enough. I think they did a fantastic job with Lorena.

        • 35 Gigi
          May 11, 2010 at 12:05 pm

          He can dye Anna’s hair until it falls off her head, but still she doesn’t fit Sookie’s image for me (and for many people… even CH has said so). I also find quite annoying all the grimaces she makes with the mouth… But Lorena is awesome.

          • 36 VikingLover
            May 11, 2010 at 12:47 pm

            LOL Maybe AP was not the best example. Haha! For me AP is what I imagined Sookie to look like in some ways – I never pictured her to have soft features and I imagine her to look like a normal woman – not stunningly beautiful – so AP works for me. My problem is that the woman never heard the definition of subtle. I wish she would tone it down. I wish they had picked someone like Elena from VPD. Not the physical aspects but her acting abilities. That girl is perfect at capturing emotions. I feel as though AP doesn’t really “get” Sookie. Everyone else is perfect in their roles. AS is the best.

        • 37 Willowbella
          May 11, 2010 at 1:03 pm

          I think the same unless there is something about there physicality/ethnicity etc. that is essential to the role then I don’t really care how they look as long as they do it justice.

          The only role I think they had to nail physically was Eric, given that he has to be tall, broad and look like a viking and thankfully they cast that role perfectly, maybe even too perfectly. 😉

          • 38 Willowbella
            May 11, 2010 at 1:11 pm

            Sorry, should have put this in my earlier post. I thought AP was markedly better in S2 than in S1 though. In S1 I wasn’t sure of her at all. I think she’s getting more comfortable in the role. I’m hoping for more of a progression this time round. *crosses fingers*

            She has good romantic chemistry with AS, I think, (judging by the dream scenes), more than she has with SM but that’s to be expected given that they’re together in real life. When actors get together they always seem to lose their onscreen chemistry. Hopefully the more we see of E/S together the better AP will come across.

          • 39 VikingLover
            May 11, 2010 at 4:27 pm

            Yes, another example is Kirsten Bauer (sp?). She looks nothing like the Pam from the books but she rocks my socks. 🙂 I can’t imagine another Pam now.

            • 40 VikingLover
              May 11, 2010 at 4:30 pm

              {the more we see of E/S together the better AP will come across.}

              This is what I’m hoping too. I think they have amazing chemistry together! I loved watching them on screen together – the few times they allowed us to. Can’t wait to see them together in S3. I really liked the FotS scenes they had together. She really toned it down for that and it was much better.

    • 41 teamEric
      May 11, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      i agree about the height thing, come on now! and i dont think she is strikingly beautiful enough to be the famed Claudine. the height thing bothers me. Not as much as Eric with short dark hair, but still…

      • 42 Serena
        May 11, 2010 at 12:41 pm

        Yeah I think she will be fine, but I always imagined someone like Tricia Helfer or Ali Larter, you know someone who is dripping in sex.

  18. 43 VikingLover
    May 11, 2010 at 11:42 am

    She’s exactly what I pictured – I think she’ll be great. I don’t mind the height thing – I would assume it’s very hard to find a 6 foot tall woman/actor that would also fit the other criteria of Claudine.

  19. 47 Dwimordene
    May 11, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    As I watched TB before reading the books I’m opened to the physical appearence of the characters… I just hope that the actress is good at her job and makes a good Claudine.

    I had imagined her a bit more mature, but she has sweet features, so physically she could make it… It makes me remember of Liv Tyler as Arwen, she was perfect.

    • 48 Dee
      May 11, 2010 at 8:39 pm

      I thought Liv Tyler would’ve been perfect for the role of Claudine. But yeah someone else said there are so many tall and beautiful women in LA, of course acting should count too. I just picture Claudine in the books who would come into Merlotte’s and have every man drooling for her. I hope she will be more than just visions to Sookie. They said so far she is in S3 in eps 7,9,11,12 and also ep 1 of S4. So should be more than just visions of warning.

  20. 49 teamEric
    May 11, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    oh, to add to that, how difficult can it be to find a tall, beautiful model/actress in LA? It’s like their Mecca!

  21. 51 sunnynala
    May 11, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Not what I expected at all (I was hoping for a Cate Blanchett type as Claudine Lol) but I’m sure she’ll do fine.

  22. May 11, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    I pictured Claudine as a bit… more “exotic”, but she is okay. I think she looks more like Claudine than AP looks like Sookie, so I will survive.

    I know it will never happen, but a tiny bit of me in dreamland still hopes that they will cast my favourite model as Claude.

  23. 55 KPMRSE
    May 11, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    She has a etheral quality about her.

    Blame it on Tinkerbell, but even though I knew book Claudine was tall, when reading I pictured her to be a petite creature. Maybe this popular cultural assumption is why height didn’t matter in casting.

  24. 57 Sibyl_Vane
    May 11, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    I think she is ok casting, but I hope they do shoot it so she does appear taller. I always pictured the original actress from Wonder Woman tv series, or someone like Carla Bruni- 1st lady of france and former model. But she is too old now.

    • May 11, 2010 at 4:23 pm

      And too “plastic-surgeried” @ Carla Bruni.

      I think Bridget Regan is a modern day Wonder Woman. But neither her or any Wonder Woman I’ve seen until now fit my image of Claudine.

    • 59 MASpencer
      May 11, 2010 at 9:41 pm

      I TOTALLY pictured Claudine as a younger version of Carla Bruni, too!

      This actress, for me, is just meh. As usual, I’ll suspend my judgment until I see her on screen.

  25. 60 EricObsessed
    May 11, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    I think she has the right features but I always pictured Claudine older than that, like mid-thirties. But it’s TV, gotta be young and beautiful to qualify… unless you’re a guy.

  26. 61 LLE
    May 11, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    She very talent actress and she do great. I seen her on Robin Hood.

  27. 62 Willowbella
    May 11, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    This is a bit off topic but relates to casting…does anyone know what Vincent Gallo will be playing?

    • May 11, 2010 at 8:57 pm

      I think he is supposed to be the Sheriff of NY.City. Isn’t that interesting, why NY?

      • 64 Willowbella
        May 11, 2010 at 8:59 pm

        Oh interesting. Thanks. NY hasn’t even featured in the books. Maybe they just fancied a location shot in the NYC! 🙂

        • May 11, 2010 at 9:03 pm

          Who knows? My head is spinning as it is with all the speculations.

        • 66 Dee
          May 11, 2010 at 10:08 pm

          Yeah I was very surprised when I heard Vincent Gallo will play the Sheriff of NYC, which I love since I am from NYC so would love to see the NYC vamps.

          As to why they are showing the NYC vamps, I have no clue. Maybe has to do with the humans against vamps storyline happening, somehow maybe vamps from different states get together to come up with a solution? Or maybe he is involved in the possible war of Mississippi vs. Louisiana. Maybe he is an ally of one of them. can also be involved somehow with the V dealing, either against it or maybe doing the same thing. Most likely though, it’s none of those reasons LOL.

          • 67 willabella
            May 11, 2010 at 11:15 pm

            [formerly Willowbella but that was taken on Gravatar]

            Good theories. I couldn’t think of anything, since they’re going completely off book, but that makes sense. I’m excited that book readers get something brand new though. I live in NY too 🙂 but got word yesterday that I might have to go back to the UK for 6 months to cover someone at work, which means no HBO at a VERY crucial time! Total panic!!! :O I’ll just have to make do with spoilers on SVB and imagine it till I get back. 😡

            • 68 KittyKat
              May 12, 2010 at 10:36 pm

              Wow, talk about bad timing, with the recent law that will give them powers to block “illegal” content, I guess no torrents for you, or they may be difficult to come by :O

              • 69 Willowbella
                May 13, 2010 at 12:48 am

                In my ignorance I don’t know what a torrent is. :/ I’m new to this. I can TiVo it and at least I’ll have something to look forward to coming home to. Who am I kidding I’ll probably have my flatmate playing it for me with audio description down the phone! 😀

          • May 11, 2010 at 11:29 pm

            When Russell is on the lamb, would he go to NYC? Or have we heard where he surfaces?

            • 71 Willowbella
              May 12, 2010 at 1:57 am

              He does seem to be on the run, from the ep. 10 spoiler. And he picks up a runaway junkie (who looks like Talbot) I believe…maybe in NY. Maybe he’s there to recruit help against Eric?

            • May 12, 2010 at 10:39 am

              Oops. Should have had some mint with that lamb.

              *lam*

              • 73 Willowbella
                May 12, 2010 at 9:18 pm

                Haha…don’t worry BG I understood. I assumed you didn’t mean bestiality. 🙂

  28. 74 Aposmeal
    May 11, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    I thought Claudine was supposed to be breathtakingly beautiful. This Jody Foster look alike is cute but breathtaking, uh no. I think she is a fair actress but I do not see her as a 6 ft tall Fae

    • May 12, 2010 at 12:02 am

      As mentioned above by sookieverse, Michelle Forbes was a wasted opportunity. She has the right height and is, IMO, immensely beautiful, even if she looks slightly older than what Claudine has been described.

      • 76 KittyKat
        May 12, 2010 at 10:38 pm

        I guess it’s a matter of taste, I never found Michelle beautiful or even pretty, not even when she was younger, but I guess to each his/her own.

        • 77 PrettyVikingChains
          May 13, 2010 at 12:46 am

          Personally, I don’t think MF is beautiful either, but I definitely think that she has the right presence & energy for Claudine. She just demands attention. She would’ve made a great Claudine.


Comments are currently closed.

ABOUT SOOKIEVERSE

My ramblings on the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the HBO series True Blood. Everyone I know is already half crazed with my plot and character assassinations, conspiracy theories, theme explorations and general obsessing, so now I'm going to share it all with you. Spoilers and Viking worship are rampant...you have been warned!

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other subscribers

find me

Archives

Recent Comments

Blog Stats

  • 530,326 hits since October 2009